Sticky: Zenith DVB318 FAQs - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1897 Old 08-05-2004, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by Q of BanditZ
Where can I get this information? Is there a link to a thread I can post?

I posted this in the thread re: AVIA disc locking up as well as the main 318 thread. Myself and many others have experienced the problem with Hellboy, and someone posted they've had the same problem with Gladiator.
NorthJersey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1897 Old 08-05-2004, 01:22 PM
Member
 
ToLive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As many of you talked about the Saturation and Hue, I'm just wondering if there is any detailed instruction for Saturation & Hue adjustment? I'm using NEC LT240K front projector and just got my DVB318 (to see if it can replace my current Denon DVD-910), I tried to use Avia Guide's filters to adjust Saturation & Hue, but it seems that it's very difficult to do the adjustment.

ToLive
ToLive is offline  
post #183 of 1897 Old 08-05-2004, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With Autoplay on "Finding Nemo" started with a bonus feature video footage but with the audio track from the main movie. I had to turn Autoplay off and then things worked normally. I have left autoplay off sense then.
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #184 of 1897 Old 08-05-2004, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
wmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by C.Y.
I don't think I ever said "fix 4:3 content with zoom feature", I did say zoom feature as a workaround.

No offence meant. I didn't consider cropping the 4:3 material as a workaround. Guess it is technically. Apols.
wmallory is offline  
post #185 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since we seem to have a lot of repeat arguments and material about this player, I am going to add here, in concrete, about one issue so there's no missing it:

YES, THE ZENITH DVB318 MOST CERTAINLY DOES HAVE A DCDI CHIP IN IT. NO IFS, ANDS, OR BUTS ABOUT IT! YES!!!!!!!!!!

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #186 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 06:26 AM
Member
 
tonyab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: houston,tx u.s.a.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: Amazon is offering the 318 for $159.99. Estimated shipping time is 1- 2 weeks.
tonyab is offline  
post #187 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tonyab
FYI: Amazon is offering the 318 for $159.99. Estimated shipping time is 1- 2 weeks.

Wow! Excellent price.

I just can't get over how much repeating about this player that has been done around here. I realize the main thread is too huge to be of any use, but even at that...the repetition of the same arguments, same questions, same everything leaves me speechless.

I added this quickly to the top of the FAQs so there's no mistaking it. Maybe it'll buy a couple of weeks before someone posts another thread trying to contest these FACTS:

YES, THIS PLAYER REALLY HAS A DCDI CHIP! DETAILS BELOW!

The DVB318 DOES incorporate DVI with HDCP.

I love the people that write in and say, "Yeah, it's says so on the box that it has it but maybe it doesn't."

I guess I am going to have to make a point of bumping this thread several times a day since the mods never saw fit to make it a sticky like I had asked. I did everything they asked me to to try and make sticky status and I simply can't get it done.

Maybe someone else can ask them to do it. I give up.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #188 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ehren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hell, 25 minutes south of Madison, WI
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ahhh I can't make up my mind if I want it! I only have 2 component inputs which are being used by Dish 6000 and HD cable box.
ehren is offline  
post #189 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVI?

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #190 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
wmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Q of BanditZ
I guess I am going to have to make a point of bumping this thread several times a day since the mods never saw fit to make it a sticky like I had asked. I did everything they asked me to to try and make sticky status and I simply can't get it done.

Maybe someone else can ask them to do it. I give up.

Well whatever you or someone else did, it worked!!! It's now a sticky!

And there was much rejoicing.
wmallory is offline  
post #191 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by wmallory
And there was much rejoicing.


yaaay.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #192 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks mods!

Couple of Ben Franklin handshakes always get it done right.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #193 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
dkwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to state that my 318 came with SVCD support out of the box. I popped in an SVCD last night and the player recognized it as SVCD. I had to hit the play button in order for it to start though. Perhaps if I had Autoplay turned on, it would start automatically.

I checked my eeprom settings to see if it was already hacked, but the values were the pre-hacked values. I proceeded to set the values to the hacked values anyway to see if there would be any difference, but there were none.

BTW, I have a March 2004 build of the player.
dkwong is offline  
post #194 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
billt1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: DFW area
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my 318 today as well. It was a March build and unhacked.

bill
billt1111 is offline  
post #195 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
dkwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by billt1111
I just got my 318 today as well. It was a March build and unhacked.

Are you able to play SVCD's without hacking?
dkwong is offline  
post #196 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 02:34 PM
Member
 
sau2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for the SVCD hack for the EEPROM, how do I get to post 2104? Thanks.
sau2004 is offline  
post #197 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
dkwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by sau2004
for the SVCD hack for the EEPROM, how do I get to post 2104? Thanks.

Here.
dkwong is offline  
post #198 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 03:41 PM
Member
 
AV Exclusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zenith Service Was Great DVB318
12 days ago my DVB318 Broke. Would not play DVD's just CD's. I posted this back awhile. Nobody had any sugestions. Called Zenith, they sent me a DHL Paid Pickup Slip. DHL picked up the unit last Monday, recieved swapped unit yesterday. Interestingly enough it was a December date model. Anyways, Cheers to Zenith. Glad to be watching movies again. I also AB'd it with my DreamX 1080 Sigma Design Chipset player. What a difference. Like night and day, I can't watch my DreamX anymore.

TREV

Trevor Orrick
ELS
AV Exclusive is offline  
post #199 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to hear good news like this.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #200 of 1897 Old 08-06-2004, 11:07 PM
Member
 
ElevatorHappyFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i am going to repeat my post kinda....

I have my 318 hooked up via component. When i bump up the scale of my dvd's from 480p to 1080i the image IS moving up around 1.5 inches... i also believe it is moving to the left a slight bit.

i am sorry if this has been mention/asked a million times... and yes Q i have searched ...

mine is "striahgt-out-of-the-box" new... no hax... nothing... except new cables...

ohh and for some reason when i use DVI it doesnt move... only when i use Component... and NO i dont wanna use DVI on my screen it doesnt look at good. BTW i have a Toshiba 42H83 HDTV....

I don't have a "home theater"... I have a "home cinema". Nobody is singing and dancing in my house.
ElevatorHappyFun is offline  
post #201 of 1897 Old 08-07-2004, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...

Any firmware of any kind of that TV? This problem rings a bell with me. I suspect help shall be forthcoming for you very shortly...

It's some tweak that has to happen either in a service menu or if you have DVE or Avia or something like that I think you can do it.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #202 of 1897 Old 08-08-2004, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
lirong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I play DVDs (most recently on LOTR: ROTK) one thing I am noticing is that the background tends to look pretty "pixely" - it almost looks as if the background is moving...

I tried setting it to FIlm mode from Auto but still has that effect where the pixels in the background are almost twinkling or something.

Anyone else seeing something similar? Any ideas how to adjust?
lirong is offline  
post #203 of 1897 Old 08-08-2004, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What TV are you using and is this DVI or component?

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #204 of 1897 Old 08-08-2004, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
lirong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Toshiba 50HDX82.
Component.
lirong is offline  
post #205 of 1897 Old 08-09-2004, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried calibrating it with DVE, Avia, etc. etc. ? Might want to try reducing your sharpness and/or contrast and/or brightness and see what that does.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #206 of 1897 Old 08-09-2004, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
wmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also keep in mind that LOTR:ROTK is not the best DVD in terms of background picture quality. It's an almost 3 1/2 hour movie jammed onto a single DVD and it shows in the background of various scenes. The Extended Edition should be better since it will be split across two discs.
wmallory is offline  
post #207 of 1897 Old 08-09-2004, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
ReneA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Miami, FLA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Mitsubishi RPTV and my 318 will not upconvert using the component video in. I seem to remember that my TV is locked in at 480P at the component in. If I use S-Video, can I upconvert to 720P? By the way, the other component in to my TV is for the HiDef receiver, and I prefer to keep that like it is. So far, my 5 year old Toshiba 5108 blows away the 318, using the component in to the TV. Lots of Jaggies I've never seen before. Thanks.
ReneA is offline  
post #208 of 1897 Old 08-09-2004, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
wmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
S-Video can only support 480i. Period.
wmallory is offline  
post #209 of 1897 Old 08-09-2004, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cliff Stephenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tarzana, CA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I was able to place an order for this player after Amazon recently dropped their price to $159. I placed the order last week and was given an estimated ship time of 1-2 weeks. In an effort to speed up delivery of the player, I opted for the 2-day shipping (@$15 extra), eagerly anticipating getting the player as soon as possible. Well, to my pleasant surprise, I got an email today saying that the player had already shipped. I soon noticed that under the shipping method listed in the email, it was UPS Ground! After calling Amazon to find out if this was a mistake in the email or if it really was shipped ground instead of 2-day, I was told that because they received their stock earlier than expected and could hit the estimated delivery date using ground, that's what they did!!! So the fact that I paid $15 extra for second day to get the player to me sooner didn't matter at all. After basically telling the guy that I wasn't about to let that stand as is, he reluctantly refunded the difference in shipping charges, but I'm not sure that I'm totally content with how they handled this. So as a reminder to all of you who preordered the Samsung 941 with an estimated arrival date of mid to late July, make sure that they upgrade your shipping to overnight, free of charge, in order to hit the estimated arrival date as closely as possible as that seems to be their policy. (I'm pretty sure it doesn't work in reverse!)

Anyway, I'm not sure if this is old terrain or not with Amazon, but I figured that with so many people ordering this player from them at their new price, be on the lookout for what shipping arrangements you made with them and how they ultimately deliver it to you.

Cliff
Cliff Stephenson is offline  
post #210 of 1897 Old 08-10-2004, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cliff,

When did you place your order?

I placed one on Friday and delivery is scheduled between 8/24 and 9/2. Used the free shipping since I don't need it right away.

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off