Denon 3910 Owners Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 7503 Old 11-15-2004, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
[Europe]Boogiem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden Scandinavia
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by mimason
Agree about 7.1 but can you substantiate your claim about the decoder being superior in the 3805.

Based on only one comparison with Monster Inc. DD I could definietly hear more detail from the 3910 decoding compared to the 3803. Is the 3805 that much better than the 3803 decoder?

Can anyone else chime in with opinions regarding their experience with receiver decoding(specify) vs 3910 decoding?

You wanted facts and not personal oppinions - so here ya go

DECODERS

DENON AVR3805
---------------------
32-Bit Floating point DSP
3rd Generation SHARC ADSP-21266
1200 MFLOPs

(AVR3803 = 32-Bit Floating point DSP SHARC "Hammerhead Melody 100")
Yes 3805 is better than the 3803 DSP - Denon do move forward after all

IF you have missed all the tests of the 3805 here are a few:
Short test English
Long test German -needs to be babelfished maybe for you guys

Denon DVD3910
---------------------
The only info you can find on the net about the decoder is that its a dual SHARC hammerhead DSP for bass management and processing.
If it would have been anything new or good they would not need 2 of them and they certainly would have written the name out of the DSP just like they did with the gread B&B D/´s

If you think the 3910 built in decoder is so great then go ahead and use it - personaly I cant agree.
If it would have been as great or greater than the 3805 they would have built in the automatic equalisation (or at least made it possible to adjust eq for each channel manually) but the 3910 can not do that. Why? Because the didnt have time ti fix the software? No I dont think so beacuse the DSP aint good enought to handle it, the put thei powder on the music and picture section instead since this is what a DVD player is about. To produce a good base signal to the reciever or AMP to work with (when it comes to movie sound).

----------------------------

L + R pros (vd 5.1 out):
- Silmic audiphile grade capacitors for the output stage (5.1 does not have that)
- also other things - search google for info - thats how i learnt about the 3910 before it was on the market. Now when I tried it I must say that specs said a lot but really was not quite as good as that. But of course - its a great machine and I will buy one of the fix the picture issue over DVI.

---------------------------



HUGE German test of the DVD3910 (babelfish it if you dont speak german)

Regards
Boogie

Livingroom
JVC DLA-X30@108" 16:9
Denon AVR3805, Emotiva XPA-5
Oppo BDP-93,PS-3,HTPC
JBL Ti6K,Ti1K,XTi20,REL Q150
Bedroom
Pioneer KRP-500M
Denon AVR3802,HTPC
QLN 603,601MK2,Wharfdale DFS
[Europe]Boogiem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 7503 Old 11-15-2004, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mimason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^^Thanks for the response. I'll definitely have to break out more discs tonight and do some real critical listening.
mimason is offline  
post #723 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 02:40 PM
Member
 
minneapolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Strictly for DVD movies, is it preferable to use the analog outs on my 3910 to an amp (in my case it would be the 6 channel analog inputs on my receiver), or run digital to my receiver and let the reciever do the processing? I guess what I would like to know, is the decoder/sound processor in my 3910 be a step up from my Yamaha receiver?
minneapolis is offline  
post #724 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Krazykaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by minneapolis
Strictly for DVD movies, is it preferable to use the analog outs on my 3910 to an amp (in my case it would be the 6 channel analog inputs on my receiver), or run digital to my receiver and let the reciever do the processing? I guess what I would like to know, is the decoder/sound processor in my 3910 be a step up from my Yamaha receiver?

hi,

i personally think that it will depend on what Yamaha receiver you have. But generally, for DD or DTS, your receiver should be always a notch ahead/better in processing than the DVD player.
It also usually makes life alot easier if you send the digital signal to the receiver for processing, that way everything is done in the one unit and all the bass managment in there, and you don't have to worry about speaker levels and delay settings on both units so they match.
Also, DVD-Video (DD and DTS) usually have slightly different levels to DVD-Audio and SACD. So instead of trying to intergrate everything, you may find that it is easier to send the Digital signal to your amp for DD and DTS, and then use the DVD players speaker levels and settings with the MULTI Channel connection specifically setup for DVD-A and SACD. (the 3910 is brilliant in the DVD-A and SACD area)

but again, 'strictly for DVD movies', try to always use the receiver for DD and DTS, as it should be a lot better in the processing department. (but still depends on what amp you have)

my thoughts anyway

cheers
Krazykaj is offline  
post #725 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
volvoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried burning mp3-dvd but all of them failed to play in my 3910. I know it can be done because a friend at another forum burn one just fine, but I cannot reach him now to ask him how.

Anyone burn a successful mp3-dvd, if so, what program and what settings?
volvoguy is offline  
post #726 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 04:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:


Originally posted by Krazykaj

but again, 'strictly for DVD movies', try to always use the receiver for DD and DTS, as it should be a lot better in the processing department. (but still depends on what amp you have)

my thoughts anyway

cheers

The biggest advantage to having the receiver to the decoding is the ability to apply DDPLIIx to movies which will give you 5.1 and 7.1 channels of sound. Doing it in the player will limit you to whatever the DVD was encoded with, and many have only 2.0 soundtracks. Are far as raw decoding I don't think you would hear a difference in which component does the decoding. These soundtracks are not really a HiRez signal like SACD or DVD-A.

Jim
Keenan is online now  
post #727 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Krazykaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by keenan
The biggest advantage to having the receiver to the decoding is the ability to apply DDPLIIx to movies which will give you 5.1 and 7.1 channels of sound. Doing it in the player will limit you to whatever the DVD was encoded with, and many have only 2.0 soundtracks.

i don't know if this is the case, i can add any effect, DSP, matrix, upmixing to '9.2' channels on any incoming signal over the MultiChannel input. it does not matter if the signal in 2.0 or 5.1. The receiver looks at the mutlichannel in (generally) as a 5.1 signal, usually as a DD equivalent. So you can apply PLIIx, EX, THX etc. processing on Multi Channel in. so if the DVD is 2 channel, you still should be able to create a multichannel sound field with it, you shouldn't be stuck with 2.0, well i can do it on my amp anyway
I think this is the case also with many other receivers.

The only thing that, now you mentioned it , you will miss if you let the DVD player do the decoding of the movie Soundtracks (DD, DTS) is if the DVD is encoded in 'DTS-ES discrete'. I do not know of any DVD player that will decode DTS-ES and output a 6.1 signal analog (3910 included), they will all do only DTS 5.1. So if you have an amp that is capable of DTS-ES you will want to use the digital connection for these special instances.

Quote:


Are far as raw decoding I don't think you would hear a difference in which component does the decoding. These soundtracks are not really a HiRez signal like SACD or DVD-A. [/b]

exactly what i wanted to say it's amazing how it can be put so simply.

setup your 3910 to play DVD-A and SACD perfectly, and use the amp for everything else.

cheers again,
KJ
Krazykaj is offline  
post #728 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Krazykaj
i don't know if this is the case, i can add any effect, DSP, matrix, upmixing to '9.2' channels on any incoming signal over the MultiChannel input. it does not matter if the signal in 2.0 or 5.1. The receiver looks at the mutlichannel in (generally) as a 5.1 signal, usually as a DD equivalent. So you can apply PLIIx, EX, THX etc. processing on Multi Channel in. so if the DVD is 2 channel, you still should be able to create a multichannel sound field with it, you shouldn't be stuck with 2.0, well i can do it on my amp anyway
I think this is the case also with many other receivers.

Unfortunately, this isn't the case with the Denon 3805. When using the 5.1 Ext In (analog) connections, you cannot do any processing to that signal within the 3805. That's why the BM in the 3910 is so critical.

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #729 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Krazykaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there you go . . . you learn something new every day!
that's got to be a pain in the backside. basically, what you get into the 3805 via MultiChannel, is what you hear.

"That's why the BM in the 3910 is so critical."
point taken, and thankfully the 3910 has got very good BM.

oh well,

cheers
Krazykaj is offline  
post #730 of 7503 Old 11-16-2004, 05:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:


Originally posted by Krazykaj

I think this is the case also with many other receivers.

KJ

Now I see where you are coming from on this, I guess I should have paid closer attention to your related equipment. It may be the case for many other receivers, but it is not the case for the large majority currently available, in fact I can only think of a few off the top of my head(I have a small head ) the Anthem D1, the top Yamaha and maybe 2-3 others, all fairly expensive units.

This is one reason why my next processor will probably be the D1, just have to figure out which bank to rob or which limb to cut off..

Jim
Keenan is online now  
post #731 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by keenan
... just have to figure out which bank to rob or which limb to cut off...

Yeah, it'll be which "limb" the wife cuts off!

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #732 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone added an sdi mod to the 3910 and if so are you happy with it?
I understand it has one of the best mpeg decoders.
steviec is offline  
post #733 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mimason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^Search this thread for SDI. Adamsfbay did.
mimason is offline  
post #734 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gandley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK from what i can gather, the i-link issue with DD is a bug with the MR firmware denon released. This affects the region 2 units, not sure about region 1.

Dustin
gandley is offline  
post #735 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Considering that High Def DVD formats are looming is the upcoming 5910 too much, too late? It seems to me that the 3910 strikes the right balance of quality and price at this time, especially if it comes down a bit more in price in a few months. (like $799?).
Martin Butler is offline  
post #736 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hell, for $799 I might buy another! I freakin' love this player...

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
post #737 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone know where I can get remote codes for my 3910 ??

Thx!!

-- Cain
Cain is offline  
post #738 of 7503 Old 11-17-2004, 08:02 PM
 
scottyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: mound,mn,usa
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cain, email Harmony Remote, they have them but who knows if they'll share. Have you checked remotecentral.com

Scott
scottyb is offline  
post #739 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 04:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thx, heading over to Remote Central now...

-- Cain
Cain is offline  
post #740 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 04:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Andre Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cain -

You can also find the codes, IR and serial, on Denon's website. Please follow this link:

http://www.usa.denon.com/catalog/products.asp?l=1&c=5

Andre'
Andre Smith is offline  
post #741 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
nik del dens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to all the people who have already flashed their DVD-3910 with
the multiregional (code free) firmeware:

PLEASE PROVIDE THE LINK/DOWNLOAD/FILE-NAME

i have been trying to search and hunt down this file the entire
day - unfortunately with little success!

highly appreciated!
thanx, nik
nik del dens is offline  
post #742 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 12:57 PM
Member
 
awhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'll find it in thread 461075, titled: "found a working REGION Free Firmware for Denon-2910 Dvd Player, also 3910 possibly"

(Sorry I can't post the whole link but the stupid forum software won't let me post a link to itself!)

Have fun!
awhb is offline  
post #743 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


You can also find the codes, IR and serial, on Denon's website. Please follow this link:

Thank you Andre !!

-- Cain
Cain is offline  
post #744 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Andre Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cheers, Cain!
Andre Smith is offline  
post #745 of 7503 Old 11-18-2004, 10:00 PM
Member
 
navarros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed today the 6 cables for using direct analog sound from the 3910 to my AV Harman Kardon receiver. I noticed that the default volume was unusually high. I turned down the volume in all channels. Sound is now great when using SACDs (although still too loud), but when I try a DVD DTS video, for example, the volume is even louder. Just with one click it goes from mute to mind-blowing volume. The volume control in the receiver doesn't seem to work after installing the cables. The problem occurs in both the digital (coaxial) and the analag inputs. The other dvd player I have connected to the receiver (via optical cable) works fine.

Is there any explanation for this?
navarros is offline  
post #746 of 7503 Old 11-19-2004, 04:28 PM
Newbie
 
Garibaldi_Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just replaced my trusty but tired old Denon 2800 Mk1 with a sparkling new Denon 3910 and am experiencing a problem that I would appreciate some help with.

I am in the UK and therefore almost all of my DVDs are PAL R2. I have good quality component video cables installed in my viewing room so want to stick with this format. The DVD player is outputting to an Optoma Themescene H55; a well regarded DLP projector that handles 480i, 480P, 576P, 720i, 720P and 1080i inputs and has a DVDO Silicon Image Si504 scaler.

The problem is this. The Optoma synchs with all of my DVDs when the Denon 3910 is set to output component interlaced; 480i. However, when the Denon 3910 is set to output PAL component progressive - 576P (my intention) - then the Optoma only manages to synch with the incoming signal and present an image with about 30% of my DVDs. With the other 70% the projector flashes a few different colours and then says no signal found'- even though all of these DVDs are PAL R2 and there is no obvious difference between those that do 576P and those that do not.

Examples of DVDs that do' 576P are Adaptation, Gangs of NY and French Kiss. Ones that do not include Star Wars II, Shrek, Gladiator and Phone Booth.

Interestingly, on the failed' DVDs, pressing the menu button on the remote brings up the menu screen with a perfect still shot from the DVD that the projector will not recognise and synch with in Play' mode.

Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated.
Garibaldi_Red is offline  
post #747 of 7503 Old 11-22-2004, 04:01 PM
Member
 
alantkh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi people,

I am thinking of getting the 3910 together with the NAD T163. One thing Ihave noticed is that the T163 does not have a lip sync feature. I will be connecting the 3910 via DVI (720P) to my projector (720 Native).

Do you guys think I will require a lip sync feature? Can the speaker distance setting in the 3910 double up as an audio delay?
alantkh is offline  
post #748 of 7503 Old 11-22-2004, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsteves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
navarros
You can adjust this. I think it's in the manual.
I think you just select the input and then press the enter button and use the left and right buttons around it to adjust the volumes of the different speakers.
tsteves is offline  
post #749 of 7503 Old 11-22-2004, 09:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
FoolintheRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been on the bulletin board for awhile and wondered if anyone had found a solution to my earlier problem yet. To recap, if I set my player to AUDIO mode I can get high rez 5.1 and high rez stereo from my DVD-A, but no on screen menu via DVI. If I set my player to VIDEO mode I get DD or DTS 5.1 or stereo but not high rez...I do however get the on screen menu via DVI.

I made this claim before. Some people were convinced I was lying, but its true. Since then I've seen that some people have had earlier models that had this problem while, later models did not. Any info to share?? I'd really appreciate it. Its not a huge issue, but sort of annoying I guess. I get the on screen menu either way with the component, but I just like using the DVI dammit

Thanks in advance.

Coach Jim Tressel:
1 National Title
5 Big Ten Titles
7-1 vs. M*ch*g*n
83-19 (.814)
FoolintheRain is offline  
post #750 of 7503 Old 11-22-2004, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
FoolintheRain,

What firmware version do you have?
Sam S is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off