Sony DVP-NS975V FAQ / Brain dump - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1495 Old 02-09-2005, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Professor Gascan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perhaps an indication that change is about to come: the 975 has been removed from the sony.ca website. So far there is no replacement for it shown.
Professor Gascan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1495 Old 02-09-2005, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Professor Gascan
Perhaps an indication that change is about to come: the 975 has been removed from the sony.ca website. So far there is no replacement for it shown.
I think not. it is still available from all major online stores and SonyStyle web site.:) It was reported a few weeks ago that it isn't available in Canada anymore.
kdog044 is offline  
post #633 of 1495 Old 02-09-2005, 07:55 AM
Member
 
KeysZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Strange news to report. After everything I've been through with Sony, "we cannot fix or replace, we're sending your money back,Can't tell you what's wrong,no call backs" etc, guess what showed up from UPS this morning? Yep, what appears to be my 975 from the repair center. I did not write down the serial #, but I can say that the case has definately been opened. So either this is my unit, or one they have been into, done something, and sent to me.It does have my repair # on the unit and all the documents.(I sent everything to them).The invoice is dated 2/8 so they had to have overnighted it to me. I am here in the fridged north so I will have to wait awhile for it to warm up before playing, but I will post some results when I can. Strange:rolleyes:
KeysZ is offline  
post #634 of 1495 Old 02-09-2005, 09:08 AM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, they certainly seem to be running a tight ship down there. I wonder whether they are simply so inundated with 975s that mistakes are inevitable. Candor would be to their credit at this point, though I won't hold my breath.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #635 of 1495 Old 02-09-2005, 09:40 PM
Member
 
KeysZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far everything seems to work fine. I have not had a chance to look at things with DVE. I will when I get time. Did anyone find a way to access firmware versions for this unit? Did a quick search here and came up with nothing. I would be happy to experiment if anyone has any requests. To those waiting for the welcome message and such tricks to avoid a problem, please be aware that the last time mine went bad I was watching a DVD for 45 minutes, took it out, then spent a couple minutes finding a new one to put it in.The problem of not playing the disc happened at this time. Not trying to be a negative, just passing along what happened to me.
KeysZ is offline  
post #636 of 1495 Old 02-10-2005, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
jon_we4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just sent mine in, Laredo should have it monday.
jon_we4 is offline  
post #637 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Heads up... I understand that Sony has a firmware update for the 975. Unfortunately, I do not know what the firmware fixes.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #638 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
smitchell24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How would one obtain the firmware fix for the 975? Any weblinks or contacts?
smitchell24 is offline  
post #639 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 12:16 PM
Member
 
drjeckl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of right now, Sony's support web site says:

"There are no software updates or drivers currently available for this selection."
drjeckl is offline  
post #640 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware Fix? What problems doesn it need to address? I only know of one, the off center widscreen. Any other issues it might fix?

Post up if you guys come across the link for the firmware.
NismoZ is offline  
post #641 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
The firmware is NOT available online, can only be done thru Sony directly. I do not know what the firmware fixes.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #642 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone loaded the firmware? When was it released? How does on go about getting it?

Sorry if these questions have been answered before.
NismoZ is offline  
post #643 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's true about the firmware let's hope it addresses the SD colorspace on the HDMI connection (fingers crossed).
kdog044 is offline  
post #644 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 03:01 PM
Member
 
KeysZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been through my returned unit pretty extensively now and it appears everything is working fine mechanically. The picture being off center is still there,and green depression over HDMI is still there,bummer. I did some tests with my Hit 50v500(LCD RPTV) HDMI->DVI on Video1 and component on Video2 at the same time . I have resolution set to 720p over HDMI and had the player set to 480i over component,and could not notice a difference in picture quality at all with Shark Tales playing. Don't get me wrong,The picture quality, in my opinion,is great. I am just really suprised that my TV seems to be doing just as good of job deinterlacing and upconverting as the Sony player. In some of the tests in DVE I actually noticed better picture with 480i over component.When looking at the color bars with gray background at 480i the outer edges and area where each color meets is clean and defined, at 720p the edges are fuzzy and almost blurry. Am I doing something wrong in my tests? My set will tell what input signal it is getting and says that it is getting a 480i when I am on Vid2 and 720p on Vid1 any comments?
KeysZ is offline  
post #645 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 09:38 PM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Information from "the faulkner," who appears to be a Sony dealer, at Agoraquest: "Firmware upgrade... to ver. 1.900. Service centers/exchange depots should have the discs to upgrade the firmware." Apparently, the new firmware addresses at least the tray lock issue.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
post #646 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 09:50 PM
Member
 
KeysZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was a little premature in my judgement of PQ between 480i and 720p. After watching "Braveheart" tonight, there were areas that the 720p definately cleaned up the movie PQ wise. Has anyone found out how to access the firmware version?
KeysZ is offline  
post #647 of 1495 Old 02-11-2005, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Mtnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had my 975V going on three months and it operates perfectly. The PQ is fantastic. If there is a firmware available it will only be to authorized repair centers and is not something released to the general public.
Mtnmike is offline  
post #648 of 1495 Old 02-12-2005, 10:49 PM
Member
 
cmartyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, this is not news I see. Mine just blew up a half hour ago. I have had it less than three months (just) and have played about 20 DVD's on it. I was using the front panel controls to eject one DVD and insert another. After inserting it I hit play on the remote and nada.. Oh well, I got the disc out by unplugging it and plugging it back in. I guess its off to Texas.
cmartyn is offline  
post #649 of 1495 Old 02-12-2005, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, I hope that mine doesn't do that. I;ve had mine for about 3 months aswell... Knock on wood.

Where are you guys sending your units? Are they fixing them or giving you a refund? Do they pay shipping and whatnot being a silent recall?
NismoZ is offline  
post #650 of 1495 Old 02-12-2005, 11:24 PM
Member
 
cmartyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im paying shipping to them, They will pay shipping back. This is a great price performer IMHO.. and if you want HDMI.. The only thing Sony makes lol. I dunno. I figure these POS DVD players are all only good for a couple of years anyhow. Like cheap VCR's
cmartyn is offline  
post #651 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
electrotrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine died this weekend, good news is it's still under full warranty with just two days to spare. Unit refuses to play a DVD. I have used it about twenty five times with no problems before this. I had to unplug it and wait a few minutes before I could power it up to get my DVD out. tried several other disks same result. Off to Laredo for repair.
electrotrace is offline  
post #652 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 03:46 PM
Member
 
oregonstitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
11th day in Laredo and it's heading back via United Parcel. KeysZ, did Sony put anything in the box about paying for re-ship if- god forbid- it busts again? I am much heartened to hear yours is working again.
oregonstitch is offline  
post #653 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Good news... Firmware update 1.90 is designed specifically for the "tray locked" issue and that's it. Took my unit in and had it upgraded. My original firmware was 1.61 (so I was told). They inserted a CD and it auto-updated, takes about five minutes. They then had to go into some service menu to reinitialize the unit. They said they did a few units and it fixed the problem.

I will post later if there any noticeable differences...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #654 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 07:18 PM
Member
 
KeysZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oregonstitch, nothing in the box except for the invoice that said "constant data input/output" it does say to retain the invoice for warranty puposes at the bottom though,other than that no details of what was done. I do know for sure they were in the unit though,positive traces of that. I had the problem with the discs no longer reading rather than the "tray locked" display problem.Looks like a firmware update has been released for that. Wish Sony would let me know what version I have. Maybe I will call them and see if it was updated. I have now run a few DVD's, CD's and SACD's through it and so far so good:)
KeysZ is offline  
post #655 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 07:26 PM
Member
 
KeysZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jon S that is good news,I'm sure it will ease alot of peoples minds knowing that fix is out there. If you get a chance and can check the green depression issue I'm sure many would appreciate it. I can say mine came back without that particular issue fixed. My greens are still fine over 480i/p but bad over 720p
KeysZ is offline  
post #656 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 08:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So we can't get ahold of this firmware? We can't take it anywhere to have it flashed as a preventative maint thing?

What and Where is this Laredo thing you guys are talking about? Is it a Service Shop or City?
NismoZ is offline  
post #657 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 08:24 PM
Member
 
tblankenship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: DeSoto, KS
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Laredo, TX is the Sony repair center.
tblankenship is offline  
post #658 of 1495 Old 02-14-2005, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
It does not appear that the fix does anything to the green depression. It does appear the unit is a bit more responsive with the remote control.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #659 of 1495 Old 02-15-2005, 06:50 AM
Member
 
drjeckl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how does one get this fix applied? Do we walk into a Sony Service center and ask for it? I would rather be proactive and get it done before the tray locks up on me. Gee, all they would have to do is post the upgrade on their support site, we burn a CD and insert into the player! Isn't that what the Internet is all about?

.jce
drjeckl is offline  
post #660 of 1495 Old 02-15-2005, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I think the issue for Sony is that you have to get into the service menu to reinitialize the unit after the upgrade. They definitely do not want users messing with the player settings in the service menu.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off