NAD M3 vs Musical Fidelity A5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 53 Old 06-30-2007, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Being a noob I need some buying advice on an integrated amp for B&W XT4's
I tried the Cambridge 840 but I think the XTs needed MORE...
then I tried the Lyngdorf SDAi 2175 (Tact) + XT4, just a brief moment - but it I didn`t get too impressed with it...
I'm gonna to use it to power up the frontchannels with an AV-reciever as pre
Will I be able to use a sub with both amps in a 2.1 setup or do I have to hook up the sub to the AV reciver (Im going to buy later)?
What will be the best match with B&W?
Other amps in the pricerange I should consider?
Right now I'm considering the NAD M3...
Any suggestions / experience with B&W and MF A5 or NAD M3?
Pros / cons?

Thnx!

NAD M3
Musical Fidelity A5
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 53 Old 07-01-2007, 06:15 AM

Liked: 14
I bought a Musical Fidelity A5 to power my eras and hooked it up to my N804s for a bit to see how the sound was. In a word, excellent. It has me seriously considering another to replace the Rotel amps I have on the B&W system now. I have not heard the NAD to compare, but I have nothing but good things to say about the A5 integrated and there is a nice synergy with the B&W there.
As for sub hookup, the A5 doesn't have bass management. If you use high level connections, you would hook the sub through the speaker terminals with your speakers (I have a REL R-205 connected this way). If you want to use the LFE out you will need your receiver to do that. REL allows you to connect both inputs for this purpose, but I don't know if others do. You might also find bass response is greatly improved with a quality amp driving the XT4s, even without a sub.
post #3 of 53 Old 07-01-2007, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 18
My vote goes to the NAD M3. Great integrated amplifier!
post #4 of 53 Old 07-02-2007, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member