Very Fresh Firmware List for Panasonic! (RP91 and XP unit discoveries!!) - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2004, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
...and some of us like making this thread EVEN BIGGER!!! MWAHAHAHAHAHHAAAAA!

(*cough*)

found the site OK (the link was posted -after- I started looking for it, so, well, I don't totally suck...) Burning now the NERO, 1x, DAO, blah blah.

Thanks to all for hosting it, for getting it out, etc. And, despite the fact that the NG version was old, it let me find this thread, and for that I'm grateful. (I had given up on my "RP-82 firmware update" searches on AVS, I'd just be depressed as all the '91ers would have their happy updates, and I'd be left sad...

heheh

sharkshark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2004, 09:33 AM
Member
 
glassvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't that always the way?

And Omen's ng post is what led me here also. The only thing I've ever seen for Panasonic players is the mythical "service disc" that can't be copied and isn't available in the US, and those who have it let it out for a several hundred dollar deposit. While this disc obviously is quite different than that, it does raise some interesting potential possibilities!
glassvial is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
success...

took two times to go through (first time once again locked on ver 300) but it's now showing f/w 302 on my RP-82.

Put in the queen disc and... well, same problem (the dvd-a layer both queen discs from DTS put pauses between tracks, almost like a layer change, while the DTS layer plays fine...go figure). Ah, well. Still, is great to have the latest and greatest fw for my baby!

thanks once again to all for their help...

sharkshark is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Omen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just uploaded Sango's new May 2004 Panasonic firmware to alt.binaries.multimedia.utilities . The upload consists of 6 RAR's of the ISO image, an NFO file, and 7 PAR2's. In the NFO file I listed the player models supported for the new firmware, and a link to the firmwareupdate.us web page.

To find the files, search for "Panasonic DVD Firmware Update 2004-05" in that newsgroup.

"So why don't you put her in charge?" - Hudson
Omen is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
groovypants... thanks once again to all that helped with this release, great to see everyone helping one another out.

sharkshark is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi sharkshark:

It could be something to do with the disc, not always the player. Since I have multiple Panasonic units (4 RP82s and 2 RP56s), I usually test my discs on all units and see if they show the same consistancy, if so then I go talk to the manufacture and see what they can do.
---------------
Reguarding the service yes, yes it cannot be copied use general purpose burners. Attempting to do so and using it on your unit is guarented you're going to an authorized service center for repair. The only way to do it is using an authorized burner and media.

You don't need to pay lots of dollars because if you do some good hunting you can find a good source and you can get it for $<20 dollars which works.

Sango

Ps: This is a December 2003 disc, not May! =)
Sango is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Franklinton, NC, USA
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by glassvial
Isn't that always the way?

And Omen's ng post is what led me here also. The only thing I've ever seen for Panasonic players is the mythical "service disc" that can't be copied and isn't available in the US, and those who have it let it out for a several hundred dollar deposit. While this disc obviously is quite different than that, it does raise some interesting potential possibilities!

It isn't "mythical" -- it is real. It is available in the US. I have a copy. I PM'd you information on how to get one yourself (for $15).



Joe

Home Page (click to enter)
RCA Television Service Information (DTV306/7 and ITC222)
DrJoe is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
J Borsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sango,

I have a pioneer DVD burner that I would like to use to burn this CD-R. However, in the Blind Write screen it doesn't check either
"Support RAW pq"
or
"Support RAW pw"

When it burns the only option I have is "SAO Cooked"

What does this mean?

don't use this type of software ever, so this is all new to me.

Can you help?


Thanks,

Jason

_________________
JBorsh
J Borsh is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
J Borsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose I could use NERO to try it. Does anyone know how to get an evaluation copy of NERO?

_________________
JBorsh
J Borsh is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Omen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by J Borsh
I suppose I could use NERO to try it. Does anyone know how to get an evaluation copy of NERO?

Nero 6 Ultra Demo.

"So why don't you put her in charge?" - Hudson
Omen is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
J Borsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Omen,

So I got the Demo (Thanks a bunch).

So I just double click the file and Nero launches and then click 4x speed and burn? Is there anything else to be mindful of?

_________________
JBorsh
J Borsh is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's just a different burning method but SAO cooked does work.
Just to note: SAW raw doesn't so don't try it even thou it's selectable because it's going to be a coaster!

Yeah just use Nero, it should be fine. Just look at the screen shot for reference.

BlindWrite is more advanced so if you're not confortable using it, then use Nero.

Sango
Sango is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Omen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by J Borsh
So I just double click the file and Nero launches and then click 4x speed and burn? Is there anything else to be mindful of?

That's all there is to it. My Nero 6 defaults to track-at-once, so I just left it at that; the disk is created fine. I also used 8x (my lowest speed available) without any problems.

Good luck!

"So why don't you put her in charge?" - Hudson
Omen is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup! the screen shot there and the caption does say that too! =) I should make it more explicity later on tonight since I gotta run.
Sango is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:09 PM
Member
 
glassvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Sango
Sango

Ps: This is a December 2003 disc, not May! =) [/b]

Dec. 2003 from Panasonic, May 2004 to the grateful masses

Hmm, now how should I label this disc? Panasonic DVD firmware updates, Dec 03/May 04?
glassvial is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:09 PM
Member
 
glassvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DrJoe
It isn't "mythical" -- it is real. It is available in the US. I have a copy. I PM'd you information on how to get one yourself (for $15).

Joe

Cool thanks, replied to your PM.
glassvial is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Yawny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pacific Ocean
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Sango,

First of all thanks again for all your hard work getting these updates to all of us. Why Panasonic doesn't make them available is the big mystery.

Anyway I downloaded the new file in the Nero .nrg format and clicked on the icon. Nero (v6.3.1.10) opened and I put a blank CDR in my drive. But the only speed option available was 40x. Nothing slower, nothing faster, just 40x.

So I went back and downloaded the .iso (thank you Road Runner) and tried it in Nero. Same thing...only 40x is available. I took a chance and burned the disc and it came out fine.

Loaded it in my RP-91 and it came up that my player did not need the update. I knew that already because I updated it with the previous disc you provided. Just wanted to see if the disc I burned at 40x was OK.

So I ejected the disc but accidentally closed the tray and the disc loaded again. This time though it went through the usual reading process, but told me the update was completed. I checked the firmware and it still says 262 as before.

I went back and re-entered my settings and everything is fine. Also note that the macrovision I had turned off with SD2 stayed off, unlike the last time I updated from v250 to v262. Guess it doesn't touch the macrovision if the player isn't updated, just the player settings are reset back to default.

Anyway that's my experience. Thanks again and keep us posted about any new updates!
Yawny is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
J Borsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

Well I did complete the burn and update.

I am not sure of the actual updates that are supposed to be happening, but it does seem to give better colors through my projector.




Salute!

_________________
JBorsh
J Borsh is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rmcgirr83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: East Lyme, CT
Posts: 4,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
J Borsh

It would be nice if you listed the player that you updated.

Burned the disk and started watching LOTR ROTK last night, got an hour into it. I'll be doing the update tonight and post my impressions (Denon DVD-1600, 42" Panny plasma, ISF'ed).
rmcgirr83 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Keith Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After applying the update to my RP91, I now find that the player doesn't want to read my DVD-Ram disks. Has anybody else experienced this?

Keith Smith
Keith Smith is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I never knew RP91 could read RAM discs unless it was a modded unit and you flashed it. BTW: What is the previous firmware you had?
Sango is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Keith Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic DVD recorder that records the DVD-RAM video discs that I've been playing on my RP91. I found a copy of the version 236 RP91 firmware that I've re- installed. After a little bit of playing with the settings, my DVD-RAM discs are playing again.

I had also tried version 259 of the RP91 software and wasn't getting my RP91 to read the DVD-RAM disks.

Keith Smith
Keith Smith is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 06:38 PM
Member
 
glassvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated my friend's DVD player this afternoon. No change, SVCD's still don't play correctly and the troublesome DVD media still doesn't work either. Oh well, at least it's updated from 333 to 399, if that matters.
glassvial is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well it can depend on how you burned them on the disc as well. It's hard to tell without very detailed info.
Sango is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 09:02 PM
Member
 
glassvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, some DVD-R media works, some doesn't, all burned in the same fashion. SVCD's stutter no matter what.
glassvial is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Franklinton, NC, USA
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please no longer PM me for info on who to get the Pansonic Service Disc #2 from. I have been told that there is only one person on the AVS Forum who has permission to do so. You need to PM him directly. He does not wish to be publicly identified as to who he is -- you are supposed to figure it out on your own.

thanks,

Joe

Home Page (click to enter)
RCA Television Service Information (DTV306/7 and ITC222)
DrJoe is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr. Biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Kenmore,NY USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:


Originally posted by Sango
I never knew RP91 could read RAM discs unless it was a modded unit and you flashed it.

FYI,

RP91:

Playback Capabilities:
1. DVD-Video (Including DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW and DVD-RAM)
2. DVD-Audio
3. CD (Including CD-R and CD-RW)
4. MP3s encoded CD but not MP3s encoded on DVD
5. Video-CD (VCD) but not SVCD



Bill
Mr. Biggles is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 09:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup I agree too. Please specify the unit that you did =)
Sango is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Franklinton, NC, USA
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Mr. Biggles
FYI,

RP91:

Playback Capabilities:
1. DVD-Video (Including DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW and DVD-RAM)
2. DVD-Audio
3. CD (Including CD-R and CD-RW)
4. MP3s encoded CD but not MP3s encoded on DVD
5. Video-CD (VCD) but not SVCD



Bill

You should probably note that SVCD's will play if burned with the header trick (I think I verified that at one point).

Joe

Home Page (click to enter)
RCA Television Service Information (DTV306/7 and ITC222)
DrJoe is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Omen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DrJoe
You should probably note that SVCD's will play if burned with the header trick (I think I verified that at one point).

The VCD header trick for playing SVCD's works great with my RP-62, so I would expect it to work just as well on an RP-91.

"So why don't you put her in charge?" - Hudson
Omen is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off