1Likes
  • 1 Post By briansxx

post #1 of 23 Old 07-30-2013, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I've always read that Bluetooth audio is inferior to direct analog cables. However, looking at the specs of the latest Bluetooth specs (3.0, 4.0) leads me to believe there is plenty of bandwidth for playing 256kbps mp3 music. Has anyone found this to be the case or does anyone have experience with listening to 3.0 or 4.0 Bluethooth audio?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 07-30-2013, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 115
I have no experience with new specs, but I've auditioned a number of AptX capable bluetooth speakers, and while the codec provides improvement end-to-end over bluetooth alone it's still not an acceptable experience in my opinion. The problem is not exclusive to the transport or compression, the quality of earphones and speakers continues to be subpar.

post #3 of 23 Old 07-30-2013, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter

I suspected as much. I suppose the best option would be to use one of those stand-alone Bluetooth dongles that you plug-in your existing headphones, assuming the (de)codec is good enough. The audio port on my Galaxy S4 doesn't ground when the music isn't playing so any direct connection has as much buzz as a floating, unconnected yet amplified cable (when paused or in between songs)--very annoying that a major commercial device is so poorly designed (compared to Apple).
post #4 of 23 Old 07-30-2013, 01:15 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The next Bluetooth Codec, A2DP, ( which iirc is in some Samsung phones now) is supposedly able to stream at 320 kbps. Being an iPhone owner, I haven't tested this, but in theory that should be good enough that I'd be willing to do it
if Apple ever gets their game together.

http://soundexpert.org/news/-/blogs/bluetooth-audio-quality-a2dp
post #5 of 23 Old 07-30-2013, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter