The "Official" Denon DVD-2910 Owners Thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2015, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon 2910 firmware

I just got a Denon 2910 and the HDMI does not work need a copy of the firmware. Please help. Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernand View Post
I have exactly the same issue, no HDMI output. Never updated the firmware. I emailed Denon for the firmware and have not received response. Would it be posiible for you to email me the firmware?

Thank you!
drjones62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2015, 03:39 PM
Newbie
 
dozercsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

I picked up a used Denon DVD-2910 for $50, which appears to be in excellent condition.

However, I'm having a strange problem, and have been unable to resolve it:

The player can play DVD-Audio over HDMI in all resolutions and all channel configurations (multi-channel and stereo); DVDs with Dolby Digital and DTS also work fine over HDMI.

However, when I try and use the 5.1 analog connections, playback is limited to two channel (L/R). The display clearly reads multi-channel (i.e. all the boxes are lit on the RHS) and the SACD selector is set to "multi-channel" but I only get playback on L/R. This happens whether the "downmix" light is lit or not, for either DVD-Audio or SACD.

Also, don't know if it's related, but I appear to be locked out of the Audio menu selections: on the Setup/ Audio menu, my only highlighted choices are "Compression on/off" and "SACD filter" - the rest of the selections are greyed out (Audio Channel/ Digital Output/ LPCM/ Source Direct/ Bass Enhancer) and I cannot change them.

Any insights from experienced users would be great - I bought the DVD-2910 to play multichannel DVD-Audio and SACDs, and right now I can't figure out how to make it work over the analog connections, which is the only way to hear SACD multi-channel. Thanks!
dozercsx is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 11:15 PM
Newbie
 
dozercsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dozercsx View Post
Greetings,

I picked up a used Denon DVD-2910 for $50, which appears to be in excellent condition.

However, I'm having a strange problem, and have been unable to resolve it:

The player can play DVD-Audio over HDMI in all resolutions and all channel configurations (multi-channel and stereo); DVDs with Dolby Digital and DTS also work fine over HDMI.

However, when I try and use the 5.1 analog connections, playback is limited to two channel (L/R). The display clearly reads multi-channel (i.e. all the boxes are lit on the RHS) and the SACD selector is set to "multi-channel" but I only get playback on L/R. This happens whether the "downmix" light is lit or not, for either DVD-Audio or SACD.

Also, don't know if it's related, but I appear to be locked out of the Audio menu selections: on the Setup/ Audio menu, my only highlighted choices are "Compression on/off" and "SACD filter" - the rest of the selections are greyed out (Audio Channel/ Digital Output/ LPCM/ Source Direct/ Bass Enhancer) and I cannot change them.

Any insights from experienced users would be great - I bought the DVD-2910 to play multichannel DVD-Audio and SACDs, and right now I can't figure out how to make it work over the analog connections, which is the only way to hear SACD multi-channel. Thanks!
FYI, I figured it out/answered my own question!
(of course, it wasn't really all me - I poured over scores of entries within this thread...)

So, the key is: the Denon DVD-2910 can do either high resolution multichannel via the HDMI, or via the analog outs, but not both at the same time.
(this is also cryptically described on p.16 of the manual)

For multichannel analog out (either DVD-Audio or SACD), you MUST set the HDMI Audio output to "2CH" - this activates both the Audio menu setup and enables analog multichannel. If you don't do this, you will only get L/R out of the analog 5.1 outputs.

For multichannel digital out via the HDMI (only DVD-audio mind you) you set the HDMI audio output to either "Multi Normal" or "Multi LPCM". The DVD-2910 won't do SACD multichannel via the HDMI, so if you're an SACD guy, you must configure the analog as per above.

I have both DVD-Audio and SACDs, so I either just leave it in analog mode, or switch back and forth if I want digital DVD-Audio. My receiver is the Panasonic SA-XR57, so it can handle 5.1 channels of direct digital 96khz, or two channel direct digital 192khz - so HDMI DVD-Audio works fine. I just think it's a poor decision to not allow SACD via HDMI (even if it meant converting to LPCM in order to do so) - it's simply inconvenient to have to switch back and forth.

Still, the DVD-2910 now works perfectly - best $50 electronics purchase, like, ever!
dozercsx is offline  
Old 03-21-2015, 05:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, I have a 2910 for some time now, It recently stops playing CDs it plays only DVDs, but today I cannot play a PC burned DVD Dual Layer.
Can It be some configuration issue, or my 2910 is just dying ?
I will appreciate your comments.
Andrés Febres-Cordero is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Damnationdoormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pardon resurrecting a zombie thread, but like those above I just snagged a 2910, actually the silver "955" model, for a cheap bedroom player and was curious about the firmware. I've dug up the ESS:6720-8 MR firmware still downloadable through the Internet Archive, but I can't find any others except the last European update from 2006 from Denon Europe (Ver8281/506). Would it be acceptable to update a US unit with this Euro firmware? I assume not, but just want to gauge if anyone has tried this. The "8" US firmware isn't the last, after it there was a 9, A, B, and D. However, the European FW appears to have been released a few months after "D".

Last edited by Damnationdoormat; 12-06-2015 at 12:09 PM.
Damnationdoormat is offline  
Old 09-10-2016, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys,

I've got a non-functioning Denon 2910. It keeps blowing the main fuse.

Looking around on the internet, it seems I need a new power supply board.

Does anyone have a non-functioning machine I can cannibalize, or a spare board kicking around I can buy for a reasonable fee?

I have UK voltage (240v).
JulesJH is offline  
Old 09-14-2016, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesJH View Post
Hi guys,

I've got a non-functioning Denon 2910. It keeps blowing the main fuse.

Looking around on the internet, it seems I need a new power supply board.

Does anyone have a non-functioning machine I can cannibalize, or a spare board kicking around I can buy for a reasonable fee?

I have UK voltage (240v).
Forgot the part number. It is: GU 3616-2
JulesJH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off