STD DVD Using Components Handshakes on my HDTV - Help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-28-2008, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
whalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So here is an issue that I've seen discussed but not solved.

I just purchased a Samsung 40" 1080p HDTV (LN40A500) and have my old Sony DVD Player (DVP-S550D) connected using Component cables. The issue that arises is after 10 seconds of movie playing, I get interference that looks static-y and eventually drops out. From what I have read this is most likely analog macrovision protection.

Is there a way around this?

Thanks.
whalie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-28-2008, 02:23 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by whalie View Post

So here is an issue that I've seen discussed but not solved.

I just purchased a Samsung 40" 1080p HDTV (LN40A500) and have my old Sony DVD Player (DVP-S550D) connected using Component cables. The issue that arises is after 10 seconds of movie playing, I get interference that looks static-y and eventually drops out. From what I have read this is most likely analog macrovision protection.

Is there a way around this?

Thanks.

I would first try different combinations to see if one of the pieces of gear is faulty.
  • Try different component cables.
  • Try the player with a different display (still using component).
  • Try a different player with the display (still using component).

If you still suspect Macrovision, try to find a disc that is unlikely to have it, such as a home-made copy. Does they problem still occur?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-28-2008, 02:31 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by whalie View Post

Is there a way around this?

Thanks.

There are instructions here http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/ar...p/t-17705.html on how to get to the service menu on this player, but I'm unclear whether macrovision can be disabled or not.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-28-2008, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
whalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone. I think I solved it.

I spoke to Samsung who said it probably WASN'T Macrovision, but the DVD Player's resolution wasn't high enough and I should try to boost it. Unfortunately there is no way to do that on this player...or so I thought.

I found the Video EQ Menu and chose the Cinematic setting (listed as the "Best Picture Quality"). That sounds higher resolution to me, so I selected it. Sure enough it works! I have to select it every time I put in a new DVD (I think the player remembers each disc's setting) but it seems to work pretty well; I've watched whole episodes of The Simpsons and Arrested Development plus a few scenes from The Incredibles and no dropped signal.

As this is all new to me, I won't be surprised if something changes over the next few days. So I may return with more questions.

Special Thanks to "wmcclain" for that cool tip on how to turn off Macrovision and Region Coding. I'll make use of that soon enough.
whalie is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off