Sony DVP-NS75H - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2201 Old 11-01-2007, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
paul?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post

I sold my Sony after I bought the HD-A2 and saw how much of a better job it does at upconverting...especially with my 100" screen.

I still have my Sony but no longer use it. I have the A20, and I was actually surprised at how much better it was at upconverting. However, having said that, I am hooked on HD now and only occasionally watch standard dvds. Even upconverted they are simply not equal to HD.
paul? is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2201 Old 11-01-2007, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subwoofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post

I sold my Sony after I bought the HD-A2 and saw how much of a better job it does at upconverting...especially with my 100" screen.

where did you sell it at?
subwoofer is offline  
post #2193 of 2201 Old 11-01-2007, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by subwoofer View Post

where did you sell it at?

I sold it to a guy at work for $50. He had just bought a 50" plasma, so the timing was right.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2194 of 2201 Old 12-30-2007, 08:39 AM
Member
 
webbah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose G View Post

Just to be clear for others who may want this machine as a music player as well as a dvd player, you are saying that this player will play 5 dvds in order and will repeat 1 dvd disc, but will it...
1. ...random play 5 music cd's?
2. ...play 5 music cds in a row?

What I read is that it won't do #1 above.

Anyone know what the answers are to these questions?

Thanks.
webbah is offline  
post #2195 of 2201 Old 01-02-2008, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
girdnerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tahlequah, OK
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. no, it will not random play between the discs. It will on the currently loaded disc
2. yes, it will automatically move to the next disc and continue
girdnerg is offline  
post #2196 of 2201 Old 09-28-2008, 08:40 PM
Member
 
MysteryGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a comparison between this and the pioneer DV-410V-K? With black friday around the corner, I'm contemplating a new dvd player and right now I don't want blu-ray. However, I am looking to get the best picture and audio possible on standard dvd's. I was also looking at Toshiba's XDE, but I'm not sure if there's really a dvd player out there that can give me much more than I already have.
MysteryGoat is offline  
post #2197 of 2201 Old 10-04-2008, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Nick4597's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryGoat View Post

Does anyone have a comparison between this and the pioneer DV-410V-K? With black friday around the corner, I'm contemplating a new dvd player and right now I don't want blu-ray. However, I am looking to get the best picture and audio possible on standard dvd's. I was also looking at Toshiba's XDE, but I'm not sure if there's really a dvd player out there that can give me much more than I already have.

I am looking for a comparison of the same. My DVP-NS75H seems to really do a great job at upconverting, especially with some of the various contrast and picture settings turned on. I have been contemplating moving this DVD player to the bedroom and trying out the XDE500. Not sure if it's really worth it though, this is still a great player IMO.
Nick4597 is offline  
post #2198 of 2201 Old 01-13-2009, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
aerosnow88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for digging up a old thread. The HDMI light is blinking and I am not getting signal from my sony 85H to the sony LCD.

What does the blinking blue light mean?

Thanks.
aerosnow88 is offline  
post #2199 of 2201 Old 04-01-2009, 07:29 PM
Member
 
FORIAMBILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't figure out how to make my dvd player output 1080i via component. TV says it's getting 480p. I bought this about two years ago and remember it being a pita to get 1080i via HDMI. now my hdmi doesn't work. I think I damaged the port, or maybe something internal when moving components. Before I send it in to be worked on, I wanted to know if I can get the same quality with component and optical. Can somebody help me with the settings.

It is currently connected directly to a Sony XBR1 via component. I want to hook it back to my Yamaha V661. (it's to the tv now to isolate the avr for troubleshooting)
FORIAMBILL is offline  
post #2200 of 2201 Old 04-01-2009, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORIAMBILL View Post

I can't figure out how to make my dvd player output 1080i via component. TV says it's getting 480p. I bought this about two years ago and remember it being a pita to get 1080i via HDMI. now my hdmi doesn't work. I think I damaged the port, or maybe something internal when moving components. Before I send it in to be worked on, I wanted to know if I can get the same quality with component and optical. Can somebody help me with the settings.

It is currently connected directly to a Sony XBR1 via component. I want to hook it back to my Yamaha V661. (it's to the tv now to isolate the avr for troubleshooting)

Again, upconverting via component is not supported, only through HDMI. So, the most you'll get via component is 480p.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #2201 of 2201 Old 04-01-2009, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaldorfSalad View Post

Again, upconverting via component is not supported, only through HDMI. So, the most you'll get via component is 480p.

True unless the DVD has no DRM attached. The powers that be will not allow upconverting via component inputs. If there is no DRM then you can upconvert, otherwise it's 480p.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off