Denon DVD-3930 & DVD-2930 w/Realta T2 Chip Coming September- - Page 165 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 4948 Old 07-16-2013, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiselchinmadne View Post

] I have a 2930ci that I bought at an estate sale a few months ago for $25! I love it. I'm suspicious that I may have missed something as the directions said that step must be complete or the laser wouldn't read properly. Does anyone have any expertise with this? If so pass it on! If I find out anything else I will pass it on as well.
if you want a like-new player, I would just consider sending your unit to Denon technical service in Mahwah NJ and have them replace the laser with another new unit and properly calibrate everything. I think it would be worth the ($300.00) cost to have a very nice sounding player, being you aquired it for only $25.00
WestCoastD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 4948 Old 07-17-2013, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
maphiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

if you want a like-new player, I would just consider sending your unit to Denon technical service in Mahwah NJ and have them replace the laser with another new unit and properly calibrate everything. I think it would be worth the ($300.00) cost to have a very nice sounding player, being you aquired it for only $25.00

I can't recommend replacing the laser if it is working. My laser has caused me no problems for many years. Others, on this forum have replaced theirs more than once. Why risk replacing a good laser with one doomed for failure? Just my $0.02.
maphiker is online now  
post #4923 of 4948 Old 07-18-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 69
A WARNING TO DENON OWNERS...
Just a bit of advice to current Denon DVD 3930CI (and age appropriate players) owners. The Denon is an older design and as such, supported HDMI 1.1 protocol. I have enjoyed using the Denon with my Onkyo TX-NR905 and TX-NR906 (both HDMI 1.3 receivers). I recently bought a Pioneer SC-67 receiver (HDMI 1.4) and cannot get the player to work correctly. I can get video but no sound through HDMI. Note that I am using a front projector for display, which has no audio.

I tested the Denon player with my Panasonic plasma (HDMI 1.3) and Sony WEGA and the audio was fine, no issues. I changed the inputs on the AVR and swapped out cables with no luck. I thought that the Pioneer was bad so I took it out of my system to ship for repair and replaced it with a Denon AVR2808CI. Guess what? Same problems, picture but no sound with the Denon player. I had no issues with an Oppo, Pioneer or PS3 Blu-Ray players.

I talked with a friend who install systems and he told me that HDMI 1.1 had a very crude handshaking for audio as it was designed for primarily for video. He also found out that several HDMI 1.1 players would not work with the latest generations of AVRs when used with displays that do not have audio capability. He said the ONLY way to get them to work was to have the Denon output video through the HDMI and then output the audio through either the analog, coax or TosLink (optical) connection. It appears the HDMI is waiting for the display to handshake the audio signal but it cannot since it does not have any audio capability. He also mentioned that since my projector is an older unit (JVC RS-1 with HDMI 1.2), a newer projector with a later version of HDMI may work.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #4924 of 4948 Old 07-18-2013, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
maphiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course, one can always use the Denon Link 3 for audio. biggrin.gif
maphiker is online now  
post #4925 of 4948 Old 07-22-2013, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
targeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, i bought an 3930 from europe 3 to 4 years, NEW and since day 1 he doens-te like some DVD originals, and for dvdr's it does not acept 90% of them!
I read somewhere that the Sanyo HD65 laser is a replacemnet for this.

Is the original DENON laser a HD65 to? OR WHAT?

and some people change that lase head for the HD65 because the older is older or the older is junk being new from the 3930?

Let me know
targeting is offline  
post #4926 of 4948 Old 07-22-2013, 05:04 AM
Newbie
 
targeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mean if with the Sanyo Laser Head HD65 the denon 3930 will be reading DVD originals and DVDR's with no stress, or it's just the stock sub for the denon 3930 poor desgin laser! It cannot read some orignal dvd's... since day one...
targeting is offline  
post #4927 of 4948 Old 08-08-2013, 03:56 AM
Newbie
 
targeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i ordered the SF-HD 65

Because my 3930 bought new half the price in 2009 and not used much (maybe 30 hours a year) was refusing to read originals dvd/cd's in the last few months.
Go on the web to find what the problem was, CHINA. Not surprisingly! biggrin.gif

Since the 2910-2930-3910-3930 age that JAPAN had labour done in CHINA. (For what i read the transistors on the laser assembly will go dead after a hundred hours maybe more) and need to be changed!

The Laser part is the weakest link on those players, and being a small DIY guy i put my hand on it!

SO:









-YOu need to remove the antistaic protection for the laser to work.. Simply remove the solder ball with an hot solder iron and make sure the tracks do not have solder!















After the hardware change you need to reset the software/hardware!

-Turn off not standy
-Turn on while pressing PLAY + SKIP FOWARD
-Display show INITIALIZE , turn off then after
-Set the customs preferences again, don't use HDMI now because reseting will make HDMI off.

Have joy! AGAIN!

(The 3930 inside got ELNA SILMIC capacitors... now i know what brand/model to change my capacitors on my audio card, it will make a drastic but not night and day diference for better audio from the PC)
targeting is offline  
post #4928 of 4948 Old 08-08-2013, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Good job! My ebay-bought laser is still working after replacement a couple years ago. Already lasted more than the original one...
SoNic67 is offline  
post #4929 of 4948 Old 08-08-2013, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
targeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10


-This was the box that came? or diferent? How much did it cost to you to have an idea? I am affraid mine should be a fake ones... but hey..now works! The original won't... eek.gif
targeting is offline  
post #4930 of 4948 Old 08-10-2013, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Mine was even worse looking - just a white cardboard one. Because of the low price, I got two of them, just to be "safe" smile.gif
This was I have another experience - on another player (Yamaha) the first laser was bad and I had to wait for the second one to be send - that second one worked tough.
SoNic67 is offline  
post #4931 of 4948 Old 08-13-2013, 03:43 AM
Newbie
 
targeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wo you are saying that with the cardboard laser package you got more runtime play without errors then the original laser... we are talking about how much hours of play?
Can say somekind close?
For i to have expectations for mine.
So far she eats all i put in their like a Philips! FAST and reliable all cd's/cdr's/DVD's/dvd'rs! eek.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post

Mine was even worse looking - just a white cardboard one. Because of the low price, I got two of them, just to be "safe" smile.gif
This was I have another experience - on another player (Yamaha) the first laser was bad and I had to wait for the second one to be send - that second one worked tough.
targeting is offline  
post #4932 of 4948 Old 08-14-2013, 10:13 PM
Newbie
 
randers1avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
first time posting so I hope I do this right. I had set aside my 3930 after getting an Oppo 83 but now have put it back in service as an audio player. The links to the firmware updates listed in this forum give me a file not found msg. Am I doing something wrong. If not, does anyone have a different link to the updates?

thanks
randers1avs is offline  
post #4933 of 4948 Old 08-15-2013, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
targeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by randers1avs View Post

first time posting so I hope I do this right. I had set aside my 3930 after getting an Oppo 83 but now have put it back in service as an audio player. The links to the firmware updates listed in this forum give me a file not found msg. Am I doing something wrong. If not, does anyone have a different link to the updates?

thanks

If what you want is FIRMWARE ? Only go for the original....

Go to Denon.com

Choose your country or continent.... smile.gif

Then downloads, then firmwares....

Then yes, then next

Now choose:
MODEL: DVD-3930 in Europe by the way, mine! smile.gif
COLOR:Black, Mine smile.gif
SERIAL: Get your ass down to the 3930 and on the back read and write on a paper the serial, and then wirte it on that place

Voilá. Download the firmware.
targeting is offline  
post #4934 of 4948 Old 08-15-2013, 10:25 PM
Newbie
 
randers1avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Targeting,
thanks for the reply. The US page only shows pdfs, the serial protocol, a product info sheet, user manuals in two languages, and ir codes, but not the firmware upgrades. The EU site requires a serial number and it doesn't recognize mine probably because its a US unit. From what the Dutchman has written, it appears Denon EU trusts their customers more than the Denon US, but thanks again for the info. If it is still visible on the EU site would would anyone with an EU sn be willing to PM your sn so I could go on the EU site and get the firmware? It is a lot to ask and I ask only after searching for days fro an alternative.
randers1avs is offline  
post #4935 of 4948 Old 08-15-2013, 10:35 PM
Newbie
 
randers1avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
forgot to add, the products update and upgrade section only lists current products. I tried selecting one of the DVD products and putting in my sn and it indicated it did not match.
randers1avs is offline  
post #4936 of 4948 Old 09-18-2013, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Write to Denon US an email, I did and they did send me a CD-R for my DVD-2930.
SoNic67 is offline  
post #4937 of 4948 Old 09-24-2013, 05:52 AM
Senior Member
 
maphiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What version number is your firmware from Denon? Or the name of the file?
Thanks
maphiker is online now  
post #4938 of 4948 Old 12-22-2013, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
For the DVD-2930?
GEN8283-F_A15_DVD2930CI_2930.zip
Inside, a folder named DVD_2930 containing the file named D293SAVD.ROM
But... it comes with an EULA that says it a trade secret and enforces a NDA - prohibits me from transferring it.

For the DVD-3930 I don't have an updated firmware.
SoNic67 is offline  
post #4939 of 4948 Old 11-06-2014, 08:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
htguy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Waterloo IA
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice work! Is it still working? Did you have to adjust the two set screws at the back of the laser tray?

Thanks

God bless...
Mark


Quote:
Originally Posted by targeting View Post
Well i ordered the SF-HD 65

Because my 3930 bought new half the price in 2009 and not used much (maybe 30 hours a year) was refusing to read originals dvd/cd's in the last few months.
Go on the web to find what the problem was, CHINA. Not surprisingly!

Since the 2910-2930-3910-3930 age that JAPAN had labour done in CHINA. (For what i read the transistors on the laser assembly will go dead after a hundred hours maybe more) and need to be changed!

The Laser part is the weakest link on those players, and being a small DIY guy i put my hand on it!

SO:









-YOu need to remove the antistaic protection for the laser to work.. Simply remove the solder ball with an hot solder iron and make sure the tracks do not have solder!















After the hardware change you need to reset the software/hardware!

-Turn off not standy
-Turn on while pressing PLAY + SKIP FOWARD
-Display show INITIALIZE , turn off then after
-Set the customs preferences again, don't use HDMI now because reseting will make HDMI off.

Have joy! AGAIN!

(The 3930 inside got ELNA SILMIC capacitors... now i know what brand/model to change my capacitors on my audio card, it will make a drastic but not night and day diference for better audio from the PC)
htguy1 is offline  
post #4940 of 4948 Old 11-12-2014, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: East Bay, Northern CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Great write-up and photos, 'targeting'. Thanks!
Ryan
skeefy1 is offline  
post #4941 of 4948 Old 11-25-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
kate*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Funny... Denon does not let me download the firmware!

however if I select it as silver, it gives me the GEN8283-E but not the -F!

Could someone please send me the -F firmware?


Thank you!!

Listening is the best experience.
kate* is offline  
post #4942 of 4948 Old 11-27-2014, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
otok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Power does not turn on

I need help.
I have Denon DVD-3930CI and I just replaced optical laser.
After "INITALIZE" ( Play + Skip forward) power does not turn on.
Regards
otok is offline  
post #4943 of 4948 Old 11-27-2014, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
maphiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that with the 2930, initializing turns off the hdmi output. You need to connect the unit to your display with an s-video or composite cable and go from there. Hope that helps.

Sent from my VS910 4G using Tapatalk 2
maphiker is online now  
post #4944 of 4948 Old 11-28-2014, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
otok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by targeting View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by randers1avs

first time posting so I hope I do this right. I had set aside my 3930 after getting an Oppo 83 but now have put it back in service as an audio player. The links to the firmware updates listed in this forum give me a file not found msg. Am I doing something wrong. If not, does anyone have a different link to the updates?

thanks


If what you want is FIRMWARE ? Only go for the original....

Go to Denon.com

Choose your country or continent....

Then downloads, then firmwares....

Then yes, then next

Now choose:
MODEL: DVD-3930 in Europe by the way, mine!
COLOR:Black, Mine
SERIAL: Get your ass down to the 3930 and on the back read and write on a paper the serial, and then wirte it on that place

Voilá. Download the firmware.
Hi there.

Dear Sir,

I've read your post: Denon DVD-3930 & DVD-2930 w/Realta T2 Chip Coming September-
Hope you can help me with my problem because it seems you know your stuff.

I followed your instructions and I replaced the laser on my Denon 3390CI. But after ''INITIALIZE' my Denon doesn't turn on.

I checked the fuse but the fuse seems fine.

And I don't know if the problem is with the hardware or the software

Can you please help me in any way?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maphiker View Post
I know that with the 2930, initializing turns off the hdmi output. You need to connect the unit to your display with an s-video or composite cable and go from there. Hope that helps.

Sent from my VS910 4G using Tapatalk 2
Thanks for the effort but it doesn't solve my problem
otok is offline  
post #4945 of 4948 Old 12-03-2014, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
maphiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otok View Post
I need help.
I have Denon DVD-3930CI and I just replaced optical laser.
After "INITALIZE" ( Play + Skip forward) power does not turn on.
Regards
Did you ever get your 3930 up and running?

Sent from my VS910 4G using Tapatalk 2
maphiker is online now  
post #4946 of 4948 Old 12-04-2014, 08:16 AM
Newbie
 
otok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maphiker View Post
Did you ever get your 3930 up and running?

Sent from my VS910 4G using Tapatalk 2
Yes, I got my 3930ci up and running after I replaced the laser. I checked if my device recognizes CD, DVD and SACD and it did. After that I started the initialization and after the process was over I can't power up my advice at all. I followed all the instructions @ targeting provided. If you have any ideas what might be the problem I would very much appreciate it! Thank you
otok is offline  
post #4947 of 4948 Old 12-04-2014, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
maphiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otok View Post
Yes, I got my 3930ci up and running after I replaced the laser. I checked if my device recognizes CD, DVD and SACD and it did. After that I started the initialization and after the process was over I can't power up my advice at all. I followed all the instructions @ targeting provided. If you have any ideas what might be the problem I would very much appreciate it! Thank you
Sorry to hear you are having such trouble. I have no definitive solution but can only think of things I would try.

Did you retry the initializaion? Use an S video or composite connector to attach your player to a TV. Unplug the unit, wait 60 sec and plug it back in. Press down the PLAY button (>) and the SKIP FORWARD button (>>|) at the same time. Continue to hold down these buttons and press the main power button. The player should now say INITIALIZE. Hold buttons untill INITIALIZE disappears from monitor.

If that procedure doesn't work, I would open the unit and look for any wire connectors and/or "tape" connectors that may have become loose or misalligned.

You could obtain the service manual and try troubleshooting, such as checking for the presence of voltage at the power unit.

Barring that, you could try contacting Denon. Maybe they have a simple fix. My guess is it's probably cost prohibitive to have them repair it. Good luck.

Last edited by maphiker; 12-04-2014 at 07:16 PM.
maphiker is online now  
post #4948 of 4948 Unread Today, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Search through this kind of twine for info about getting the most recent computer software improve. User may be dutchman01 as well. Sometime ago this was a problem with 2930 & 3930 that was set inside a software update.
bnchris is online now  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Tags
Denon Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off