Denon 3910 Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 7503 Old 10-24-2004, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So which model the 5900 or the 3910 is more likely to hold the edge in resale value in the future?
I bet the 5900 since it will continue to be a much desired audio only player for dvd-audio and SACD even after we get HDDVD and BluRay.
steviec is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 7503 Old 10-24-2004, 05:09 PM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 9,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Greetings,

I suggest we let the 3910 versus 5900 topic die. This thread should really be reserved for discussion of the 3910 and it's attributes ( positive and negative ) as well as for information related to it's performance, features, and for fielding questions from owners both current and potential.


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #453 of 7503 Old 10-24-2004, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


I suggest we let the 3910 versus 5900 topic die.

Thx, or just make a new thread for that.

-- Cain
Cain is offline  
post #454 of 7503 Old 10-24-2004, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your right I agree.
steviec is offline  
post #455 of 7503 Old 10-24-2004, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I got a replacement for my 3910, and I'm gonna get the firmware upgrade any day now.

The weird thing is the replacement player has a much lower serial number than the original player did, and it came over one month later...

-- Cain

Ps Did anyone figure out how to tell what firmware we have now ??
Cain is offline  
post #456 of 7503 Old 10-24-2004, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
PaulG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Out There
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Ps Did anyone figure out how to tell what firmware we have now ??

I'd really like to know this. Picking my 3910 up tomorrow evening.

THANKS!
-Paul
PaulG is offline  
post #457 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 03:09 AM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 9,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Greetings,


I don't think anyone really knows how ti find out which firmware version is installed. To be honest I really don't see why this would be priviledged information. Maybe a call to Denon.......hey it couldn't hurt....right?


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #458 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried e-mailing Denon to find out how to check firmware, but they haven't gotten back to me yet. They're usually pretty good about a quick response, and I don't see why they wouldn't provide the necessary info, but we'll see. I'll post what I find out (if anything).

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #459 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 07:29 AM
Member
 
MarkStega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Annapolis, MD; USA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the RS-232 protocol documentation you can query the firmware version. I've got a 3910 on order & will be writing a serial driver, so I will implement the query. The 3910 is due later this week or early next...

Mark Stega
MarkStega is offline  
post #460 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 09:12 AM
EL
Member
 
EL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no need for writing a driver, many terminal softwares can send the command required, I will also try.
EL is offline  
post #461 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daphoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah telnet or hyper terminal or putty can do it

- D
Daphoid is offline  
post #462 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From Denon's reply to my e-mail:

To confirm the software version on the DVD3910:
1. Turn the small power button off on the front of the unit.
2. Hold down the PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE buttons on the front of the unit, both at the same time.
3. Turn the power back on and continue holding the buttons for 3 seconds, then let go.
4. After >II LOADING shows on the display, press the 3,2,6,5 buttons on the remote (in that order) and then press the MENU button to see the version.

I haven't tried it yet, as I just got home, but hopefully this'll do the trick!

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #463 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 04:11 PM
Member
 
MusicmanSeattle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JasonColeman
From Denon's reply to my e-mail:

To confirm the software version on the DVD3910:
1. Turn the small power button off on the front of the unit.
2. Hold down the PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE buttons on the front of the unit, both at the same time.
3. Turn the power back on and continue holding the buttons for 3 seconds, then let go.
4. After >II LOADING shows on the display, press the 3,2,6,5 buttons on the remote (in that order) and then press the MENU button to see the version.

I haven't tried it yet, as I just got home, but hopefully this'll do the trick!

Jason

To add slightly to this --- with "step 4" above --- you can press the menu button as many times as you want, and it will cycle through the 6 different firmware version numbers (there are 6 separate version numbers for pieces of firmware in the player).
MusicmanSeattle is offline  
post #464 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it does work, but I'm not quite sure what I'm looking at. I'll ask for guidance before I post. "ESS" "SYSTEM" "DRV" "CNE" etc followed by various numbers.

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #465 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The one starting with ESS is the firmware version. Yours probably says ESS 6609. It may have a dash something after it.
scsiraid is offline  
post #466 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 04:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:


Originally posted by JasonColeman
From Denon's reply to my e-mail:

To confirm the software version on the DVD3910:
1. Turn the small power button off on the front of the unit.
2. Hold down the PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE buttons on the front of the unit, both at the same time.
3. Turn the power back on and continue holding the buttons for 3 seconds, then let go.
4. After >II LOADING shows on the display, press the 3,2,6,5 buttons on the remote (in that order) and then press the MENU button to see the version.

I haven't tried it yet, as I just got home, but hopefully this'll do the trick!

Jason

That's exactly how you check it on the 5900 also, I must not have explained it correctly in previous posts, must be because the 3910 has a different power/standby scenario.

Jim
Keenan is online now  
post #467 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by keenan
First, power off the player. Then, with the open/close and play buttons held down, turn the power back on. When you see the play and pause icons appear on the front panel display, hit the enter button on the remote to toggle through the various settings. When finished, power the player off again.

Jim-

Do you not have to enter any numerical sequence with the 5900? I think that was the big difference...otherwise they are the same.

Now if I could only figure out what the hell all this means!

Thanks,

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #468 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 05:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:


Originally posted by JasonColeman
Jim-

Do you not have to enter any numerical sequence with the 5900? I think that was the big difference...otherwise they are the same.

Jason

No, I missed that part, read it too fast, no number sequence for the 5900.

Jim
Keenan is online now  
post #469 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 06:10 PM
EL
Member
 
EL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used the trick and also the serial port command.
Here's what I've got:

ESS 6609-1
MAKE DAY 710A
DRV 030825
SYSTEM 6767-2
DSP 6770
CNE 20040609

with the serial command

02h -> STX
31h -> reply code
20h -> answer code
30h -> system = 0
39h -> system = 9
2Dh -> system = -
31h -> system = 1
30h -> drive = 0
38h -> drive = 8
32h -> drive = 2
35h -> drive = 5
36h -> panel = 6
37h -> panel = 7
36h -> panel = 6
37h -> panel = 7
03h -> ETX
43h -> checksum
34h -> checksum

system = 09-1 is the ESS 6609-1
drive = 0825 is the DRV 030825
panel = 6767 is the SYSTEM 6767-2

The firmware fix of Denon was not applied nor the region free firmware.
If other can post what they got it will be more informative.

EL
EL is offline  
post #470 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sweet!

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #471 of 7503 Old 10-25-2004, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Expletive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by steviec
The 5900 still blows the 3910 out of the water! The 3910 actually looks kind of cheap.Some will be happy with it but the 5900 is so good in the audio department you can use it as a standalone dvd-audio/ sacd player when bluray comes out. Would not want to do that with the 3910.

The 5900 suffers horribly from the macroblocking bug and on displays where this bug can be seen the 5900 is, imo, unwatchable. So while it is a great audio player, in the video department it has some major issues. If you go the SDI route then it is perfect but by the time you add that and an external scaler youre looking at another $2k.

I'll be using iLink form the 3910 so when you take the video section into account, the 3910 beats the 5900 hands down for me. (i've owned both btw).

John
Expletive is offline  
post #472 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 01:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by JasonColeman
From Denon's reply to my e-mail:

To confirm the software version on the DVD3910:
1. Turn the small power button off on the front of the unit.
2. Hold down the PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE buttons on the front of the unit, both at the same time.
3. Turn the power back on and continue holding the buttons for 3 seconds, then let go.
4. After >II LOADING shows on the display, press the 3,2,6,5 buttons on the remote (in that order) and then press the MENU button to see the version.

Jason


Thank you for posting this Jason !!

-- Cain
Cain is offline  
post #473 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 04:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Expletive: You must have got a bad unit or an older one without the new firmware .Mine is new and has the very latest firmware upgrades.No problem so you speak for yourself.
AND this is all I have to say on this issue as this thread is for the 3910 owners.
Please p.m. me if you want to discuss the issue further.
steviec is offline  
post #474 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Though I'm at work ( ) and can't check my 3910, EL's settings seem to be the same as mine.

From his post:

ESS 6609-1
MAKE DAY 710A
DRV 030825
SYSTEM 6767-2
DSP 6770
CNE 20040609

So what exactly does all this mean? I haven't loaded the firmware disc yet either.

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #475 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Here is mine from an Australian DVD-3910-

ESS 6609-3
MAKE DAY 725f
DRV 030825
SYSTEM 6767-2
DSP 6770
CNE 20040609

Slightly different.

Spero D.
Spizz is offline  
post #476 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Expletive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by steviec
Expletive: You must have got a bad unit or an older one without the new firmware .Mine is new and has the very latest firmware upgrades.No problem so you speak for yourself.
AND this is all I have to say on this issue as this thread is for the 3910 owners.
Please p.m. me if you want to discuss the issue further.

My opinion on why the 3910 would be better then the 5900 in some areas shoudnt be taboo on the 3910 owners thread, especially since i am a 3910 owner and i didnt mean to disrespect your 5900.

I don't believe firmware has anything to do with it as Denon recalled a firmware patch that supposedly mitigated the macroblocking issue but didnt. The issue lives in the Faroudja chip (2310) and all players that use it could have the issue. The 3910 has a hardware change of some sort which mostly eliminates MB in some resolutions and completely at 720p.

IMO, 3910 users should try to use 720p if possible.

Seeing MB is largely display dependent so if you are not seeing it then thats a good thing and have no reason to upgrade because the 5900 is a stellar performer otherwise!

John
Expletive is offline  
post #477 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
W4ZOO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parkland, FL Ft lauderdale area
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MarkStega
According to the RS-232 protocol documentation you can query the firmware version. I've got a 3910 on order & will be writing a serial driver, so I will implement the query. The 3910 is due later this week or early next...

What type of driver will you be writing?

Any chance it would consider a plugin for Gerder?

I have modified a GML for my Yamaha 9Z and have some success but I still need to figure our Setting commands verses Control commands.

Thanks

Ken
W4ZOO is offline  
post #478 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 08:49 AM
Member
 
MarkStega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Annapolis, MD; USA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
W4ZOO,

Actually, I'm building a CQC RS-232 driver (see http://www.charmedquark.com/ ). I'll look when I'm finished, but my last experience with Girder wasn't very happy. If nothing else, the source for the CQC driver will be publicly viewable, so it may help you get throught the Girder details.

Mark Stega
MarkStega is offline  
post #479 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 02:12 PM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 9,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Quote:


Originally posted by JasonColeman
Though I'm at work ( ) and can't check my 3910, EL's settings seem to be the same as mine.

From his post:

ESS 6609-1
MAKE DAY 710A
DRV 030825
SYSTEM 6767-2
DSP 6770
CNE 20040609

So what exactly does all this mean? I haven't loaded the firmware disc yet either.

Jason

Greetings,


I checked mine. The firmware version on mine is: ESS 6609-5 and the make day is 831.


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #480 of 7503 Old 10-26-2004, 02:19 PM
EL
Member
 
EL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
placidman,
did you install the latest firmware from Denon?
I'm waiting for the CD to do it ... and compare version.
EL is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off