Zenith DVB318 Upscaling DVD player info thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by merc
Damnit! Can someone please verify that this player does downrez DVDs via its' component outputs.

I simply can't believe that Zenith would give Canadians 1080i via component on all DVDs, but screw us Americans??? I realize I told everyone that this would happen, but deep in my heart I hoped for better from Zenith. This is simply ridiculuous... :(
Can someone post the manual? Gotta believe its mentioned in there.
whsbuss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
www.zenithservice.com

Download PDFs of all products there.

Remember guys: This DVB318 is supposed to be a very much fixed version of the spotty Canadian unit that's been out.

I don't understand why anyone would give a damn, legally, about upconverting or not. Who cares? Why should their be any limits whatsoever? It's not like you're reproducing something... I don't get what the hub ub is about it at all.

I was encouraged by several Zenith reps to experiment. I think they just have to state things to avoid a lawsuit. Although...who would sue them and why?

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #183 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by whsbuss
Can someone post the manual? Gotta believe its mentioned in there.
Try this.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #184 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
LOL, player was hardly visible in those pics, it is soooo small...
zoro is offline  
post #185 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cinemagotham,

thanks for the manual link. Nothing mentioned there about upconvert being disabled for protected DVDs.
whsbuss is offline  
post #186 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JimSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone mentioned about posting a pic of the gray scale test in DVE. Since you don't have that, do you have Finding Nemo? In the THX optimizer test the first one is a rectangle with 8 boxes that are different shades of white. I think if it's crushing whites you'll see one big white rectangle, not 8 squares of different shades. The THX optimizer is on the first disc, I think in the Setup area.
JimSD is offline  
post #187 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by whsbuss
cinemagotham,

thanks for the manual link. Nothing mentioned there about upconvert being disabled for protected DVDs.
It also doesn't seem to say anything about the faroudji (sp?) chip... Weird...
cinemagotham is offline  
post #188 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual only mentions 1080i a couple times:

Quote:
Tip: You can change the resolution
(480p, 720p, 1080i) for the component/
DVI-D video output by pressing
UPCONVERSION on the front panel.
480i is not available.

Quote:
COMPONENT VIDEO OUT (Y) 1.0 V (p-p), 75 Ω, negative sync, RCA jack x 1
(Pb)/(Pr) 0.7 V (p-p), 75 Ω, RCA jack x 2 (480p, 720p, 1080i)
DVD-D DIGITAL OUT DVI-D Single Link connector x 1, (480p, 720p, 1080i)
cinemagotham is offline  
post #189 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:54 AM
Member
 
jbrownin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Middleton,WI
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual does, however, indicates that the unit has macrovision. All ire should be directed to the mpaa, which believes you the consumer dont have the right to view the material in higher- res thru component. I have hopes that this machine can be hacked, as its clone the DV7832 does not have mv enabled.
jbrownin is offline  
post #190 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:54 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Nothing mentioned there about upconvert being disabled for protected DVDs.
whsbss,

CrazyINP, who has the DV318 in his house reported this:
Quote:
I was able to change the upconfersion to 1080i on component but, the pics looks better then 480p for sure, but notes in the manual says that even the higher resolutation is selected if the DVD is copy protected will reduce to 480p automatically.
My guess is that the "notes" are on a seperate piece of paper stuck in the manual when Zenith made the firmware changes on the units they received from Asia. I'd guess that was why this unit was being reported as being available, but, was delayed... :(

Seems like the Hollywood Studios got to them and convinced them they should screw us here in the US.

BE AMERICAN, BUY CHINESE, OR AT LEAST CANADIAN. :(
merc is offline  
post #191 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 09:59 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The other part to this sick conspiracy is that now I can't find any existance of the LG DV7832NXC DVD player on any LG site at all.... it has just mysteriously disappeared. If someone can find it or the manual for it on an LG site, please post it here.

Maybe, the studios have convinced LG to screw the Canadians as well? :rolleyes:
merc is offline  
post #192 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This strikes me as a prime candidate for HKFlix to sell an "upgraded" version ;)
cinemagotham is offline  
post #193 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
does momitsu uses dcdi
zoro is offline  
post #194 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:08 AM
Member
 
brightbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excuse the rant here but.....
Why in the *&^ would I buy a new player that still only does 480p?
99.9% of the DVD's people watch are copyrighted.

What's the point if this unit can not he hacked? It is just another DVD player!

Ohh I forgot...I get to go buy another expensive component cable to get 480p! Sounds greaatttt!

If I rent a bus will people sign up for a trip to Canada? We will make two stops;
1. One for cheaper prescription drugs(you need them after dealing with HD in the USA.)
2. Electronics store for the LG player.

Any takers! Ah?

Not the brightest bulb on the tree.
brightbulb is offline  
post #195 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It does supposedly still do the upscaling for DVI, so there's that, although if DVI does not allow the TV to use its zoom function I'll be SOL for my nonanamorphic widescreen DVDs (like Vertigo)
cinemagotham is offline  
post #196 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:18 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
It does supposedly still do the upscaling for DVI
If this unit is just a disabled version of the LG DV7832, it has already been reported that its' DVI output is nothing special.

It was the 1080i component output that made this unit special...

It is just inexcusable for the studio-manufacturer cabal to dis us like this? Us early adopters are the ones who keep them in business. :rolleyes:

Maybe, if they force us to buy our DVD players from China, we should buy our DVDs and music CDs from there too?
merc is offline  
post #197 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I can understand both sides of the story to a certain extent. I mean, they want control of their product, which they own. They don't want people making HD and near-HD quality masters of their stuff. But it is really aggravating. I was sold (well, almost sold, seeing as how I didn't buy) on the 1080i through component too. Maybe I need to just get a nice DCDi non-upscale player. It's not like the image will look BAD!
cinemagotham is offline  
post #198 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
p@55w0rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I missed something here but I have not seen a post the definitely confirms that the 318 does not up-convert through component. I mean an actual user results. In the LG version the same thing is in the manual and it still up-converts through the component output.
p@55w0rd is offline  
post #199 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Chuck Coughlin
Maybe I missed something here but I have not seen a post the definitely confirms that the 318 does not up-convert through component. I mean an actual user results. In the LG version the same thing is in the manual and it still up-converts through the component output.
Innnnteressssting....

How would you check? My TV gives info on source res but only through its QAM tuner, as far as I can tell... (Is that true, Q? I don't remember.)
cinemagotham is offline  
post #200 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
psklenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern New England, USA
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
And the thing that made this so interesting is more and more units are doing upscaling over DVI ... but there are few who do it over Component ... and there are still a lot of HDTV's out there that have 1080i capable Component inputs but no DVI inputs (like ... most all HDTV's released more than a year ago ... like my brand new bedroom TV ... etc).

<sigh>

pat----

psklenar is offline  
post #201 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See, Hollywood just wants us to buy a HD-DVD copy of their crap. Then they can re-distribute the same movies we all have in HD format.

It absolutely make no sense.
whsbuss is offline  
post #202 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:30 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Maybe I missed something here but I have not seen a post the definitely confirms that the 318 does not up-convert through component. I mean an actual user results.
Chuck,
Did the LG manual also say protected DVDs were downconverted? Can you point me to a link for the LG manual?

As much as I am praying that the Zenith version will upconvert like the LG one, previous history of disabled and discontinued units that did upconvert say otherwise.

Still, my fingers are crossed.
merc is offline  
post #203 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cinemagotham
Innnnteressssting....

How would you check? My TV gives info on source res but only through its QAM tuner, as far as I can tell... (Is that true, Q? I don't remember.)
I guess you could play a DVD, like LOTR, and press the upconvert button on the front panel to see if the output changes. My Sammy DLP interrupts the input with resolution changes. Of course, you always have the "objective eye" to visually compare.
whsbuss is offline  
post #204 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, my TV goes a little jig when it resets from 480p to 1080i but it would be nice to scientifically know if it's doing it or not...
cinemagotham is offline  
post #205 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:37 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
How would you check?
On my 2 year old Pioneer HDTV(without DVI), if you push the button for the input which is receiving the signal from your DVD player, it shows the signal on the screen. If it is 480p it says 31K; if it is 1080i it says 33K.
merc is offline  
post #206 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by merc
On my 2 year old Pioneer HDTV(without DVI), if you push the button for the input which is receiving the signal from your DVD player, it shows the signal on the screen. If it is 480p it says 31K; if it is 1080i it says 33K.
OK then. Can someone actually test this via component?
whsbuss is offline  
post #207 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
psklenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern New England, USA
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by merc
On my 2 year old Pioneer HDTV ... If it is 480p it says 31K; if it is 1080i it says 33K.
Gee, my 1yo Mitsu says "480P" and "1080I" when I press the "Info" button. :p

pat----

psklenar is offline  
post #208 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CrazyINP -

Can you set up your new unit via component and do a test? Play a copy-protected DVD and select the different upconvert formats from the front panel button.
whsbuss is offline  
post #209 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:47 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Gee, my 1yo Mitsu says "480P" and "1080I" when I press the "Info" button.
Your Mits is obviously smarter than my Pioneer. :)

BTW, Hi Pat! Long time no see. :)
merc is offline  
post #210 of 4956 Old 04-13-2004, 10:48 AM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Can you set up your new unit via component and do a test? Play a copy-protected DVD and select the different upconvert formats from the front panel button.
But... don't select 720p unless you are sure your set can accept that mode. ;)
merc is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off