Samsung 1080P9 grainy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-05-2009, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I recently purchased a Samsung 1080P9 upconverting DVD player to connect via HDMI to my Samsung HP T4264, but the image quality is poor. When using any connection style, HDMI obviously or even comparing against the RCA connections, the image is grainy. It is as though the DVD player is upconverting the image and then the TV is trying to do it a 2nd time. I have read through most of the forums related to upconverstion and it sounds like this is possible. However it seems most people also are happy with the 1080P9, so I am unsure if I am just being picky or a really have a setting wrong.

I have experimented with many different DVD's all with the same result. Stars Wars EP 3, looks good enough I'll admit, but Harry Potter Order of the Phoenix, Mary Poppins, Dodgeball, look grainy. I have tried changing the settings on the DVD player to use i-scan or p-scan, and changing the HDMI quality from auto, 480p, 720p or 1080i, without any improvement.

I have to admit I have the same issue, perhaps worse when I tested watching movies on my Xbox 360. Playing games on the 360 with the same HDMI cable looks amazing, so that is not the issue. HD cable via componenent looks fine as well.

When I watch any DVD on my old DVD Receiver Pioneer XV-HTD510 connected with S Video, they look fine.

The ultimate goal is to take advantage of the HDMI port on my TV, and feed audio via Digital co-ax to my DVD Receiver Pioneer XV-HTD510. Note, audio works fine and is 5.1 from the 1080P9 to the DVD Receiver Pioneer XV-HTD510.

All other inputs are filled, 2 Components are HD cable and Wii. HDMI 1 is Xbox 360, leaving HDMI or S-video as the remaining options.

I was adding the 1080P9 because the DVD Receiver Pioneer XV-HTD510 is beginning to show its age. No DivX, Mp3, JPEG, open/close tray is flaky, while audio remains fine.

Am I missing something?

Thanks,
uofg2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-10-2009, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I expecting too much from this device? Could it be a simple setting that needs to be altered?

Is there a general problem with upconverting older DVD's greater than 5 years? Where's the cut of point where DVD's look good when upconverted?

Samsung support told me to clean the DVD's. Good one.
uofg2000 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-11-2009, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I hooked up the Samsung 1080P9 for good I think, and configured it on my Harmony remote. I guess some movies do look the same or better. I tried Back to the Future, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars Episode 6, Swingers and they all looked good. Wizard of Oz, Harry Potter Order of the Phoenix, Marry Poppins (for the kids) looked worse I think, but maybe some movies just don't upconvert well. Does anyone have a similar experience?

Samsung wrote me back again and this time instead of suggesting the DVD's were dirty, they suggested that my brand new Samsung T4264 Plasma TV doesn't support Progressive Scan, another jem. They obviously don't read the support request very well. They also told me to push the progressive scan button on the front the DVD player to turn progressive scan off, and there is no such button. Would help if they read what models of equipment the person referred to in the support request.
uofg2000 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-11-2009, 09:36 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I didn't sound like you calibrated your plasma to match the output of your DVD player yet.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-11-2009, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Thanks, but how to you mean? I'm using HDMI, and the Plasma is set to "Just Scan". The DVD player is set to 16:9 , P-scan with Auto-select on HD as opposed to forced 480p, 720p, 1080i, etc.

I have experimented with the DVD on P-scan vs I-scan on the DVD player , forced output of 720P or 1080i all with the same result.

Chris
uofg2000 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-11-2009, 01:10 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
You need to calibrate the display so that it shows the correct grayscale and such. For example, when the DVD players sends the digital value for "black" (16) you display should be showing the darkest it can show. There are discs that have the test patterns to do this - Digital Video Essentials, and some other available from people at AVS. There's a whole forum here on display calibration: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=139

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-11-2009, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for clarifying. I was in the process of obtaining Avia from a friend earlier this afternoon, after reading about it in another thread related to calibration. Glad to know I was heading down the right path.

Thanks,

Chris
uofg2000 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-11-2009, 03:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 222
1st thing you prolly want to do is turn the sharpness setting all the way down in the display. Use a calibration disc with a sharpness screen to verify that the display is "ringing" with higher sharpness settings. Samsungs tend to run "hot" with default settings. WAY too much sharpness, color and contrast all aggravate the "graininess" effect. Turn off auto-contrast and auto-gamma type settings in the display and properly calibrate black, color and white levels. You'll be surprised at the results.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-12-2009, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Thanks for the additional information. I definitely don't have the plasma to the factory default settings, I recall finding it too bright and had done some reading regarding settings when I purchased it last Feb. However this was me "eyeballing" to get the right settings. I am really interested to see what changes I make and the results once I run Avia. Hope to do that tonight or the next.

Thanks,

Chris
uofg2000 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-12-2009, 07:19 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
The only problem with Avia is that is has no "blacker than black" (BTB) or "whiter than white" (WTW) information. It makes is tough to see if the display is clipping these values. DVE (digital video essentials) and GetGray (available here - look in calibration forum) do have test patterns with these.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-12-2009, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
uofg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Thanks again. I had read about DVE as well. AVIA was easier for me to obtain from my friend. I will try it first as my introduction to calibration and then move onto GetGrey and DVE. I did find the links to purchase of these products via Google and GetGrey's thread.

Thanks

Chris
uofg2000 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-23-2009, 02:07 PM
Member
 
ginigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone is still watching this thread, I'm thinking of getting one of these because it's cheap, I need a new DVD player, and I'm out of work
I have a question though: Does it upconvert (to 720p) via component cables, or only through HDMI? My TV is only 720p.
ginigma is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-24-2009, 04:24 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginigma View Post

If anyone is still watching this thread, I'm thinking of getting one of these because it's cheap, I need a new DVD player, and I'm out of work
I have a question though: Does it upconvert (to 720p) via component cables, or only through HDMI? My TV is only 720p.

I don't know specifically, but the general rule is that upconverting over component is no longer allowed for reasons of Digital Rights Management. Discs that do not have CSS encryption (like home-made backups) are not so restricted, and I think most players that have component will upconvert those.

Your TV scales any supported input signal to its native resolution, so an upconverting player is not essential. It's nice to have choices and things to fiddle with, of course.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-24-2009, 05:43 AM
 
RMSMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know why do people expect miracles from these devices with internal upscalling video chips...

That's why some video processors cost $5000 USD... Of course it's not the same.

I own the Pioneer DV-LX50, and we cannot compare it to Samsung (with all the respect) and it also does 1080P, but i only take it maximum to 720P with the internal picture treatment.

And one thing that helps is to buy a good HDMI cable with 1.3b profile.
The cable in this case is very very important.... you will get differences like 30% improvement in picture quality.
RMSMT is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off