Sony DVP-NS975V FAQ / Brain dump - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1495 Old 01-06-2005, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hea,

I most certainly am!

If the green cannot match no matter what, it sounds like the color decoder of the Samsung may need some tweaking, if that possible.

Check for white crushing with the gray steps or the resolution pattern.

In the resolution pattern next to the 100% box, there is a box that is 100% with a 95% inner box. The inner box should be discernable. If not visible, the contrast/picture level is too high.

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1495 Old 01-06-2005, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NoVaGator,

As far as I can tell the progressive button only affects the component. Haven't seen any change via the HDMI.

There is no absolutely "correct" setting. Some sets allow for 720p and 1080i, some allow for 1080i only. If 720p is available, give it a try! Otherwise, obtain the Digital Video Essentials DVD and run through the test patterns and see if the display does noticibly better with one resolution or the other.

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
post #363 of 1495 Old 01-06-2005, 09:20 AM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use 720p into my GWIII w/HDMI to DVI, only because it's closer to the monitor's native resolution. It looks great. Oddly, the HD feed from my Motorola STB looks better when set to 1080i, even on the 720p stations--probably an anomaly of the STB. It certainly won't hurt for you to experiment.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #364 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 10:09 AM
Member
 
gimletmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung HLP5063W display. Before I go through the "buy it - test it - return it" dance on the 975, I thought I might try to get some definitive answers to a few specific questions:

1) Has anyone else that has the Samsung HLP5063W tested the 975 using HDMI to HDMI at 720P to see if the HD/SD color space issue occurs?

2) Does the Samsung HLP5063W provide a means to map SD/HD color space at 720P connected via HDMI to HDMI?

3) General comments about PQ and color with the 975 paired with the HLP5063W via HDMI to HDMI at 720P?

--
RandyM
gimletmaker is offline  
post #365 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 12:51 PM
Member
 
zyx5432's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any updates on the recent rash of tray locking problems?

Was this a bad batch of players, or something else?
zyx5432 is offline  
post #366 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Why would it have colorspace issues? Aren't they caused from the HDMI->DVI conversion only?
NoThru22 is offline  
post #367 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Penton-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From Robert Whitehead (a truly helpful and knowledgeable poster)

"So, the HDMI signal from the 975 is properly SD. If upscaled it may cause a display device to switch into HD Color Space, which can only be remedied if the display allows you to force the player into SD color space on the HDMI input.

But when the HDMI output is hooked into a DVI display device, the 975 improperly outputs RGB HD Color Space, and there is no remedy for this."
Penton-Man is offline  
post #368 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 03:50 PM
Member
 
tblankenship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: DeSoto, KS
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having problems with the tray locking and not being able to turn the power off (short of removing power). I once had success in running through a "Quick Setup" in order to open the tray and then being able to play a DVD. Now, however, I cannot not get a DVD to play.

Is it best to deal with this problem through Sony or through my purchase store?

Thanks.
tblankenship is offline  
post #369 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Penton-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
zyx5432
Check your PM please.
Penton-Man is offline  
post #370 of 1495 Old 01-07-2005, 10:37 PM
Newbie
 
asung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also curious as to any updates on the "Tray Locked" issue. I only have a couple weeks before I can return the Sony, and it would be good to know if there is some kind of solution. Does anyone have the service manual, and if so, does it say anything about this issue?
asung is offline  
post #371 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 12:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Mtnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a big deal I guess, but this player will not play HDCD's over optical digital. It plays just about every other CD format. I haven't tried SACD yet cause the cabling is so damned expensive, but over Optical Digital that format does not play. Anyone find anything different?
Mtnmike is offline  
post #372 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 01:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Mtnmike
Not a big deal I guess, but this player will not play HDCD's over optical digital. It plays just about every other CD format. I haven't tried SACD yet cause the cabling is so damned expensive, but over Optical Digital that format does not play. Anyone find anything different?
I don't think any of the <$300 players will except perhaps the Panny S97. I believe you would need to look at the Denon 2910 for that.
kdog044 is offline  
post #373 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Rock the Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just return the player to the place I bought it. who wants to send the player in for servicing, wait to get it back....

I got mine from ABT electronics, by the way - I had two lemons - tray lock problem and refusal to playing any discs.
Rock the Mullet is offline  
post #374 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 07:37 AM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I thought that I'd dodged the bullet, but my player came up lame just like Rock the Mullet's. Local service centers cannot fix this problem. If you can't get an exchange from the place where you bought it, you'll be required to send it to Sony's headquarters in Texas for a replacement, if one is available. I don't know what Sony intends to do when they have no direct, refurbished exchange to offer; I'm about to find out. They make noise about "alternative models." Now what could they possibly be?

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #375 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Rock the Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Liberatus - that is exactly what I thought - what would they send in its place? and also, who wants a refurbished player after their new 1 month old DVD player will not work. This is simply inexcusable. VERY poor quality control on Sony's part.

I was very upset because I really liked this player - great PQ and audio. No macroblocking either - at least from what I saw.
Rock the Mullet is offline  
post #376 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 11:23 AM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree. I loved the way the player sounded and looked, the wrong color space with DVI notwithstanding. Sony appears to have rushed to market with this player, giving their local service people no codes for fixing it along the relevant lines. Although a firmware fix will probably work its way along the network, if not to individual users, the sting of buying a new player, shipping it to Texas, and having to wait God knows how long for a replacement to arrive, is too much indignity to swallow. I'm hoping, at the very least, that Sony will simply fix mine and send it back to me. At this point, a refurbished 975V with the bugs removed (I even made a pitch for them to correct the RGB problem), given what I know about the new ones, would be welcome. If they offer me another model, I'll flatly refuse; I got this thing for the digital connection. Hell, I bought a DVI switch box and hundreds of dollars worth of cabling, not to mention a slew of SACDs. Sony has to make good. Let me know how you make out.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #377 of 1495 Old 01-08-2005, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Rock the Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ed,

ABT was really cool about returning or exchanging the Sony. the second one is already on its way back to them. I'll probably go with the Panny, but I my interest is piqued with respect to the Oppo.

Good luck yourself!
Rock the Mullet is offline  
post #378 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by liberatusvirus
I loved the way the player sounded and looked, the wrong color space with DVI notwithstanding.
I'm relatively inexperienced in this but if I am understanding correctly it's not that the color space is incorrect for an HDMI output but that they didn't provide a way to change it to RGB for those who have DVI inputs such as Denon and Panasonic did. Obviously if they had a DVI ouput it would be a given but it would seem to me if I had a DVI based display and I was looking at purchasing a DVD player I would make sure it had a DVI ouput or at least the ability through setup to output the RGB colorspace. Or am I totally wrong here?
kdog044 is offline  
post #379 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 08:44 AM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kdog,

When the HDMI player is connected to a DVI display, its YCbCr must be converted to RGB. Under this condition, the Sony processes the DVD correctly at standard def., both interlaced and progressive, but at 720p and 1080i upconversion, it sends an improper high-def decoding. Apparently, no DVI display currently on the market can compensate for that mistake, whereas an HDMI display may well be able to substitute the appropriate standard color space when in a similar situation.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #380 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 09:17 AM
Member
 
twilburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to know how many of you have this unit, for how long, and how many exchanges you have made (if any).
I received mine for Christmas and have exchanged once already. So far it is still working. The only thing I changed was excluding it from any macros on the remote.
twilburn is offline  
post #381 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Mtnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One month and no problems noted.
Mtnmike is offline  
post #382 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One problem after two months. The only issue I've seen is an occasional reboot when accessing DVE test patterns a lot. No other disc has exhibited this problem. Otherwise, no locked trays or video abnormalities (aside from the documented in the first post).

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
post #383 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Rock the Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
twilburn : two exchanges already (first lasted five weeks, and second lasted only 1 week). won't try for a third unit.
Rock the Mullet is offline  
post #384 of 1495 Old 01-09-2005, 12:08 PM
Member
 
tblankenship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: DeSoto, KS
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had mine 2 months. Last week it stopped playing discs. The only way I can open the tray is while it is turned off. It is able to determine if the disc is a CD or DVD, but it just does not play it. I'll be trying to exchange mine ASAP.
tblankenship is offline  
post #385 of 1495 Old 01-10-2005, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
robshdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCali
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had mine for 3 weeks and so far so good. The only strange thing was after putting a commercial DVD in today it needed a reboot to finally play. At first it just flashed dvd on the display but didn't play anything. I power cycled and it worked fine.

I would have to say it would be a shame if these things were all together buggy. The overall quality feels solid and this thing is speedy in menus and layer switches. Plus matched up with my Sony KDFWF55 the picture quality through the hdmi looks great! I hope Sony can fix the issues with this player with a firmware release. I bought the extended warranty on this one just to be safe. I have 4 years to keep my fingers crossed and if it can't be fixed I guess a replacement is in line.

-Rob
robshdtv is offline  
post #386 of 1495 Old 01-10-2005, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
DrEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke to Sony (via Support site "chat" session) and they claim to not do firmware updates...
DrEd is offline  
post #387 of 1495 Old 01-10-2005, 09:17 AM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That seems to be true so far as offering firmware updates to individual consumers is concerned, but their authorized service people are usually able to get anything that they need, at some point, anyway. In this case, however, Sony has not yet provided the needed info and/or data to technicians anywhere but at the Texas facility.

Ed (no relation)
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #388 of 1495 Old 01-10-2005, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Repdetect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Had mine 2 weeks before I got my HDMI cable and.... distorted signal from HDMI output, so I've sent it back to Texas for a replacement. Otherwise, looked awesome via component out to a KP46WT520. Can't wait to see the HDMI output.

Mitsubishi WD73-742, Oppo BDP-103, Gallo 3.1/ Reference AV center/ Adiva-ti surrounds, Emotiva UMC-200/ XPA-5/ XPA-3, Toshiba HD-A3. Roku XS

 

"All rooms, speakers and ears are different, trust your own ears."

Repdetect is offline  
post #389 of 1495 Old 01-11-2005, 05:09 PM
Member
 
oregonstitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rats, just had a scare. The tray would not open. Turned it on/off a couple times, hitting eject each time. About the fourth try it ejected. Keeping fingers crossed.
oregonstitch is offline  
post #390 of 1495 Old 01-11-2005, 05:10 PM
Member
 
oregonstitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rats, just had a scare. The tray would not open. Turned it on/off a couple times, hitting eject each time. About the fourth try it ejected. Keeping fingers crossed.
oregonstitch is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off