Panasonic DVD-S97 Firmware Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2153 Old 02-01-2005, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lorenzow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by LiteUp!
Have you tried 720p?

720p does the same thing.

My LG7832 doesn't exhibit this behavior. If I can get my wife away from the Food Channel, I'll check out the Sammy 934 as well.

Larry
lorenzow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2153 Old 02-01-2005, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Daniel Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Ridgeville, OH
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody seen any PQ issues caused by upgrading the firmware to 536? I want to upgrade, but I don't want to introduce any problems that weren't there previously.
Daniel Eddy is offline  
post #183 of 2153 Old 02-01-2005, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Daniel,

No complaints at all so far. Everyone is agreeing that picture quality is improved. Go for it.

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #184 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
vonzoog:

The reason I mentioned it is because this is a common question. Paul has indicated that these types of questions will be posted on the first page of the thread(as you notice he does edit it constantly). This applies to this thread well. I forgot about this thread when I intially replied and you felt a bit upset(because I saw the FAQ thread) which apoligize because I also was referring to this one as well.

Everyone should at least read the first page because when they are not reading it and ask a question which has already been answered, it's not fair for us to re-post the same information. This happened to me so many times in the past when I had my firmware thread up that I got tired of it.

I hope you understand.

Sango
Sango is offline  
post #185 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 02:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Paul, Did you get your player back with th new firmware. Can't wait for your report. Any news on 540 firmware?
rwestley is offline  
post #186 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
vonzoog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sango,

Thanks for your response and I do understand where you are coming from.

No hard feeling and sorry for my frustration.

When my Panny arrives, I will update this thread as to whether the new units are arriving with the new firmware.

Always learning.....no one really knows it all.
vonzoog is offline  
post #187 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 07:31 AM
Member
 
jodeci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you need to upgrade to the v536 first, or can you go straight from v528 to v540 with the S97?
jodeci is offline  
post #188 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rwestley,

Haven't been notified to pick up the player yet. It could be as soon as today, I suppose. I would hope that it would be ready by tomorrow. Can't imagine that the process of burning a CD and upgrading would take very long.

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
post #189 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jodeci,

You could go straight to v540 from v528. I hope we get v540 soon. Lars, have you had any luck yet?

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #190 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Broderick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Huntington Station, NY, USA
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by jodeci
Do you need to upgrade to the v536 first, or can you go straight from v528 to v540 with the S97?

You should be able to go from any version to any other version. Firmware is not an upgrade process, it's an overlay process.
Bill Broderick is offline  
post #191 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Lazaredz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did the upgrade myself. Drag and drop the file in XP and let XP do the burning (no need to get any fancy burner program). Anywho, went off without a hitch in 2 minutes.

Quick impression shows improvement to macroblocking in AOTC, even in the red office of Palpatine. Even showed some improvement in bad transfers (Blade, chapter 9) Both the backgroud of the meeting and the red curtain showed less "busyness".

Will do some more work later, but must sleep now (have to return to work tonight).

Want to thank Paul and Sango for ALL of their hard work re: S97 and props to LiteUp for the file ..... now go get that 540

Also, anti-props to Panny for their POOR efforts to work the community to test/improve their products.

Later
Lazaredz is offline  
post #192 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:07 AM
Member
 
lappy4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lars here with an update. I just dropped a (very kind and servile) mail to
the same panasonic sweden guy who mailed a person here the 536 firmware. We'll see what happens. If he's kind and if he can obtain it, who knows, we might have it in a day or two. I'll keep you all posted.
lappy4711 is offline  
post #193 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks lappy!

Hopefully I should have my player back. It might be another wild 'S97 weekend!

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
post #194 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I gotten a response from Panasonic on my end.

They are going to look into it since I emailed to them about it.

Will see what happends from there.
Sango is offline  
post #195 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To add to Bill's reply:

The firmware does have version checks so it will only update. If the firmware is already up to date, the unit will just reset and saids it's complete without going through the update process. The way it would work for downgrading is if it was modified to eliminate the version checks(overrule) then it will invoke the update process reguardless of version.
Sango is offline  
post #196 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke to my contact at Panasonic today who has been very reliable. No versions above 536 are available yet though he will keep checking. Possible reason is 540 or any other upgrade has not been authorized yet for release out of Japan. Or v540 is not the version they want to release to the public. Stay tuned.

John
jakeman is offline  
post #197 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pocoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With 536, I am getting pixel cropping on the left hand side on 1080i. This translates to a virtual 5% overscan on the left side of the image.

I'm using 720p with no problems though.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pocoloco is online now  
post #198 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pocoloco,

I checked this as well with DVE in 720p (my normal operating mode) and see no pixel cropping at all with 536 (same as with 528). I haven't tried 1080i since my display is 720p native. Interesting.

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #199 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pocoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You can somewhat compensate for the pixel cropping by adjusting the horizontal sync on your display. Sometimes, dvd players have an option to do a horizontal shift but the panny does not have this.

Regardless, at 1080i you will still have some pixel cropping on either side, but no cropping on the top and bottom. It's still acceptable but not perfect

I wonder if this could be display dependent. I have an HT1000. I guess we can wait and see if others are seeing the same thing on other displays.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pocoloco is online now  
post #200 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pocoloco,

I can try to check this on my Sanyo Z2 tonight at 1080i. I'll let you know.

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #201 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 10:24 AM
Member
 
jodeci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, but can anybody give me the basics on how to burn this firmware to disc? I just tried copying it on CD-R using windows media and when I placed it in the S97 the player display read "NGFILE" and my TV display read: "Firmware Update"


"File is not compatible"
"Please eject this disc"

Also, I can't open the file on my CPU (Is it b/c I don't have the program installed??) What am I doing wrong?
jodeci is offline  
post #202 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
It is usually very easy to burn this type of disk. If you have Windows XP you burn it directly. I have used both Nero Express or Roxio with no problems.
This is not an ISO file.

My guess is that you have not unzipped the file. Right click on the download and unzip to a folder. After the folder is unzipped copy the file to the burning program you are using. If you just copy the Zipped file you will not be able to
use it.

1. Download and unzip file to a folder. Right click on mouse to unzip extract
2. Open the Program (Nero, Windows Xp Roxio)
3. Select data disk.
4. Add the unzipped file DVDPUPDT
5. Burn CD
6. Open CD to be sure you have file DVDPUPDT

Good Luck
rwestley is offline  
post #203 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just burn it to disc like any other data file. If you can read the file on the disc with windows, it should be fine. Do not burn with any multisession stuff enabled. Just a one-time write and finalize, which should be standard. You can use Wordpad to open the file. It is binary, so it will appear as a bunch of garbage....but it it opens at all from the disc you burned...it should work in the player.

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #204 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 11:16 AM
Member
 
jodeci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't seem to open the burned disc with windows--maybe burned it while still in zip file. Using the right click on mouse after download doesn't seem to show an 'unzip file'. Do I 'open' or 'save' download when first connecting? Sorry, 'bout all the confusion, never had to burn anything like this...only VCD's for karaoke!! hehehe...


OK. Just got things working right on 2nd try. Popped in disc and chose yes for firmware update. Thanks rwestley/Liteup!
jodeci is offline  
post #205 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes...don't burn the .zip file to the disc. You need to unzip (decompress) it. I put a help file in the zip file as well telling you how to do all this. Just burn the "DVDPUPDT.FRM" file to the disc. LOL. This file is 4MB in size.

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #206 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 12:01 PM
Member
 
mrpman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great Stuff Here, Thanks to everyone for thier inputs...

Has anyone tried the new firmware using DVI?

I have a BenQ PE8700+ with a DVI input and need to know if this will pass blacker than black, macroblocking or any other problems converting to DVI.

Could we get a side by side comparison of what problems the new firmware has fixed?

Maybe list the known problems with the player in one column and a fixed check mark with the firmware in another.
mrpman is offline  
post #207 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
LiteUp!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
afasso,

I suggest you try reading some of the thread.....we have been talking about this for ages. Yes, the player passes BTB on all outputs. You should also look at the Secrets shootout results for this player....it doesn't have many problems.

The only way society can advance is with open and independent thought.
LiteUp! is offline  
post #208 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The anxiety continues...!!
Sango is offline  
post #209 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Bigelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
alfasso,

The problems noted with HDMI occur with DVI. Not to say that there won't be any specific conflict issue with a particular display but I know of no specific HDMI->DVI related problem.

Audio cannot be passed via DVI.

Paul
Paul Bigelow is offline  
post #210 of 2153 Old 02-02-2005, 01:31 PM
Member
 
steel102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
flashed the player with the new firmware, however, it has not solved my macroblocking woes. My macroblocking test disk is Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. It seems like the new firmware has not helped at all in this movie

There is still macroblocking on the walls in the first scene where Harry is in his bedroom. It is quite bad and very unenjoyable. Seems pretty much the same as what it was before.

I will try out more movies later when I have time. I watched "Vertical Limit" last week, pre-new firmware obviously, and I did not notice any macroblocking. However, most of this movie takes place outside where it is bright, with white snow everywhere, and etc, so macroblocking would not be very apparent there anyways. i didn't notice any in the scenes with the girl and those 2 guys who are stuck under the snow from the avalanch (fairly dark in those scenes)
steel102 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off