This is a new road traveled for me..... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 33 Old 11-10-2013, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been into home theater for quite some time and somewhat know the ins and outs to an extent. Enough to know what to look for when purchasing gear at least.

I've been wanting to do a vinyl only stereo set-up in my bed room for some time.

Working from a roughly $2000 budget are there any suggestions you guys could give me on gear?

Vintage equipment is definitely something I would consider also, I think that would be cool to have an all vintage setup.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 Old 11-10-2013, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 120
I don't really have any suggestions for you, I just wanted to say that I hope you'll update us with your progress as you go, cause I've been considering the very same thing for a couple years now.
post #3 of 33 Old 11-10-2013, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 290
I'd start by looking for a second-hand Technics SL-1200 table. If at all possible, get one that hasn't been used as a DJ table. (They were very popular among DJs, but they are also a very fine table for home use.) You won't find anything else to compare. If it needs a bit of a tune-up, check out www.kabusa.com, pretty much your go-to source for all things 1200.

Beyond that,the usual advice applies: Speakers and room trump everything else.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

post #4 of 33 Old 11-10-2013, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks man. Is there a certain cartridge that works well with that turn table?
post #5 of 33 Old 11-11-2013, 04:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 1127
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenTonBass View Post

The Shure M97xe is very compatible with a wide range of turntable/arms.