Denon DVD-3930 & DVD-2930 w/Realta T2 Chip Coming September- - Page 158 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4711 of 4947 Old 11-30-2010, 12:07 AM
Member
 
fiske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuneralDancer View Post

i have the DVD-2930CI, how do i enable subtitles? when i press the button to access it, it says Off.. and i know the DVD has subtitles

You must use the up and down arrows to select between the subtitles available.
fiske is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4712 of 4947 Old 11-30-2010, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
The Rang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Delta, BC
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuneralDancer View Post
i have the DVD-2930CI, how do i enable subtitles? when i press the button to access it, it says Off.. and i know the DVD has subtitles
You probably need to activate the subtitles in the disc's menu before starting playback.

In my experience, unlike Blu-ray you cannot turn them on "on the fly" by pressing the subtitle button on the remote while the movie is playing.
The Rang is offline  
post #4713 of 4947 Old 12-05-2010, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
caupina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
A friend is selling this cheap 2930 for 39 dollars. The reason for such low price is that it doesn't power up, the only light that comes on is the Denon Link one and that's it, now my question is does it make sense to buy it and have it fixed??? or you guys suspect it might have some major failure that the cost of fixing would outweigh the cost of buying a brand new one???. I got the same player for SACD/DVDA only but I'm not sure what to replace it with when it finally bites the dust (It's connected to a Denon 3808 via Denon Link) that's why I'd like to have a spare one.
caupina is offline  
post #4714 of 4947 Old 12-06-2010, 01:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by caupina View Post

A friend is selling this cheap 2930 for 39 dollars. The reason for such low price is that it doesn't power up, does it make sense to buy it and have it fixed???

hard to say what specifically is the problem (burnt-out power supply? etc.,...), or how much it will cost to repair.

I would just wait around and get one of these (seriously):
http://usa.denon.com/US/Product/Page...4-ce29a6f55328
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4715 of 4947 Old 12-06-2010, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
caupina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thanks WestCoastD, that player looks great, too bad it doesn't have DenonLink which is one of the features I like about the 2930/3930. The other Denon players are just too expensive.

Let's say it's the power supply that failed, is it too expensive to replace/fix????.
caupina is offline  
post #4716 of 4947 Old 12-06-2010, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by caupina View Post

Thanks WestCoastD, that player looks great, too bad it doesn't have DenonLink which is one of the features I like about the 2930/3930. The other Denon players are just too expensive.

Let's say it's the power supply that failed, is it too expensive to replace/fix????.

have no idea what power-supply replacement would cost. I've spent a significant amount servicing my DVD-3930CI a few times- mostly for laser and related hardware replacement, it was like $300.00 each time. Despite a little anger I feel it has been worth it later, my unit has performed beautifully (knock-on-wood).

So I would think whatever the problem is with the DVD-2930CI it may easily cost $300.00-plus to service, just speculating (maybe it could be very cheap? who knows?)

Therefore, if I were seriously considering a DVD-2930CI I would opt for a DVD-3930CI instead. There are a few refurbished/used/like-new units out there:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...condition=used
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...on=refurbished

I think a solid refurbished unit could be a good investment. I juust love my DVD-3930CI, it's been very hard to replace it for something else- even my Oppo BDP-83SE (seriously). Why spend, say, $200.00 to $400.00 on a DVD-2930CI when you can have a DVD-3930CI?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4717 of 4947 Old 12-06-2010, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
caupina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I've always wanted to get the 3930....it's built like a tank. You're right, I should just buy one on good working condition. Thanks for the links
caupina is offline  
post #4718 of 4947 Old 12-07-2010, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DTLA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
After a few missteps, I also finally managed to score great (knock-on-wood) 3930ci

Fantastic audio and very good DVD player for the money. Caupina, check audiogon too. That's where I got mine.
giedrys is offline  
post #4719 of 4947 Old 12-07-2010, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
caupina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Congratulations giedrys!!!. I've been keeping an eye on Audiogon everyday with no luck, just a bunch of 3910 and 2910, and a modded 2930 from the Upgrade Company for 700 dollars....no way. I wonder if the 3910 would make a good investment...I just need it to play my SACD/DVDA connected via DenonLink to the 3808...what do you guys think???
caupina is offline  
post #4720 of 4947 Old 12-07-2010, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DTLA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You definitely need patience on agon. It took me a few months(not checking everyday though) to get one.
giedrys is offline  
post #4721 of 4947 Old 12-08-2010, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by caupina View Post

I wonder if the 3910 would make a good investment...I just need it to play my SACD/DVDA connected via DenonLink to the 3808...what do you guys think???

the DVD-3910CI was the predecessor to the DVD-3930CI, it was a good player as well. However I would prefer the DVD-3930CI, it has improved video over the DVD-3910CI and some other updates/additions. Get the newer model- period.............
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4722 of 4947 Old 12-19-2010, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I recently posted my good service from my 3930 so it decided to make me wrong as usual. DVDs play fine. CDs play a fraction of a second or so then display "Press Play to Continue" and after a second or two we get another note then message, and on, and on. Multiple CDs tried.

I removed the unit and did the lens cleaning procedure posted on this thread. I played a CD with the unit on a bench and all was well for 30 seconds. I reinstalled it and we are back to where we started. I did a unit reset and redid setup. No effect.

If it does DVDs without problems could it be the laser? Or is it repair time? Any ideas?

"Most people would die sooner than think, in fact they do so."  Bertrand Russell The ABC of Relativity, 1925

humbug2 is offline  
post #4723 of 4947 Old 12-20-2010, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post

I recently posted my good service from my 3930 so it decided to make me wrong as usual. DVDs play fine. CDs play a fraction of a second or so then display "Press Play to Continue" and after a second or two we get another note then message, and on, and on. Multiple CDs tried.

I removed the unit and did the lens cleaning procedure posted on this thread. I played a CD with the unit on a bench and all was well for 30 seconds. I reinstalled it and we are back to where we started. I did a unit reset and redid setup. No effect.

If it does DVDs without problems could it be the laser? Or is it repair time? Any ideas?

sorry to hear about that. This player (DVD-3930CI) really does have some un-expected behavior. My unit has been back to factory three times for service (a few years back at this point), mostly for laser/assembly and lens related issues. Each time it cost me like $300.00 dollars. Although it has functioned fairly well now for over a year (knock-on-wood). I mostly use it to play CD's, SACD's and DVD-A's. I hardly ever play SD-DVD's on it (even though it does a spectacular job). But I do experience some random "freeze" behavior primarily with specific (RedBook) CD titles, don't know why?

It's hard for me to remove this unit from my rack, the sound quality is so beautiful (airy and spacial, natural).
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4724 of 4947 Old 12-20-2010, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post

I recently posted my good service from my 3930 so it decided to make me wrong as usual. DVDs play fine. CDs play a fraction of a second or so then display "Press Play to Continue" and after a second or two we get another note then message, and on, and on.

I listen to CDs via analog audio. I recently replaced a always-on HDMI switch with a VP that is on when needed. The problem playing CDs occurs when the VP is in standby and the 3930 HDMI is on.

So, when I decide to listen to a CD I must turn HDMI off and when I want to watch a DVD on the big screen I must turn HDMI on and at the desired resolution.

I hate people with better ideas like HDMI & CP. I hate even more people that can't program computers well enough to know that playing a CD via analog output does not require HDMI or copy protection activity.

"Most people would die sooner than think, in fact they do so."  Bertrand Russell The ABC of Relativity, 1925

humbug2 is offline  
post #4725 of 4947 Old 12-20-2010, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DTLA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have another complain about 3930ci, it's not a glitch but more like missing feature.

I'm very much impressed by player's separate analog stereo outputs and its bass management capabilities. So I tweak the audio settings to my liking for listening to CD's via analog and the results are outstanding.

But once I decide to listen to something like mch DVD-A and switch to HDMI, all my analog audio settings are nullified and next time I have to start all over again.

Why there's no way to store audio settings like video? Or there is and I simply can't find how to do it?
giedrys is offline  
post #4726 of 4947 Old 01-10-2011, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post

But once I decide to listen to something like mch DVD-A and switch to HDMI, all my analog audio settings are nullified and next time I have to start all over again.

Why there's no way to store audio settings like video? Or there is and I simply can't find how to do it?

Yeah, I know what you're talking about. I remember having to go back into audio menu's to re-set things to play something via-HDMI after listening to multi-channel analog settings for music (SACD/DVD-a). Can't remember if this can be configured permanently or not?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4727 of 4947 Old 01-19-2011, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post

I hate even more people that can't program computers well enough to know that playing a CD via analog output does not require HDMI or copy protection activity.

hmmm
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4728 of 4947 Old 01-28-2011, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
DigiPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A data point for those interested.
My 3930Ci was starting to not recognize some SACDs especially as it warmed up.
I replaced the laser head only, not the whole transport/transverse assembly,
and that helped a little with the SACDs (by the way I had approx 1000 hours on the CD laser and 1000 hours on the DVD laser), but now its having trouble reading some DVDs (so I guess laser alignment may be an issue since I didnt replace the whole tranverse), and now reading discs is getting increasingly worse at the unit warms up.
So I guess ordering the entire transport is next....

Nice thing is it only cost me $13 to try replacing the laser head alone.
The transverse is now about $125 shipped.

Pete
DigiPete is offline  
post #4729 of 4947 Old 01-29-2011, 03:51 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 63
This may have been mentioned in this thread, but can you tell me how to check how many hours my 2930 has been in use? It has stopped reliably reading discs. I've tried cleaning the lens on it but that didn't help.
boe is online now  
post #4730 of 4947 Old 01-30-2011, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
DigiPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to enter the service menu to do it. I would suggest getting the service manual, which shows you how to do it for your model.
Not the greatest published instructions... but with some effort you can do it.
DigiPete is offline  
post #4731 of 4947 Old 02-03-2011, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiPete View Post

My 3930Ci was starting to not recognize some SACDs especially as it warmed up.

I replaced the laser head only, not the whole transport/transverse assembly,
and that helped a little with the SACDs (by the way I had approx 1000 hours on the CD laser and 1000 hours on the DVD laser), but now its having trouble reading some DVDs (so I guess laser alignment may be an issue since I didnt replace the whole tranverse), and now reading discs is getting increasingly worse at the unit warms up.

So I guess ordering the entire transport is next....

Nice thing is it only cost me $13 to try replacing the laser head alone.
The transverse is now about $125 shipped

very interesting, thanks.

Yeah, the DVD-3930CI seems to really struggle in this area- laser assy failure/alignment issues. I just send it to Denon factory service and let them swap-out the complete transverse assy. This way everything is replaced and re-aligned properly (hopefully)- $350.00
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4732 of 4947 Old 02-05-2011, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
DigiPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good luck, let us know how it turned out.
I am starting to think about a follow-on unit for my stereo.
Seems keeping this unit serviceable may be a challenge or impossible in the future.
DigiPete is offline  
post #4733 of 4947 Old 02-05-2011, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DTLA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

very interesting, thanks.

Yeah, the DVD-3930CI seems to really struggle in this area- laser assy failure/alignment issues. I just send it to Denon factory service and let them swap-out the complete transverse assy. This way everything is replaced and re-aligned properly (hopefully)- $350.00

Ouch. That's more than I paid for entire 3930ci in good condition(knock on wood) a few months back. But I guess this player is really worth that and more.
giedrys is offline  
post #4734 of 4947 Old 02-05-2011, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post

Ouch. That's more than I paid for entire 3930ci in good condition(knock on wood) a few months back. But I guess this player is really worth that and more.

yeah, I think it's worth it to have a good sounding player (with exceptional SD-DVD capability).
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4735 of 4947 Old 02-08-2011, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
MChilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out Dakmart.com, they sell refurbs of the 2930 and 3930. I picked one up about a month ago. Looks good, haven't gotten around to installing it yet, but looking forward to using it.
MChilli is offline  
post #4736 of 4947 Old 02-09-2011, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DTLA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

yeah, I think it's worth it to have a good sounding player (with exceptional SD-DVD capability).

Apparently it holds its own against Oppo 95 pretty well.
giedrys is offline  
post #4737 of 4947 Old 02-10-2011, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post

Apparently it holds its own against Oppo 95 pretty well.

I'm dying (or "living") to find out for myself (I may get a BDP-95 soon, we'll see)
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4738 of 4947 Old 02-10-2011, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
DwightG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I contacted my local Denon repairer yesterday to get a quote on upgrading the Realta firmware in my 3930 from IP 060802 to 080102. They told me it would cost AUD$220, plus freight from Tasmania to Sydney which is approx another $100 as they need to send it to Denon Australia as the local guys can't do it themselves. And then there's the 90 minute each-way cost of driving it to the repairer...

So before I go ahead and fork out $320+ (which is quite a bit on my budget, but I'm also waiting to hear back on a 2nd quote), I'd like to know from other 3930 owners who have had the upgrade done, how much did it cost and just how much improvement does it make to the PQ, do you consider it worthwhile for the cost?

Thanks!

Dwight

Edit: Contacted Denon Australia directly and they quoted $88 per hour for 2 hours, ie $176 (+ freight), that's somewhat cheaper than having it done via the local repairer for $220 (+ freight), and saves me the drive to the repairer too!
DwightG is offline  
post #4739 of 4947 Old 02-10-2011, 06:26 PM
Member
 
djwobbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rural Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a crossover setting for 2CH analog, with bass enhancement? I would like to select a 100hz high pass, so my subwoofers get everything below 100hz and the L/R gets everything above 100hz. I do that in my AVR, but if it can be done in the 3930, the signal stays analog going out to the AVR.

Can anyone with a 3930 confirm this?
djwobbrock is offline  
post #4740 of 4947 Old 02-10-2011, 06:28 PM
Member
 
djwobbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rural Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post

Apparently it holds its own against Oppo 95 pretty well.

How did you confirm this?
djwobbrock is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Tags
Denon Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off