Sony DVP-NS75H - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2201 Old 04-12-2006, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
schlinkaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have this dvd player and i have it hooked up to a sony 34xbr via an accustic research hdmi cable and i notice a very grainy picture i was wondering if it is the dvd player or the less expensive hdmi cable i have hooked up
schlinkaj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2201 Old 04-12-2006, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Ashlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what DVD's have you tried? What setting you sending signal at? 480, 720, 1080? Which? Give a couple more details.

Where is the cable from?
Ashlan is offline  
post #543 of 2201 Old 04-12-2006, 09:11 PM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well.....I've got some bad news. I bought from circuit city today the new 75h and the new 85 (5-disk changer) to try out via HDMI to my panny 42px50u plasma. Unfortunately, I noticed that when using 720p or 1080i there is still a shift when playing dvd's with bars on the top and bottom. It's not as bad as the 70h, but there is an additional 7/16" of black bar on the top of any dvd's. I thought this issue was fixed and I tried all the different settings to verify this. Has anyone come up with this conclusion as well?
mlb585 is offline  
post #544 of 2201 Old 04-12-2006, 11:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

Well.....I've got some bad news. I bought from circuit city today the new 75h and the new 85 (5-disk changer) to try out via HDMI to my panny 42px50u plasma. Unfortunately, I noticed that when using 720p or 1080i there is still a shift when playing dvd's with bars on the top and bottom. It's not as bad as the 70h, but there is an additional 7/16" of black bar on the top of any dvd's. I thought this issue was fixed and I tried all the different settings to verify this. Has anyone come up with this conclusion as well?


The shift issue was fixed and there should be no black bars on a full 16:9 movie. The shift issue was only a problem using HDMI and at 720p and 1080i with the NS70H. Now, I find it hard to believe that both the 85 and 75 are giving you the same black bars. Check to see if you're getting black bars at all on component as well. Also, test both DVD players on another TV because I do feel this could be a problem with your model panny plasma HDTV while using HDMI. ANother question is what other DVD player were you using before? It is possible that you could be making this up to get something started on this thread. In either case, I will try and help you if you cooperate.

I can assure you that every movie I put in is being mapped correctly on my DLP with the new DVP-NS75H by Sony. If anything is occuring at all, it is with my own eyes which got used to the DVP-NS70H shrinking the image slightly of all my movies. So now when I play my movies in the correct Aspect Ratio, it seems alittle stretched compared to what I have in memory. Basically I have to get used to watching movies correctly once more.
Supermans is offline  
post #545 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Ashlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see no shift on my PIO 5060HD, as I have said before. But that is pretty exacting down to the actualy measurement. 7/16"... you actually went and got a tape measure?

Anyway I think only one person here has been very strongly at all convinced he had the shift (Bill I think?)... no one else has.
Ashlan is offline  
post #546 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

Well.....I've got some bad news. I bought from circuit city today the new 75h and the new 85 (5-disk changer) to try out via HDMI to my panny 42px50u plasma. Unfortunately, I noticed that when using 720p or 1080i there is still a shift when playing dvd's with bars on the top and bottom. It's not as bad as the 70h, but there is an additional 7/16" of black bar on the top of any dvd's. I thought this issue was fixed and I tried all the different settings to verify this. Has anyone come up with this conclusion as well?

Have you tried the 75 and 85 on your two month old Sony KDFE50A10 LCD RPT?
Supermans is offline  
post #547 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 04:50 AM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I actually did go up there and measure....that is on my 42" panasonic plasma...also tested it on my 23" lcd monitor...same thing. This was with both new sony players. It's not that noticeable but because of previous issues with the 70h, I wanted to go up and measure it. I will be testing both players on my parents Sony 50" A10 series rptv. 480P looks great...no shift/bar issue...but it's there with 720p and 1080i...do you think I have something set wrong? I triple checked each player on both displays.
mlb585 is offline  
post #548 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 05:12 AM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
720P looks great...despite the 'slight' shift issue. 480p looked nice too via hdmi but I couldn't tell the difference between that and component...there was significant grainyness on certain darker dvd scenes.
mlb585 is offline  
post #549 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 05:35 AM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Supermans, by no means am I trying to start anything with the shift issue. Believe me, I thought I would be done with dvd players when I bought both of these. I will check this with component cables when I get home today. The black bar was definitely noticeable when I tried out the 70h (because it was almost double the bar size). I will try different settings and adjustments when I get home to make sure that there isn't some other setting issue.
mlb585 is offline  
post #550 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Ashlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what dvd did you test it with that gave you the grainy look? I know some have said WOTW has that, but it is the DVD transfer from what I hear.... dunno... not in enough of a Tom Cruise mode to pull that one out...
Ashlan is offline  
post #551 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 06:00 AM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The grainy look came from a couple of scenes in Star Wars Episode III....it was a couple darker scenes with Padme at night and when Padme goes to that volcano-like planet. It went away when it was upconvering to 720P.

One other question...what does leaving your hdmi (for picture settins) on auto instead of having it on 720P, 1080i, 480p??
mlb585 is offline  
post #552 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 09:17 AM
Member
 
RDD337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
turn on the mosquito noise reduction "MNR" from the settings and the noise/grainy pictures will go away. thats what i notice too when i first hook up my new dvd player to my projector.
RDD337 is offline  
post #553 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BTBuck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there are 3 dvpnc85h/b upconvert players in my house. one is on a sony kdf42we655, one is on a kdfe42a1o and the other on a samsung LN-S3251D (roommates tv) there is no image shift on any of these tv's.

HDDVD owner: 360 add-on, HD-A30, HD-A2, A1
Blu-ray disc supporter: ps3-60gb, Oppo BDP-93
TV's: LN46B750 1080p-240hz LCD/kdl55hx729 1080p 240hz 3D LED

Link:Blu-ray Disc Fan Forum
BTBuck1 is offline  
post #554 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
5150zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

Yeah, I actually did go up there and measure....that is on my 42" panasonic plasma...also tested it on my 23" lcd monitor...same thing. This was with both new sony players. It's not that noticeable but because of previous issues with the 70h, I wanted to go up and measure it. I will be testing both players on my parents Sony 50" A10 series rptv. 480P looks great...no shift/bar issue...but it's there with 720p and 1080i...do you think I have something set wrong? I triple checked each player on both displays.

I didn't read it in any of these most recent posts, but what exact disc and aspect ratio were you using to see the shift. Possibly depending on your displays overscan,
a 1.85:1 OAR dvd 'may' show very small(7/16" ) black bars, whereas a 1.78:1 OAR dvd will have no black bars showing. Just a thought....
5150zx is offline  
post #555 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 10:40 AM
Member
 
JohnsonBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Middle of Kansas
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scherer326 View Post

changed your receiver to auto instead of PCM and it will go away.


I double-checked this last night and its already set to auto. At this point it seems like the 85 is sending a PCM 48 signal out to the TV via the HDMI and the TV is just passing this signal through to the receiver. Will this player only send out PCM via HDMI?? I can get DD if I switch the receiver to DVD and use that inputs' audio. I'm just trying to avoid switching at the receiver if at all possible.

I may just end up buying a universal remote so I won't have to switch back and forth between them so much.
JohnsonBrewer is offline  
post #556 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

Supermans, by no means am I trying to start anything with the shift issue. Believe me, I thought I would be done with dvd players when I bought both of these. I will check this with component cables when I get home today. The black bar was definitely noticeable when I tried out the 70h (because it was almost double the bar size). I will try different settings and adjustments when I get home to make sure that there isn't some other setting issue.

Sorry to imply that you were stating anything but facts. I wish you good luck and can only let you know of my experiences too. The uato feature you refer to simply figures out for you what the highest resolution your TV HDMI input can accept. In my case, even though my TV can accept 1080i, I believe 720p looks better so I manually choose that. Auto picks 1080i for me even though my TV is a 720p set. I plugged in my NS75H with component just to make sure and I'm seeing exactly the same Aspect Ratio which fully fits my screen as I do with HDMI. I took a picture with my digital camera on all resolutions and it was the same with both component and HDMI. On my HLR5087W by Samsung, I see no shift or black bar anymore. What movie's exactly are you testing out that you are seeing these black bars? It's possible that it is only on certain DVD's. I've tested out perhaps 10% of my DVD collection just to see how it looks and everything looks better than before and perfectly fits the screen. The MNR feature is really an improvement over the previous 70H model on older DVD's. mlb585, I can only ask you now to maybe post some digital camera pictures of the shift occuring. However first just let us know what DVD or test material you are using so I can do the same if I have them.
Supermans is offline  
post #557 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Bill97Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the shift too. But on my 52" toshiba DLP I always have small black bars on the top and bottom when watching DVDS. Some of you said you have NO BARS at all? How can that be unless you are zooming the image or cropping it? 2.35:1 films are skinnier than a 16x9 screen?

Anyway, when I use component cables the bars are normal size. When I use HDMI input on either of the 3 resolutions the top bar is about 3/4" larger, so there is really no shift but the letter box is smaller because hte shrinks down from the top only about an extra 3/4" over component connections. This could be due to my tv overscan, but since others have reported this, I am starting to wonder. If you don't compare it to component inputs you will never notice it.
Bill97Z is offline  
post #558 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 12:13 PM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bill97Z--- You hit the nail on the head. It's that my top bar (when watching a DVD) is almost a half an inch larger than the bottom one. Is this an overscan problem of some sort with my tv? I have a Panny 42px50u plasma...I will try this over component and see how it works.
mlb585 is offline  
post #559 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Grimdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

Bill97Z--- You hit the nail on the head. It's that my top bar (when watching a DVD) is almost a half an inch larger than the bottom one. Is this an overscan problem of some sort with my tv? I have a Panny 42px50u plasma...I will try this over component and see how it works.

I notice this too on my 50X50U when watching LOTR (Specifically ROTK). The top bar is bigger than the bottom bar. However, in other different aspect ratio films, the whole screen is filled.
Grimdeath is offline  
post #560 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I played LOTR and the bars on top and bottom are the same size on my HLR5087W Sammy. I also played "Finding Nemo" widescreen and it fills up the entire screen, no black bars just now. Are you sure your testing the NS75H and not the NS70H??? Ofcourse you are I think this is a problem with overscan on your TV. I can tell you that the pixel mapping which is 1:1 at 720p without wobulation is perfect now with the NS75H on my TV. If anyone else can chime in and also verify if they are having an issue or not, it would shed some light and help those two who are having a problem.
Supermans is offline  
post #561 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Itsdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It seems to be a local setting of some sort on mlb585's setup. I, like many others here have had both the 70 and the 75. The showstopper flaw of the 70 was the shift and has been documented with hundreds of posts. It was the #1 thing I and several others looked for when the 75 showed up. All movies that used to have a shift on the 70 for me now play correctly on the 75. The only thing I have adjusted is the calibration, nothing else - no overscan settings, zooms or anything. The shift issue is isolated specifically to the 70, not the 75. If it were still present this thread would be on fire with posts about it.

"Life is a toy, play with it"
Itsdon is offline  
post #562 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 01:07 PM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finding Nemo and Madagascar (widescreen) will fill up the entire screen....we're talking about dvd's that have aspect ratios in which there will be a letterbox bar on the top and bottom of the picture. In our case, with the 75h, the bar on the top of the screen is larger than the one on the bottom when upconverting using hdmi output.
mlb585 is offline  
post #563 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Grayson73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Are people using Sharpness 0 or 1? Sharpness 1 looks clearer on my tv so I may keep it there, even though I assume it is adding info that is not on the DVD.
Grayson73 is offline  
post #564 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

Finding Nemo and Madagascar (widescreen) will fill up the entire screen....we're talking about dvd's that have aspect ratios in which there will be a letterbox bar on the top and bottom of the picture. In our case, with the 75h, the bar on the top of the screen is larger than the one on the bottom when upconverting using hdmi output.

mlb585, this has to be something with your tv that is making the image shift this time half an inch downward when watching a widescreen movie. Some non-anamporphic content on Laser Disc was letterboxed and shifted upward on purpose to make the widescreen movie more at eye level on large 60 inch projection TV's of the time. The shift issue was the main reason I sent my old NS70H back to Sony for a buyback refund and purchased the NS75H. I would be on here fuming if I had the same shifting issue again after going thru all that trouble with Sony's tech support.
Supermans is offline  
post #565 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayson73 View Post

Are people using Sharpness 0 or 1? Sharpness 1 looks clearer on my tv so I may keep it there, even though I assume it is adding info that is not on the DVD.


My DLP TV is very sensetive to me adding the sharpness to it from the DVD's menu. Since I have a Samsung, it already sharpens the image quite a bit with Dnie on. When I add sharpness to it with the DVD player, it adds a little noise which is visible around the actors as well as spots or dots in their faces on some DVD's. I know this is because the DVD's I was using already have a little grain, and the Sharpness setting only enhances that. On other movies, maybe it doesn't do it as much. What I am doing now is seeing if MNR is helping out or making things worse on certain DVD's thru HDMI. It is hard to tell so most of the time I leave it off.
Supermans is offline  
post #566 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Tigershark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb585 View Post

720P looks great...despite the 'slight' shift issue. 480p looked nice too via hdmi but I couldn't tell the difference between that and component...there was significant grainyness on certain darker dvd scenes.

I too have been struggling with grainyness in darker scenes. Problem DVDs so far: Return of the King (Shelob's cave) and King Kong (when the boat enters the fog). I thought these were both good transfers. I have tried adjusting both the display (Maxent MX-50X3) and the DVD player (85H) to no avail. The MNR doesn't really seem to do anything, nor does changing the resolution modes. I have tried both Standard and Cinema 1 modes, and component and HDMI (both from Monoprice) as well with no effect. The only thing that works is decreasing the panel's brightness and contrast, but that makes the movie unwatchable! Any other ideas?

No shift that I can tell - of course, I never had a 70H.
Tigershark is offline  
post #567 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigershark View Post

I too have been struggling with grainyness in darker scenes. Problem DVDs so far: Return of the King (Shelob's cave) and King Kong (when the boat enters the fog). I thought these were both good transfers. I have tried adjusting both the display (Maxent MX-50X3) and the DVD player (85H) to no avail. The MNR doesn't really seem to do anything, nor does changing the resolution modes. I have tried both Standard and Cinema 1 modes, and component and HDMI (both from Monoprice) as well with no effect. The only thing that works is decreasing the panel's brightness and contrast, but that makes the movie unwatchable! Any other ideas?

No shift that I can tell - of course, I never had a 70H.

I have King Kong and notice no grainyness so far in the scenes you mention. In fact, I have it on Cinema 2 and nothing else. I adjust my TV brightness up 4 notches as well.
Supermans is offline  
post #568 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Itsdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermans View Post

I have King Kong and notice no grainyness so far in the scenes you mention. In fact, I have it on Cinema 2 and nothing else. I adjust my TV brightness up 4 notches as well.

I'm going to watch King Kong with my son tonight so I'll keep an eye on that scene and be on the "grainy check".

"Life is a toy, play with it"
Itsdon is offline  
post #569 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itsdon View Post

I'm going to watch King Kong with my son tonight so I'll keep an eye on that scene and be on the "grainy check".


This is why I love this forum. All the help. Especially once a new product we all rush out to buy comes out and we all test it and re-test it until our eyes pop out.
Supermans is offline  
post #570 of 2201 Old 04-13-2006, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Tigershark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermans View Post

This is why I love this forum. All the help. Especially once a new product we all rush out to buy comes out and we all test it and re-test it until our eyes pop out.

Yeah, sometimes I think I should just forget about all this stuff and just watch the movie - but it is too tempting to dig into the nitty-gritty.
Tigershark is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off