Denon 3910 Owners Thread - Page 251 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7501 of 7525 Old 03-25-2014, 04:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 209
The 3910 will connect to a Pioneer Elite firewire input. I ran that setup for years

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7502 of 7525 Old 03-26-2014, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
Dr. Venkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand that this has/is being done, however I simply cannot get a connection that works. I just acquired the denon and am wondering if a firmware update could solve this problem.

How can I determine which device is not working to achieve the connection?

Thanks to all
Dr. Venkman is offline  
post #7503 of 7525 Old 03-26-2014, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Venkman View Post

I understand that this has/is being done, however I simply cannot get a connection that works. I just acquired the denon and am wondering if a firmware update could solve this problem.

How can I determine which device is not working to achieve the connection?

Thanks to all

Do you have another receiver you can connect it to? If not take it to a friend's house and connect it there to see if it works. Have you tried a different connection method just to confirm that it works at all?

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
 
post #7504 of 7525 Old 01-04-2016, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
DonPedro34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi 3910 fans,

Its been ONE whole year since i last logged in.

I got a personal question from Ron_Phelps (Jan 2015 - yes 2015!), i cant answer you - because the forum system doesnt allow it - i haven't posted enough to answer private mail.

Anyway here is what Ron wrote:

Quote:
I seem to remember that u replaced your laser in the 3910 - I have tried to contact Michidragon for some pics of pt 2 of the assembly procedure to no avail - can u at least show me where the solder blob(s) are that have to be removed ?
Here is a Picture of the old laser (with two red arrows)

Cheers
Per
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Laser3910Pic.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	1160938  

Last edited by DonPedro34; 01-04-2016 at 10:32 AM.
DonPedro34 is offline  
post #7505 of 7525 Old 01-05-2016, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Ron_Phelps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonPedro34 View Post
Hi 3910 fans,

Its been ONE whole year since i last logged in.

I got a personal question from Ron_Phelps (Jan 2015 - yes 2015!), i cant answer you - because the forum system doesnt allow it - i haven't posted enough to answer private mail.

Anyway here is what Ron wrote:



Here is a Picture of the old laser (with two red arrows)

Cheers
Per
Per

Thx for your reply - so are these the solder blobs that need to be removed then ??

thx

Ron
Ron_Phelps is offline  
post #7506 of 7525 Old 01-05-2016, 03:59 AM
Member
 
Ron_Phelps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon 3910 laser

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonPedro34 View Post
Hi 3910 fans,

Its been ONE whole year since i last logged in.

I got a personal question from Ron_Phelps (Jan 2015 - yes 2015!), i cant answer you - because the forum system doesnt allow it - i haven't posted enough to answer private mail.

Anyway here is what Ron wrote:



Here is a Picture of the old laser (with two red arrows)

Cheers
Per
Per

Thx for your reply - so are these the solder blobs that need to be removed then ??

thx

Ron
Ron_Phelps is offline  
post #7507 of 7525 Old 01-05-2016, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
DonPedro34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron_Phelps View Post
Per

Thx for your reply - so are these the solder blobs that need to be removed then ??

thx

Ron
Hi Ron,

In the image you see 4 blobs, because the 2 Solder-bridges has already been removed (what you see is two x two half circles).

When you install it, you have to remove the old defect Laser from the 3910'er first (obviously) - then mount the new one, and when you have attached all cables again, only then you can unsolder the 2 blobs.

Careful! Use a low temperature solder iron if possible and do not touch the blobs for more than 3-4 seconds - otherwise you could heat damage the flex cable or the plastic housing behind the flex cable.

Yes, it's a plastic housing.

And use a solder-wig to unsolder - i did that - worked nicely and fast.

Cheers
Per
DonPedro34 is offline  
post #7508 of 7525 Old 01-05-2016, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I still have my 3910 but am no longer using it. Looks and works like new but I choice not to reinstall it when I got a new cabinet and chose just to go with my Oppo blu-ray player. The Denon is in the original box and I have the remote, manual, etc. Is there still a market for these?

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
post #7509 of 7525 Old 01-05-2016, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 724 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Yes, many are sold on auction site and for the past year the prices have gone up to average above 300 for a well cared for unit.

HTPCat
"I have a need to feed the hole with more Audio & Video toys"
HTPCat is online now  
post #7510 of 7525 Old 01-05-2016, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTPCat View Post
Yes, many are sold on auction site and for the past year the prices have gone up to average above 300 for a well cared for unit.
Thanks, HTPCat.

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
post #7511 of 7525 Old 03-18-2016, 12:11 AM
Member
 
Mandrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Repost here, but a bit of a conundrum:


I love my DVD-3910, it has served me well, but IEEE-1394 and DL3 doesn't do much for the newest components, so...

What's the best bet for an upgrade for a DVD-3910? After 12-or-so-years of great service, upgrades keep obsoleting the audio functions I need it for.
When I had a Pioneer Elite flagship, I got great Multichannel DSD, MLP streamed right into the processor via Firewire / I394. But good luck finding s 4k Proc with that.
When I replaced that with a super high-end flagship, Denon Link III did the same thing, trouble free, all processing in the receiver with great processing and DACs.

Now that I've moved to a 4K/60hz ingest/processing chain, are there any reasonably-priced DVD or Blue-Ray playerd that successfully output real, non-downsampled DVD-Audio and 2/5-ch SACD DSD to the newest Denons 7200XWA (so, HDMI transport and/or Denon Link 4). I am less concerned with video processing than reliable, digital full Hi-Rez transport from player to Receiver, I have noted it can be hard to pinpoint players that downscale or pass DSD off as hi-res PCM.

I'm open to suggestions, including both new and used gear, hopefully reasonably-priced, and far less than the 1.5K for the 3910.

I've done a few searches already, with more questions than answers, and thanks in advance to any help you can provide.

P.S. For those who asked, I have several archived DVD-3910 firmware releases, PM me for any specific requests, Thanks in advance.
Mandrax is offline  
post #7512 of 7525 Old 03-18-2016, 04:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Oppo 103 will do everything you need. If you plan to use 6-channel analog output instead of HDMI for audio, consider the Oppo 105.

I use my 3910 as a transport for a headphone amp, still works great.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #7513 of 7525 Old 07-09-2016, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandrax View Post
Repost here, but a bit of a conundrum:


I love my DVD-3910, it has served me well, but IEEE-1394 and DL3 doesn't do much for the newest components, so...

What's the best bet for an upgrade for a DVD-3910? After 12-or-so-years of great service, upgrades keep obsoleting the audio functions I need it for.
When I had a Pioneer Elite flagship, I got great Multichannel DSD, MLP streamed right into the processor via Firewire / I394. But good luck finding s 4k Proc with that.
When I replaced that with a super high-end flagship, Denon Link III did the same thing, trouble free, all processing in the receiver with great processing and DACs.

Now that I've moved to a 4K/60hz ingest/processing chain, are there any reasonably-priced DVD or Blue-Ray playerd that successfully output real, non-downsampled DVD-Audio and 2/5-ch SACD DSD to the newest Denons 7200XWA (so, HDMI transport and/or Denon Link 4). I am less concerned with video processing than reliable, digital full Hi-Rez transport from player to Receiver, I have noted it can be hard to pinpoint players that downscale or pass DSD off as hi-res PCM.

I'm open to suggestions, including both new and used gear, hopefully reasonably-priced, and far less than the 1.5K for the 3910.

I've done a few searches already, with more questions than answers, and thanks in advance to any help you can provide.

P.S. For those who asked, I have several archived DVD-3910 firmware releases, PM me for any specific requests, Thanks in advance.
Hello Mandrax,

Recently I have obtained beautiful 3910, but it has a problem on HDMI output.
I have checked its firmware is 6609-2, so there is a chance to improve with upgrade. Please reach me if you are still available here.

Thank you
tp28 is offline  
post #7514 of 7525 Old 10-02-2017, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mikeford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: orange, ca, usa
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Killing some time at Goodwill today as I walked past the electronics in the back the rainbow symbol for I think Denon Link caught my eye, and after a bit of peering over the top of my wrong for this glasses, grabbed a 3910 for $19.95. Haven't tried to power it on yet, but GW usually does some basic testing. Cosmetic condition looks like years of no use on a lower shelf, and no remote, I may go back and search around for it, but not hoping for much.

Thanks to this thread and some searches seems like all needed parts are cheap and readily available, assuming even that it doesn't still work.

Any ideas on remotes other than the RC-972 that should work with it?

3910 is to be paired with my Sony STR DA7100ES with 1394 and vintage Klipsch Epic CF-4's. Denon still has the owners manual online, now safely downloaded to my pc.
JohnGZ28 likes this.
mikeford is offline  
post #7515 of 7525 Old 10-02-2017, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
Killing some time at Goodwill today as I walked past the electronics in the back the rainbow symbol for I think Denon Link caught my eye, and after a bit of peering over the top of my wrong for this glasses, grabbed a 3910 for $19.95. Haven't tried to power it on yet, but GW usually does some basic testing. Cosmetic condition looks like years of no use on a lower shelf, and no remote, I may go back and search around for it, but not hoping for much.

Thanks to this thread and some searches seems like all needed parts are cheap and readily available, assuming even that it doesn't still work.

Any ideas on remotes other than the RC-972 that should work with it?

3910 is to be paired with my Sony STR DA7100ES with 1394 and vintage Klipsch Epic CF-4's. Denon still has the owners manual online, now safely downloaded to my pc.
Congrats, hope it works and you get "your money's worth" out of it! I donated mine to my daughter and her fiance'; just use my universal Oppo for DVD's now. But way back I did pay around $1,200 for it - about the best DVD technology available at the time.

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
post #7516 of 7525 Old 10-03-2017, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
Any ideas on remotes other than the RC-972 that should work with it?
If you don't have or don't like the remote that came with it, any universal remote will work. Maybe a lower-end Logitech Harmony remote?

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #7517 of 7525 Old 10-03-2017, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
mikeford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: orange, ca, usa
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I did the basic power on last night. First discovery, the cap or cover at least is gone on the power switch, but I could actuate it fine using a pen, so maybe just a cosmetic issue, other than parts from a junk unit doesn't seem like something that I can replace. I powered it on, clicked the standby and the display showed loading for a bit, then the standard 0h0000, so I will be ordering a new HOP, not sure which other than not the W. So far opting for $17 and genuine Hitachi HOP-1200S from a USA vendor in FL.

Two discs were in the tray when I opened it, stacked one on top of the other (Finding Dory DVD, CD-R of apparently a CD, not sure if mp3 or Redbook), but no time then for more tests, maybe later this week.

No remote came with it, my question is if I need to find a Denon RC 972, use a generic universal remote, or what.

Owners manual easy to find on Denon site, so far no luck locating the service manual, all the old links are dead.

Seller on ebay shows a replacement belt, fairly cheap around $12, anybody ever need to replace one, as in should I buy it to install same time as laser head?
mikeford is offline  
post #7518 of 7525 Old 10-03-2017, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
mikeford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: orange, ca, usa
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Service manual found from a link on this site in the 2930 thread. The easier it is to find, more likely it gets deleted, so unless I get email from the desperate search challenged, I will leave it to those hints.
mikeford is offline  
post #7519 of 7525 Old 10-04-2017, 04:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
No remote came with it, my question is if I need to find a Denon RC 972, use a generic universal remote, or what.
It's your choice. I see several of these Denon remotes on sale at eBay for $45. Alternatively, you can get a Logitech Harmony 350 for $40 or less that can be programmed easily to duplicate all of the functions on the Denon remote. A $20 generic remote will not duplicate all of the functions that the original remote had.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #7520 of 7525 Old 10-04-2017, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I was never a fan of the original remote. Always used a Harmony when I had my 3910.

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
post #7521 of 7525 Old 10-05-2017, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
mikeford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: orange, ca, usa
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not sure if this is irony, but ...

Seems like player works fine. First time I tried it there were two discs in the tray and 0h0000. Later I tried it again and everything so far works, SACD, DVDA, DVD, MP3 on CDR.

Downside, no way I have found without RC-972 to access the setup menus, and all the current plans for it require setup to non standard options like toslink output until I get my 7100 Sony setup instead of 3000 in system now(no 1394 like the 7100 has or HDMI).

That's the crux, any universal or android remote needs to support the setup menus, or its not much use.

There are new RC-972 available, some used, even some full function duplicates of 972 at various prices and time delays on delivery, but not in mood to wait unless I have to.

One source claims the RC 1017 is fully compatible with the 3910, and those are more common.
mikeford is offline  
post #7522 of 7525 Old 10-05-2017, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
Not sure if this is irony, but ...

Seems like player works fine. First time I tried it there were two discs in the tray and 0h0000. Later I tried it again and everything so far works, SACD, DVDA, DVD, MP3 on CDR.

Downside, no way I have found without RC-972 to access the setup menus, and all the current plans for it require setup to non standard options like toslink output until I get my 7100 Sony setup instead of 3000 in system now(no 1394 like the 7100 has or HDMI).

That's the crux, any universal or android remote needs to support the setup menus, or its not much use.

There are new RC-972 available, some used, even some full function duplicates of 972 at various prices and time delays on delivery, but not in mood to wait unless I have to.

One source claims the RC 1017 is fully compatible with the 3910, and those are more common.
Buy a cheap Harmony remote, done!

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #7523 of 7525 Old 10-05-2017, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
Not sure if this is irony, but ...

Seems like player works fine. First time I tried it there were two discs in the tray and 0h0000. Later I tried it again and everything so far works, SACD, DVDA, DVD, MP3 on CDR.

Downside, no way I have found without RC-972 to access the setup menus, and all the current plans for it require setup to non standard options like toslink output until I get my 7100 Sony setup instead of 3000 in system now(no 1394 like the 7100 has or HDMI).

That's the crux, any universal or android remote needs to support the setup menus, or its not much use.

There are new RC-972 available, some used, even some full function duplicates of 972 at various prices and time delays on delivery, but not in mood to wait unless I have to.

One source claims the RC 1017 is fully compatible with the 3910, and those are more common.
I keep telling you to consider a HARMONY REMOTE!! They do allow you to access the setup menus. Is there some reason you reject this idea??

With all of trouble you take to post here about wanting a remote, what is this "not in the mood to wait" all about. You could get a Logitech Harmony remote (and you only need a cheaper one) from a store or Amazon in a day or two.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #7524 of 7525 Old 10-08-2017, 01:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mikeford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: orange, ca, usa
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I keep telling you to consider a HARMONY REMOTE!! They do allow you to access the setup menus. Is there some reason you reject this idea??

With all of trouble you take to post here about wanting a remote, what is this "not in the mood to wait" all about. You could get a Logitech Harmony remote (and you only need a cheaper one) from a store or Amazon in a day or two.
Until reading your message right now I had no confirmation that setup menus worked with the Harmony remotes, it was some level of maybe from my research so far. If I go with Harmony, it will be at least something like the 650, and I edge toward a hub system.

I'm still having some basic issues that may mean the 3910 won't do what I want, which is end to end all digital with no or few conversions. For that reason I hunted for some time to find a good Sony STR DA7100ES, a crossover receiver in time that was the last of the all digital drive, but supported 1394 and HDMI. Unfortunately I hooked the 1394 up tonight for the first time to the 3910 and I get a message Prohibited check code 71 and no output. When the 7100 came out the only 1394 SACD player was the Sony 9000ESD, and this error message is known to happen in some cases, why it isn't totally clear to me yet.

One way or another I will have a working remote this week, then I can check my firmware and if it needs an update maybe that will fix this.
mikeford is offline  
post #7525 of 7525 Old 10-08-2017, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
Until reading your message right now I had no confirmation that setup menus worked with the Harmony remotes, it was some level of maybe from my research so far. If I go with Harmony, it will be at least something like the 650, and I edge toward a hub system.

I'm still having some basic issues that may mean the 3910 won't do what I want, which is end to end all digital with no or few conversions. For that reason I hunted for some time to find a good Sony STR DA7100ES, a crossover receiver in time that was the last of the all digital drive, but supported 1394 and HDMI. Unfortunately I hooked the 1394 up tonight for the first time to the 3910 and I get a message Prohibited check code 71 and no output. When the 7100 came out the only 1394 SACD player was the Sony 9000ESD, and this error message is known to happen in some cases, why it isn't totally clear to me yet.

One way or another I will have a working remote this week, then I can check my firmware and if it needs an update maybe that will fix this.
The 3910 does NOT output SACD sound over HDMI. Your output choices for SACD audio are analog, or DSD/PCM over DenonLink 3 (Cat-6) or Firewire. To use the Denon Link 3 output, you need an older Denon AVR that is compatible with it; later Denon AVRs use Denon Link 4, which is incompatible with 3. I don't know of any modern-day receivers that have Firewire audio inputs. The optical and digital coax outputs do NOT transmit SACD audio; if I recall correctly, they are silent if you're playing an SACD. There is no update to the 3910 firmware that changes this situation.

Have you tried listening to SACD using the analog outputs? It's pretty good!
Andre Smith likes this.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off