Pioneer Elite 59avi Owners Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 2187 Old 06-16-2005, 06:51 AM
Member
 
tony57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a bit of research here I think I'm ready to get a 59avi to pair up with my Panny TH-50PHD7UY. (I was going to wait for Blu-ray / HD DVD, but I now think that resolution of competing formats may take longer than I originally thought).

Anyway, I would appreciate any Panny owners advice and/or experience (i.e., should I output the 59avi at 720p, 1080i, etc.)
tony57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 2187 Old 06-16-2005, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dvdguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Shelby, NC. previously in Charlotte
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have that tv and dvd player and when calibrated my ISF guy set the pioneer to output 720p. This combo produces an awesome picture and I can't recommend these 2 enough You'll love these two together. Get an hdmi cable to upconvert through and you can also check out my thread about the ISF calibration. It's a few months old but you should be able to find it by searching with my username.

Elite PRO-70X5FD!

dvdguru

Xbox Live Gamertag: AVS Steve
dvdguru is offline  
post #993 of 2187 Old 06-17-2005, 06:19 AM
Member
 
tony57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks,

I should have my HDMI blade by the end of the month, so hopefully I should be able to locate a 59avi by then (I found a local dealer, I'll probably get it from him).
tony57 is offline  
post #994 of 2187 Old 06-17-2005, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
guys,

how does the 59avi in 480i paired with a DVDO+ scaler look as compared to say an SDI mod (like in a 3910)? I have a friend who just finished a house and is looking for the best possible PQ, but doesn't want to go the Denon 5910 route...

I recommended either a 3910 SDI mod, or a 59avi via 480i to a DVDO..... any help is appreciated..
ssabripo is offline  
post #995 of 2187 Old 06-20-2005, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Micro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North Caroliona
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems this post as come to an end? I only found it after doing a search for it.
Micro is offline  
post #996 of 2187 Old 06-20-2005, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 59avi and plan to hook it up in the next few days using 480i thru the hdmi to a ISCAN HD+ that has the new Beta firmware.
I have previously used a denon 3910 with SDI into the Iscan.
I will report back in the next few days and let you know my opinions.
steviec is offline  
post #997 of 2187 Old 06-20-2005, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micro View Post

Seems this post as come to an end? I only found it after doing a search for it.

The last post was only three days before your post. I hardly think that constitutes an "end" to the thread.

Do you have any questions re the 59avi?
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #998 of 2187 Old 06-20-2005, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Stevie- What display will you be trying the 59AVi and beta iScan with?

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #999 of 2187 Old 06-21-2005, 01:55 AM
Member
 
HtLurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok, kinda a longshot here and im a noobie so forgive me for asking this ridiculous question. Since the Pioneer can upconvert thru HDMI, can i use a HDMI->DVI-I->5BNC adapter/s and get the image upscaled to say 720p? I realize that HDMI is digital and BNC is analog so perhaps a transcoder/converter can do what i want? Still hunting for a source for a future crt pj. Thanks for reading. If anything, i just gave this thread a friendly bump.

/cheers
jer

Long Live HD DVD! Now Long Live BR!
HtLurker is offline  
post #1000 of 2187 Old 06-21-2005, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HtLurker View Post

Ok, kinda a longshot here and im a noobie so forgive me for asking this ridiculous question. Since the Pioneer can upconvert thru HDMI, can i use a HDMI->DVI-I->5BNC adapter/s and get the image upscaled to say 720p? I realize that HDMI is digital and BNC is analog so perhaps a transcoder/converter can do what i want?
/cheers
jer


Unfortunately, no. HDMI is copy protected and you can not convert the copy protected stream to analog.
UMD_Terp is offline  
post #1001 of 2187 Old 06-21-2005, 08:46 AM
Member
 
tvyankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello.

it has been a very long time for me to post something hear but i would like to know how this 59avi compares to these other 200.00 players.

this player seems like you get the most for your money as far as the other features such as dvd-a and sacd play back as well as i link. as far as video this player seems to get pretty good write ups from you guys. i would be using the hdmi output if you think it is the best.

thanks for any help you could give.
tvyankee is offline  
post #1002 of 2187 Old 06-22-2005, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Just tried my second hdmi/dvi cable from 59avi to Sanyo Z2 and it will not sync.

I unplugged all other components and video cables from both the 59avi and the Z2.

If I select computer input on Z2 it will show the menu from the 59avi but the hdmi section is greyed out and no video will show.

If I select HDCP compliant AV device input on Z2 the 59avi tries to sync with it but cycles thru two or three garbeled outputs and will display nothing, not even the menu with the greyed out hdmi section

Given that this seems to be a common problem with several people here, and given that I want to output 480i to a DVDO HD+, it looks like I'm going to have to send the 59avi for repair.
edfowler is online now  
post #1003 of 2187 Old 06-30-2005, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't seem to find the answer to this one but it must be simple.

I have a DV-59avi and Pio 49-TX (i-link upgraded) connected via i-link.
All bass magement and speaker compensation is done in the receiver not the player.

Multi Channel DVD-A and SACD play find with sub-woofer output but two channel SACD or 192khz DVD-A 2 channel disks do not activate/use the Sub unless
I change the speaker settings from ALL SMALL to Front Large and SW Plus


Is there any way around this manual change every time I want to play a two channel SACD/DVD-A?

This occurs even with the receiver set for "stereo" and not direct modes.

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #1004 of 2187 Old 07-01-2005, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross in Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my 59Avi + 55Txi combo (also via iLink) I have found the same. Although I haven't tried it in a while, I *think* front small + SW yes or plus will give you want you want, as will front large + SW plus (as you pointed out), but perhaps there's another reason you're not getting what you want.

I rememer futzing around with these settings using Resphigi's Pines of Rome CD which has a track (Catacombs) that hase some insanely low frequency pipe organ tones.

With 2 channel disks, there's no separate sub channel so its up to base management to determine where the main speakers stop and the sub begins. For DSD streams (e.g., SACD) I think (perhaps someone can confirm) that conversion to PCM is required to perform base management. DSD -> PCM conversion can be skipped by the 59Avi if using iLink, therefore it's up to the receiver to make the conversion. If for some reason the receiver is not making this conversion, you don't get base management and therefore no sub.

Perhaps someone over on the AV receiver forum knows more about the details of the Pioneer receiver's base management...
Ross in Toronto is offline  
post #1005 of 2187 Old 07-01-2005, 08:29 PM
Member
 
ritesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I noticed that the 2ch output (next to t he 6ch analog outs) DOES NOT automatically downmix the 5.1ch dvd sound; instead one has to go to the settings and turn the analog output from 5.1 channel to 2channel. This, ofcourse, is not nice as it also affects the normal 6channel output. Is there a way around this?

I have connected my 6channel analog outs to the receiver (for high-rez music), digital coax out (for movies) and have recently connected the 2ch analog outs to the TV speakers (so I can watch documentaries etc., without turning the amp. ON).

I was also thinking of using the 2ch analog outs for multiroom setups etc.

If there is a workaround, and if it can be posted here, that would be great; or else I guess it is a limitation (albeit minor, IMHO) of the player,

Ritesh
ritesh is offline  
post #1006 of 2187 Old 07-02-2005, 12:58 AM
Member
 
artoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi !

If I send 480i/576i over HDMI can I still adjust gamma etc.
artoj is offline  
post #1007 of 2187 Old 07-02-2005, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just joined the 59avi club on Thursday and I am impressed. This machine is amazing. One question: for those of you who connect the 59avi to your amp with the 5.1 jacks, do you use a subwoofer specific cable for the sub line feed? Right now, I'm using a regular component video cable (an extra I had lying around) and I'm getting very little bass out of my sub.

Thanks,
Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #1008 of 2187 Old 07-02-2005, 12:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I caught some screen shots from my display that has been calibrated with DVE, via HDMI on 1080I

What I saw was extreme banding, smudging in red part of image.

I compared those same images with Samsung Hd-850 and Yamaha S2500..and did not see that color anomaly!

Is there any way to fix it?

What it is?

Chroma error? of what sort?

Well I can not attach as my image is more than 2MB? what can I do?

I sent those images to Kris Deering to evaluate and comment? May be he can downscale and attach?
zoro is online now  
post #1009 of 2187 Old 07-02-2005, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dougotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reagan View Post

I just joined the 59avi club on Thursday and I am impressed. This machine is amazing. One question: for those of you who connect the 59avi to your amp with the 5.1 jacks, do you use a subwoofer specific cable for the sub line feed? Right now, I'm using a regular component video cable (an extra I had lying around) and I'm getting very little bass out of my sub.

Thanks,
Reagan

Welcome, Reagan. I use the regular Monster interconnects (one day I'll upgrade to better cables). All 6, including sub, are the same.

Do you get very little bass through the 5.1 inputs from all sources - DVD, CD, SACD? The .1 output for SACD is notoriously low. I think I have mine boosted by 5 dB in the 59. If it's low w/ all input sources, maybe you just need to add gain in the receiver or the sub itself. There are other here who know more about calibrating audio, so I'll let them chime in if the feel it's necessary.

Doug
dougotte is offline  
post #1010 of 2187 Old 07-02-2005, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Look for the "DMP Multichannel Reference SACD" to properly set levels. FWIW, the 47Ai had a sub test tone that was incorrectly too low, but if you set the sub's level with most test discs, you will get the correct level. I never checked the 59AVi's sub test tone level because I just use test discs.

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #1011 of 2187 Old 07-04-2005, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
rentwist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: little falls, new york
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a PIO 5050. I'm looking at a few DVD players: (1) Denon 1910, (2) Panny S77, (3) Pio Elite 59avi. I sorta like using the Pio with the PIo. Are there any reasons I should pick one over the other? I await your insights, ray
rentwist is offline  
post #1012 of 2187 Old 07-04-2005, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross in Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Strongly recommend HDMI with the 5050 (I have the older 1110HD, which is the Elite version of the 5040). I think the 1910 is DVI. I have found that DVI is not quite the same as quality as HDMI (comparing HD STB's -- so the comparison may not be the applicable) but they're awfully close. The S77 has HDMI, I believe.

I understand your Pio / Pio interest, as I did something very similar when I got the 1110HD, however, at that time I got my 59Avi (Jan '04) is was about the only player out there that had HDMI. Also, I have a Pio receiver (55Txi), so the iLink from the 59Avi to the 55Txi was also a big factor for me.

Now that there are many more HDMI players out there, I would argue the strongest reason to go with the 59Avi is if to take advantage of the iLink with a compatable Pio receiver such as the 55, 56 or 59Txi.

Ross
Ross in Toronto is offline  
post #1013 of 2187 Old 07-05-2005, 03:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mimason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

I caught some screen shots from my display that has been calibrated with DVE, via HDMI on 1080I

What I saw was extreme banding, smudging in red part of image.

I've seen this before. I thought it was Chroma ICP at one time but now I am not sure. Do you see it when your dvd player is set to 16:9 and 4:3? Try alternating the setups in dvd player and display. On one of my 4:3 TV's setting it to 16:9 mode on the dvd player corrected the problem so it may be someting to do with the scaling of anamorphic formats. I never figured it out.

What is strange to me is that all Faroudja based players did not display this issue.
mimason is offline  
post #1014 of 2187 Old 07-05-2005, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I did not switch my display to 4:3! If I do? how it will effect my WS anamorphic dvds?

Kris said it is CUE and is defect in mpeg decoder and can not be corrected!..TOO BAD!
zoro is online now  
post #1015 of 2187 Old 07-06-2005, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if the Pioneer can output both component and HDMI at the same time?

Thanks
Jon SS is offline  
post #1016 of 2187 Old 07-06-2005, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
revmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: hanford, calif.
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. When I finally added the hdmi blade to my th50 plasma, I left the component cables connected. I switched inputs on the tv to see which one gave a better picture. I left the component cables connected for now.
revmike is offline  
post #1017 of 2187 Old 07-06-2005, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doug and Kevin,

Thanks for the info. I'd say that the sub level is a little low for all types of discs (DD, DTS, etc) decoded by the 59avi, but it was almost non-existent for 2-channel SACD (Rolling Stones).

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #1018 of 2187 Old 07-06-2005, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dougotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reagan View Post

Doug and Kevin,

Thanks for the info. I'd say that the sub level is a little low for all types of discs (DD, DTS, etc) decoded by the 59avi, but it was almost non-existent for 2-channel SACD (Rolling Stones).

-Reagan

Do you have all output going throught the analog outputs? If so, I would think you need to boost the .1 output in the 59, and then you'll get more from the sub for all sources. Like Kevin said, use a setup disc.

For 2-ch SACDs, are you sure you're getting anything from the sub? Unless you have the speakers set to small in the 59, you will only get left & right for 2-ch SACD. If you do have speakers set to small, I'm guessing it's part of the same problem you have w/ all other sources. Maybe there's even less on a 2-ch SACD because the 59 is splitting the low frequencies to go to the sub, but other sources (e.g. DD 5.1, DTS 5.1, etc.) have that dedicated .1 channel already mixed. I'm guessing here because I set speakers to large and just let 2.0 music (SACD & CD) go to just the left and right.

Doug
dougotte is offline  
post #1019 of 2187 Old 07-06-2005, 09:34 PM
Member
 
Lee Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if you've already done this or not but when listening to cd's or 2 channel only sacd's & dvd-a's make sure that you go into your INITIAL SETTINGS and scroll down to SPEAKERS and make sure that it is set for 2 channel and NOT 5.1 channel. There is FA for low end if your listening to a cd and your speakers are set to 5.1.
Lee Lang is offline  
post #1020 of 2187 Old 07-07-2005, 02:55 AM
Member
 
_XipHiaS_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did find some info about the new european version: DV-989AVi. Don't know if there is any info about the Elite version. Old European model was DV-868AVi as you know.
Maybe it's time for a brand new thread .

Ah, thanks PedroV : DV-989AVi
_XipHiaS_ is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off