Harsh high end in stereo system - replace amp or speakers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 06-12-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

I'm just about a complete newbie with this stuff, so I appreciate your humoring me with this question...

I have a Harmon Kardon HK-3490 stereo amplifier driving a pair of Monitor Audio RX1s. Generally speaking, I think the speakers sound fantastic, but I'm having one nagging issue.

I listen to a lot of classical and jazz, and when I listen to certain examples of music (especially opera), the high-end seems a bit harsh when pushed above low volume.. this is especially pronounced during operatic arias or anything that is very "trebly". Certain arias take on a quality that is borderline unpleasant to my ear.

I have read that the MAs are very "bright" and I suspect that this could be contributing to the issue. But I also recognize that the HK-3490 might also be a poor amp for such bright, forward speakers.

Essentially my question is this: given my musical tastes, and assuming I only have the budget to replace one or the other, would I be better served in investing in a new amplifier or a new set of speakers? And either way, are there particular brands or models of speakers or amps that are better suited to classical/jazz (as opposed to rock/pop/dance/etc.)

I appreciate any insight anyone might have for me. Thanks for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-12-2013, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I don't know those particular speakers. Us the tweeter metal dome? Try a silk done tweeter or ribbon.

First just turn down the treble a bit. Look at your room, maybe room treatments.
post #3 of 18 Old 06-12-2013, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachm View Post

Hi everyone,