Momitsu V880 WoW! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 258 Old 05-09-2005, 06:13 AM
Member
 
popechild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...
I just checked the Extremephono site and noticed a note about conflicting remote IR codes with Pioneer receivers. Is this the same problem as with the Bravo D2? I'm trying to find a good non-HDCP dvd player, but I've got a new Pioneer VSX-1014 - do all 3 of the v880 versions have this remote problem?
popechild is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 258 Old 05-09-2005, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Toonces T. Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by popechild
Hmm...
I just checked the Extremephono site and noticed a note about conflicting remote IR codes with Pioneer receivers. Is this the same problem as with the Bravo D2? I'm trying to find a good non-HDCP dvd player, but I've got a new Pioneer VSX-1014 - do all 3 of the v880 versions have this remote problem?

The conflict in the IR codes is not just with the Pioneer receivers. The Momitsu V880 codes also conflict with Pioneer LD players as well.

-Toonces

"I wasn't born in Texas, but I got here as fast as I could."

-Archie Whippet
Toonces T. Cat is offline  
post #183 of 258 Old 05-09-2005, 07:01 AM
Member
 
popechild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it with all 3 v880 models? I read somewhere that the codes on the v880N might be different and not conflict?
popechild is offline  
post #184 of 258 Old 05-09-2005, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Toonces T. Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by popechild
Is it with all 3 v880 models? I read somewhere that the codes on the v880N might be different and not conflict?

Sorry, but I do not know the answer to that one. It's not really a big deal for me as I only have the LD issue and the power on/off codes do not conflict on the LD player. The only time it has been an issue is when I am transferring an LD to DVD on my ILO recorder. One, or another, of the Pioneer codes turns the Momitsu on. I just cover the IR receiver on the Momitsu with a small flat piece of plastic and it blocks the signal...It's a minor irritation, but certainly nothing worth dumping the otherwise excellent Momitsu over.

-Toonce

"I wasn't born in Texas, but I got here as fast as I could."

-Archie Whippet
Toonces T. Cat is offline  
post #185 of 258 Old 05-09-2005, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The V-880-N does not interfere with Pioneer codes

The V-880 and V-880 Deluxe do interfere with Pioneer codes
wblynch is offline  
post #186 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 01:46 PM
Member
 
mdray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello.
The Momitsu website has new firmware for the 880DX.
It's version 1.1.17 and it adds new zoom modes, panning, and very helpfully, an XY scaling mode, which means you can size the picture to any aspect. This is one feature that helps me loads!
mdray is offline  
post #187 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mdray

Hello.
The Momitsu website has new firmware for the 880DX.
It's version 1.1.17 and it adds new zoom modes, panning, and very helpfully, an XY scaling mode, which means you can size the picture to any aspect. This is one feature that helps me loads!

Wow, thanks for the heads up.

Although you don't state that it will work with the original V-880 I think I'll give it a go anyway and see what happens.

BTW, can you post a link to that download site?

Thanks, Bill
wblynch is offline  
post #188 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
loopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater, FloriDUH
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wblynch
Wow, thanks for the heads up.

Although you don't state that it will work with the original V-880 I think I'll give it a go anyway and see what happens.

BTW, can you post a link to that download site?

Thanks, Bill

I already posted this info earlier last night. I just update the old thread I had created

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=482712
loopy is offline  
post #189 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Loopy !
wblynch is offline  
post #190 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Loopy let us know how the upgrade goes on the v880.
rwestley is offline  
post #191 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
loopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater, FloriDUH
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the deluxe, update went smoothly. I just got in 3 new netflix movies, so I will check things out tonight hopefully. I'm wondering if the new loader firmware provides smoother layer change, although TBH the v880dx for the most part has a pretty unnoticeable layer change, I really only notice it from time to time. You gotta use nero to burn the loader firmware, they packed it in .nrg format instead of .iso
loopy is offline  
post #192 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I wonder if the firmware would work on the non deluxe model?
rwestley is offline  
post #193 of 258 Old 05-12-2005, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
loopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater, FloriDUH
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
probably not. the deluxe has bigger memory capacity for firmware.
loopy is offline  
post #194 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 02:43 AM
Member
 
Dave Tv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clearwater
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a "read me" in with the firmware that shows some non-dx versions might be able to upgrade.

Are there any non-dx units with 1.1.13 or higher?


Quote:


Momitsu DVD player - V880-DX Firmware update version ver1.1.15 Release2
=======================================================
Important Note!
=======================================================
* This English-language firmware version is V880-DX ONLY.
* To verify if you have V880-DX: Please go to Setup Menu > Initial Steting> > Firmware version 1.1.13*
If your V880 is loaded with ver 1.1.13 frimware or avove, you can use this update.
If your V880 is loaded with ver. 1.1.12 or below, please DO NOT upadte with this version.

* After update, please use "Video" button to select Video output if there is no video on the screen.
* In order to get the best performance of video quality, Please do not connect SCART and component out put at the same time.


Verify from S/N number:
V880 S/N MT239Axxxxx
V880DX S/N MT93A4xxxxx

Dave Tv is offline  
post #195 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 03:42 AM
Member
 
satgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hellas
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had loaded ver. 1.1.14 on my non-dx V880, don't know if higher versions will load.

BTW, has anyone tried the new loader firmware thats available on the dx firmware page?
satgeek is offline  
post #196 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
vjren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Higher versions will not load or work correctly on the V880 (non dx) I tried 1.13 and 1.14 but settings are lost or it doesn't load firmware al together.

Anyone any more luck?
vjren is offline  
post #197 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 06:59 AM
Member
 
Grumps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Red Sox country
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK,my V880-DX has the original firmware (ver.1.1.13) it was shipped with and never has been updated. Should I load all updates from ver.1.1.14, ver.1.1.15, ver.1.1.15 release 2, ver.1.1.17, and ver.8X6Q (05-05-05) 1 at a time or just the last update?
Grumps is offline  
post #198 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
loopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater, FloriDUH
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
grumps: just go directly to 1.17. when they release new firmware they always include the fixes and additions from the previous version, so there is no need to install each firmware (they will just overwrite each other anyway)
loopy is offline  
post #199 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Grumps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Red Sox country
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will do - and if any one can screw it up nobody can do it like I can.
Grumps is offline  
post #200 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
loopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater, FloriDUH
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you have it available, plug your momitsu into an uninterruptible power supply before you update it. also, if you need to follow the onscreen insctructions, don't use DVI, cuz for some reason it won't display on the DVI
loopy is offline  
post #201 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Grumps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Red Sox country
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have it set with DVI and to digital output on TV - looks like I gotta do some changing around before i attempt it - before I do it do you think it's worth the update? Am i glad I had a lunch break and oh shi% it's Friday the 13th too.
Grumps is offline  
post #202 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
loopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater, FloriDUH
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I update without anything on my TV, you just gotta know at which point to hit the play button so it can start the firmware flashing. and yes, if you're running the original firmware you probably should update both
loopy is offline  
post #203 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Grumps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Red Sox country
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
went like a charm - now if i can find out how to use it - I need a firmware update for myself - On, off, eject, close, pause, play, is my original firmware now to get zoom etc. is going to take some getting used too.
Grumps is offline  
post #204 of 258 Old 05-13-2005, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Dave Tv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clearwater
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a Mits 65807 and have this 880DX hooked to it via component cables to the HDTV input. (no dvi on this set)

Whenever I set it for 1080i, and the 880's splash screen comes up, I get this video tearing effect across the middle of the screen that reminds me of macro-vision.

When I play DVD's I have to start them in 480P mode to navigate the menus, etc., then switch to 1080i after the movie starts. If I don't go thru this sequence the 880 will dump the video, and go to 'blue screen'.

Anybody else experience this?

I've tried setting the macro-vision on and off, and set the region code to my location, but this does not change the 1080i video tearing/dumping problem.
Dave Tv is offline  
post #205 of 258 Old 11-30-2005, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwatkins View Post

I got a new DVD burner and using Nero software have no problem copying 4.7gig dvds and playing them on the Momitsu. However, I can't play double layer DVDs. Is this a limitation of the player?

Thanks,
Kirk

Finally got DVD+R DLs to play in this thing...here's all the details:

Verbatim DVD+R DL (#95166)
Nero 7.0.0.0
burned ISO image at 4x
Sony DRU-810A automatically set book type to: DVD-ROM
Momitsu V880 with latest firmware (ver.1.1.12, 5-26-04)


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #206 of 258 Old 01-05-2006, 10:15 AM
Member
 
mflagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Howdy,
I own the V880 DX model, and love it, on my projector.

I now have a new 37"lcd flat panel for the bedroom, and want another dvd player. I am happy with the component upscaling output. I was wondering if there is anything better that has come out?

You can't mess with a good thing. I will probably try hunting down a V880 DX for sale from someone.

~~Later Mike
mflagg is offline  
post #207 of 258 Old 03-09-2006, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
ellsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mflagg,
I have been looking for a dvd player that upconverts specifically via component (I have a Sharp
9000 fp and need 720p). The only other current player I have come across is the NeuNeo and the reviews I've seen aren't nearly as favorable. Do you or anyone else know of any other good player that does this? Also, did you consider the 880N?

There is always something better.
ellsworth is offline  
post #208 of 258 Old 03-09-2006, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Component upconversion: zenith 318 with older firmware, lg dvb418 with latest dvb531 firmware from lg-canada. Not sure what else.

jeff
greeno is offline  
post #209 of 258 Old 03-10-2006, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
ellsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Jeff, I'll check those out.

There is always something better.
ellsworth is offline  
post #210 of 258 Old 04-23-2006, 11:13 PM
Member
 
sdg72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone modified the v880 or v880dx for SDI output ? The reason I am asking is because I have a V880 and love the performance of it, but would like to use a DVDO HD+ with the SDI input for the best possible picture quality. Or is this DVD player not a good candidate for this type of modification.

Home Theaters, once you get started there is no end. :)
sdg72 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off