Help choosing a portable DVD player - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 01-10-2011, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,I just want to buy a good quality and cheap portable DVD player on the net,
can anyone tell me how can I know the quality is good or bad? Cheers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-11-2011, 04:12 AM

Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Not much traffic here at all on portable players. Many people may just use their laptop or netbook for DVDs.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
post #3 of 7 Old 01-11-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Panasonic portables are good. I've been using the DVD-L86 for the past three years and it hasn't let me down. This model has the large capacity battery. You can get the (edit) LS83 for less - it is the same unit but without the large capacity battery. Both are selling for almost half the price now compared to when I bought the L86 in 2008.
post #4 of 7 Old 01-11-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I'd suggest a Sony. I tried several black Friday specials and they all had issues within a year(my kids are kind of tough on them) but last year I paid a little more for a Sony. It seems to be built much better than the no-name models. I paid $85 at Amazon but they went on sale locally a month after for as low as $69 at the time they were $100 locally + tax. I think Sony is changing models and getting rid of last years stock, I got the DVP-FX750.
I've also notice Panasonic seems to be clearincing out their portable BR player. It's 9"(my Sony is 7") and I believe it's <$130 now. I don't have BR but for those that do, it might be nice.