Panasonic dmr-hs2 hdd upgrade. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-28-2002, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tomas316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver,co
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I put a new drive in my hs2, 120gb, 7200rpm Wester Digital, and it works fine. It came up and asked if i wanted to format the drive. But it doesnt see any more drive space than with the 40gb maxtor. Shows about 9 hours in the XP record mode. I am going to fill that up and see if it will continue past the end.
Any ideas? Was this an issue with the tivo in the begining?
tomas316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-29-2002, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to Japanese websites an upgrade to 80 Gig is possible but requires a firmware upgrade. Do a check on these forums and check the links...
Doug O is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-29-2002, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tomas316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver,co
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you give me some of the links?
tomas316 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-29-2002, 11:32 PM
Member
 
David Hwang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
David Hwang is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-30-2002, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also this very issue was covered in this thread and would have saved you the wasted effort (use of the search tool and keywords "HS2" and "Hard Drive" will bring up pertinent threads). Hopefully, they'll make the firmware update available in US.

Vic

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-30-2002, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tomas316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver,co
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did do a search but the one thread i didnt wade through was the 200+ reply one... But i did find the same info once it was read. I have called some of the Panasonic service shops trying to find out some more info, but no info yet.
tomas316 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-30-2002, 06:15 PM
Member
 
David Hwang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
tomas316,

Is your 120GB HDD working without any problem? Can you read the
HDD on PC? Thanks!
David Hwang is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-01-2002, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tomas316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver,co
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
David,
The hard drive worked fine, only saw 40gb of the drive tho. I didnt get any more time out of it. Actually i got about 5 more minutes than on the original drive. Havent hooked it up to my pc yet.

I did get this from Panasence...
Dear sir

Thank you for your letter which you inquired about the upgrade of
DMR-HS2 from us in US.

We are sorry that our store only ships this DMR-HS2 in Japan,
and this products are not being sold in other countries.
We do not want to disappoint you, however, please understand this.

Thanks for your understanding.

Sincerely yours

PanaSense Customer Center
tomas316 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-01-2002, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty ironic they call them selves PanaSense, since the reply is nonsense. Good luck getting them to even understand the whole Luma Bug issue. Sheesh.

LOL!

Vic

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-01-2002, 09:19 AM
Member
 
David Hwang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
tomas316,

Just forget the upgrade. It costs more than 40,000 Yen!
In other words, you pay the additional 40GB for 300 US
dollars. That is too expensive!

Let me know the result when you hook the HDD to your
PC. Thanks!
David Hwang is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off