The "Official" Denon DVD-2910 Owners Thread - Page 99 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Video Components > DVD Players (Standard Def) > The "Official" Denon DVD-2910 Owners Thread

DVD Players (Standard Def)

atrac's Avatar atrac
09:47 PM Liked: 10
post #2941 of 2973
01-18-2010 | Posts: 290
Joined: Aug 2003
Does anyone have the latest (or more likely "final") firmware for this player? Please PM me.

Mine has 6720-09 and I think that's fairly old.

Thanks!
bdgeary's Avatar bdgeary
08:38 AM Liked: 10
post #2942 of 2973
01-25-2010 | Posts: 78
Joined: Jan 2004
Is it possible to do these audio formats through HDMI only? If not is it possible through one single coaxial or optical cable without conneting all 5 channel and 5 cables?
Camowie's Avatar Camowie
01:34 PM Liked: 10
post #2943 of 2973
01-29-2010 | Posts: 15
Joined: Jun 2006
Good afternoon all. I recently upgraded my trusted AVR-3803 to a 3310ci. I'm very pleased with the purchase so far. I initially had the 2910 connected to the 3310 via HDMI only and everything (DVD and DVD-A worked fine). Last night I connected the 2910's analog outs to the 3310's ext in connections so that I could play my SACD's. Now I have nothing; no audio or video of DVD, DVD-A or SACD. I've been playing with the 3310 and 2910 settings with no luck. If anyone has some advice, I would certainly appreciate the help. Thanks in advance.
Nickoff's Avatar Nickoff
08:35 PM Liked: 10
post #2944 of 2973
04-27-2010 | Posts: 208
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camowie View Post

Good afternoon all. I recently upgraded my trusted AVR-3803 to a 3310ci. I'm very pleased with the purchase so far. I initially had the 2910 connected to the 3310 via HDMI only and everything (DVD and DVD-A worked fine). Last night I connected the 2910's analog outs to the 3310's ext in connections so that I could play my SACD's. Now I have nothing; no audio or video of DVD, DVD-A or SACD. I've been playing with the 3310 and 2910 settings with no luck. If anyone has some advice, I would certainly appreciate the help. Thanks in advance.

Camowie

I have a 2910 connected to a new 4310ci and have the exact same problem - no video through HDMI or component inputs and no audio through HDMI, Coax digital or 5.1 analog.... Not sure what has happended. On the 4310 thread I got told to update the firmware on the 2910 but I not sure how to do it?

Nick
Dr.Evazan's Avatar Dr.Evazan
12:33 PM Liked: 10
post #2945 of 2973
06-17-2010 | Posts: 68
Joined: Jun 2010
im thinking about getting a denon 2910 and was wondering if i plug it into a switched surge protector will i lose all my settings and stuff everytime the power to it gets switched off?
Zen Traveler's Avatar Zen Traveler
07:43 PM Liked: 406
post #2946 of 2973
06-17-2010 | Posts: 4,456
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Evazan View Post

im thinking about getting a denon 2910 and was wondering if i plug it into a switched surge protector will i lose all my settings and stuff everytime the power to it gets switched off?

No.
JDMoose's Avatar JDMoose
04:05 PM Liked: 10
post #2947 of 2973
06-16-2012 | Posts: 227
Joined: Dec 2007
I am the original owner of my Denon 2910 DVD and it has worked flawlessly all these years. I've noticed lately that some CD's that I burned myself are starting to 'skip' and become damaged, usually towards the last few songs. Most of my burned CD's are on 74 minute different brand CD's. When they get towards the last few songs, like cuts 18 - 20 (toward the 60 minute mark) the CD will skip and fade in and out. I then try to play it on a different player and the same thing happens, but only after I have that situation with the Denon. I'm wondering if the discs are going bad or the lazer for the CD is going belly up? The problem has been going on for a while now. I don't have the problem with commercial (store purchased) CD's or any DVD's. Could it be time to retire the unit? At first I thought it was the CD's but it seems to be happening too often now. Could it be possible the 2910 is damaging the discs?
SoNic67's Avatar SoNic67
08:06 AM Liked: 29
post #2948 of 2973
06-19-2012 | Posts: 722
Joined: Aug 2005
Yes, the laser pick up is failing. Tell Denon US that their pice of crap laser failed... It should be a class-action suit, other brands lasted 20 years and still working.

I had posted a guide to replace the laser (based on my replacement with an eBay-bought laser), but Denon-Marantz pulled all the service manuals from online-sites (take-down notices). So I decided to protest to that greedy action, by removing my guide.
JDMoose's Avatar JDMoose
12:15 PM Liked: 10
post #2949 of 2973
06-19-2012 | Posts: 227
Joined: Dec 2007
Thanks. I've seen the lasers on Ebay and also the manuals in PDF form. Even though the 2910 has been a good unit all these years and still plays DVD's and commercial CD's ok, I am thinking of upgrading to the Oppo BDP-93. smile.gif Since the unit is over 5 years old I think I would be chasing good money after bad to try to get the Denon repaired.
mckeand13's Avatar mckeand13
07:46 PM Liked: 10
post #2950 of 2973
11-03-2012 | Posts: 38
Joined: Jan 2009
I've had a 2910 for quite a while now but just got a new TV so I can use the HDMI out.

It's not working though. I ran an HDMI cable from the 2910 to my TV (Samsung UN40ES6100) HDMI input. The TV never recognizes it, and the DVD player display just keeps flashing HDMI 480 (or any other setting) in the lower right corner. The manual states that the flashing means it's trying to connect.

I've done a factory reset to defaults but no change. Neither of the HDMI settings of Y Cb Cr or R G B makes a difference.

I tried connecting a new Samsung Blu-Ray player that I got with the TV and it works perfectly so I'm pretty sure it's on the DVD-2910 side.

Any thoughts?
antennahead's Avatar antennahead
04:56 PM Liked: 34
post #2951 of 2973
11-04-2012 | Posts: 893
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post

Yes, the laser pick up is failing. Tell Denon US that their pice of crap laser failed... It should be a class-action suit, other brands lasted 20 years and still working.
I had posted a guide to replace the laser (based on my replacement with an eBay-bought laser), but Denon-Marantz pulled all the service manuals from online-sites (take-down notices). So I decided to protest to that greedy action, by removing my guide.

I hear ya. Mine died last year. For what we paid for these things, Denon should be ashamed of themselves.
JDMoose's Avatar JDMoose
12:50 PM Liked: 10
post #2952 of 2973
11-05-2012 | Posts: 227
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by antennahead View Post

I hear ya. Mine died last year. For what we paid for these things, Denon should be ashamed of themselves.

I finally sold my 2910 on Audiogon and bought the Oppo BDP-93 and couldn't be happier. I haven't heard any complaints from the person that purchased my 2910. I also noticed the CD's that were going bad were a certain brand, so I am wondering if that was the problem. Unfortunatly Denon does not appear to have support for their older models.
JKR1963's Avatar JKR1963
01:53 AM Liked: 39
post #2953 of 2973
11-06-2012 | Posts: 748
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mckeand13 View Post

I've had a 2910 for quite a while now but just got a new TV so I can use the HDMI out.
It's not working though. I ran an HDMI cable from the 2910 to my TV (Samsung UN40ES6100) HDMI input. The TV never recognizes it, and the DVD player display just keeps flashing HDMI 480 (or any other setting) in the lower right corner. The manual states that the flashing means it's trying to connect.
I've done a factory reset to defaults but no change. Neither of the HDMI settings of Y Cb Cr or R G B makes a difference.
I tried connecting a new Samsung Blu-Ray player that I got with the TV and it works perfectly so I'm pretty sure it's on the DVD-2910 side.
Any thoughts?

I had the same issue with my 2910 when I first got an HDMI capable tv............I e-mailed Denon Canada and they sent out a cd rom with new firmware and the HDMI output was then working correctly. Try contacting Denon for new firmware if your player has not been updated since you bought it.
Fernand's Avatar Fernand
04:10 PM Liked: 10
post #2954 of 2973
12-24-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
I have exactly the same issue, no HDMI output. Never updated the firmware. I emailed Denon for the firmware and have not received response. Would it be posiible for you to email me the firmware?

Thank you!
JKR1963's Avatar JKR1963
09:15 PM Liked: 39
post #2955 of 2973
01-05-2013 | Posts: 748
Joined: Oct 2004
I will look around for the CD, I think I still have it somewhere.
Peter Truslow's Avatar Peter Truslow
09:29 PM Liked: 10
post #2956 of 2973
01-08-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2013
i recently bought one of these when picking up a denon receiver i found on craigslist. i got it for a good price, but would like to sell it to fund my first endeavor into speaker building. what would you say is an amount i could expect to sell it for? I have the silver model in great condition other than some minor discoloration and misshapedness in the top of the cover.
dvdchance's Avatar dvdchance
10:00 PM Liked: 23
post #2957 of 2973
01-08-2013 | Posts: 808
Joined: Jul 2004
I'd say you would have to consider yourself lucky if you pocketed $20 for it.

I would love to be proved wrong because I also have a mint black unit collecting dust but that would be my guess.
Mkard's Avatar Mkard
10:17 PM Liked: 14
post #2958 of 2973
01-25-2013 | Posts: 559
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernand View Post

I have exactly the same issue, no HDMI output. Never updated the firmware. I emailed Denon for the firmware and have not received response. Would it be posiible for you to email me the firmware?

Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKR1963 View Post

I will look around for the CD, I think I still have it somewhere.

Fernand,

I hope that either JKR or Denon got back to you regards the FW update to fix HDMI. I checked my computer and couldn't find an image of the disk. I do have the PDF from Denon that was the instructions for the update, and I also have a zip from 2010 that was the region-free mod, which MAY have included the FW update to correct HDMI.

I doubt that I have the disk, as I sold the unit a few years ago to a happy guy with lots of out-of-country DVDs. Likely I put the Denon disc in the box for the guy. If you still need the disc, pm me and I'll send to you what I've got, and give a concerted effort to find either the image or the actual disc. Or, to tell you for certain that I have neither.

Liked that Denon while I had it (2004-2010?), stable transport for audio, HDMI was no problem. Largely replaced by Pio BD-51fd and an OPPO DV-980h fully region-free also, SACD/DVD-Audio, really great 2-ch DAC outputs to amp/speakers, and a USB that decodes MLP. smile.gif That old OPPO basically plays anything not-Blu and round!! Still have THAT puppy, even though I just picked up a new OPPO BDP-93 for my New Year's present.

Good luck, and let me know if I can help.

Mkard


p.s. Kinda' sad that someone said 2910 worth $20 USD. I thought pretty highly of it while I had it. Seemed like a good unit, Japan Made (?), trouble free for 4+yrs. But, I guess things age (don't I know it...) and technology keeps moving along. As a pure digital audio transport, or even a 2-ch analog out, I would think that a well cared for unit would find a new and happy home.
Mkard's Avatar Mkard
10:50 PM Liked: 14
post #2959 of 2973
01-25-2013 | Posts: 559
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Truslow View Post

i recently bought one of these when picking up a denon receiver i found on craigslist. i got it for a good price, but would like to sell it to fund my first endeavor into speaker building. what would you say is an amount i could expect to sell it for? I have the silver model in great condition other than some minor discoloration and misshapedness in the top of the cover.

Peter,

Well, I sold mine a few years ago on CL for $75. Unit was pristine. I had mod'd FW to achieve region-free DVD play. Mine was well maintained, smoke-free home, no carpets and very low humidity. Sold to a returning Air Force guy who had acquired a lot of DVD's while in Europe and Asia. Denon would play them all to his $pendy plasma display that could handle NTSC and PAL signals.

Nice unit, dependable. I think that it cost me around $300 way back when.

I don't know that $20 is a real price on these, but I'd think that you could put the 2910 to good use as a really stable audio transport to your pre-pro or amps. Especially if you hide that hideous silver in an AV closet eek.gif .. tongue.gif

I remember that this unit never skipped a beat with CD's. Audio out was via optical digital and worked like a charm for years. 2-ch "pure" via DAC's wasn't bad either, but I really didn't use that much.

Nowadays, the best solution is an OPPO. Configures to automatically convert PAL signals to North American standard NTSC, and can be "modified" (not such a big deal smile.gif ) to play DVD's from anywhere. Above post refers to 4yr old DV-980h, region free via remote code. !! The modern OPPO Blu-ray players maintain an "easy" DVD modification, and can be "hard" modified for a nominal fee for Blu-ray. Sweet, if you've a spouse addicted to Chinese Soap-Operas!


Good luck, and have fun with your new hobby.

Mkard
JKR1963's Avatar JKR1963
03:42 PM Liked: 39
post #2960 of 2973
05-15-2013 | Posts: 748
Joined: Oct 2004
found the 2910 firmware on the cd I got from Denon Canada in April 2008..........I doubt if there were any updates after that date......I can e-mail to anyone who wants it.smile.gif
sarim799's Avatar sarim799
04:35 PM Liked: 10
post #2961 of 2973
06-07-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2013
Hi! Could you send me the firmware? I need it so bad!
I just found that my 2910 cannot send a hdmi signal via av receiver and found that firmware update may address this issue. I sent an email to denon but never responded...smile.gif

Thanks again!
JKR1963's Avatar JKR1963
11:42 PM Liked: 39
post #2962 of 2973
06-08-2013 | Posts: 748
Joined: Oct 2004
Just sent it to you..........
r3v3nant's Avatar r3v3nant
01:25 PM Liked: 32
post #2963 of 2973
07-16-2013 | Posts: 306
Joined: Apr 2007
so how easy is it to replace a laser on one of these? I bought one used and got maybe 10 hours out of it before the laser died. what a bummer. ugh. any disk I put in comes up 00:00:00:00 and no sound of the motor trying to spin up. I have powered it off cold from the wall.. no change. I tried DVD, SACD, and CD..

is this what I need?

HAmmer32261's Avatar HAmmer32261
01:28 PM Liked: 13
post #2964 of 2973
07-28-2013 | Posts: 102
Joined: Apr 2012
I just bought a 2910 on ebay in pristine condition [cosmetically anyways} for $100
R3 i might just buy one those motors in your link for a backup
kuer's Avatar kuer
11:54 PM Liked: 11
post #2965 of 2973
10-15-2013 | Posts: 36
Joined: Aug 2012
Hello, everybody. I have dvd 2910 for years, but never played sacd-r with it before. Recently I got several iso files and burnt them to dvd-r discs to teste the sacd quality. The player sometimes read them, but most of time, doesn't do.

When I put the disc in, I can hear the running sound, seems good. After loading , if the front display shows the correct information (such as track number and overall time), it will play with no issues. if shows the wrong info ( incomplete), it won't play anything. Sure I tried different settings, I am familiar with it.

Don't have commercial sacd discs yet, don't know if it can read or not. but dvd-a and cds and dvds can be played very well all the time.

Searched online, say the laser lens should be replaced. not sure of it, I saw the new lens is cheap on ebay. Does anyone experiece this problem? I am planning to enjoy hifi quility. smile.gif
misterbobman's Avatar misterbobman
07:34 AM Liked: 10
post #2966 of 2973
12-31-2013 | Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2006
Can anyone verify if the 2910 requires the Hitachi HOP-1200R, or the HOP-1200S, or the HOP-1200W laser? I've read the "W" won't fit into the 2910. Have also read the "S" won't playback SACD. Somust it be the "R"?
john72439's Avatar john72439
01:40 PM Liked: 10
post #2967 of 2973
01-25-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2005
Hi,
I have a 2910 that could use a firmware update. Would you please email to me.
Thanks,
Jgcjr@suddenlink.net
Georgetown, Texas
wayouttherewi's Avatar wayouttherewi
10:18 AM Liked: 10
post #2968 of 2973
02-08-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2014

Hello,

 

 I am also having the same issue as an earlier poster: the player is flashing the HDMI symbol and the chosen format. I have tried every combination, incuding progressive, and I get no output when the HDMI is connected. The player also 'hangs up' when using the HDMI, and I must power it down to try again.The player worked fine on my new plasma TV, but it will not work on a 1 year old LCD TV in another room. The TV is an off brand, which may be causing some of the issue.

 

 I would like to try an update on the firmware to see if this would correct the issue. I would really like to get a higher resolution image out of this tv while watching a DVD. Is someone able to provide a copy of the earlier mentioned firmware update?

 

 I will send PM's to some of those who may already have the software available.

 

 Thanks to all.


rjelliott
08:46 PM Liked: 0
post #2969 of 2973
08-11-2014 | Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKR1963 View Post
found the 2910 firmware on the cd I got from Denon Canada in April 2008..........I doubt if there were any updates after that date......I can e-mail to anyone who wants it.
can you please send me the firmware. I am having issues with the HDMI also. Hooked up to the Denon AVR 4000x and having problems.
Thanks
westly197's Avatar westly197
04:30 AM Liked: 11
post #2970 of 2973
08-31-2014 | Posts: 109
Joined: Dec 2000
I just thought I'd post about my sticking disk drawer issue that's been getting worse over the last few years on my DVD 2910. Just in case anyone wonders, it is belt driven and the belt can be accessed without too much trouble.


With the top cover off, you can remove the two screws holding the transport assembly cover on:


Then pull the tape at the rear loose:


And wiggle the metal cover forward till the center tab at the rear is loose, then remove it. Then push the cd tray forward to reveal the gears and belt.




The tiny retaining rings are soft and a small tip flathead can easily remove them to get the two gears off to access the belt.



I didn't have a replacement belt, but after cleaning the old one and putting it back the tray is working normally for now. I traced the pulleys on paper so I can determine the proper belt when I find a local source for belts, if any still exist.

I did fully dissemble the transport, but I don't think it's necessary now that I know how it's assembled.

Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3