I-O Data AVeL LinkPlayer2 FAQ - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 07:30 AM
Member
 
wlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I pulled the trigger on this player yesterday. When the unit ships to me, will it have older firmware, or this new firmware you folks are reporting as buggy?

-Bill

Home Theater Config:
Hitachi 65T500
JBL Northridge E Series 7.1
Onkyo TX-NR801
DISH Network 811
wlong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Steely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wlong
When the unit ships to me, will it have older firmware, or this new firmware you folks are reporting as buggy?

I just got my player two day ago and it comes with an older firmware. You can choose to keep upgrading the firmware to just before the latest version. I have not loaded the March 4th firmware because of the problems people are reporting.

My question would be, what is the best firmware version for TS playback? I am getting quite a bit of stuttering with my recordings. I don't know if is because I have edited these files using HDTVtoMPEG2 or some other reason.

I love this thing as a DVD server. Definately worth the money.

Dan
Steely is offline  
post #183 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
arioch,

I'm not sure what version of the firmware I have. Couldn't find anything in the setup which tells you which version is currently installed. But if I check for an upgrade, the Feb. 4 firmware comes up. I believe I have a January firmware.

/Anders
andersa is offline  
post #184 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 07:46 AM
Member
 
wlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Steely
I just got my player two day ago and it comes with an older firmware. You can choose to keep upgrading the firmware to just before the latest version. I have not loaded the March 4th firmware because of the problems people are reporting.

My question would be, what is the best firmware version for TS playback? I am getting quite a bit of stuttering with my recordings. I don't know if is because I have edited these files using HDTVtoMPEG2 or some other reason.

I love this thing as a DVD server. Definately worth the money.

Dan

The TS playback issue is a must for me as well. The whole idea behind me getting one of these was to grab a myHD-130 card so I can record OTA HDTV/DTV and stream it back to this device.

Perhaps someone in here can weigh in on the right firmware to use for TS playback.

-Bill

Home Theater Config:
Hitachi 65T500
JBL Northridge E Series 7.1
Onkyo TX-NR801
DISH Network 811
wlong is offline  
post #185 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
irgaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The World of Sid & Marty Krofft
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
North America - Version 04-33-041227-01-IOD-234-000
Released: December 29, 2004

So far that one was the best for TS playback.
irgaac is offline  
post #186 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 08:11 AM
Member
 
wlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the heads up. I'll give that one a shot when the unit arrives.

Home Theater Config:
Hitachi 65T500
JBL Northridge E Series 7.1
Onkyo TX-NR801
DISH Network 811
wlong is offline  
post #187 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Steely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you irgaac. I will roll back and give it a try.
Steely is offline  
post #188 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Tobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by irgaac
North America - Version 04-33-041227-01-IOD-234-000
Released: December 29, 2004

So far that one was the best for TS playback.

Actually the Feb 4, 2005 release works best for me for TS playback. The March 4th release does not.

I've just had my Linkplayer for a few days, but got it primarily as a playback source for TS captures made with the R5000. I've had flawless playback of all TS captures that I've tried, which included sampling over 100 different files and watching several shows from beginning to end. Caution -- if you pause, it is sometimes difficult to get the audio to start up again. I would guess that once they get the FF and REW to work for TS captures, it may be easier to get the audio to start after a pause.

My only other major issue is that TS captures which are on DVD stutter terribly with the built in loader. I just may consider changing it out for the Liteon 167T described earlier.

Ron
Ron Tobin is offline  
post #189 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


North America - Version 04-33-041227-01-IOD-234-000
Released: December 29, 2004

So far that one was the best for TS playback.

No way of dl:ing that firmware to the player if the rollback is to a later version, is there? If one has passed the one after that - then there is no chance of getting it right - right?
Is the only way of upgrading through their server? No downloadable FWs?
arioch is offline  
post #190 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The Feb 04 firmware: 04-91-050127-02-IOD-234-000 while as Irgaac noted, not as good as the previous version for TS playback, nonetheless solved some important issues, including SPDIF audio playback with a number of audio/video receivers. It also solved the problem on DVD playback of the audio sometimes not starting up when the video does, and audio "pops" starting up after a pause.
Tom Roper is offline  
post #191 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not as good? Well... The latest FW and the one before only shows a black screen and no sound when I try to play TS-files...
arioch is offline  
post #192 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 12:31 PM
Member
 
wlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am curious if anyone with this player is using the myHD MDP-130 card? If so, can you stream live television from your desktop to the LinkPlayer over your network?

-Bill

Home Theater Config:
Hitachi 65T500
JBL Northridge E Series 7.1
Onkyo TX-NR801
DISH Network 811
wlong is offline  
post #193 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Tobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed the Lite-On SOHD-167T today, and the TS files on DVD now play perfectly. It's too bad they did not install a decent DVD player at point of manufacture.

Ron
Ron Tobin is offline  
post #194 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
irgaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The World of Sid & Marty Krofft
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by arioch
Not as good? Well... The latest FW and the one before only shows a black screen and no sound when I try to play TS-files...

Hit pause then play again and the file will play, it may stutter for a sec as it catches up to the buffer but it will usually play.
irgaac is offline  
post #195 of 1408 Old 03-06-2005, 08:53 PM
Member
 
wlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ron Tobin
I installed the Lite-On SOHD-167T today, and the TS files on DVD now play perfectly. It's too bad they did not install a decent DVD player at point of manufacture.

Do you have a write up of how you managed to do this?

-Bill

Home Theater Config:
Hitachi 65T500
JBL Northridge E Series 7.1
Onkyo TX-NR801
DISH Network 811
wlong is offline  
post #196 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Hit pause then play again and the file will play, it may stutter for a sec as it catches up to the buffer but it will usually play.

Oh... Ok, I'll try that later.
If that's a common issue, then maybe IO-data should see to it that the next firmware simply pauses and then plays any .TS-file that is loaded?

Another question:
The User Guide states that 12 MBps is maximum for .TS-files over wired LAN and 10 MBps for .TS over DVD-R. Doesn't this mean that the player really shouldn't be able to play HD .TS files, but only SD (standard definition) .TS files? An HD .TS-file could easily exceed 15 MBps.
arioch is offline  
post #197 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Tobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by wlong
Do you have a write up of how you managed to do this?

-Bill

Bill:

Everything needed to make the drive swap is covered HERE and HERE with special thanks to Kermee.

The install was real simple. The only trick is to make sure the tray smoothly opens and closes through the opening on the Linkplayer, once the faceplate is changed. If it has too much friction, the tray will close and then open. I used some velcro to position it where it had to be. Works like a charm. Thanks again, Kermee.

Ron
Ron Tobin is offline  
post #198 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
irgaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The World of Sid & Marty Krofft
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by arioch
Oh... Ok, I'll try that later.
If that's a common issue, then maybe IO-data should see to it that the next firmware simply pauses and then plays any .TS-file that is loaded?

Another question:
The User Guide states that 12 MBps is maximum for .TS-files over wired LAN and 10 MBps for .TS over DVD-R. Doesn't this mean that the player really shouldn't be able to play HD .TS files, but only SD (standard definition) .TS files? An HD .TS-file could easily exceed 15 MBps.

The player itself is way under specced compared to what the Sigma chip is capable of. You can pretty much throw anything at it and it will play, but I think IO-Data left themselves some wiggle room if they can't get the firmware up to snuff.
irgaac is offline  
post #199 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I tried the pause/play-trick, but only got the black screen... Nothing happened except that the OSD said "PAUSE", "PLAY"... Tried several times with several different .TS-files.
One note: The files I tried with are named ****.000, ****.001 etc, but if the server "servs" them to the player, then I guess they should be allright? Or must they be named ****.ts?
Any other basic stuff I could be missing here?
arioch is offline  
post #200 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooops... They where named ".ts". The player just hid it.
arioch is offline  
post #201 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
irgaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The World of Sid & Marty Krofft
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which firmware version are you using? It is listed on the setup screen in the lower left hand corner.
irgaac is offline  
post #202 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 04-69-050110-01-IOD-231-000
and when I roll back it goes all the way back to:
03-42-041101-IOD-231-000.

04-69-050110-01-IOD-231-000 seems to be the latest Japanese FW-version then. I have the Japanese model.

Does the Japanese model have more problems than the american?
arioch is offline  
post #203 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I turned off "HD Browser" and now the .TS-files work!
However, I get really garbled sound.
Read somewhere that running HDTV2MPEG could solve that, but I'd rather not have to convert all .TS to MPEG.
Or could some setting be the culprint? Does the American version give garbled sound from .TS-files? Has it ever?
arioch is offline  
post #204 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Steely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone explain exactly (in lay terms) what the "HD Browser" mode is for? Besides making the text look smaller. If I take it out of HD Browser mode am I no longer supporting 720p resolutions? What is the main reason for me to have this thing in HD Browser mode?
Steely is offline  
post #205 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It has zoom modes that work, namely.
Tom Roper is offline  
post #206 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Tobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Tom Roper
It has zoom modes that work, namely.

Tom:
How does that impact the playing of ts files?

Ron
Ron Tobin is offline  
post #207 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've never been able to get my TS files to play, but they come from a JVC GR-HD1 720p camcorder, supposedly supported...

Anyway, they DO play beautifully if I strip away the TS container, and play them as raw 1280x720 mpeg2 PS 18.5 mb/s. This can be done with VLC (which is free), or Womble MPG Video Wizard, which I use to add voice-overs. Either way, no re-encoding. The process is fast and lossless and I can play the native stream on the LinkPlayer.

Others attempting TS playback have achieved success, more or less, some perfectly, others with or without sound playback accompaniment etc.

But the last two firmware upgrades as reported by those who were able to playback TS, have apparently harmed the functionality of it, either introducing stutters, or failing TS playback altogether on some files that played without problem previously.
Tom Roper is offline  
post #208 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
irgaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The World of Sid & Marty Krofft
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by arioch
I have 04-69-050110-01-IOD-231-000
and when I roll back it goes all the way back to:
03-42-041101-IOD-231-000.

04-69-050110-01-IOD-231-000 seems to be the latest Japanese FW-version then. I have the Japanese model.

Does the Japanese model have more problems than the american?

Ahhh, Can't help you there. I know the firmware is different for the US and Japanese models. TUFU will hopefully answer your question.
irgaac is offline  
post #209 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
irgaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The World of Sid & Marty Krofft
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Tom Roper
I've never been able to get my TS files to play, but they come from a JVC GR-HD1 720p camcorder, supposedly supported...

Anyway, they DO play beautifully if I strip away the TS container, and play them as raw 1280x720 mpeg2 PS 18.5 mb/s. This can be done with VLC (which is free), or Womble MPG Video Wizard, which I use to add voice-overs. Either way, no re-encoding. The process is fast and lossless and I can play the native stream on the LinkPlayer.

Others attempting TS playback have achieved success, more or less, some perfectly, others with or without sound playback accompaniment etc.

But the last two firmware upgrades as reported by those who were able to playback TS, have apparently harmed the functionality of it, either introducing stutters, or failing TS playback altogether on some files that played without problem previously.

Tom,

I didn't know you couldn't play the .ts files from your camera without converting them. Can you post a small clip somewhere so the rest of us can try it and see if it's your player or the format?
irgaac is offline  
post #210 of 1408 Old 03-07-2005, 03:26 PM
Member
 
MoparHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tom Roper
I've never been able to get my TS files to play, but they come from a JVC GR-HD1 720p camcorder, supposedly supported...

Anyway, they DO play beautifully if I strip away the TS container, and play them as raw 1280x720 mpeg2 PS 18.5 mb/s. This can be done with VLC (which is free), or Womble MPG Video Wizard, which I use to add voice-overs. Either way, no re-encoding. The process is fast and lossless and I can play the native stream on the LinkPlayer.

Others attempting TS playback have achieved success, more or less, some perfectly, others with or without sound playback accompaniment etc.

But the last two firmware upgrades as reported by those who were able to playback TS, have apparently harmed the functionality of it, either introducing stutters, or failing TS playback altogether on some files that played without problem previously.

I would like to have a clip or two from this camcorder also please. I want to get a progress mode camcorder. Just would like to see how it looks and how well I can compress with Xvid.

Thanks MP
MoparHemi is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off