Denon DVD-1920 - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 787 Old 06-26-2008, 12:02 PM
Member
 
ltempleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally removed the 1920 from my system because it locked up so
frequently. IMHO, junk the Denon and go buy a cheap HDMI toshiba or the like
from Costco. That's what I did and it's light-years better than the Denon.
One man's opinion,
Larry
ltempleton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 787 Old 06-27-2008, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
Acurus-Heiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Ender1962: It seems, your player has a damage. I used the 1920 over three years, but never had that problem. The 1920 is a good player. Please try to reset the player by using the factory settings.
Acurus-Heiko is offline  
post #783 of 787 Old 06-27-2008, 06:06 PM
Member
 
ltempleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be delighted to give it a try, but I don't know how. Could you point me in the right direction?
Even when the Denon was functioning properly, I didn't see any difference in picture quality on my Sharp 1080i LCD between the Denon and the $70 Toshiba. The Toshiba does a great job of upresing from DVD to 1080i HDMI. A genuinely superior feature of the Toshiba is its recovery action when it hits a bad patch on a disk. It just keeps moving ahead a sector at a time until it finds one it can read. The Denon just stops.
ltempleton is offline  
post #784 of 787 Old 06-27-2008, 06:10 PM
Member
 
ltempleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, the Denon often couldn't read DVD movies that I recorded on my computer in standard DVD format using Nero. It would just lock up and I had to go behind my equipment rack to unplug it and plug it back in to reset it. Very frustrating! The Toshiba plays them all without a hitch.
ltempleton is offline  
post #785 of 787 Old 07-04-2008, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
Ender1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acurus-Heiko View Post

@Ender1962: It seems, your player has a damage. I used the 1920 over three years, but never had that problem. The 1920 is a good player. Please try to reset the player by using the factory settings.

How do I reset this to factory settings?
Ender1962 is offline  
post #786 of 787 Old 07-04-2008, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
konoyaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender1962 View Post

How do I reset this to factory settings?

Page 32 of the English manual states:
Reset to the Default Settings (except for Ratings Control and VIDEO OUT)
This allows you to return all selections of SETUP (except for Ratings Control and VIDEO OUT) to their default settings.
1. Press the SETUP button in stop mode.
2. Press the Cursor buttons (< or >) to select INITIALIZE, then press the ENTER button.
3. Press the Cursor buttons (∆ or ∇) to select YES, then press the ENTER button.
4. Press the SETUP button to exit.
konoyaro is offline  
post #787 of 787 Old 07-05-2008, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Ender1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks konoyaro. I bought this second hand with no remote or manual. I'll give it a try.
Ender1962 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off