Official OPPO DV-983H w/ ABT VRS FAQ/Dump - Page 137 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4081 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 01:41 PM
Member
 
John Hodson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lancashire, U.K.
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw very occasional macroblocking on my 971 into a 1366x768 Toshiba LCD at 720p (which was plainly the best resolution); I have yet to see any instances with my 983 (admittedly into a 1080p Samsung). Not one.
John Hodson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4082 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
sremick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

You might even try 1080i. Some displays like that as the input signal better than 720p.

*raises hand*

I'm one of those. While 720p upscaled output from the 983 showed a bit of an improvement over 480p, sending my 720p projector 1080i from the 983 showed a huge leap. Of course, part of that might be the fact that sending 1080i/p forces my HK receiver to leave the signal alone, otherwise it applies video processing that you cannot disable. 1080i neatly bypasses it, since the receiver can't handle processing of any 1080 signal.

"Your" isn't the same as "you're". "There", "their" and "they're" are also not the same. Please learn the difference.

And... it's "couldn't care less". Thank you. :)
sremick is offline  
post #4083 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Pete 'n Pea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamov View Post

Hi all,
We noticed something strange that I wanted to share with you:
The problem is when the camera pans slowly and constantly on high contrasts, we can see horizontal "lines/cracks" between dark and bright zones, making the whole image seems choppy and painful to look at it (even my wife noticed this and complained).

This ONLY happens in 720p50 mode, thus only with PAL dvds. When we set the HDMI output to 1080i or 576p, this problem disappears completely! It's annoying since 720p is the native resolution of the Z2. There is absolutely no problem with 720p60 so NTSC disks look stunning.
The strongest example I saw so far is on the MK2 edition (region 2, PAL) of Elephant (Gus Van Sant): title 1/8, chapter 6/37, time 0:10:55 very visible on the white vertical bar created by the sunlight through the windows).

ALL our PAL DVDs exhibit this problem.

Oppo wasn't too interested in this issue. I'm wondering if it's a problem on the Z2...

Any help appreciated.

Best Regards,
Gam.

It sounds like you're experiencing an effect commonly referred to as "tearing".
Perhaps your TV TYPE is currently set to "AUTO", which would cause the 983 to send the disc-sourced format direct to your display without conversion. If so, you might try setting your TV TYPE to "NTSC", thereby forcing the PAL=>NTSC conversion. (Assuming from context that your display is NTSC).
Additionally, as per an earlier post, you can sometimes improve upon the generally excellent "AUTO" De-interlacing mode by selecting the "2:2 odd" mode for most PAL film-sourced material.
Hope this helps...
Pete 'n Pea is offline  
post #4084 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Rottweiler29's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSB View Post

Well, that is a possibility, but I had no such trouble sending 720p to my properly calibrated 1366x768 TV.

Gary

I'm fairly sure the TV is calibrated well - I used a THX test on my R0 Anchor Bay copy of "Suspiria". Maybe your TV is just better than mine? Another thing to bear in mind is that the blocking didn't jump out at me every time I put a disc in. It was particulary bad on the title I mentioned because it contained a lot of dark scenes.

I honestly can't think of another reason that bypassing the Oppo 983's upscaling would strongly reduce my macroblocking, other than the one I gave.

My TV is the Philips 32PF9641D by the way.
Rottweiler29 is offline  
post #4085 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 05:08 PM
GSB
AVS Special Member
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, at least you've ruled out the player as being the problem. Now it may be a good idea to visit the forum for your TV, and ask about scaling issues. Some LCD TV's were criticised for banding/macroblocking problems (related issues).

Gary
GSB is offline  
post #4086 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 05:56 PM
GSB
AVS Special Member
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamov View Post

This ONLY happens in 720p50 mode, thus only with PAL dvds. When we set the HDMI output to 1080i or 576p, this problem disappears completely! It's annoying since 720p is the native resolution of the Z2. There is absolutely no problem with 720p60 so NTSC disks look stunning.

I think Pete 'n Pea hit the nail on the head. By setting the 983's "TV TYPE" to NTSC, the player does the 50Hz to 60Hz (PAL to NTSC) conversion, rather than the display. Some displays (and players) are pretty bad at this conversion, but the 983 excels at it. I have no idea why the problem would only occur at 720p on your display.

Gary
GSB is offline  
post #4087 of 5594 Old 09-26-2008, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
spectra57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What exactly is Macro blocking? What does it look like?
spectra57 is offline  
post #4088 of 5594 Old 09-27-2008, 12:32 AM
GSB
AVS Special Member
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectra57 View Post

What exactly is Macro blocking? What does it look like?

Macroblocking is an MPEG compression artifact, similar to the blocks found in heavily compressed JPEG photos.

See this post: Macroblocking... Description and Examples and follow the link to the photo.

Gary
GSB is offline  
post #4089 of 5594 Old 09-27-2008, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perpendicular View Post

Yeah, something looks fishy with these ebay 983 sales.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

After your comment, I went to Ebay expecting to see a ton of 983s for sale. There were a couple for sale, and a few in the completed listings. Don't know what could be "fishy" about that.

I never said that there were many eBay OPPO 983 players for sale. Sorry if my Post was taken out of context.

What I meant, was that I would be cautious of any new (not used) OPPO player being auctioned when the consumer has no idea where it came from in the first place.

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
post #4090 of 5594 Old 09-27-2008, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
The player is likely legitimate. Some people are likely selling their players because of the OPPO Blu-Ray player which was showed at CEDIA.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #4091 of 5594 Old 09-27-2008, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
spectra57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSB View Post

Macroblocking is an MPEG compression artifact, similar to the blocks found in heavily compressed JPEG photos.

See this post: Macroblocking... Description and Examples and follow the link to the photo.

Gary


Thank you for the link!

I have experienced Macroblocking, just never knew the correct terminology.
spectra57 is offline  
post #4092 of 5594 Old 09-28-2008, 01:18 AM
Newbie
 
danc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

If the speakers are set to LARGE and Subwoofer is set to On, then only LFE channels will be sent to the Subwoofer. Many SACD and DVD-Audio discs do not have a LFE channel.

If your receiver has not been designed to support bass management for a high resolution, high frequency signal, then you will get no subwoofer response. Some receivers will not do bass management over the multi-channel analog outputs.

Set the speakers to SMALL and see if there is any bass response.

Try direct connecting the subwoofer to the back of the DVD player and see if there is any response.

I've tried your suggestion. It looks like the 983H will only do bass management if the speakers are set to SMALL. I was expecting it to output bass to the sub and any speakers set to LARGE. But it didn't. There is also no crossover settings for the 983H, I guess the cutoff must be at 80 Hz. This is a bit of a letdown as my front speakers are Maggies 1.6 which are capable of handling at least down to 40 Hz. I am considering getting another universal player, maybe a Denon 3930CI, which has better bass management.
danc88 is offline  
post #4093 of 5594 Old 09-28-2008, 03:32 AM
Member
 
Rottweiler29's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the Oppos speaker settings only apply to analogue users? If I'm using HDMI (with sound output set to "Raw") do I still have to bother setting speaker distances etc?

The reason I ask is that there seems no difference to me when I change the speaker distances, and I'm using HDMI.
Rottweiler29 is offline  
post #4094 of 5594 Old 09-28-2008, 04:08 AM
GSB
AVS Special Member
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rottweiler29 View Post

Do the Oppos speaker settings only apply to analogue users? If I'm using HDMI (with sound output set to "Raw") do I still have to bother setting speaker distances etc?

The reason I ask is that there seems no difference to me when I change the speaker distances, and I'm using HDMI.

Speaker settings apply to analog outputs. Digital outputs are not affected, except as mentioned by Neuromancer below.

Gary
GSB is offline  
post #4095 of 5594 Old 09-28-2008, 05:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
HDMI is effected if the DVD player is decoding the audio source. So SACD, DVD-Audio, and CD are all effected by the internal bass management of the DVD player.

Ideally you would want to mate the DVD player with a receiver which still does bass management for HDMI LPCM. That way you are not limited by the internal cross over frequencies of the DVD player.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #4096 of 5594 Old 09-28-2008, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Rottweiler29's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. This is a knowledgable forum! Really helped me out over the last week
Rottweiler29 is offline  
post #4097 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Rottweiler29's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just had a reply from Oppo saying that if I'm not getting macroblocking at 480/576p then it IS a macroblocking enhancement error by the 983!

Now I was trying to make excuses previously by blaming the fact I was upscaling twice....but this is straight from Oppos mouth.
Rottweiler29 is offline  
post #4098 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 06:28 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,770
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rottweiler29 View Post

I've just had a reply from Oppo saying that if I'm not getting macroblocking at 480/576p then it IS a macroblocking enhancement error by the 983!

Now I was trying to make excuses previously by blaming the fact I was upscaling twice....but this is straight from Oppos mouth.

Could you post that reply?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #4099 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlaavenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North of Houston
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made my player region 0 but it only plays in black & white. What do I do?

It plays region 1 discs in color but not discs from the UK. Discs from the UK display in black and white. I've tried two different DVDs, Mortal Kombat the Series and the Little Norse Prince. Help.

I'm connected via component to a 25" SD TV for now.
jlaavenger is offline  
post #4100 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaavenger View Post

I made my player region 0 but it only plays in black & white. What do I do?

It plays region 1 discs in color but not discs from the UK. Discs from the UK display in black and white. Help.

I'm connected via component to a 25" SD TV for now.

_Ensure that you have the correct colorspace selected in the player.
_Make sure that your primary output is component within the player's menu.
_Make sure that the output resolution is 480p. You can not upscale over component output.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4101 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlaavenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North of Houston
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

_Ensure that you have the correct colorspace selected in the player.
_Make sure that your primary output is component within the player's menu.
_Make sure that the output resolution is 480p. You can not upscale over component output.

What is the correct color space for my TV? Ok, I've tried several settings and had no luck. Anyone else have this problem?

_Ensure that you have the correct colorspace selected in the player. Not sure?
_Make sure that your primary output is component within the player's menu. Done.
_Make sure that the output resolution is 480p. You can not upscale over component output. Couldn't find setting?
jlaavenger is offline  
post #4102 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaavenger View Post

What is the correct color space for my TV? Ok, I've tried several settings and had no luck. Anyone else have this problem?

_Ensure that you have the correct colorspace selected in the player. Not sure?
_Make sure that your primary output is component within the player's menu. Done.
_Make sure that the output resolution is 480p. You can not upscale over component output. Couldn't find setting?

Along with the other settings I posted, try setting the colorspace to AUTO and the tv type to NTSC.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4103 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Easiest way to set the res to 480p... exit menus and have Oppo splash/logo screen on tv. On the bottom of the remote there is a button labeled HDMI. Press that button muliple times till the resolution on the screen reads 480p.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4104 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:21 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,770
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Along with the other settings I posted, try setting the colorspace to AUTO and the tv type to NTSC.

Along with that, under video settings, try VIDEO 1 instead of VIDEO 2, which is only for HDMI. The setting matters only for NTSC <-> PAL conversion.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #4105 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlaavenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North of Houston
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did all that. Still shows only B&W.
jlaavenger is offline  
post #4106 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since you're connected via component, have you checked all the cables to make sure one isn't loose?

gonk
Beta tester: BDP-83 / BDP-80
gonk is offline  
post #4107 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlaavenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North of Houston
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Along with that, under video settings, try VIDEO 1 instead of VIDEO 2, which is only for HDMI. The setting matters only for NTSC <-> PAL conversion.

-Bill

Thanks you, thank you, thank you. That was it. Video 1 did the trick. Awesome picture by the way.
jlaavenger is offline  
post #4108 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Good to hear... now enjoy!
Of course you should know, that if you want to get the best video performance out of the 983, you'll need to get an HD capable display that accepts HDMI.
Good luck to you...

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4109 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 09:53 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,770
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaavenger View Post

Thanks you, thank you, thank you. That was it. Video 1 did the trick. Awesome picture by the way.

Very good! If you ever switch to an HDMI display, put it back to VIDEO 2. Also try TV type AUTO instead of NTSC when playing a PAL disc to see if the display accepts a PAL signal. Some do, some don't.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #4110 of 5594 Old 09-29-2008, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Rottweiler29's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Could you post that reply?

-Bill

How would I cut and paste that without exposing my personal e-mail account to the world wide web?
Rottweiler29 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off