Sony DVP-NS975V FAQ / Brain dump - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2005, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Kdog044 and c1courtney,

At the present time I have no hardware to test 720p via HDMI->HDMI. My Panasonic TC-22LH1 will not accept 720p. I have tried on numerous occasions to dislodge the Panasonic from its perch to no avail. I'm thinking only a Panasonic is going to accomplish that. We'll see what the forthcoming TC-xxLX50 series coming in April have to offer.

I don't recall any specific 720p issues with either player being reported.

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2005, 07:26 AM
Member
 
tblankenship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: DeSoto, KS
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got Sony to call me back to explain what they did to my player. I had the problem that no disc would play and I could only eject discs by powering off. The caller explained that they had replaced an entire assembly for playing and ejecting. That was all she could tell me. Thanks to this thread, I have checked and do have firmware version 1.9. So far I have experienced no problems after playing one SACD, one CD, and a few movies.
tblankenship is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Jamers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Questions:

Since this problem has been know for a while now, do you think Sony has updated the production output with corrected hardware/software?

I was thinking that if I didn't buy until March that maybe it wouldn't have the same problem?

If the player has firmware 1.90 does that mean it has been corrected?

Should I just wait for the next model?

When did this model originally hit the market?
Jamers is offline  
 
Old 02-25-2005, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The model hit the dealers in October 2004 -- about two weeks before this thread was started.

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 01:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
ok guys....after 2 months of flawless operation, my 975 just seemed to quit on me tonight. i can see the dvd player menu screen, and it can get as far as recognizing the type of dic that is in there (it will say either cd or dvd on the face).....but that's it. it can't play anything, and the only way to eject a disc is to unplug it, make sure my projector isn't on the dvd player input, then plug the sony back in and press eject.....this is all very strange.

i am still seeing all the dvd player setting menu screens through hdmi-dvi, but no disc activity after loading.

is this typical of the problems this player has been giving people? what's the best way to get sony to issue a replacement??
oleus is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
brubacca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jon S,

I have had my player since December 31st and have had that very same thing happen once. I don't remember which movie it happened on. It was a movie that I own, so it was in pristine condition. My firmware version is 1.8.
brubacca is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:04 AM
Member
 
tblankenship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: DeSoto, KS
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by oleus
ok guys....after 2 months of flawless operation, my 975 just seemed to quit on me tonight. i can see the dvd player menu screen, and it can get as far as recognizing the type of dic that is in there (it will say either cd or dvd on the face).....but that's it. it can't play anything, and the only way to eject a disc is to unplug it, make sure my projector isn't on the dvd player input, then plug the sony back in and press eject.....this is all very strange.

i am still seeing all the dvd player setting menu screens through hdmi-dvi, but no disc activity after loading.

is this typical of the problems this player has been giving people? what's the best way to get sony to issue a replacement??
This is exactly what happened to my player. I just called Sony Service and they took care of it (although it took longer than I would have liked).
tblankenship is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oleus: how many hours on your machine ?

mine had tad over 30hrs.
bruman is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lexa695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Somewhere in New York
Posts: 1,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of questions.

I just hooked up this machine this past weekend and there are a few issues.

1). I had been playing Resident Evil Apocalypse in wide screen format. There were black bars on the bottom and top like it was in letterbox mode. I was under the impression that the up conversion would fill the entire screen.
2) When I tried the zoom feature, the blue zoom Icon just sat there in the upper right corner. Is there a way to turn off the OSD? I saw that this had been asked once before but there was no answer to this question.
3) I wanted to see what resolution the machine was outputting to my display, but I didn't seem to be able to find in the manual how to identify this.

I am using the following eq:
Panny 50PHD7UY Display
Yamaha HTR 5790
HDMI-HDMI Cable with an S-Video connect HDMI coupler to resolve a cable length issue
Digital Coaxial audio cable.

OK, so why *again* do we need a bigger one?
lexa695 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know the answer to No1. That would be no, upconvert does not fill the screen.
NismoZ is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
bruman -

i probably had about 50 hours on the player. i had zero locks before this total inability to play ANYTHING.

i can't find my manual anywhere! anyone know the sony technical support line? should i bother calling if i am not at home and don't have the serial number?

thanks
sean
oleus is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 01:30 PM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digital upconversion elaborates on the 480 lines of resolution on a DVD, but it will not change a film's aspect ratio. Anamorphic films shot at 1.85:1 will fill the 1.78:1 widescreen frame on your plasma, but any aspect ratio wider than that, like 2.35:1, will leave black bars at the top and bottom, whether fed to your monitor via HDMI or component.

I'm not sure what's going on with your zoom icon, but pressing "clear" should remove it. The zoom function applies only to still images and video CD, not DVD.

Your Panasonic has a native resolution of 1366x768. It will scale whatever you feed it ultimately to that resolution. Though I seem to recall at least one Panasonic plasma that would not accept a 720p signal, I'll bet that yours does, leaving the plasma only a little more work to do to achieve 768p. I'd upconvert to 720p within the Sony menu. If the Panny won't accept the result, you're stuck with 1080i.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they need serial#

www.sony.com/repair

CS phone works.

seems like around those hours they die. lol

man this blows. :)
bruman is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lexa695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Somewhere in New York
Posts: 1,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by liberatusvirus
Digital upconversion elaborates on the 480 lines of resolution on a DVD, but it will not change a film's aspect ratio. Anamorphic films shot at 1.85:1 will fill the 1.78:1 widescreen frame on your plasma, but any aspect ratio wider than that, like 2.35:1, will leave black bars at the top and bottom, whether fed to your monitor via HDMI or component.

I'm not sure what's going on with your zoom icon, but pressing "clear" should remove it. The zoom function applies only to still images and video CD, not DVD.

Your Panasonic has a native resolution of 1366x768. It will scale whatever you feed it ultimately to that resolution. Though I seem to recall at least one Panasonic plasma that would not accept a 720p signal, I'll bet that yours does, leaving the plasma only a little more work to do to achieve 768p. I'd upconvert to 720p within the Sony menu. If the Panny won't accept the result, you're stuck with 1080i.

Ed
Thanks Ed.

As far as the zoom goes, I was able to zoom in the DVD to get rid of the black bars on top and bottom, but after I noticed the icon wouldn't go away, I went back to the standard picture size. I'm not sure what was worse, either uneven burn in or image retention of the zoom logo.
Just on the last question. How can I check the resolution output on the Sony. Is it on that tiny display?

OK, so why *again* do we need a bigger one?
lexa695 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 02:12 PM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To the best of my knowledge, the only way to know what the Sony is delivering is by how you set it in the menu. If you set it to Automatic, then the best you can do is to look closely at the result and compare it with a direct selection of 720p and 1080i, respectively. I would think that 720 would look a wee bit better than 1080i, if you can notice anything at all. By the way, I wasn't aware that the Sony could zoom an anamorphic image. Thanks for that info.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
720p looks too soft to me. 1080i looks much better and detailed. but i do get some kind of scrolling faint white bar from left to right.

running on a Sony Wega 36XBR800
bruman is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:12 PM
Member
 
liberatusvirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruman,

Given that your monitor is a CRT, 1080i is the logical choice for you, though whether digitally upconverted 1080i will look any better than analog 480p through component on it is another story altogether. BTW, the scrolling bar on Sony CRTs at 1080i has a long and storied history on AVS. It is an annoyance that, regardless of apparent fixes, has refused to go away. You might check it out under your specific model, as well as subsequent CRT XBRs and lesser Hi Scan models.

Ed
liberatusvirus is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
with my Zenith DVB318 I dont see a difference but 480p on the sony is def not as good as 1080i and I know the 480p is very good on the sony.

kinda funny cause the scrolling bar does not show up in 1080i on the Zenith nor on my cable box 1080i.

interesting. will have to find the thread.......
bruman is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Jim Flowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Add my player to the broken list. After two months, my 975 won't play disks any more. It's on its way to Laredo. Hope it comes back better than ever.

Jim
Jim Flowers is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
`
lulimet is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can someone who owns this player tell me what the FF/RW playback speed options are? The manual doesn't seem to make sense as it goes from 2X-1-2-3. Does this indicate that 2X is the fastest or am I missing something?

Also, I would like to know the range for contrast, brightness, sharpness, color and hue. I would look in the manual but again it doesn't indicate the range, unlike the Panasonic S97 manual.
kdog044 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:51 AM
Member
 
CORRY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the situation with this player is?

Sony Canada doesn't sell it anymore. I can't find it on sonystyle.ca.
I checked with someone at the Sony Store but they don't have any information in their system if this dvd player will be on the market again.
Probably this model will be replaced by a different one...
CORRY is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by CORRY
Does anyone know what the situation with this player is?

Sony Canada doesn't sell it anymore. I can't find it on sonystyle.ca.
I checked with someone at the Sony Store but they don't have any information in their system if this dvd player will be on the market again.
Probably this model will be replaced by a different one...
There supposedly was a recall in Canada but it is readily available on-line here in the states from Amazon (thru J&R, Vanns, or Crutchfield). It is also available from B&H Photo.
kdog044 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 11:54 AM
Member
 
dly1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it safe to purchase now?
dly1976 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
the failure rate on this player seems alarmingly high. it's not out-of-box failure, either, it's more like 2-3 months after we're purchasing them. whch almost always requires us to send them back to sony instead of just taking them back to the store...so i would say it's a risky purchase right now.
oleus is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Supposedly the tray lock issue was resolved through firmware. I guess it depends if you can validate the version from the dealer you are considering purchasing from. I believe 1.90 is the latest.
kdog044 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
kdog -

alot of us have had to send our units in for something more than just tray lock - mine had total failure to play any disc in addition to tray lock. this after 2 months of flawless play.

took my unit into the upstore where we are supposedly suposed to get discounted shipping when returnin to Sony, but neither the workorder or event id showed up in their system so i had to pay. the ups guy even tried calling sony but after waiting on hold for 10 minutes we gave up.
oleus is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
same here oleus.....

it cost me $9 to send to TX. not bad.
bruman is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, since both of you have or had this machine can you answer my question a few posts above?:D
kdog044 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kdog044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by kdog044
Can someone who owns this player tell me what the FF/RW playback speed options are? The manual doesn't seem to make sense as it goes from 2X-1-2-3. Does this indicate that 2X is the fastest or am I missing something?

Also, I would like to know the range for contrast, brightness, sharpness, color and hue. I would look in the manual but again it doesn't indicate the range, unlike the Panasonic S97 manual.
Any Sony owners out there?
kdog044 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off