Momitsu v880 with Pan PTL-300U projector - Customs settings?! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2004, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
:confused:

Any Pan PTL-300u owners are using CUSTOM setting with their V880?

Understood there is a Custom setting from other thread and works fine with Sanyo Z1 (which has similar LCD pannel and resolution). Had any of 300u owner tried it?

I am still testing the v880 with my 300u. Here are my observation and prediction :-

(a) The picture quality of "300u wide 480" is similar to "300u wide 600", but both are better than "300u wide 768".......i.e. clearer and sharper....might be because the projector only up convert 60 lines or down convert 60 lines to native resolution of 540 lines. It is simplier than down coverting "wide768" to native 540, by 228 lines. Does it make sense in layman terms to you?

(b) "Wide 480" seems to be better than "wide 600" a bit, because it save the up converstion of "480" to "600" at v880, then down convert to "540" at the projector. Agree??

(c) "Component 1080i" ........looks better than above settings. It might be because 300u just cut 1080i half to its native "540". It should be simplier than to up scale or down scale 60 lines to 300u's native "540", but it is ANALOG, not DIGITAL.

(d) I have just ordered a DVI to VGA adaptor, will try 1080i thro 300u'S VGA port. Have any one of you tried that before?

Panasonic PTL-30U owners, pls share your experiences and your workable CUSTOM SETTING(S) if any. Thanks in advance.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2004, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
One more comment............."wide 768" causes the picture jerks. "Wide 480" and "wide 600" do NOT!!!!

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EricD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im really thinking about getting this player too and I also have the l300u projector. Im interested in your findings.
EricD is offline  
 
Old 05-11-2004, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
mvictorin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree with you, Kwok. 480wide seems to be the best DVI setting that comes with the Momitsu.

Could someone post the 1:1 (960x540) custom DVI settings for the L300u and let us know how it is compared to 480wide or 1080i? Thanks in advance.
mvictorin is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 02:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
cappra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Sanyo Z1 which uses the same LCD panels (960 x 540) as the L300U. Though already posted, here is the settings again that work very well with these units.

V880's Custom settings for my Z1:
(33986)Hz, (5994)Hz
1024, 0540
1248, 0074
0112, 0038
0567, 0006
0013, 0008
0001, 0001

You can play around with the horz number (1024) somewhat to fit your screen. I also picked up a DVI to VGA adaptor and some VGA cable and then ended up buying a DVI-I cable with a VGA end, but can tell no difference in the two picture wise. The 1080i settings is almost the same as the custom DVI setting, but I think I can see a difference, maybe it's all in my mind! I do have a Panasonic RP56 running thru the component imputs and I used to think it was a pretty great picture. Now I can't stand to watch anything with it!
cappra is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cappra: Many thanks for your advice.
I will try it this weekend.
Most likely I need to change the 2nd line of your customised settings (Video Width) from 1024 to 960. i.e. Video Width =960, Video Height =0540. Your Z1 is of 1024 x 960 ?! If both projectors are of same LCD pannel, you should try 0960, 0540.............did you try it?

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
cappra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I did try 0960 width but there was a sizeable chunk missing from the side of the picture. I would have to redo my screen to eliminate this from viewing. I think it must have something to do with not being able to achieve a 1 x 1 pixle mapping on a 16 x 9 size screen. The other fellow who gave me these numbers must have encountered this problem as well.
I'm sure I have the screen built to right dimension's as I measured from the blank blue image that is shown when there is no signal present. Perhaps I should redo my screen to the 960 width. Am I missing something?
cappra is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cappra:
I don't know if you had missed anything, as I haven't tried any customised setting before. I will try this weekend.
I saw your messages from another thread "Momitsu v880 with z1". You mentioned that you prefer the PQ of 1080i Component via VGA. It seems to me that it is not digital direct. 1080i component out is Analog and Z1 just cut 1080i analog into half to suit its native resolution....."540".
I tried Component 1080i, via the component input of 300U and for sure it is better than those 3 presets at DVI (300u wide480/600/768). That's why I ordered a DVI to VGA adaptor to get the 1080i through. 300u only takes 1080i via Component or VGA input, not via DVI-D input.........that is why I ordered the adaptor. If the customised setting (from you) works, I might not need that adaptor. And yet, you mentioned about the "Jerks" at the picture back ground whilst using DVI customs setting and the black bars are the concerns.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
vtskibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: warren, vt
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a Momitsu for the PT-300.
I prefer the wide 768 after making adjustments to the projector.
An improvement over component but not breathtaking.

Momitsu support provided parameters for 1:1 mapping but they did not work, same as described earlier from 'Lagairre'.
They did not answer question as to why three settings and which is
recommended.

I understand the other type of dvi cable is required to use with vga
adaptor; for the analog signal.

My Momitsu has some loader problems and will not power off, perhaps
related to march firmware issues.

Happy with picture quaility but think we'll have to wait for the upgrade
to HD-dvd before getting really excited.
vtskibum is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
vtskibum : What adjustments you had done to your projector?
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
cappra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like the 300u, the ZI does not have a DVI input. VGA, component, composite and S video only. I am using a DVI-I to VGA cable. Adaptor does the same thing, I just eliminated the adaptor. I don't believe you can do a custom setting thru component, only the DVI output. I think that the DVI to VGA 1080i setting is better than the component 1080i setting and the DVI to VGA custom setting is slightly better than both. Any of the slight "rippling" effect using the custom setting is eliminated by switching to the 1080i setting. This "rippling" effect on slow horizontal pans is present on some DVD's, not others.
cappra is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cappra: Sorry that I confused you on the 300u input ability. The 300U has DVI-D, VGA (RGB), Component, S-Video and Composite = 5 imput ports. The limitation is that DVI-D port does not accept 1080i (only Component or VGA port). That's why even V880 provides 1080i thro' DVI out, but 300U does NOT take it. To overcome this limitation, I should either get a cable like you have (DVI one end and RGB the other end) or apply a "DVI-D to RGB" adaptor.........in my case, I have a DVI-D cable both ends with DVI Pins. In my perception, this linkage will let 300u to down scale 1080i down to its nature resolution "540", by cutting 1080i to half. Does my perception make sense?!
The other alternative is take your customised setting.......which will eliminate the up conversion from 480i to 1080i then down conversion to "540", using the VGA.
Do hope this chinese (that's me) can explain better this time in English (my 2nd language), hee heeeeeeeeeee
Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
cappra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kwok lau,
I understand now. I was not aware that the 300u had a DVI-D imput. Odd that it won't accept 1080i, maybe because of the resolution limitations. I would think if you could get the custom setting to work out, you should have a better picture. I suppose the less conversions the units have to do, the less chance of introducing scaling artifacts and the such.
I would try both ways and see what it looks like. Let us know how it turns out.
cappra is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
vtskibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: warren, vt
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kwok,

I think you will need a DVD-I cable for vga interface as it contains four
extra pins required for the analog signal , someone correct me if I'm wrong.

I am using 'normal' picture mode with -1 for color and increased the bright and contrast slightly on the pl-300. Momitsu set on wide 768 dvi.

I would think the higher resolution would produce the best picture as
scaling is required anyway
vtskibum is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cappra : You bet I will.
I will try (a) component 1080i, using DVI Cable and adaptor to VGA input port; (b) Z1's customised setting you gave me, using DVI cable directly to DVI-D input port. I assume the customised setting SHOULD be better, unless 300u does not take it. I have my fingers crossed.

Stay tuned. Have a nice day.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Vtskbum: I tried the 300u wide768 already. The picture jerks and not as sharp as wide 480 or wide 600. You watch closely again, if you are using Pan PTL-300u. You better off using component cable on 1080i....analog.

I beleive RGB port takes digital or analog both.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
slateef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Heaven
Posts: 1,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 14
does the momitsu not have component out (at 1080i)? if it does, why not just use this component out to component in on the l300u?

I dream of a better tomorrow... where chickens can cross roads and not have their motives questioned.
slateef is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
cappra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The momitsu does 1080i thru component fine. It's just that the DVI and the DVI custom settings give a better picture. This is more important for a lot of people that are using it with a projector or a big screen tv with a larger than 50 inch picture. On a 36 inch or smaller screen size, I'm sure the 1080i thru component looks fantastic!
cappra is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Slateef:
Good question. I am using the component port for another DVD player (Onkyo DV-800 Universal DVD/DVD-A/SACD player). I have not tried what I mentioned yesterday yet. But my Onkyo's component out is far better than any settings that I had done on V880. And yet, I am not comparing Apple to Apple. My Onkyo is of 5 times the price of V880. I got the V880 is solely for DVI and the "headaches" for fun........on fw ugrade, resolution changes etc.

Other comments/suggestions from other PTL-300U owners are welcome.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
ride525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just curious, how do you get into the right menu to make custom settings?

Thanks,

Jeff
ride525 is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
rIDE525:
Go to Video settings menu option, press right arrow key on the remote to highlight the "hd dvi out" option. With that highlighted, point the remote directly at the player and press 9-7-1-3. You will get the custom setting screen for your own setting inputs. Have fun.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cappra :
Need your confirmation again........is the VertFreg =6000 (5994) or 60000 ?
I saw Legairre's setting shows 60000!?

Mvictorin : Had you tried the settings that Legairre gave you, 3 weeks ago? What was the outcome?
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:39 AM
Member
 
monkeyphant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a PTL300U and I received a shipping notice yesterday for the Momitsu. The DVID cable supports both DVI and RGB. That being the case, the DVID cable should support DVI, 1080I and 750P....that's assuming the Momistu custom settings are correct. In other words, there shouldn't be any reason to use the Momistu component video out. True?

MP
monkeyphant is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
cappra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure he accidently added one to many zero's! besides, there's only room for four digits in the menu anyway's.
cappra is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cappra : Tks. I asked because I haven't receive the adaptor yet. I would like to have all the stuffs I need before trying. I did not visit my theater at the basement last 2 days.

Monkeyphant : Welcome to the family. Stay tuned after you read former messages.
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mvictorin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't tried the custom settings yet. May have a chance to do so this weekend. Kwok, maybe you'll post your findings before I do.
mvictorin is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Hi folks:
I tried the settings whole night long last night, but no luck. Here is the result :-

(A) MY DVI-D cable does not pass 1080i through THE "DVI to VGA" adaptor to VGA port. Is it because this cable does not pass digital and analog signals same time and the VGA port only takes analog signal ?! Seems like it. After all, I still can get 1080i signals via Component out, but not RGA or DVI out. Mind us that is ANALOG, defeats the purpose of getting V880.

(B) I found a customised setting already exists in my player (with VideoWidth/Height = 1024/768), no picture when switched it on. I applied 2 other custom settings (said to be for 300u and Z1 projectors, from you folks). The one for 300u showed nothing, but the one for Sanyo Z1 shows a truncated/shrinked Main screen of V880. I had asked Momitsu for 1:1 (960 x 540) maping. No answer yet. I am asking Casey of Extremephone too, this morning.

(c) "300u wide 768" produces the most smoothest "Screen test" signal pattern from a DVD Testing disc. But moving picture/movie "Jerks". How can I resolve this "jerks" problem? This is one of the 3 pre-settings by Momitsu, has anybody brought this problem to Momitsu for fix yet? Any other method, other tha reverting the FW? Is it LOADER problem, not FW problem? I understood that reverting FW to Oct/Jan is to solve the "screen freeze" and stuck loader issues, not picture jerks. Am I right?
Did you guys see the Jerked picture on "300u wide 768"??

Hay, a lot of fun and fustration by far. Hee heeeeeeee, keep smiling. Don't hesitate to share your experiences.

Kwok

Kwok

Pls revert.

Kwok
kwok lau is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
vtskibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: warren, vt
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I stated in a previous post, 1:1 mapping parameters provided by momitsu
did not work for me over dvi.

You will need a dvi-I cable using vga adapter; the dvd-D is for digital only.
I have not tried this but am curious if it's an improvement over wide 768
which for me has not been 'jerking'...yet.
I understand that this was the prefered setup before they added the
three pl-300 settings.
vtskibum is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 08:19 AM
cc2
Member
 
cc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get "jerking" picture when the DVD is "poor" quality. No problem with "normal" dvd. I read that it was due to the chip itself which was not efficient with badly flag DVD. Nothing we can do.

Thanks for evaluation of the wide 768 res. I guest I prefer smoothest thus this is why I was recommending this setting before.

You are doing a great job kwok. I still wonder about a connection via RGB at 1080i?
cc2 is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Vtskbum: Yap, I recalled your advise. You are right. My cable only passes Digital signal, not 1080i analog signal.

Wonder why my picture jerks and yours not. Are you using March 04 (1.1.11) firmware?
kwok lau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off