Samsung DVD-1080P8? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 03-25-2008, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ukitali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like this DVD player came out recently...is it a good bet for a basic upconverting DVD player. Will it play all Divx (xvid) files?
ukitali is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 03-31-2008, 04:21 PM
Member
 
PaulMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukitali View Post

Looks like this DVD player came out recently...is it a good bet for a basic upconverting DVD player. Will it play all Divx (xvid) files?

Yes. I had purchased a 1080P7 but found that it would unexpectedly freeze and require unplugging to reset. Not only that but when I "upgraded" (or perhaps downgraded) the firmware, I lost HDMI capability and screen quality control. A real piece of garbage for a Samsung product. I returned it and picked up the 1080P8 which had just arrived. $20 cheaper too.

The freezing problem seems to have been resolved. The power switch is not as bright (I saw a lot of complaints about the brightness), although the standby light has been removed. The display is much more detailed though, with more information than the P7 display. The CD tray is also much sturdier. Seems to be a heavier gauge plastic.

Pleased thus far.
PaulMD is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 03-31-2008, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
longhaul747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw this new player at the Fred Meyer (large BM store that sells everything) down the street of all places. The face looked really nice and simple. Seems slightly better built then the 1080P7 it replaces but I am sure its all the same on the inside. Curious if it is any real difference over the 1080P7? Looking at the rear section it looked all the same and dimensions are the same. I don't expect anything different but you never know.
longhaul747 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 04-05-2008, 04:25 PM
Member
 
PaulMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by longhaul747 View Post

I saw this new player at the Fred Meyer (large BM store that sells everything) down the street of all places. The face looked really nice and simple. Seems slightly better built then the 1080P7 it replaces but I am sure its all the same on the inside. Curious if it is any real difference over the 1080P7? Looking at the rear section it looked all the same and dimensions are the same. I don't expect anything different but you never know.

Unfortunately this had to go back to the store as did the P7. This time the problem was constant skipping. Every once in awhile the word SKIP and the right arrow would appear at the top of the screen, causing the player to jump ahead several minutes. Totally unacceptable. I am kinda surprised that Samsung woul have such poor quality control. I picked up a Toshiba SD-6100 and it seems to have a much better picture at 1080p.
PaulMD is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 04-28-2008, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
ghughes20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oradell, NJ
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd stay away from this player. Like another poster, I had problems. The player would freeze. Over the first three days I owned it, I had to unplug it 3 times to get it to respond to the remote or power button on the front of the player. This is the last Samsung product I will buy. Piece of garbage.

I exchanged this for a sony.
ghughes20 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 06-13-2008, 11:15 AM
Newbie
 
Russian5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a quick note, I'm also having problems with the 1080P8. Hooked up via HDMI to my Samsung 650 61" DLP, when on the dvd source I lose the signal (completely black screen) at least once a minute, for about 5 seconds at a time.

The HDMI cable works fine when used with my PS3, same tv, same input.

The dvd player works fine with regular AV cables, but the picture suffers drastically of course.

I've purchased $40+ cables, a new HDMI cable and a sete of component cables and a digital audio cable... all for a $79 dvd player. I've yet to try the new HDMI but I'm hoping that at the very least that it works with the component cables and the picture is great.

If anyone has similar problems and possible solutions, please post.
Russian5 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 06-17-2008, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
Russian5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update, new HDMI cable experiences the same issues. I have it hooked up via component cables and analog audio, guess that will have to do.

I wouldn't buy this player.
Russian5 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-17-2008, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
Russian5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OH, by the way... IS THERE ANY WAY TO HAVE THE DISPLAY SHOW THE TIME WHEN THE PLAYER IS OFF?!?!?!

Unreal, I can't say I did much research other than going through the very very limited dvd setup menu and a brief skim of the manual, but the "----" on the turned off display is really getting on my nerves!

Can you put the time on this thing or what?
Russian5 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 08-17-2008, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
BeeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: T' Town, GA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russian5 View Post

Update, new HDMI cable experiences the same issues. I have it hooked up via component cables and analog audio, guess that will have to do.

I wouldn't buy this player.

Same problem here with signal loss using a new 1080P8.
Returning to the store today.
Don't know if I'll try another or change brands.

BC
BeeCee is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 08-17-2008, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Huey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN, USA
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung is not impressive for DVD or BD players.

Huey ;-]
Huey is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 08-22-2008, 11:10 PM
Member
 
tanneritekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crap, i have a customer having the same issues.

Samsung TV, and this DVD PLAYER do not work together via HDMI.

What is the problem?
tanneritekid is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 09-02-2008, 08:20 PM
Newbie
 
JCMaedl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought this player as a complement to my Samsung 40" TV and I have the same issue, the HDMI will not maintain its "lock" and I get breakups and loss of signal. Really disappointing.

I've tried disabling the anynet and whatnot. The problem occurs even when nothing is playing.

I am going to return this for a Sony I guess. Should have went with my gut in the first place. Too bad.
JCMaedl is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 10-22-2008, 08:09 AM
Member
 
extrahorizons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought an 1080P8 and it seems to work great for us.

I've got and 20' HDMI cable hooked up to our projector and haven't had any problems with black screens, missing images, etc.

It's better than a cheap Toshiba that we had.
extrahorizons is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 11-15-2008, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
AceTKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the exact same problem as the posters above: this player is incompatible with my Samsung 56" DLP over HDMI, at any resolution. The signal constantly drops and the television struggles to reacquire it. It's unbelievable that this problem exists on two devices from the same manufacturer Amazon reviewers have cited it as a known issue which may or may not be fixed with a firmware update. I'm not going to wait around and find out. It's getting exchanged tomorrow for a sony or pioneer player.
AceTKK is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 11-29-2008, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
slick2699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also wondering how to set the time when it's turned off... I have dashes, but no numbers??? Anyone? FYI... I've had a couple lock up issues with this player also... But turning it off usually fixes it.. Still working OK after 9 months.
slick2699 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 02-14-2009, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
highdeficiency's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to get this player to output 480p by default? My panny plasma does a much better job of upscaling to 1080p so I only want it to output 480. It's easy to change the output setting in the crappy menu but everytime I turn off the player it defaults back to 1080p. This player sucks btw, should have done some research. If I can just get it to default to 480p I can live with it
highdeficiency is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 03-02-2009, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Chanbam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just thought I'd add, that I have two of these and have had no problems. They are a bit sluggish, but what does that matter once the movie is going?

You can only expect so much for 80 dollars.
Chanbam is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 03-02-2009, 04:09 AM
Newbie
 
ziggazig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya. I've had this player for a few months. The reason I bought it was mainly because it has DTS, and 1080p up-converting. (this combo seemed to be hard to find in the under 100 dollar price range)

Overall it works. But it's a little slow starting. The main issue I have is when playing DIVX files, it randomly decides to 'SKIP' ahead several minutes for some reason. This, I assure you, is incredibly annoying.

There is no firmware upgrade that I can see on the sammy site. I'm really bummed out by this problem. I would have exchanged it, but I only started watching divx recently... arghh.
ziggazig is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 03-02-2009, 04:12 AM
Newbie
 
ziggazig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also, i have a Sammy 42a450 (42 plasma) and have NOT had any problems with this player and hdmi at all. that area seems to be pretty good.
ziggazig is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 03-06-2009, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I have one of these players. It was a throw-in when I bought my TV (a Pioneer plasma). I have it connected via HDMI and use it for quickie viewingthat is, when I don't feel like firing up the main rig. Currently it's set to 1080p but I'm going to try setting it to 480p, since the Pioneer's processing is pretty good.
prepress is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 03-07-2009, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
kwikrnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought this dvd player and in 1080p it has a funny line across the bottom of the screen. At any other resolution it is not there. Do you think it is the tv or the dvd player?



kwikrnu is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 03-07-2009, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikrnu View Post

I recently bought this dvd player and in 1080p it has a funny line across the bottom of the screen. At any other resolution it is not there. Do you think it is the tv or the dvd player?




Is that perhaps underscan?
prepress is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off