Panasonic DVD-S97 Firmware Thread - Page 72 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2153 Old 12-28-2007, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Brian A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotis_Greece View Post

@Brian A
Here is the 366B firmware that I had installed and allowed me to downgrade.
Try to install it and maybe you can also downgrade
http://rapidshare.com/files/79633122...H366B.rar.html

Fotis_Greece,

Well, I tried installing your version of 366B but, as usual, my player just re-initialized. It looks like I am forever stuck with this firmware. Thanks for your help.

Brian
Brian A is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2153 Old 01-11-2008, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
patroclo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Any new how to downgrade fro "B" version to original FW???

Is it possible nodody can help us, please????

I don't know how to contac the website where the FW was download (xperience....) to ask for downgrading. If anyone knows how to do it....
patroclo is offline  
post #2133 of 2153 Old 03-24-2008, 04:05 AM
Newbie
 
djc126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. You can download it right from Panasonic Canada - Customer support - downloads.

Type "dvd" or "dmr" for the listing.

I plan to update mine from 541 very soon.

Regards.
djc126 is offline  
post #2134 of 2153 Old 06-01-2009, 04:02 PM
Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found 543 on the US website today while I was updating my Blu-ray firmware. You need to rename the file to DVDPUPDT.FRM before writing it to the CD (not in the instructions - arghh!) but it works and updates the player to 543. I think it's still the best standalone DVD player out there in terms of 480P performance.

The Link
MackGuyver is offline  
post #2135 of 2153 Old 06-02-2009, 02:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
teknoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MackGuyver View Post

I found 543 on the US website today while I was updating my Blu-ray firmware. You need to rename the file to DVDPUPDT.FRM before writing it to the CD (not in the instructions - arghh!) but it works and updates the player to 543. I think it's still the best standalone DVD player out there in terms of 480P performance.

The Link

Do you know what it fixes?

-t
teknoguy is offline  
post #2136 of 2153 Old 09-14-2009, 06:29 PM
Member
 
F. Yu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone still have a modified firmware for this player that makes it region-free? Thanks in advance!
F. Yu is offline  
post #2137 of 2153 Old 09-15-2009, 06:06 AM
Member
 
Fotis_Greece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I do have the Modified_Firmware_S97_366a_543a. Do you want it?
Fotis_Greece is offline  
post #2138 of 2153 Old 09-15-2009, 06:36 AM
Member
 
CheapB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotis_Greece View Post

Yes I do have the Modified_Firmware_S97_366a_543a. Do you want it?

I am sure more people would like it including me.

On a seperate note my S97 seems to freeze a couple of times during a movie - sometimes is recover and contine after a 5-10 sec other times it ends up with "check disc". if you "bump" it it will continue..
CheapB is offline  
post #2139 of 2153 Old 09-15-2009, 06:45 AM
Member
 
Fotis_Greece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fotis_Greece is offline  
post #2140 of 2153 Old 09-15-2009, 10:40 AM
Member
 
F. Yu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a million! Will burn and try out later this week.
F. Yu is offline  
post #2141 of 2153 Old 09-15-2009, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Be very very careful about getting updated Panny S97 firmware from off the Internet as many versions out there have been sabotaged (by a bitter troll named Tom) and will destroy your S97. Same with several Panny models also. However, I believe the version posted by Fotis_Greece is OK. There was also a 366B version available. Look back a page or two in this thread.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #2142 of 2153 Old 09-17-2009, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Fotis_Greece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have the 336B version. That's what I use now. My Panny S97 is very precious to me for my 150 DVD-Audio titles and I will keep it forever.
But bear in mind it's only the 366B HW version, not the 543. So if your HW version is 543 it will not work.
When you do the firmware update tell me what version does your player show. If it shows 543 then you have 543A and that's the latest. If it shows 366 then you have 366A so then tell me to upload here the 366B to use it also.
P.S these are that guys Tom's modified firmware before starting being greedy and asking about 500 euros for further firmwares.
Fotis_Greece is offline  
post #2143 of 2153 Old 09-17-2009, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
teknoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotis_Greece View Post

I also have the 336B version. That's what I use now. My Panny S97 is very precious to me for my 150 DVD-Audio titles and I will keep it forever.
But bear in mind it's only the 366B HW version, not the 543. So if your HW version is 543 it will not work.
When you do the firmware update tell me what version does your player show. If it shows 543 then you have 543A and that's the latest. If it shows 366 then you have 366A so then tell me to upload here the 366B to use it also.
P.S these are that guys Tom's modified firmware before starting being greedy and asking about 500 euros for further firmwares.

Thank you very much for the information and offer.

-t
teknoguy is offline  
post #2144 of 2153 Old 09-18-2009, 02:17 PM
Member
 
CheapB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaldorfSalad View Post

Be very very careful about getting updated Panny S97 firmware from off the Internet as many versions out there have been sabotaged (by a bitter troll named Tom) and will destroy your S97. Same with several Panny models also. However, I believe the version posted by Fotis_Greece is OK. There was also a 366B version available. Look back a page or two in this thread.

I can now confirm the fw does NOT destroy your player :-) It took a few attempts to get it to take the codes, but i Finally got it. However none of my PAL discs plays anyway or rather before they showed NOPLAY, where now the display acts as the disc is playing, but there is no sound and no picture. I have tried in 480P and 720P. I have tried both region2 and regionfree. My codes are 1PN213 and the 543 version. The TV is a Pana 1080P plasma 2009 model.
Any ideas???
CheapB is offline  
post #2145 of 2153 Old 09-19-2009, 06:25 AM
Member
 
CheapB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should have read a little back. I attached the S97 to the Panasonic via composite and I now get sound and a distorted B/W picture, which either means the player does not process the PAL disc or it is sending out PAL to the TV and it only take NTSC. Question is what is it?? Again I have the 543 version of the HW, so this should work.
CheapB is offline  
post #2146 of 2153 Old 09-19-2009, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The S97 does NOT do PAL-to-NTSC conversion so if you want to play a PAL DVD you will need to have a PAL-capable TV. When you try to feed PAL into an NTSC-only TV you will get audio but the video will be all messed up (distorted, bars, noise, won't stabilize).

Fwiw, I have a bunch of PAL DVDs from the UK and they won't play properly in my S97 or S77 so I bought a Yamaha DVD player that can be made region free and has a PAL-to-NTSC converter. I think the Philips and Oppos do also.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #2147 of 2153 Old 09-19-2009, 01:00 PM
Member
 
CheapB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaldorfSalad View Post

The S97 does NOT do PAL-to-NTSC conversion so if you want to play a PAL DVD you will need to have a PAL-capable TV. When you try to feed PAL into an NTSC-only TV you will get audio but the video will be all messed up (distorted, bars, noise, won't stabilize).

Fwiw, I have a bunch of PAL DVDs from the UK and they won't play properly in my S97 or S77 so I bought a Yamaha DVD player that can be made region free and has a PAL-to-NTSC converter. I think the Philips and Oppos do also.

Crap. cant believe my brand new 2009 TV doesnt take PAL input. I didnt even check as I was "sure" it would :-(
CheapB is offline  
post #2148 of 2153 Old 09-19-2009, 08:32 PM
Member
 
F. Yu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can also confirm that Fotis's FW update file works fine. Region/RCE-free and UOP disabled now!
F. Yu is offline  
post #2149 of 2153 Old 11-22-2009, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Harvs_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotis_Greece View Post

rapidshare - Modified_Firmware_S97_366a_543a.zip.html

Hi Fortis, any chance that you could repost this file for the region free firmware on the S97, the rapidshare site is saying that the limit of ten downloads has been reached?
Harvs_UK is offline  
post #2150 of 2153 Old 11-22-2009, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Fotis_Greece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, there you are. this will not have the download limit (I hope)

http://rapidshare.com/files/31074574..._366a_543a.zip

I have also uploaded the 366B version. This ofcourse applies to the devices with 366 hardware. So first use the modified firmware 366a-543a and then check to see what version does your player show. If it shows 543 then you have 543A and that's the latest. If it shows 366 then you have 366A so you can also apply the 366B.

http://rapidshare.com/files/31074634..._S086H366B.zip

And yes, US models cannot play PAL discs (although the hardware supports it) but European models can play both.

Just for history, all credits for these firmware go to that Tom guy who later ruined his reputation by asking 500 euros for more enhanced firmwares (which would also allow pal playback on US models).
Fotis_Greece is offline  
post #2151 of 2153 Old 01-04-2011, 02:38 AM
Senior Member
 
uscpsycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With all this talk of bogus firmware, etc. it seems that Panasonic has made a firmware download available on their site. From what I'm reading, this wasn't the case a year or two ago. The firmware is here - http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e....DVD-S97S.D#ts.

Anyone know if this is the latest greatest firmware? Is it recommended? Will it work on all versions of the S97?

Sorry to bump this old thread but it's best to keep all the discussion here.
uscpsycho is offline  
post #2152 of 2153 Old 01-04-2011, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
smithsonga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA area
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any idea:

- how to determine your current firmware version
- the date of the above firmware.

I updated mine a few years ago.

Jim
smithsonga is offline  
post #2153 of 2153 Old 01-14-2011, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithsonga View Post

any idea:

- how to determine your current firmware version
- the date of the above firmware.

I updated mine a few years ago.

Press and hold on the player the buttons "PAUSE" + "OPEN" and press the "7" button on the remote. The full version will be displayed on the florescent read out and the last 3 numbers on the right is the version number.

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off