Record cellphone call with computer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-24-2013, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kotterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I want to record cellular phone conversations made with my cellphone using a laptop computer. I drew up the following setup and wanted to know if it would work.

 

 

 

List of items needed:

 

1 M 3.5mm STEREO -> 2 F RCA MONO     x 2
1 M RCA MONO -> 1 F 3.5mm STEREO     x 4
1 M 3.5mm STEREO -> 2 F 3.5mm STEREO x 1
1 F 3.5mm STEREO -> 2 M 3.5mm STEREO x 1
1 M 3.5mm STEREO -> 1 M 3.5mm STEREO x 1

kotterr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-25-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
The laptop's mic input is not two channel.
The cellphone's audio out is way too high to feed a mic input.
SAM64 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-25-2013, 12:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Do you inform the caller/answerer that they are being recorded? If you work for the NSA, you shouldn't have to ask how to it (or permission) ... . rolleyes.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-25-2013, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kotterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Do you inform the caller/answerer that they are being recorded? If you work for the NSA, you shouldn't have to ask how to it (or permission) ... . rolleyes.gif


Depending on the state you're in, you might not have to. One party being aware of it is enough.

kotterr is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-25-2013, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kotterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

The laptop's mic input is not two channel.
The cellphone's audio out is way too high to feed a mic input.


But I just tried it with a 3.5mm cable and it recorded an MP3 being played on the phone just fine (phone 3.5mm jack to laptop 3.5mm mic jack).

kotterr is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
In stereo?
SAM64 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kotterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

In stereo?

I don't know. The quality did go down just a bit.

kotterr is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
MediaFan63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Take a rubber band and and hold a Sony ICD-P620 or similar model to your Phone then jack the recorder to your computer. Primitive but gets the job done. Ask for permission to record every time or you could end up in Court. Not a fun place to be.

I remember when products were built to last.
MediaFan63 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
You're trying to record two channels on a single channel input, it won't work that way with the setup you've described.
SAM64 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Will2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaFan63 View Post

Ask for permission to record every time or you could end up in Court. Not a fun place to be.

Hey, speak for yourself. Some of us get paid to spend time in court. wink.gif
Will2007 is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-27-2013, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
MediaFan63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Lol.

I remember when products were built to last.
MediaFan63 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-29-2013, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gizmologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
This is a little more complicated to do that you realize. There are devices on the market to do this that have been engineered with all the signal paths included. Look up 'Gentner' for starters. This is their specialty.
Gizmologist is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off