Philips DVP 5960 HDMI DIVX player - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 409 Old 08-18-2007, 05:41 PM
Member
 
spartikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys old thread but was wondering i just bought a phillips and noticed it doesn't have the optical out is there a way to convert the digital coax to a optial toslink cable?
spartikus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 409 Old 08-18-2007, 05:43 PM
Member
 
INHUMANITY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartikus View Post

hey guys old thread but was wondering i just bought a phillips and noticed it doesn't have the optical out is there a way to convert the digital coax to a optial toslink cable?

I purchased one of these a while back. It was a great and cheap solution:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=
INHUMANITY is offline  
post #393 of 409 Old 08-18-2007, 05:56 PM
Member
 
spartikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey thanks for the info i think i may just give the player back and buy one that has it however, this dvd player says its 1080 p and i can't seem to get that signal it says only 720 p or 1080i instead of messing with it i may just get a different player thanks though.
spartikus is offline  
post #394 of 409 Old 08-19-2007, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dotVIBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartikus View Post

hey thanks for the info i think i may just give the player back and buy one that has it however, this dvd player says its 1080 p and i can't seem to get that signal it says only 720 p or 1080i instead of messing with it i may just get a different player thanks though.

The 5960 only upscales to 1080i. The 5982 upscales to 1080p.
dotVIBE is offline  
post #395 of 409 Old 11-06-2007, 06:45 PM
Newbie
 
theone001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

What is HDMI version of Philips DVP5960/37?

(I updated to the latest firmware)

-Frank
theone001 is offline  
post #396 of 409 Old 11-15-2007, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
nvrsbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have upgraded to the lastest firmware but I m stiull getting the stutter problem when playing back Divx/Xvid ?
Any thoughts ?
nvrsbr is offline  
post #397 of 409 Old 12-09-2007, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
spender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I just upgraded to a new TV yesterday, a Westinghouse 47" (from my Toshiba 42HP86). So far, I am super impressed with the combination of these two elements. However, I am having an odd problem that I wanted to bounce off the group. I have it hooked up via HDMI to the TV.

Basically, when I play DVDs, the sound is great and works perfectly. However, when I try to play XVID or DIVX programs, there is no sound at all that comes through. I assume that this means that it is a TV decoding problem, as the player is obviously outputting sound.

I am going to try a hookup with an HDMI-DVI cable and analog cables, but was just wondering if anyone had any other ideas on this.
spender is offline  
post #398 of 409 Old 12-09-2007, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
DeletedUserPost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kind of a weird problem. Anyone has troubles with this units coaxial output dropping out on you? It will play fine for hours then randomly stop playing audio. I have it set up for HDMI video to my HDTV and the coaxial to my receiver. It only seems to do this on burned DVD's not originals. The unit has the latest firmware I can find and like I said, it's intermittent. Unit is over a year old.
DeletedUserPost is offline  
post #399 of 409 Old 12-09-2007, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
DeletedUserPost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spender View Post

Hello, I just upgraded to a new TV yesterday, a Westinghouse 47" (from my Toshiba 42HP86). So far, I am super impressed with the combination of these two elements. However, I am having an odd problem that I wanted to bounce off the group. I have it hooked up via HDMI to the TV.

Basically, when I play DVDs, the sound is great and works perfectly. However, when I try to play XVID or DIVX programs, there is no sound at all that comes through. I assume that this means that it is a TV decoding problem, as the player is obviously outputting sound.

I am going to try a hookup with an HDMI-DVI cable and analog cables, but was just wondering if anyone had any other ideas on this.


Is your sound settings for digital set up for PCM only or auto?
DeletedUserPost is offline  
post #400 of 409 Old 12-11-2007, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Jim001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by prusso1 View Post

got the philips dvd player 5960 directly from Philips Employee Store for just under 50 dollars shipped. I also have a philips 642. I have the philips 5960 hooked up to a 37"Sharp LC-C3742U using HMDI cable connection. I also have the older model philips 642 hooked up using component cables. I used the movie Das Boat to test the difference between both dvd players. What I have found is quite striking, the 5960 at 1080i produces a very clear and detailed picture. The older philips 642 dvd player at 480p produced a picture of the same movie that was not as sharp or clear and also the images were darker especially with shadows. I have to say for the money spent, the philips 5960 has exceeded my expectations for what this dvd player can do.

Thanks for the comparison. I also have a 642 and was looking at the 5960. I'll pick one up tomorrow- on sale at Target. My 642 locks up from heat due to extented use. Heatsinking has helped. Was wondering if 5960 had similar problems.
Jim001 is offline  
post #401 of 409 Old 12-15-2007, 06:04 PM
Member
 
rrr925's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello, guys! do you think it's worthwhile to buy the 3960 for its upconverting performance while i save up to buy the ps3?
rrr925 is offline  
post #402 of 409 Old 01-10-2008, 03:44 PM
Member
 
ras1325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Old thread but worth a shot. Reading through there seemed to be a lot of similar problems, but I still can't get it to work. I have the 5960 connected to my H/K AVR247 with HDMI. I can't get any Dolby Digital signal. I upgraded to the latest firmware and still nothing. If I change the Digital Audio Setup to "All" I get no sound, and if it's PCM only I get 2-channel sound. Not sure what's happening here, maybe someone can help?
ras1325 is offline  
post #403 of 409 Old 05-25-2008, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Shabba Doo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theone001 View Post

Hi,

What is HDMI version of Philips DVP5960/37?

(I updated to the latest firmware)

-Frank

Sorry to revive a dying thread but I'd like to know as well. My 5960 won't deliver audio (video is fine) via hdmi. Would it be b/c its not 1.3? Please advise.
Shabba Doo is offline  
post #404 of 409 Old 05-26-2008, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Vagabond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

You must set Digital Output to "PCM Only". You will only get 2 ch output I believe. The 5960 doesn't output raw digital through HDMI.

Cheers

It's not magic. It's science.
Vagabond is offline  
post #405 of 409 Old 05-26-2008, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
Shabba Doo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagabond View Post

Hi

You must set Digital Output to "PCM Only". You will only get 2 ch output I believe. The 5960 doesn't output raw digital through HDMI.

Cheers

Thanks, Vagabond. I was thinking of upgrading to a 5990 to get the audio-capable 1.3 HDMI but I'll put it off to see if I can live with this. I might just decide to get a speaker set-up instead.
Shabba Doo is offline  
post #406 of 409 Old 06-15-2009, 07:58 PM
Member
 
jon3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nevermind, receiver problem
jon3k is offline  
post #407 of 409 Old 01-29-2011, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Lyndy46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Old thread, a few questions.
Can anyone provide a link to the best/or last firmware upgrade for this player?

And...I can't seem to get it to recognize my WD Passport 250 on the USB.
I think it did the last time I used it. One year ago...

Planning on using it as my "junker" to read standard dvd's.
Running it into my Pioneer 1120, though I don't how many inputs I will have with two blu ray players, hd dvd player, and a Pioneer dvd player for the SACD and DVD-A...whew...
Thanks in advance...
Lyndon
Lyndy46 is offline  
post #408 of 409 Old 01-30-2011, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
dbsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyndy46 View Post

Old thread, a few questions.
Can anyone provide a link to the best/or last firmware upgrade for this player?

I'm using DVP5960_37_vboroda_1252_v6.24_pb.zip google it - mind the versions, make sure you match it correctly to your actual hardware. It also works on the 3960/37 (non-USB version of the 5960) if you have one of those.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyndy46 View Post

And...I can't seem to get it to recognize my WD Passport 250 on the USB.
I think it did the last time I used it. One year ago...

I've only had flash drives work, up to 8GB (because it's the largest I have). Portable hard drives fail for me, but I don't have any that have external power supplies so that might work.

I stole your sig.
dbsc is offline  
post #409 of 409 Old 01-30-2011, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Lyndy46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, dbsc
I'll work on that tonight!
Lyndy46 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off