Pioneer Laserdisc fix help - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 204 Old 01-30-2013, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
After the drawer closes as soon as the pickup moves to its detection position you should see the lens only move up once trying to get a reflection. If this does not happen with either CD's or LD's then either the ribbon cable that attaches to the logic board is bad or you have a power or electronics issue.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 204 Old 01-31-2013, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Jimmy Choi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. The lens does Not move up.
Seems quite hard to find the root cause since it can be caused by many factors.

Do you offer repair service for this model? I am living in Hong Kong, so the shipping is my major concern smile.gif

Thanks again
Jimmy
Jimmy Choi is offline  
post #63 of 204 Old 02-01-2013, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yes, there are a few of us in the US that work on these players. One is in the state of Washington which would be closer.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
 
post #64 of 204 Old 02-03-2013, 05:17 PM
Member
 
dpahawkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey everyone, not to derail any conversations in here, but yesterday I started up one of my CLD-D704's and noticed that is will not display color out of either the composite or S-video connections(I tried them all on 2 different televisions) it just displays black and white. Could this be a laser issue? Also, weird parallel to go with it, but I also noticed that on my receiver, this unit will not output anything but noise through the optical audio connection, whereas the coax still works fine...time to get this thing fixed?
dpahawkins is offline  
post #65 of 204 Old 02-03-2013, 09:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
My first guess would be a +5V power issue but someone would have to take measurements to verify the issue.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #66 of 204 Old 02-04-2013, 07:57 PM
Member
 
dpahawkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just an update on this issue, I opened the unit up and cleaned the spindle etc...and when I started in back up still black and white. But after about 5-6 minutes, even titles that were giving the unit trouble displayed just fine...however a power down cycle later the issue came back, with the same 5 minute interval till color returned...still nothing out of the optical audio out but hissing, but one diagnosis at a time. Anywhere on the board too start measuring? I'd love to break out the multi-meter and see what I could come across.
dpahawkins is offline  
post #67 of 204 Old 02-05-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Find a cheap CLD-D503 that works. Swap in the power supply and see if that fixes the problem
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #68 of 204 Old 04-16-2013, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
AnymAvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the best help forum I've seen for CLD-99 issues. Hoping mine might have a solution.

I trade favors with a fellow audioholic at work, and he's got a CLD-99 that occasionally locks up with the E3 error after playing an audio CD. When it occurs, the CD plays to the end of the final track, and the laser carriage, instead of parking, immediately withdraws to the back of the unit and jams on the LD tray stabilizer bar. After a couple seconds the carriage motor shuts off and the E3 error displays. If the unit is powered off and the carriage assembly is manually moved forward, the unit will reset and operate normally on next power-on.

Here's the trick: the unit may cycle through dozens of CDs, pressed or burned, without a problem. A blank CD-R won't crash it, and neither will a badly-scratched disc. My coworker took it for service twice and they couldn't replicate it, so it was cleaned and returned without a solution.

I finally found a disc that would crash it about 75% of the time: Fields of Gold, Best of Sting 1984-1994. The only unusual factors are a longer-than-average runtime (1:06:33) and a final track that ends on the minute (5:00).

At first a limit switch seemed like a possible culprit but I can't see one in the carriage path at the time when the failure occurs. Some other sensor? Firmware bug?
AnymAvey is offline  
post #69 of 204 Old 04-17-2013, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Gathering the units plays LDs with no problems. When the pickup moves to the back you can see the two micro switches close to the spindle motor that hit the bottom of the pickup. The question would be after playing the CD where is the pickup verses the further away of the two. The closer switch is for CD start position and the second is for LD start position. I have seen this but more on a you power it in and the pickup walks back. I usually end up replacing the pickup and it fixes the problem. But this problem seems a little different.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #70 of 204 Old 04-17-2013, 09:48 PM
Newbie
 
AnymAvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As near as I can tell, neither of those switches is tripped when the failure occurs, but I can double check this weekend by cutting power during a CD playback.

As far as I know, it has never displayed this behavior during LD playback...but OTOH my coworker now mainly uses it as his "benchmark" CD player so it hasn't seen much LD duty in recent years.
AnymAvey is offline  
post #71 of 204 Old 04-18-2013, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
As it is moving back take a long tool and trip the LD position switch and see it the pickup stops moving back.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #72 of 204 Old 04-24-2013, 09:29 PM
Newbie
 
AnymAvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I ran the unit for half a day and was not able to get a jam, but I did note that when the player is approaching the end of the CD mentioned earlier, the LD start position switch is only partially depressed. Is it possible that the swith is worn and sometimes mis-registers? I'll have to start earlier this weekend and see if I can get the unit good and warm.

Worst case, I might jury rig an external toggle switch in place of the LD position switch and try to force the failure mode manually.
AnymAvey is offline  
post #73 of 204 Old 04-25-2013, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yes they can get worn over time. You can write me at kbahr@comcast.net as I should have some good used ones.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #74 of 204 Old 05-03-2013, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
AnymAvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like I'll be doing that. Last arrempt , once the unit warmed up, it didn't try to run for the hills on disc end...but did a couple times when I tried o open the drawer immediately after.
AnymAvey is offline  
post #75 of 204 Old 05-05-2013, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
bkflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this thread has wandered away from the original D504 issue, but everyone here is so knowledgeable and the thread is seeing replies.. My question is actually regarding a Marantz LV520, but from my understanding is a clone of the D504. I'm not the original owner, eBay purchase for cheap (don't think the owner knew what he had, he thought it was a DVD/LD combi unit).

It had problems initially with skipping or getting stuck every 10 mins or so as well as the U1 error occasionally. I opened it up and lubricated the moving parts. That got rid of the skipping or getting stuck problem which I think was gummed up old lube on the sliding mechanism. Now, when I get it to play, it plays perfectly, included the side change. When it doesn't start correctly it displays"close", CD and LD buttons flash, it makes a whirring noise and then the disc ejects and throws the U1 error. I open and close the tray a couple times, alternating between closing with the LD and play button and eventually get the disc to play.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm just getting into laserdisc, but having a lot of fun. Always looking for a better player though. Thanks for the help in advance.
bkflyer is offline  
post #76 of 204 Old 05-06-2013, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I have not read this entire thread , so this may already have been mentioned , however try this:

The spindle where the LD sits sometimes gets dirty and causes a lot of problems.

I know when I had my CLD-99 , I was pulling the cover off every few months to clean the area where the label comes in contact with the spindle pad.

It`s that rubber disc where the LD sits.

Good luck smile.gif

Gary 
jedi29 is offline  
post #77 of 204 Old 05-06-2013, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You need to clean or replace the loading belt. Open the tray and then look inder it at the front left and you'll find the belt.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #78 of 204 Old 05-07-2013, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
bkflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions, I'll try them out. If I have to replace the loading belt, does Pioneer still make the part? If they do, will it work in my Marantz?
bkflyer is offline  
post #79 of 204 Old 05-07-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkflyer View Post

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll try them out. If I have to replace the loading belt, does Pioneer still make the part? If they do, will it work in my Marantz?

If this is the issue it is a SCQ4.0 belt you can get anywhere, including eBay.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #80 of 204 Old 06-06-2013, 01:50 PM
Member
 
dpahawkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey there, finally back to this little project now that I have some time off from work. I have an old D504 that powers on no problem, could that power supply go into my D704? I know Kurtis said to use a D503, but are they that different?
dpahawkins is offline  
post #81 of 204 Old 06-06-2013, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpahawkins View Post

hey there, finally back to this little project now that I have some time off from work. I have an old D504 that powers on no problem, could that power supply go into my D704? I know Kurtis said to use a D503, but are they that different?

Totally different fit. Different connectors
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #82 of 204 Old 06-06-2013, 06:35 PM
Member
 
dpahawkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
darn, thought I'd get lucky. I'll keep my eye out for a 503 then. Thanks!
dpahawkins is offline  
post #83 of 204 Old 06-07-2013, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Kurtis, I appreciate all of the help you have provided to the Laser Disc community for years, and I got a CLD-D604 up and running again thanks to your advice about the belt and mechanical testing.

I worked on it because my CLD-D704 has a bigger problem, but I would like to fix the '704 if possible. It will not even power up. (When first plugged in, the red Standby LED lights up, but hitting the Power button on the front panel or on the remote control just makes that light go out, and it will not come back on.) I checked the capacitor and "fuse" devices on the main board but they seem to be OK. I also looked for obvious bad connections on the power supply board. Do you have any obvious suggestions based on the power supply test notes below? Thank you for your time.

Testing:
-c493 (c9403) tests OK
-ic410, ic411 test OK

Power supply voltages:
-When first plugged in, Standby light is on:
CN21
pin 10 +12V (if pin 1 is the one with the dot)
pin 11 -12V
All other pins 0V

CN22
pin 3 +5.4V
pin 4 -21.4V
pin 5 -28.7V
pin 6 -21.4V
all other pins 0v

-After pressing Power switch and the Standby light goes out:
CN21
All pins 0V

CN22
pin 5 -6.3V
all other pins 0V

Maybe I need to find a donor CLD-D503 as well? Thanks!

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #84 of 204 Old 06-08-2013, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You have a switching power supply here. This means that the power problem is fed back before the transformer to regulate the amount of power to supply to the secondary, the power issues causes the supply to shut down. So the problem could be the power supply or it may be something it connects to. You need to start measuring for shorts on the connector pins to try to understand where the issue is really at. I have extra supplies I can swap in to help locate the problem quicker.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #85 of 204 Old 06-08-2013, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
AnymAvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Final update on my coworker's CLD-99 issue: got the replacement limit switches and restored the unit to service. Can't be 100% sure it's fixed but it was worth a shot, and it survived 48 hours of uptime while running the problematic Sting CD multiple times. In any case, my coworker was pretty tickled that I was able to replicate the problem and at least attempt a reasonable repair, so I got a free Italian dinner and a couple hours of audio shoptalk out of the deal. Thanks for all the help!
AnymAvey is offline  
post #86 of 204 Old 06-15-2013, 01:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtis Bahr View Post

You have a switching power supply here. This means that the power problem is fed back before the transformer to regulate the amount of power to supply to the secondary, the power issues causes the supply to shut down. So the problem could be the power supply or it may be something it connects to. You need to start measuring for shorts on the connector pins to try to understand where the issue is really at. I have extra supplies I can swap in to help locate the problem quicker.
Thank you for the reply and information, Kurtis, I just got back on the forum now. I will plan to do some checking of the connections to the power supply.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #87 of 204 Old 07-13-2013, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
zEDuXUIr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtis Bahr View Post

If it does not try to spin after the tray completes the load then the first thing to look at is the pickup. This is taking the assumption the tray closes and the laser assembly completely lifts up. This means no sound like a motor straining then the tray re-opens. Take off the top. The tray will close, the laser mechanical assembly will raise then the pickup will move to detect a LD. Make sure all that is working properly.

I'm receiving a U1 error code on my Pioneer CLD-D605 with symptoms exactly as described in the quoted text. There's a straining sound coming from the motor and the disc does not spin. Here's a a video of the player in action. Any help would be appreciated.

http://youtu.be/DaDJMYzXpIk
zEDuXUIr is offline  
post #88 of 204 Old 07-13-2013, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by zEDuXUIr View Post

I'm receiving a U1 error code on my Pioneer CLD-D605 with symptoms exactly as described in the quoted text. There's a straining sound coming from the motor and the disc does not spin. Here's a a video of the player in action. Any help would be appreciated.

http://youtu.be/DaDJMYzXpIk

Try grabbing the mechanical part you see coming up in back when the noise starts and lift up on it. If this helps complete the load so it can try to play then you need a new SCQ4.0 belt. With the tray fully extended you'll see it under the tray left front. If that does not help then you have something jamming the movement.

Kurtis
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
post #89 of 204 Old 07-13-2013, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
zEDuXUIr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtis Bahr View Post

Try grabbing the mechanical part you see coming up in back when the noise starts and lift up on it. If this helps complete the load so it can try to play then you need a new SCQ4.0 belt. With the tray fully extended you'll see it under the tray left front. If that does not help then you have something jamming the movement.

Thank you Kurtis for the prompt reply. I pulled on the housing and it completed the load! I'll be ordering a replacement belt. Is it difficult to replace? What do I have to remove to access the belt?

Now I can watch the handful of LDs I've collected over the years.
zEDuXUIr is offline  
post #90 of 204 Old 07-14-2013, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Kurtis Bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by zEDuXUIr View Post

Thank you Kurtis for the prompt reply. I pulled on the housing and it completed the load! I'll be ordering a replacement belt. Is it difficult to replace? What do I have to remove to access the belt?

Now I can watch the handful of LDs I've collected over the years.

Just pull the tray out to the stops, it will go further than what the player ejects it, or press the two "J" hooks on the back of the tray to the side and remove it. Either way you should see it on the left front under the tray. Also clean the white pulley. Just make sure if you pull the tray out you re-insert it in the open mode for the player.
Kurtis Bahr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Brand , Pioneer Electronics

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off