automated DIY lens sled? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-16-2008, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 131
I am about to go CIH. I have the U380, but haven't devised a way to slide it yet. I've looked at the DIY solutions of other AVS members, but they all seems to be manual. Sure, that works fine and I could go that route if I had to, but auto/motorized is very appealing to the sloth in me. I've seen some links to actuators, so I think I have that covered. But how would I automate the whole process? I have a DVDO VP50Pro; is there a way to trigger the operation of the sled a lá the ones sold by the lens manufacturers?
pepar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-16-2008, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

I am about to go CIH. I have the U380, but haven't devised a way to slide it yet. I've looked at the DIY solutions of other AVS members, but they all seems to be manual. Sure, that works fine and I could go that route if I had to, but auto/motorized is very appealing to the sloth in me. I've seen some links to actuators, so I think I have that covered. But how would I automate the whole process? I have a DVDO VP50Pro; is there a way to trigger the operation of the sled a lá the ones sold by the lens manufacturers?

You can buy the actuators online and then just wire it to a powered relay with trigger...look search forums for "DIY lifts" for internet sites that sell this stuff.
pottscb is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-16-2008, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by pottscb View Post

You can buy the actuators online and then just wire it to a powered relay with trigger...look search forums for "DIY lifts" for internet sites that sell this stuff.

Cool. Thanks. Any idea what "event" would serve as the trigger and how I would set that up?
pepar is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-17-2008, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Cool. Thanks. Any idea what "event" would serve as the trigger and how I would set that up?

Not very sophisticated, but I have the sled commands simply combined in a macro with the respective AR commands for my VP. So when I hit e.g. the '2.35' button on my remote, (A) the lens slides in place and (B) the VP is set to an output that vertically stretches the image accordingly.
____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-17-2008, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post

Not very sophisticated, but I have the sled commands simply combined in a macro with the respective AR commands for my VP. So when I hit e.g. the '2.35' button on my remote, (A) the lens slides in place and (B) the VP is set to an output that vertically stretches the image accordingly.
____
Axel

Thanks. Realistically speaking, I am a month or two away from that point. I just received my new entry level SmX 2.35:1 screen and need to re-do my entire false wall and acoustical treatments behind it before I get to the sled part.

pepar is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-01-2008, 07:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 46
If you are using trigger's be sure they can handle the load of a relay. Sony triggers for example only source about a milliamp. Too low for a relay that could turn on an actuator. The trigger would see the relay as a dead short in that case. I'd recommend using small relays like "reed" type as an intermediate step at the least. And you'd still have to ensure the current requirement is met. Otherwise you need a transistor. Unless the VP50 is designed to source more current...many aren't since they are expecting relatively high impedance loads.
GetGray is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-01-2008, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post

If you are using trigger's be sure they can handle the load of a relay. Sony triggers for example only source about a milliamp. Too low for a relay that could turn on an actuator. The trigger would see the relay as a dead short in that case. I'd recommend using small relays like "reed" type as an intermediate step at the least. And you'd still have to ensure the current requirement is met. Otherwise you need a transistor. Unless the VP50 is designed to source more current...many aren't since they are expecting relatively high impedance loads.

Thanks for calling that to my attention. I'll be sure to check loads and design accordingly.

Got any "B" stock?
pepar is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-01-2008, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
roar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These acutators look pretty cool... wonder how they would work...

http://www.firgelliauto.com/product_...roducts_id=108

Turns my $60 DIY lense into a little more then I wanted to spend though.
roar is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-02-2008, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by roar View Post

These actuators look pretty cool... wonder how they would work...

http://www.firgelliauto.com/product_...roducts_id=108

Turns my $60 DIY lense into a little more then I wanted to spend though.

I've seen others post links to Firgelli Automations as a suggestion on how to move the sled.
pepar is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-06-2008, 07:42 PM
Member
 
barcoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
look on ebay you can find a used linear motor for cheap!

IÂm learning go easy on me. :-)
http://www.storyofstuff.com/
barcoguy is offline  
Reply DIY Constant Height

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off