How to connect stereo amplifier to PC and Blu-ray player? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-09-2013, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dance4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. At the moment i have Yamaha RX-V473 5.1 amplifier, Dynaudio DM 2/7 bookshelf speakers and SVS subwoofer but i'm planning to sell my Yahama and buy new stereo amplifier. I just wondering how can i connect stereo amplifier to my pc and blu-ray player because stereo amplifiers rarely has any HDMI input as war i know?
Is it possible to do this way for example?
from my PC's videocard HDMI to my TV's HDMI. Then my TV's RCA audio Out to my stereo amplifier RCA In?
But in that case would it use my TV's DAC instead of amplifiers DAC? My TV doesn't have any Digital output only HDMI and normal RCA
Is there any other better way to connecting my PC to amplifier or is it just better to stick with my old Yamaha amplifier and forget totally to buy new stereo amplifier?
And what about connecting subwoofer to amp. I guess Pre Out or Sub Out is a must have in amplifier because my sub (SB12-NSD) only has line-level RCA inputs? I watch movies kinda ofter but if i'm right stereo amplifiers don't produce any LFE?
dance4ever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-09-2013, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by dance4ever View Post

or is it just better to stick with my old Yamaha amplifier and forget totally to buy new stereo amplifier?

Yes. This.
kiwi2 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-09-2013, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 57
2 channel stereo to subwoofer, you can use Speaker level to Line level converters.
if the 2 channel amp has headphone, out you can use that to send the signal to the sub using a headphone to RCA cable
qguy is online now  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-19-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 288
I recommend an Oppo 105. You can use USB or HDMI input.
Then you just need a 5 or 7 channel amp.
BassThatHz is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-22-2013, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dance4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post

I recommend an Oppo 105. You can use USB or HDMI input.
Then you just need a 5 or 7 channel amp.
I already have BD player. Basic Panasonic player but that's enough for me atm. But i really would like to sell my Yamaha RX-V473 amplifier and get some stereo amplifier but no one has given me any good solutions to how to connect my PC to stereoamplifier (if there is any good solution?). Just wondering if for example Cambridge Audio Azur 651A USB audio input would work good on FLAC music and HD movies that i would play on my PC. Or is it really so that i would better stick with my current Yamaha Amplifier?
dance4ever is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-22-2013, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by dance4ever View Post

Or is it really so that i would better stick with my current Yamaha Amplifier?

Yes.
kiwi2 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-22-2013, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dance4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok. I guess i have to believe you and stay with my current amp. Thanks
dance4ever is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-22-2013, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I've got a collection of old 2ch amps and preamps sitting in storage unused as I find HDMI from my PC, Blu-ray, TV decoder, are far more convenient to hook up to my Yamaha AVR and with the bass management the AVR offers - far better sound quality because of the proper integration with the subs.

Perhaps if you are thinking you want more power for your speakers... then perhaps a future upgrade path would be a new AVR with pre-outs and then you could add a poweramp for the front speakers.

But for the preamp side of things, an AVR is hard to beat.
kiwi2 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-23-2013, 04:03 PM
Member
 
acrobatbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree thought about getting a stereo reciever and then just went with an avr due to the connectivity, bass management and possibility for expansion
acrobatbat is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-23-2013, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I've done comparisons with my 2ch preamp and AVR as a pre with them both feeding into the same poweramp. I had a 3-way RCA switch that I could switch between both units (inserted between the pre and the poweramp) while they were both getting the same songs from a CD player. The CD player could do analog out at the same time as optical out... so the analog went to the 2ch pre and the optical went to the AVR. I then got both units level matched. AVR was in 'Pure Direct' to disable all of its DSP functions and make it more like just a 2ch preamp.

I could not pick any difference between the two. They sounded exactly alike to me.

So I do not believe there is any 'mystical quality' that a 2ch preamp offers over a AVR. I reckon a hi-fi salesman that gives a line something like..." but a 2ch amp is designed for music unlike AVRs" is talking a load of cobblers.

And when I bring those extra features of the AVR in to play, like EQ, bass management, speaker distance time delay adjustments, the sound quality I experience jumps well ahead over Pure Direct mode.
kiwi2 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-26-2013, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
HK 2-channel have SPDIF in, but you won't get 2 channel HDMI.

I do think the Kiwi is on the right track.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-26-2013, 10:06 PM
Member
 
acrobatbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
He is correct
acrobatbat is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-27-2013, 12:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by lespurgeon View Post

HK 2-channel have SPDIF in, but you won't get 2 channel HDMI.

With JRiver configured for bit perfect output and when I play a CD rip it comes across the HDMI as 2 channels only. Only the left and right speaker indicator are highlighted on the AVR and it reports signal info as PCM 2 channel.

Outside of JRiver playback, like watching a youtube video, the signal to the AVR is 5.1 as in the windows configuration.

I would imagine any media player configured for bit perfect output can utilise a HDMI connection for 2 channel only.
kiwi2 is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off