Help in putting together a stereo system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 02-24-2008, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

This is my first time trying to put together a stereo system, so forgive me for asking very basic questions. I am looking for general advice about which parts I need and whether I can piece together a good system under $700. One question in particular is whether mixing different manufacturers (such as Onkyo receiver with Polk speakers) would work well. Also, is there a good integrated receiver/cd/mp3 player that you can recommend? I would appreciate any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 02-24-2008, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by andylim View Post

Hi,

This is my first time trying to put together a stereo system, so forgive me for asking very basic questions. I am looking for general advice about which parts I need and whether I can piece together a good system under $700. One question in particular is whether mixing different manufacturers (such as Onkyo receiver with Polk speakers) would work well. Also, is there a good integrated receiver/cd/mp3 player that you can recommend? I would appreciate any help.

You want the amp and 2 speakers right for $700?
post #3 of 25 Old 02-24-2008, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member

If you buy used you can piece together a very nice system like this:

Cambridge 340A integrated
http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....ran&1208135234
Cambridge 340C CDP
http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....lay&1209022687
Epos ELS-3
http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....oni&1208034615

That would be a damn solid system that would require you to spend much more new to best it.

You can also go with an NAD C715 cd receiver type system and the Epos speakers around the same price too.

http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=1NAC715
post #4 of 25 Old 02-24-2008, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter