The Pioneer DV-420V Owner's Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 436 Old 04-18-2009, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Believe it or not, these are being released already. I found them at http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-DV-420...061750&sr=1-24. They were supposed to be released this summer. However, according to http://pioneer.jp/press-e/2009/pdf/0409-1.pdf, I thought Pioneer was going to halt production of their own optical disc products and form a joint venture with Sharp in the optical disc business later this year, causing Pioneer's players at the January, 2009 CES show not to be released this summer.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 436 Old 04-19-2009, 05:57 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 328
"Ships in 3 to 5 weeks" gets closer to Summer.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #3 of 436 Old 04-19-2009, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

"Ships in 3 to 5 weeks" gets closer to Summer.

larry

You do have a point that three to five weeks is closer to summer. However, my main concern for this model is customer support. Will they still release firmware upgrades for it even if they restructure and form a joint venture with Sharp? Also, I sent them a letter via snalemail regarding all their MediaTek MT1389-based players and HTiBs not passing blacker-than-black/below-black via analog, including models from 2004 up through and including the new DV-420V. I sent this letter to them on March 14, about a month after their Feb 12 anouncement of restructuring. Do any of you think they will still be able to divelope newer firmware for the somewhat older models even after restructuring and forming the joint venture with Sharp?
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #4 of 436 Old 04-19-2009, 05:47 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 328
In consumer electronics, especially low cost, you have to assume that what you buy is what you get. How often did Pio do upgrades for their other recent players?

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #5 of 436 Old 04-19-2009, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

In consumer electronics, especially low cost, you have to assume that what you buy is what you get. How often did Pio do upgrades for their other recent players?

larry

If you go to http://www.pioneerfaq.info/index.php?question=Firmwares, you will see that many players have a few "Pioneer"/"Original" firmwares per model. I'm not even talking about all the nice firmwares Hakan created. Inotherwords, Pioneer has released a few firmware upgrades per model, and so has Philips and Oppo. What I want to know is if Pioneer will still support and develop new firmware for players between 2004 and 2009 even in the midst of restructuring and forming the joint venture with Sharp.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #6 of 436 Old 04-20-2009, 12:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Pioneer have never released any firmwares for the SD dvd players.
I don't list all Pioneer original firmawares I know off on that page!
The known firmware revisions are only listed on the specific players page!
But most of the time there is about 2-5 diffrent firmware versions for each player!

I dont think Pioneer will make new firmware version for older models unless there should be a massive bug in it.
They only make new firmwares untill the new players are released!
And they are never released to the public!
Some times it happens that a Pioneer branch sends out a firmware disc!

PioneerFAQ

@Twitter
Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #7 of 436 Old 04-20-2009, 10:43 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hkan View Post

Pioneer have never released any firmwares for the SD dvd players.
I don't list all Pioneer original firmawares I know off on that page!
The known firmware revisions are only listed on the specific players page!
But most of the time there is about 2-5 diffrent firmware versions for each player!

I dont think Pioneer will make new firmware version for older models unless there should be a massive bug in it.
They only make new firmwares untill the new players are released!
And they are never released to the public!
Some times it happens that a Pioneer branch sends out a firmware disc!

That's what I thought. I haven't been paying attention to their players in the last year or two, but I had never heard of firmware updates for customers (in the field) prior to that. It's a fair amount of added cost to do it.


larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #8 of 436 Old 04-20-2009, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
I think 'being able to update firmware after release' is the worst thing ever invented in CE industry. That allows companies like Samsung to release often buggy products quickly to the market with little to no QA. If I'm a smart CE vendor, I'd heavily advertising the fact that my product 'just works OOB' and 'no firmware update is ever needed'. Of course, given the slim profit margin these players get, I'll probably be out of business pretty soon
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #9 of 436 Old 05-15-2009, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Tacoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calif.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm currently using a Toshiba HD-A3 HD-DVD player.
It does not support BitStream with HDMI.
As I'm not looking into buying anymore HD-DVD movies, I'm thinking of replacing the HD-A3 with the Pioneer DV420V (DV-410V).
Does anyone know if the pionner does better SD DVD video upscaling then the HD-A3?

Yamaha RX-V671 receiver
Infinity Beta 5.1
Samsung UN55FH6200F (Costco) LCD TV
Tacoboy is offline  
post #10 of 436 Old 05-15-2009, 04:14 PM
Member
 
marlboro_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoboy View Post

Does anyone know if the pionner does better SD DVD video upscaling then the HD-A3?

Toshiba HD-DVD players are much better upscalers.
marlboro_man is offline  
post #11 of 436 Old 05-18-2009, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can someone tell me the differences between this model and the dv-49av? I own one of those and it works very well. I will use this 100% for avi's over usb on a 720P lcd.
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #12 of 436 Old 05-18-2009, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post

Can someone tell me the differences between this model and the dv-49av? I own one of those and it works very well. I will use this 100% for avi's over usb on a 720P lcd.

You said you own one. Do you mean the 49AV or 420V? If you already have a 49AV, then all the 420 is is the same thing without DVD-AUDIO and SACD. If you own a 420 yet want DVD-AUDIO and SACD, then go for the 49AV.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #13 of 436 Old 05-18-2009, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the 49. I love the picture but can't stand the fast forward over avi usb. Is the 49 1.0 usb by any chance?
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #14 of 436 Old 05-18-2009, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoboy View Post

I'm currently using a Toshiba HD-A3 HD-DVD player.
It does not support BitStream with HDMI.
As I'm not looking into buying anymore HD-DVD movies, I'm thinking of replacing the HD-A3 with the Pioneer DV420V (DV-410V).
Does anyone know if the pionner does better SD DVD video upscaling then the HD-A3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlboro_man View Post

Toshiba HD-DVD players are much better upscalers.

SOME Toshiba HD DVD players are great for upconverting. The A3 however, is average. I think the A3 and 410 will be similar, possibly even the 410 being a little better. I used a 410 briefly, and own an A2 and A35. I thought the 410 was on par with the A35, which is known to be better than the A3 for upconversion.

I have no idea how this 420 compares to the 410...
Blacklac is offline  
post #15 of 436 Old 05-18-2009, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post

I have the 49. I love the picture but can't stand the fast forward over avi usb. Is the 49 1.0 usb by any chance?

Since 2007, Pioneer's HDMI players feature a USB 2.0 port.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #16 of 436 Old 05-20-2009, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Tacoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calif.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The newer 420V is a little cheaper then the 410V.
Is there any difference between the two models?

Yamaha RX-V671 receiver
Infinity Beta 5.1
Samsung UN55FH6200F (Costco) LCD TV
Tacoboy is offline  
post #17 of 436 Old 05-20-2009, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoboy View Post

The newer 420V is a little cheaper then the 410V.
Is there any difference between the two models?

The DV-420V adds the ability to record music CD tracks to certain USB devices. Otherwise, it's just like the DV-410V.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #18 of 436 Old 06-05-2009, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know it might be a little early for this: If anyone has this player, I'd like to know what firmware is installed in it. This can be checked by:

1. Turn on the player.

2. Once 'Loading' disappears, press 'HOME MENU.'

3. Highlight 'Initial Settings.'

4. Press 'ENTER.'

5. Highlight 'Options,' but don't press 'ENTER.'

6. Press 'DISPLAY.' You should see the region and firmware of your player.

7. Press 'HOME MENU' to exit.

Also, does this player use the MediaTek MT1389FE or MT1389EXE?
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #19 of 436 Old 06-08-2009, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Nazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this player will have Divx 7 support?
Nazo is offline  
post #20 of 436 Old 06-16-2009, 01:07 PM
Member
 
bbell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara Region Canada
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the firmware ID for the DV-420V-K

YKB9326C

As far as the chipset used, is there a way to tell without examining the board?
bbell_ is offline  
post #21 of 436 Old 06-16-2009, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbell_ View Post

Here is the firmware ID for the DV-420V-K

YKB9326C

As far as the chipset used, is there a way to tell without examining the board?

As far as whether it's the 1389FE, 1389EXE/s, etc., we'll have to wait for Hakan, the guy who runs pioneerfaq.info to get one and disassemble it. As far as the last four digits, what will they replace the 9 with in 2010? That'll be really interesting to see! Don't install 410V firmware on it until Hakan tests it for us first so we don't break our players.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #22 of 436 Old 06-17-2009, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValjeanPhantom View Post

......................
As far as the last four digits, what will they replace the 9 with in 2010? That'll be really interesting to see!
........................................

Probebly A

PioneerFAQ

@Twitter
Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #23 of 436 Old 07-04-2009, 09:56 AM
Member
 
austai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, has anyone seen problems when playing some WMV files with this player? Mine can play some WMV files fine but with others, the bottom half of the screen is very pixelated. The funny thing is, if I fast-forward, the image looks fine. I contacted Pioneer support and they were unable to help. Thanks.
austai is offline  
post #24 of 436 Old 07-06-2009, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this player use the MediaTek MT1389 as found in the DV-410V, or does it use the MT1389EXE as found in the DV-610AV? If it uses the 1389EXE, I might get one, install Hkan's 610 firmware on it, use it for movies, and use my DV-58AV for DVD-A/SACD music until new enhanced movie firmware for it has been released. If the 420 uses the 1389 as found in the 410, I'll just go for the DV-610AV or Elite DV-49AV if I need to.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #25 of 436 Old 07-07-2009, 09:29 PM
Member
 
bbell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara Region Canada
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I tried a couple WMV's here and I couldn't get any of them to play properly. Most played a few frames and stopped or just played the audio.

I have had NO problems with AVI files off DVD or USB stick/hard drive. I do find rewinding is a bit slow from USB though, where FF is fine.
bbell_ is offline  
post #26 of 436 Old 07-21-2009, 11:39 PM
Member
 
mummer43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this player today. I noticed that there are various picture settings that can be adjusted. Has anyone played with these, and if so, are there optimum settings that will enhance the picture?
mummer43 is offline  
post #27 of 436 Old 08-09-2009, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummer43 View Post

Just got this player today. I noticed that there are various picture settings that can be adjusted. Has anyone played with these, and if so, are there optimum settings that will enhance the picture?

Hi,

I am considering to buy this DVD player for MP3 and DivX and couldn't find any information whether or not the player can play MP3 files from USB flash in Random order (Shuffle).

I downloaded the manual but it does not say MP3, the Random play mode is mentioned for DVD, CD-R and Video CD. It does not mention USB.

Can anyone with this player confirm if it does support Random Mp3 from USB?

My other candidate is Yamaha S-661.

Thank you.
Lost! is offline  
post #28 of 436 Old 08-16-2009, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
vanmungo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two questions:

1. Does the 420 represent any kind of improvement over the 410 in terms of picture quality, or is it essentially the same unit?

2. Does anyone know if there's a multi-region hack for the 420? Please let me know. Thanks!
vanmungo is offline  
post #29 of 436 Old 08-19-2009, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost! View Post

Hi,

I am considering to buy this DVD player for MP3 and DivX and couldn't find any information whether or not the player can play MP3 files from USB flash in Random order (Shuffle).

I downloaded the manual but it does not say MP3, the Random play mode is mentioned for DVD, CD-R and Video CD. It does not mention USB.

Can anyone with this player confirm if it does support Random Mp3 from USB?

My other candidate is Yamaha S-661.

Thank you.

OK, since nobody could answer ANY of my questions, I just bought the player!!

In my first test with my Verbatim 8GB USB Drive, it fails to play in random order. It also does not have any function to play a selected folder (all files in a folder). You need to go inside the folder and play the first file, then you can go next or prev.

It can play the whole disk if you go to start menu (Pioneer Logo) and press play. Then it plays the whole disk. Again, random order not available or any other PLAY MODE options. All are GREY = OFF!

Ok now I thought random might work on burned CDs and not USB. Wrong!! It does not play random order from CDs as well. So basically it only plays the whole disk or inside of a folder!

Maybe pioneer programmers are dumb or something, I don't know but they may get more returns because of something really easy to embed!

About DivX playback it is good!! I tries 4 or 5 xvid and divx and all worked. It failed to read subtitles out of IDX ZIP file but when I extracted the .SUB file out of zip files, it worked great. Out of curiosity, it also failed to play divx movies in random order but who needs that.

Overall, it is what you pay for. It worth 60 - 70 bucks not a penny more.

If I knew this before placing my order, I might have considered Yamaha S661 or S6160. I wished I did not stick with Sony S360 in the first place and could get a single OPPO BD player now. But that is another story.

UPDATE:
I watched several DivX files and the player does not play some movies smoothly, specially in fast scenes. Even in single disk DivX files it does that too. I need to investigate more and write DivX file on CD and test this again but from USB for sure it has some problem with fast scenes. Maybe it is related to bitrate or something. (Not Smooth = It Jumps Frames)
Lost! is offline  
post #30 of 436 Old 08-21-2009, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValjeanPhantom View Post

Does this player use the MediaTek MT1389 as found in the DV-410V, or does it use the MT1389EXE as found in the DV-610AV? If it uses the 1389EXE, I might get one, install Hkan's 610 firmware on it, use it for movies, and use my DV-58AV for DVD-A/SACD music until new enhanced movie firmware for it has been released. If the 420 uses the 1389 as found in the 410, I'll just go for the DV-610AV or Elite DV-49AV if I need to.

I just opened my player and I can confirm it is MT1389FE.
Lost! is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off