Momitsu 880N - Page 44 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2006, 06:28 PM
Nyx
Newbie
 
Nyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

i've done some research within this thread and i've not been able to find anything about those topic :

1. Divx & xvid. Can they be upscale with this unit ?
2. How does the dvi ouput work with resolution like 800x600 & 1024x768. How does the upconversion apply in these case ? Does this mean that a 480p signal will be upscaled to 800x600/1024x768 ?

Thanks
---------
Nyx

---------------
Nyx
Nyx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2006, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
garyfritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1. http://www.momitsu.com/dvd_880nspec.html says the v880N supports MPEG 4 (OpenDivX, XviD, RMP4) (.m4v, .avi, .divx, .xvid, .rmp4, .mov, .mp4).

2. Yes, the 480p DVD signal is upconverted to the desired resolution. It does quite a good job of it too. Not as good as a $1000-4000 scaler, but a whole lot cheaper.
garyfritz is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
garyfritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My v880N displays a "frame" around the image -- fairly wide at the sides, narrower at the top & bottom. It's maybe IRE15-20 or so at normal watching levels, but the frame seems unaffected by the player's internal brightness/contrast controls.

Does everybody's do this? Is there some way to get rid of it? I suspect it was introduced in one of the later firmware upgrades, since I don't remember seeing it when I first got the player.

Gary
garyfritz is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
fooit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GTA ON Canada
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyfritz View Post

My v880N displays a "frame" around the image -- fairly wide at the sides, narrower at the top & bottom. It's maybe IRE15-20 or so at normal watching levels, but the frame seems unaffected by the player's internal brightness/contrast controls.

Does everybody's do this? Is there some way to get rid of it? I suspect it was introduced in one of the later firmware upgrades, since I don't remember seeing it when I first got the player.

Gary

Did you try different zoom options like Fit to Screen?
fooit is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 09:30 AM
Member
 
RayH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyfritz View Post

My v880N displays a "frame" around the image -- fairly wide at the sides, narrower at the top & bottom. It's maybe IRE15-20 or so at normal watching levels, but the frame seems unaffected by the player's internal brightness/contrast controls.

Does everybody's do this? Is there some way to get rid of it? I suspect it was introduced in one of the later firmware upgrades, since I don't remember seeing it when I first got the player.

Gary

Does your display device have an auto calibration setting? It's possible that the timing outputs changed slightly with the firmware upgrade and your display needs to be re-adjusted or manurally tweaked. The other option is playing with the custom display timings on the V880.
RayH is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
garyfritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, it's not my projector. I've put the v880N on several displays including VGA monitors and all of them show the border. I assume they're probably the front/back porches, but why are they lit up?

fooit, the zoom operations just change the image displayed INSIDE the border. The attached pic shows what it looks like -- the raster has the bright border, and then the full 16:9 image area is inside the border.
LL
garyfritz is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
garyfritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, not much response on that, let's see if THIS topic raises any interest...

I know there were mods for the v880. I think there were some for the v880dx but I'm not sure. The v880dx and **I think** the v880N supposedly resolved many of the major problems with the first v880 model. (Don't the v880dx and v880N have basically identical video chains?)

I've heard rumors of mods for the v880N, but I haven't seen any. I don't think it's safe to assume you could take BBlue's v880 mods and apply them blindly to the v880N, unless you really know what you're doing (which I don't).

So ARE there any good/straightforward mods for the v880N? Maybe bringing out RGBHV to BNC connectors instead of going through DVI-I -> DVI/VGA adapter -> sex changer -> VGA/5BNC adapter ?
garyfritz is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Tbone2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any success running MMC in Vista? When I run it the pointer turns in to an hourglass (or should I say a tire-like-thingy in Vista) when you drag the mouse over the window. The 880N will see the computer at this time but if you try select anything it will time out. I think the problem is that the default directory no longer exists (\\documents and setting\\user\\my documents\\my videos), it is now only a shortcut and if you try to click it you get some sort of an access error message. I assume that it is trying to look for files but can't access the directory and doesn't know how to get around the problems. I was hoping that the default directories are not hard coded in to the program. Anyone have anything to add?
Tbone2000 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe this is a question already raised before.

I am looking for a DVD player that can up-scale internally through its component outputs.

Apparently copyright infringement issues have limited such units. The Momitsu 880 seems to be one of them.

But I have just read a comment above saying "Yes, the 480p DVD signal is upconverted to the desired resolution. It does quite a good job of it too. Not as good as a $1000-4000 scaler, but a whole lot cheaper".

So how does the Momitsu compare to other players like Oppo 970?

The other DVD up-scalers seem to be the Zenith 318, the Samsung 841 and the Neo Neo 208. Has anyone on these forums made comparisons between any of them?
Carlos Martinez is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 12:36 PM
Member
 
dpoverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can get the zenith model that is the way to go. The new Neo Neo Models are pretty good too

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos Martinez View Post

Maybe this is a question already raised before.

I am looking for a DVD player that can up-scale internally through its component outputs.

Apparently copyright infringement issues have limited such units. The Momitsu 880 seems to be one of them.

But I have just read a comment above saying "Yes, the 480p DVD signal is upconverted to the desired resolution. It does quite a good job of it too. Not as good as a $1000-4000 scaler, but a whole lot cheaper".

So how does the Momitsu compare to other players like Oppo 970?

The other DVD up-scalers seem to be the Zenith 318, the Samsung 841 and the Neo Neo 208. Has anyone on these forums made comparisons between any of them?

dpoverlord is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpoverlord View Post

If you can get the zenith model that is the way to go. The new Neo Neo Models are pretty good too

It seems I am getting a bit late to this party.

The Zenith models you can only buy from eBay and are refurbished.

The Oppo 971 is only refurbished, and perhaps the 970 too. Don't want anything refurbished.

The Neo new models look fine, but they are not exactly cheap, at $380 and $580. It seems like a lot of money for a brand I know little about.

Looks like I'm back to square one.
Carlos Martinez is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to set the custom DVI resolution for 480P @ 24 or 48 hz refresh for my Sony Pearl to see if it will work?

I have tried the Custom DVI HTML setting and they just dont work?

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by A/Vspec View Post

Anyone know how to set the custom DVI resolution for 480P @ 24 or 48 hz refresh for my Sony Pearl to see if it will work?

I have tried the Custom DVI HTML setting and they just dont work?

Try custom 720p48 (47.952 Hz). It works well on my Pearl from a V880 (which is similar to the V880N).

When I try 480p48, the Pearl incorrectly identifies it as 800x600 and does not scale it properly to fill the screen. When I try 1080i48, the Pearl scales it properly, but it stutters way too much. I am passing the DVI signal through an A/V receiver, so that might be a factor.
Erik Garci is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Erik. I will give it a try.

I get the same indication of 800x600 and that is running direct from the V880N to the Pearl so it is not your rcvr. I also got the stutter you mention when I tried 1080i48 or 1080i24.

I think some of the settings that come up on the custom DVI form are not correct for digital projection and only apply to CRT??? But I could be wrong.

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
720p48 works but I can not get the vertical stretch that I need for my Panamorph lense even though it is listed in Alans list of gear that can do it:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=537491

So I need to try and figure out how to get 480p24 or 480p48 to work so I can have the Pearl do the stretch as that is the only resolution that the Pearl allows you to.

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Phoenix2443's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tbone2000 View Post

Anyone have any success running MMC in Vista? When I run it the pointer turns in to an hourglass (or should I say a tire-like-thingy in Vista) when you drag the mouse over the window. The 880N will see the computer at this time but if you try select anything it will time out. I think the problem is that the default directory no longer exists (\\documents and setting\\user\\my documents\\my videos), it is now only a shortcut and if you try to click it you get some sort of an access error message. I assume that it is trying to look for files but can't access the directory and doesn't know how to get around the problems. I was hoping that the default directories are not hard coded in to the program. Anyone have anything to add?


I've had the exact problem but in XP Pro SP2. I cannot seem to figure out what the problem is. I've uninstalled several times, uninstalled the java, rebooted, and even tried mmc1.3 to see if that would work. All with no help. MMC just sits there and when i scroll over it I get an hourglass. I'll try writing to Momitsu but so far their tech support has been awful.
Phoenix2443 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Tbone2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix2443 View Post

I've had the exact problem but in XP Pro SP2. I cannot seem to figure out what the problem is. I've uninstalled several times, uninstalled the java, rebooted, and even tried mmc1.3 to see if that would work. All with no help. MMC just sits there and when i scroll over it I get an hourglass. I'll try writing to Momitsu but so far their tech support has been awful.

That's interesting. I'm running XP Pro SP2 and it works fine. Now I'm wondering if the problem was something different. I'm ready to get a new laptop but I want Vista and I use MMC a lot so I really want to get to the bottom of this. I see that your post was over a month ago. Did you ultimately solve your problem and if so, what did you do?
Tbone2000 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Phoenix2443's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still never found a remedy to the situation. I'm going to try installing mmc on another pc and see if that does the trick but so far I've had no luck and have just been using the machine as a region free media player. Hopefully someone can figure out what my problem is.
Phoenix2443 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Tbone2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix2443 View Post

I still never found a remedy to the situation. I'm going to try installing mmc on another pc and see if that does the trick but so far I've had no luck and have just been using the machine as a region free media player. Hopefully someone can figure out what my problem is.

With Vista I believe the problem is related to the directory structure being different. MMC looks for files in My Documents\\My Videos. Any chance you removed that directory or changed the name of it? Maybe I'm completely on the wrong track and it's a Java related thing.
Tbone2000 is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
malken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
after i did a custom DVI settings and saved it ...set-up menu for my momitsu 880N is gone.... any suddgestion or advise?

(from the remote) manually tried all different TV output from NTSC (composite), 480p-1080i (component) to all DVI settings.

still set-up menu is gone...

please help.

thanks in advance....
malken is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
dcluley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Time to replace my transport on the 880N - anyone consider dropping a blue-ray transport into the 880N - and would it work then as a blue ray dvd player?

Any advise for against trying it?

If against, any advise on the latest Lite On. or other transports that people have been using to replace the crappy ones supplied with the stock player.

Thanks,

Drew Cluley
dcluley is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 02:07 PM
Member
 
johann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No it will not work as a BluRay player.
johann is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off