vhs to dvd on the e30 or hs2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 09-18-2002, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to get a DVD recorder - either the DMR-E30 or dmr-hs2, but am concerned that I won't be able to copy my vhs tapes to dvd without some kind of added equipment. Since I'm new to this, can anyone help? I have what seems like a thousand kid videos and they still watch them all the time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 09-18-2002, 11:02 AM

If they have macrovision on them, you'd need something extra in between the VCR & DVD Recorder to remove that. If it's tapes you made or taped off TV or macrovision-less, then all you need to do is hook up the video out on the VCR to the video in on the dvd recorder.

:)
post #3 of 14 Old 09-18-2002, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks. So it's probably pretty safe to say that the Disney videos my kids watch cannot be copied without a "middle man" device?
post #4 of 14 Old 09-18-2002, 12:19 PM

Right, those would have protection. :(

:)
post #5 of 14 Old 09-18-2002, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally posted by newtodvd
Thanks. So it's probably pretty safe to say that the Disney videos my kids watch cannot be copied without a "middle man" device?
You do realize there's a lot of Disney stuff already on DVD, right?
post #6 of 14 Old 09-19-2002, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter

Well, yeah, but I don't want to have to pay Eisner 20 bucks each to replace about 30 videos. I already paid for all of them, and I don't think there's anything wrong with wanting to copy them onto something more durable than videotape.
post #7 of 14 Old 09-19-2002, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 429