Adding 2.09 firmware to DV-578a: Anybody Know Definitively? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 132 Old 10-05-2005, 02:41 AM
Member
 
Glyn M RucK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE DVD MAN View Post

The manual says 110v , and that´s what I have, so I am stuck with that !
Allright!! I have "Region 1" "Rom Version 2.05"
where do we go from here?

Hi, Pleased you are having success. Both of my players had Firmware version 1.44 but many people have been successful updating from the newer Firmware 2.05 to modified Firmware 2.10 without trouble. The Brasilian model is not different. A friend of mine in Rio has one. They are a universal chassis built in the China plant.

All the information you need is in this thread but I will repeat the basics to make it easy for you. I am going to show you how to load Foncreator 4b which gives you open Region and many other enhancements. If you want Divx go to the Softpedia site and find the latest Gufiak firmware. I have no experience of this or whether it works

Go to http://geocities.com/foncreator and download Version 4b - Then uncompress it

Using Nero 6.0 full version:

1. Create a CD-ROM (ISO): (Data mode: Mode 1 File system: ISO9660 + Joliet)
2. Label it "PIONEER" (the PIONEER must be in uppcercase or the machine will not recognise the disc)
3. Put the .BIN file in the top/root directory
4. burn it with 'Verify' turned on.
then
5. insert the disc into the player
6. press 'Play' when prompted
7. remove disc when it is ejected automatically
8. wait a minute
9. the player will reset when done so make sure you change whatever
settings you had changed in the setup before.
it works with a CD-RW as well as a normal CD-R.


This will give you all as follows from v1 to v4 inclusive:

v4b

New feature - DVD Fast Start. Press "Play" to skip any warnings, ads etc at the beginning of DVD video.
DVD prohibited user operations protection removed. Almost
New item in the "Video Adjust" menu - Darker Than Black.
SRT subtitles' milliseconds timing fixed.

v3 (a "lazy" release, don't wanna patch v2.10's 8032)

ARM and DSP from official v2.10 - users report on some subtle DivX/MP3 improvements.
41-char subs filename limitation removed.
Subs body is pure white now, an outline - pure black; alignment - bottom.
Screensaver makes the screen totally blank - no "Pioneer" animation anymore.

v2

Region free (player will stay multizone even after downgrade to original FW).
VFD (Vacuum Fluorescent Display) file navigation: while you're in the filebrowser everything under cursor will be shown on VFD (first 10 chars, ASCII only due to VFD limitations). Can be useful for MP3 users.

v1
Changes relative to original FW:

New filebrowser:
8 rows
no image preview
long (50 chars) ASCII/CP1251 filenames
White black-outlined subs (Font2-3, Impact 20, CP1251).
New system font (Font0-1, Font9-10, Impact 14, CP1251).
New items in the "Audio Settings" menu: Equalizer, Bass boost, Super bass, Treble boost.
New "Video Output" submenu - "TV Type" (Multisync, PAL, NTSC. Off/On player after change).
"V.Surround" key now turns on/off a random (shuffle) play of MP3s. "Virtual Surround" is still available through "Audio Settings" menu.

It will also allow your machine to convert PAL to NTSC and NTSC to PAL by setting new TV Type screen that comes with 4b (See my comments earlier in the thread about my findings after changing to 4b)

I am sorry that this does not give you Divx on a 578. It does on a 575. If you want Divx you are going to have to cut a CD in the same way as I explain above but using the Gufiak Firmware from the Softpedia site. I have no experience of this so you do so at your own risk. I am not interested in poor quality MPEG4 Divx VOD. Both of my machines operate perfectly on Foncreator 4b and do what I want.

Let me know if you have success. Some people have had to change the BIN numbers on the CD they cut. This is not my experience.

If you still have trouble with your machine accepting the upgrade disc after doing what I say above then look back in the thread where Rickardl tells you how to change BIN numbers and what to change them to

Regards
Glyn M RucK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 132 Old 10-05-2005, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
THE DVD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post

Ok, here's a wild shot: rename the file to begin with B4EA

Edit: maybe I should explain this "wild shot", the background is:
The upgrade file for the DV-575 is B4BA2096.BIN and for the DV-470
it is B4FA2096.BIN. The DV-470 (also MT1389) is pretty much the same as the DV-575
except that it lacks DVD-Audio and SACD capabilities.
But if you rename B4BA2096.BIN to B4FA2096.BIN, the DV-470 believes
it is an upgrade file and accepts it. After that, the DV-470 can play
DVD-Audio and SACD but it hasn't grown any outputs for it ;-)
but it plays 2 channel high resolution audio fine which it couldn't do before.
After the upgrade, the DV-470 believes it is a DV-575 and then
it looks for B4BA2096.BIN for any new upgrade attempts.

Now, I just looked at the firmware for the DV-578 and it seems to have
the name of B4EA2096.BIN internally...so a simple rename might do the trick.

Edit2: to be picky, DV-575 looks for files with a mask of B4BA***6.BIN
where the '*' represent the firmware version.

B4EA

Very good shot, worked for me, now I have 2.10.xx.xx, with divX, and many other features, I don´t know what to do with all these features!

I took the FW here: well well well, I can´t make url, ok but you probably all know softpedia

Pioneer575_1252_v7.1_Mtz
I guess any FW will work with the correct "bin-name"
B4BA2106.bin
and changed the name to:
B4EA2106.bin

Label disk: PIONEER--CAPS

No more "can´t read disk" for me!

I have dv578a-s Brazil

I´m "up" for more "downloads" and "down" for more "uploads"

PS. only now I read your (Glyn M RucK) post to me, thanks, it is not easy to know which FW to choose "original", "foncreator", "gufiak", "mtz", or anyone else, with all those features floating around!!
THE DVD MAN is offline  
post #93 of 132 Old 10-06-2005, 03:11 AM
Member
 
Glyn M RucK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE DVD MAN View Post

B4EA

Very good shot, worked for me, now I have 2.10.xx.xx, with divX, and many other features, I don´t know what to do with all these features!

I took the FW here: well well well, I can´t make url, ok but you probably all know softpedia

Pioneer575_1252_v7.1_Mtz
I guess any FW will work with the correct "bin-name"
B4BA2106.bin
and changed the name to:
B4EA2106.bin

Label disk: PIONEER--CAPS

No more "can´t read disk" for me!


I have dv578a-s Brazil

I´m "up" for more "downloads" and "down" for more "uploads"

PS. only now I read your (Glyn M RucK) post to me, thanks, it is not easy to know which FW to choose "original", "foncreator", "gufiak", "mtz", or anyone else, with all those features floating around!!


Hi,
Good News - Can you please confirm that the v7.1 Mtz Firmware gave you - Open Region and DivX VOD capability?
Does DivX VOD now show on the menu?
Does it work?
Are all previous features such as DVD A & SACD working properly?
What new features do you have that are not in the owners manual?
Your reply to this will help others in the forum to decide which Firmware to choose
Regards
Glyn M RucK is offline  
post #94 of 132 Old 01-15-2006, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Just installed foncreator 5a firmware into my DV-578A.

It made the unit Region 0, enabled many new settings in menu including Blacker than Black, and claims to use newer DSP code version from DV-585 (DV-588??).

On the first FW loading, I had to rename .BIN to B4EA or I got the "Can't play disc" message. On subsequent loadings to try different FW, only B4BA .BINs seem to work now. I suppose this is because the unit now "thinks" it is DV-575....

Any thoughts on what feature/benefit/improvement should come from the DV-585/588 DSP code?

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #95 of 132 Old 01-15-2006, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Just installed foncreator 5a firmware into my DV-578A.

It made the unit Region 0, enabled many new settings in menu including Blacker than Black, and claims to use newer DSP code version from DV-585 (DV-588??).

whoaru99,

How is the PAL-->NTSC conversion? I know the 578 does a great conversion on R0 PAL, but I tried a firmware upgrade a few months ago, and the PAL->NTSC became horrible.

Ted
Ted_K is offline  
post #96 of 132 Old 01-15-2006, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Sorry, can't answer that because I don't have any PAL discs; only R1 NTSC.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #97 of 132 Old 01-25-2006, 10:50 AM
Member
 
2004ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are so many versions (different authors/modifiers) of the 575a firmware mentioned in the web that it is difficult for a new user (like me) to decide on which one to use. Are there any "comparison" postings that one can read? My interest in the 578a(US) player is primarily to get entry level capability for audio sacd/dvd-a listening with 5.1 analogue connection. Are there known compromising issues for multi-channel audio playback from these fw upgrades (of course I appreciate having the expanded flexibility in video features as well)?
TIA.
2004ex is offline  
post #98 of 132 Old 01-25-2006, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Dazog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://geocities.com/foncreator/

Installed this one Region free, pass's blacker than blacks!

And alot of other items I never used yet.
Dazog is offline  
post #99 of 132 Old 01-25-2006, 12:13 PM
Member
 
watskooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've also used the foncreator one with success

The geocities site seems to be down, here is an alternate: http://foncreator.boom.ru/
watskooo is offline  
post #100 of 132 Old 01-26-2006, 04:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dazog,

I'm going to ask my question again from above:

How is the PAL-->NTSC conversion? I know the 578 does a great conversion on R0 PAL, but I tried a firmware upgrade a few months ago, and the PAL->NTSC became horrible.

Any info you have would be appreciated.

Ted
Ted_K is offline  
post #101 of 132 Old 01-26-2006, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bitemymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: City of Urbana, MD
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I flashed 578a-s with 5a firmware, but it came with some awful video settings. I had to re-zero all the settings to make the video look normal. Are these preset settings there for a reason?.. BTW, I downloaded mine from "boom.ru" site since the foncreater site was down.
bitemymac is offline  
post #102 of 132 Old 01-26-2006, 11:04 AM
Member
 
watskooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had to reset some settings after flashing the firmware, so I don't think it's that unusual. I think the default settings are just whatever the firmware writer chooses to put in there...the one that annoys me is that the angle indicator is turned on by default.
watskooo is offline  
post #103 of 132 Old 01-26-2006, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Magliocchino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow - I've been going crazy the past week or so trying to get my 578A ROM Version 2.05 upgraded to be able to play the new Talking Heads DVD-A discs. Changing the filename to B4EA2096.BIN worked. Now I have Region 0 ROM Version 2.09/2.10 XXXXX.

Going through and resetting the settings was a little scary as when I switched to progressive, the screen went to a green gitter and did not fix itself until I switched flipped back and forth between TV input settings (e.g., DVD to satellite to DVD again) with my universal remote. This fixed the non-centered screen that I had right after the firmware update as well. Talking Heads in high-rez surround....MMMMM...So far so good....

Thanks everyone.

Anthony
Magliocchino is offline  
post #104 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 02:12 AM
Member
 
Glyn M RucK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted_K View Post

Dazog,

I'm going to ask my question again from above:

How is the PAL-->NTSC conversion? I know the 578 does a great conversion on R0 PAL, but I tried a firmware upgrade a few months ago, and the PAL->NTSC became horrible.

Any info you have would be appreciated.

Ted


Ted,
I have two 578As that I have flashed with the foncreator firmware. They work impeccably and the PAL to NTSC and NTSC to PAL conversion is excellent. No jerks or other transcode artifacts. In fact very close to my high end machines.

The only thing that I noticed on both was that the picture at default without any touch up was more saturated.

I'm of the opinion that the foncreator default takes black level to 0 IRE from 7.5 IRE. I have left my machines at default setting because on my Panasonic & Sony displays I prefer the picture that way.

I am not sure that this helps you - you may have some undesirable display/player interaction taking place and I would experiment with settings. Your frame hold on your display might be on the edge of it's setting range or similar.
Regards,
Glyn
Glyn M RucK is offline  
post #105 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 02:20 AM
Member
 
Glyn M RucK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW - foncreator version 4b
Glyn M RucK is offline  
post #106 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 04:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Glyn.

What happened when I previously tried it last summer (I think it was 4b; not sure) was that my PAL picture became off-centered (either shifted up or down) and stuttered. After reading some more recent upgrade instructions, I may not have let the machine "do its thing" completely or not have "reset" the machine afterwards. While trying to get back to original firmware, I killed the machine and had to buy another. I think I'll be brave and try it again soon. At worst, I'll end up with a 588.

Ted
Ted_K is offline  
post #107 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 04:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mrpergo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hilton,NY
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried this firmware with the 563a?
I have a 563a with the original firmware and don't want to send it in for a firmware update so it will play all the DVD-Audio disks I have.
I've been searching for months for someone to put this file on the internet.
mrpergo is offline  
post #108 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Glyn M RucK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been thinking of playing with a 588. While it is assembled in Thailand rather than China (578) and has different cosmetics, It appears to be the same generic universal chassis as the 578 but loaded with different firmware enabling DivX VOD etc. which the 578 can do with a firmware change.
G
Glyn M RucK is offline  
post #109 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
563A owners will be the last on the list to get a firmware....


I figure a few more years and some old disk will get leaked.
bruman is offline  
post #110 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CCarncross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpergo View Post

Has anyone tried this firmware with the 563a?
I have a 563a with the original firmware and don't want to send it in for a firmware update so it will play all the DVD-Audio disks I have.
I've been searching for months for someone to put this file on the internet.

Thats your choice not to send it in...after all this time don't expect to see the update leaked anywhere
CCarncross is offline  
post #111 of 132 Old 01-31-2006, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
bruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Patriot Land
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I expect exactly the opposite. eventually it will be.
bruman is offline  
post #112 of 132 Old 02-07-2006, 04:33 PM
Member
 
2004ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are threads saying that the audio in 588a is better than 578a (575a). It has also been
pointed out that the fontcrest 5a firmware uses a newer dsp code from somewhere (588a?). I am wondering if the better audio performance is due to dsp codes (I am ignorant about whether the dsp code can affect the quality of audio, or video only) or internal audio hardware (dac and opamps). Do people who had switched to fontcrest 5a notice any improvement in audio? Are the audio opamps different for these models?
TIA.
2004ex is offline  
post #113 of 132 Old 02-14-2006, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
Bad Gollum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCarncross View Post

Thats your choice not to send it in...after all this time don't expect to see the update leaked anywhere

Leaky leaky

I have the 1.90xx (whatever it is) 563a upgrade disk in an .iso. I abused Pioneer support into sending me the CD.

What I want to know is, is this the most recent firmware available for the 563? It *still* won't play Queensryche - Empire DVD-A. Tried with 2 different disks, before and after the firmware upgrade. no good. Matter of fact, it's *worse* after the firmware update.
Bad Gollum is offline  
post #114 of 132 Old 02-15-2006, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Some comments:

The DV-585 is the 2005 successor of the DV-575 2004 model, both European.

The offical firmwares for the DV-575 from Pioneer that circulates are:
- 2.09
- 2.10

There are basically 3 modified (of the above) firmwares in circulation:
- Foncreator 5a
- Gufiak 2.10.05.01
- Mtz 7.1

any others are based on the above and usually just implements different
fonts, backgrounds etc, just cosmetics to the OSD basically.

Foncreator 5a firmware for the DV-575 uses, the supposedly better, DSP
code taken from the DV-585.

Reflashing with Foncreator 5a resets all values to the default,
any other effect must be due to flashing on a non DV-575 machine.

There is a page which covers the DV-575 and DV-585, http://pioneer.wassberg.info
It is not entirely in English and it is not that well structured but it
contains a lot of useful information and links and downloads of
the firmware versions.
rickardl is online now  
post #115 of 132 Old 02-15-2006, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CCarncross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Gollum View Post

Leaky leaky

I have the 1.90xx (whatever it is) 563a upgrade disk in an .iso. I abused Pioneer support into sending me the CD.

What I want to know is, is this the most recent firmware available for the 563? It *still* won't play Queensryche - Empire DVD-A. Tried with 2 different disks, before and after the firmware upgrade. no good. Matter of fact, it's *worse* after the firmware update.

Mine and 2 others I've tried play that disk in pure silence. How could silence get better or worse with different firmware versions?



There is something really wrong with that disk as far as I'm concerned. Have you gotten it to play on any player?

If you havent posted the 1.906 firmware on the net, then its still not leaked....or you would have already helped the guy above that refuses to send his in....

CCarncross is offline  
post #116 of 132 Old 02-16-2006, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
Bad Gollum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCarncross View Post

Mine and 2 others I've tried play that disk in pure silence. How could silence get better or worse with different firmware versions?



There is something really wrong with that disk as far as I'm concerned. Have you gotten it to play on any player?

If you havent posted the 1.906 firmware on the net, then its still not leaked....or you would have already helped the guy above that refuses to send his in....


Let me be more clear: I have it, do you want it?

Bad Gollum is offline  
post #117 of 132 Old 02-16-2006, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CCarncross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no need for it, my player was upgraded by Pioneer, took a couple of days...quick and painless...



If people dont want to send their players in, thats their business, but no more whining about it...

CCarncross is offline  
post #118 of 132 Old 02-17-2006, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Bad Gollum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCarncross View Post

I have no need for it, my player was upgraded by Pioneer, took a couple of days...quick and painless...



If people dont want to send their players in, thats their business, but no more whining about it...


My understanding is that your experience is atypical. I and most people I have discussed this with have been told by Pioneer that the typical turn-around for this work, even at a local shop, is 3 to 6 weeks.

Pretty lame if you ask me for a procedure that takes 5 minutes, max.

I'm never buying Pioneer again, and would advise others to do the same.
Bad Gollum is offline  
post #119 of 132 Old 02-17-2006, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CCarncross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It doesnt matter if the procedure takes 5 seconds, 5 minutes, or 5 days, almost all shops operate on FIFO, unless they are waiting on parts....if they have a repair backlog, you wait...or find a shop thats not that busy...its your choice to not buy from Pioneer for something as small as the firmware update not being downloadable. You have yours fixed now so I have no idea what your beef is now, besides maybe you like to hear yourself complain...

CCarncross is offline  
post #120 of 132 Old 02-18-2006, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Emmett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While I have been happy with my 578 todate, I am not happy that it won't play my new Talking Heads Brick set. I am on Vancouver Island, in Canada and they will only update it if I ship it 3000 mi east at my expense.

Not fair as far as I am concerned and my complaint is only to make others think twice before supporting a company that has seperate policies for US and Canada.

Regards
Emmett is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off