Too much dynamic range streaming movies - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2015, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Too much dynamic range streaming movies

I live with 2 other people and when I stream movies, the dialogue is too soft and the explosions too loud. How can I reduce the dynamic range?
gymmphynn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2015, 03:06 PM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,679
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 912
Raise the volume of the center channel relative to the other channels (dialog) and reduce the overall volume. That's what I do.
FMW is online now  
Old 01-07-2015, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Most modern AV devices have some type of volume conpression. On my TV it is called SRS TruVolume. On some systems it is as simple are "Night Mode".

That is the purposes of these feature to allow the average level to be higher, while restricting or clamping down on Peak volume.

Steve/bluewizard
bluewizard is online now  
Old 01-13-2015, 12:02 PM
Member
 
wunderkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMW View Post
Raise the volume of the center channel relative to the other channels (dialog) and reduce the overall volume. That's what I do.
I am tickled by this response because it is posted in a 2-channel Audio section.
wunderkind is online now  
Old 01-13-2015, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 53
What equipment are you using?
crn3371 is offline  
Old 01-13-2015, 02:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by wunderkind View Post
I am tickled by this response because it is posted in a 2-channel Audio section.
If you are ticklish, challenge the poster why the question was asked here, not the responder for trying to help.

Do you have any suggestions?
Ratman is online now  
Old 01-13-2015, 02:40 PM
Member
 
noisebeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you don't have compression built into receiver/amp and you have an analog source you could add a compressor.
Like the FMR RNC 1773, use it in supernice mode.
noisebeam is online now  
Old 01-13-2015, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by noisebeam View Post
If you don't have compression built into receiver/amp and you have an analog source you could add a compressor.
Like the FMR RNC 1773, use it in supernice mode.
...but the typical AVR has no convenient place to insert such a thing. And it's two channels, not 5.1.
audio2xs is online now  
Old 01-13-2015, 11:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 145
The compression aspect can be in the TV. My TV has this - RSRTruVolume. Most TVs have Nite Mode. I suspect some BluRay have this feature.

No need to buy an AVR. Just understand the capabilities of the equipment you have.

Steve/bluewizard
bluewizard is online now  
Old 01-14-2015, 07:21 AM
Member
 
noisebeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio2xs View Post
...but the typical AVR has no convenient place to insert such a thing. And it's two channels, not 5.1.
I thought it was clarified this is 2 channel. If an AVR is involved, then yes of course.
noisebeam is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off