Oppo Digital DV-970HD FAQ / Brain dump - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As Neuromancer has touched on, HDCP and CCS are separate issues. Any HDMI output or input requires HDCP (the "handshake" between source and display that makes sure the digital signal isn't being manipulated without permission). DVI doesn't require HDCP, although it was used fairly often. If the source is HDCP-compliant (such as any HDMI player), then the display has to also be HDCP-compliant. If the source isn't HDCP compliant (such as a Oppo 971, which has a DVI output without HDCP), it doesn't matter whether the display is HDCP compliant or not. If the source is component video, HDCP is irrelevent entirely because you are no longer dealing with a digital signal.

gonk
Beta tester: BDP-83 / BDP-80
gonk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shane55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok... we're getting real close.

I've got a Panny 50" 8UK.
There has been talk earlier in the thread about this unit not being as good as the 971H for 'larger' screens.

What's the general concensus about matching this 970HD with my 50" 8UK?

shane

"Yes Eve... I like to watch." - Chauncey Gardener.

My HT Setup:
http://www.fototime.com/A0E2793180FB3D0/orig.jpg
shane55 is offline  
post #723 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golddbz2000 View Post

I do have a HDCP compliant display. Does this mean i can play a Non CSS (or CSS for that matter) on my oppo in 720p going through HDMI to my compliant HDCP tv?

sorry, I am newbish to this

We were both typing at the same time, apparently. With the HDCP connection (HDMI out of the 970 to the HDMI or DVI-HDCP of your display), you can play back any DVD (CSS or not) at 720p or 1080i.

gonk
Beta tester: BDP-83 / BDP-80
gonk is offline  
post #724 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 01:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by golddbz2000 View Post

I do have a HDCP compliant display. Does this mean i can play a Non CSS (or CSS for that matter) on my oppo in 720p going through HDMI to my compliant HDCP tv?

Yes. If you have a HDCP compliant display, there is no restriction on the resolution when using the HDMI output, regardless of CSS and non-CSS encryption.
Neuromancer is online now  
post #725 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 01:46 PM
Member
 
golddbz2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: auburn, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was worried I wouldn't get to experience really good HD from this player to my tv until you guys cleared it up for me. thanks guys...I'm still trying to figure all this Audiophile/Videophile stuff out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonk View Post

We were both typing at the same time, apparently. With the HDCP connection (HDMI out of the 970 to the HDMI or DVI-HDCP of your display), you can play back any DVD (CSS or not) at 720p or 1080i.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Yes. If you have a HDCP compliant display, there is no restriction on the resolution when using the HDMI output, regardless of CSS and non-CSS encryption.

golddbz2000 is offline  
post #726 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane55 View Post

There has been talk earlier in the thread about this unit not being as good as the 971H for 'larger' screens.

What's the general concensus about matching this 970HD with my 50" 8UK?

shane

Shouldn't be a problem. To me, the "larger screen" issue is really for front projectors where you've got an 80" or larger screen. I'm using a 970HD with a 55" RPTV and it looks great, whereas the 971H matches perfectly with my projector on a 92" screen.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #727 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 04:37 PM
DAB
AVS Special Member
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SF CA
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A suggestion: Place some weight on top of the DVD Player. It will help stabilize the players a little and place some vibration pads underneath also. It is a very lightweight player vibration might cause some jittering. I have a marble tile on top of mine.
db
DAB is offline  
post #728 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane55 View Post

Ok... we're getting real close.

I've got a Panny 50" 8UK.
There has been talk earlier in the thread about this unit not being as good as the 971H for 'larger' screens.

What's the general concensus about matching this 970HD with my 50" 8UK?

shane

You might want to check with the folks on the Panny plasma thread. I believe there's an issue with 480i HDMI into the 8UK's, but I could be wrong. No problem with 480p and above, however.

/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #729 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
howe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSRC View Post

Sounds like it's not the firmware. I'm using a remote that's also using the discrete on/off commands and tried eject both on the remote and the player.

In my experience I was using the power ON/OFF button on the remote with non-beta firmware. Locked up Big Time. They have to address this issue as its so basic. Otherwise there will be a lot of returned units and warranty repairs. Even if it only happens once in a while, once will be enough for many people. That kind of thing makes a consumer distrust the integrity of the unit and wonder what will be next?
howe is offline  
post #730 of 6316 Old 06-16-2006, 10:06 PM
Member
 
bk_856er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 970HD also locked up big time - powered off with a disc in and later tried to turn the unit on with remote/front panel. Had to pull the power cord to recover. Not good.

BK
bk_856er is offline  
post #731 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shane55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve L View Post

You might want to check with the folks on the Panny plasma thread. I believe there's an issue with 480i HDMI into the 8UK's, but I could be wrong. No problem with 480p and above, however.

/steve

Correct Steve.
The 8UK will not accept a 480i signal via HDMI. I think it will through component, but I'm not sure that's an advantage.

shane

"Yes Eve... I like to watch." - Chauncey Gardener.

My HT Setup:
http://www.fototime.com/A0E2793180FB3D0/orig.jpg
shane55 is offline  
post #732 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane55 View Post

Correct Steve.
The 8UK will not accept a 480i signal via HDMI. I think it will through component, but I'm not sure that's an advantage.

Given the known potential for macroblocking with the Faroudja-based 971H and Panny displays, you might want to compare the 720P performance of the 970HD and something like the Sony NS75H into your 8UK.

My guess is the Oppo advice regarding screen size becomes less important as viewing distance increases. If you're sitting 10' or more away, you'll probably be fine with the 970HD, based on the user experiences I've read here.

/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #733 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Cole5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have now been able to watch a few movies on my Pio 930HD with 970 set up and would gladly recommend this player to anyone considering feeding it to your display. It is a GIANT improvement in PQ over my old Sony. Currently using 480i HDMI hopefully will try out some of the other settings soon for comparison.

No lock up issues here...yet
Cole5 is offline  
post #734 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane55 View Post

Correct Steve.
The 8UK will not accept a 480i signal via HDMI. I think it will through component, but I'm not sure that's an advantage.

Hate to disagree with my earlier post , but was just thinking that I don't recall hearing from anyone yet in this thread who has A/B'd 480i HDMI vs. component from the 970HD into their high-end external scalers.

You never know, 480i component from this player into your 8UK might just result in a very pleasing picture.

/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #735 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have finally settled on what appears to be the best settings for my setup. I have the Oppo set to 1080i with a YCbCr 4:4:4 color space.

I now really wish my HP LCD would input 480i over HDMI because that would have been more ideal in getting in to display at 720p correctly. When I select 720p output on the Oppo, the picture doesn't look as good as if the HP LCD is doing something additionally to the progressive signal. 1080i looks awesome! Of course this introduces another step: 480i > 1080i > 720p. Maybe with HDMI it doesn't matter as much or maybe the Oppo and HP LCD are both doing their parts well, I don't really know. The aliasing I mentioned in earlier posts is completely gone now and confirms that the HP LCD was doing something extra to the Oppos's 720p HDMI output. 720p from my Xbox 360 looks fine on the display though (component video of course).
Wesley Hester is offline  
post #736 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesley Hester View Post

I have finally settled on what appears to be the best settings for my setup. I have the Oppo set to 1080i with a YCbCr 4:4:4 color space.

I now really wish my HP LCD would input 480i over HDMI because that would have been more ideal in getting in to display at 720p correctly. When I select 720p output on the Oppo, the picture doesn't look as good as if the HP LCD is doing something additionally to the progressive signal. 1080i looks awesome! Of course this introduces another step: 480i > 1080i > 720p. Maybe with HDMI it doesn't matter as much or maybe the Oppo and HP LCD are both doing their parts well, I don't really know. The aliasing I mentioned in earlier posts is completely gone now and confirms that the HP LCD was doing something extra to the Oppos's 720p HDMI output. 720p from my Xbox 360 looks fine on the display though (component video of course).

I'm curious if you tried 480i component from the 970HD. If so, how does it look compared to 1080 HDMI? Not sure if the scaler in your HP is better than the Mediatek scaler in the Oppo, but it would save you from the extra resolution conversion, so if not better, it may at least be a "wash" and may also allow you to take advantage of add'l HP zoom options.

/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #737 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
saunak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem:

Can anyone else confirm that they have this problem described below?

Play a SACD disc. Hit the Skip (forward or backward) button. Does the player then play the next song (or go the beginning of the current song)?

Mine is NOT doing it. I don't have any DVD-A discs, so couldn't test it, but for other discs (CD, DVD), it works fine. I have tried it with various SACD discs - SACD (stereo only), SACD (multi-ch), SACD hybrid. All - same result.

THIS IS VERY ANNOYING - can't move to the song I want to hear!!!!!!

Want to see if this is a problem with my player only or if it is a general problem...
Will take it up with Oppo on Monday...

Initial impression (very quick tests done last night):

Comparison done with:

Philips 963SA (CD upsampling to 192Hz, SACD and DVD component out)
pre-pro: Sherwood Necastle AVP9080R
amp: Carver AV-505 (80x5)
speakers: PSB Image series with Onix X-sub
TV: Sony KDF-E42A10

SACD playback: Getz/Gilberto and Dire Straits (Money for Nothing)
CD playback - Miles Davis (Kind of Blue)
DVD: several scenes from Finding Nemo

SACD/CD (analog out) playback - Philips better
Cd playback: Philips better
CD playback using pre-pro DAC; couldn't tell any difference between the two players. BTW, the pre-pro must have very good DACs as the CD sound using digital outs is much better/tighter.

DVD playback:
Oppo tested on HDMI only:
480i: good
480p: very good
720p: very good
1080i: very good

Video quality is MUCH better than that of the Philips 963SA. My TV must have a very good internal scaler as I couldn't tell much difference between 480p and 720p. But the player definitely has a better de-interlacer than my TV.

I am not sure what DAC the Oppo 970h is using, but it's just OK, not great (at this price point, I don't think we can ask for a "great" DAC).

So, for someone like Gonk - I don't think you should replace your Yammy 1500 yet. Stick with what you have for and then do digital HDMI out for SACD/DVD-A when you get your Outlaw 990 ver.2 (late 2007???)!!!!

This was a shot, quick "First Impression". Will post more later if I can find time... Thanks for reading - if someone could do the SACD fast-forward and post the result, I would really appreciate it.

SB
saunak1 is offline  
post #738 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback, saunak1 - it's definitely useful. Hopefully you can get some confirmation on the SACD fast-forward issue, and if necessary I have no doubt that OPPO will get firmware out to fix it. For now, I'll probably sit tight (my 971 works so well with my CRT that the video side needs no changes). I've heard some tidbits about a planned successor to the 971 (something with Faroudja as well as DVD-A/SACD) - might compare it "head to head" with the 1500 and see what I think.

gonk
Beta tester: BDP-83 / BDP-80
gonk is offline  
post #739 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saunak1 View Post

Play a SACD disc. Hit the Skip (forward or backward) button. Does the player then play the next song (or go the beginning of the current song)?

Won't have my player until Monday, so I can't try to duplicate your problem. I assume, though, you've tried double-clicking Skip Forward (or Back) to see if the second click will move you into the next selection?

Also, in case you missed, the manual says you should be able to go directly to a track by hitting it's # on the remote keypad:

"Press the NUMBER buttons 1-9 to directly select the corresponding chapter/track if the chapter/track number is below 10. For example, to select the seventh track, press the [7] button.

Press the +10 button and then the NUMBER buttons 0-9 to directly select the corresponding chapter/track if the chapter/track number is above 10 (including 10).
For example, to select the 16th track, press [+10] followed by [6]:
To select the 25th track, press [+10] twice followed by [5]."


/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #740 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 12:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
With SACD pressing Skip Back should bring you back to the previous track (not the beginning of the track) and pressing Forward should bring you to the next track. I don't own any SACD discs (I barrowed a couple for beta testing), so I can't confirm this at the moment.
Neuromancer is online now  
post #741 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 12:35 PM
DAB
AVS Special Member
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SF CA
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just played Dark side of the Moon. - very loud . New disk....
My issue
the music --STOPS- for a second-- then starts to play again. about every other song. This doesn't happen on my dedicated SACDplayer. I'll play some other SACD's see whats up
eq - 970 >6 cable>denon 3803 {110 watts per chanel} good level PSB silveri- speakers {can go to 200 watts per ch.}-5.1 system speaker set to small.
LPCM- Rate-- 192K
db
DAB is offline  
post #742 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSRC View Post

For those using URC PC-programmable remotes (MX-700 and up), I've attached an MXF file with the 970HD commands (including discrete On/Off). This can be used with the Universal Browser to drag in any or all commands.

Any ideas on how I can "learn" the discrete on/off signals if I don't have an MX-700? I actually use a URC-100. Thx.

/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #743 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve L View Post

Any ideas on how I can "learn" the discrete on/off signals if I don't have an MX-700? I actually use a URC-100. Thx.

/steve

If you have JP1-capable remote (UEI, OneForAll, some Radio Shack) or Philips Pronto, you can try these:
http://www.oppodigital.com/dv970hd/dv970hd_faq.html#A5
sfhub is offline  
post #744 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post

If you have JP1-capable remote (UEI, OneForAll, some Radio Shack) or Philips Pronto, you can try these:
http://www.oppodigital.com/dv970hd/dv970hd_faq.html#A5

Many thanks for the pointer! I don't believe my URC is JP1-capable, but I have a friend with a Pronto I can "learn" from.

/steve
Steve L is offline  
post #745 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
BRADWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Honolulu HI
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVDs Get Sharper Focus In New Players for HDTV

By Daniel Greenberg
Special to The Washington Post
Sunday, June 18, 2006; F07

Do your DVDs lose their luster on your shiny new HDTV? It's a common problem, but there is a solution.

Certain new DVD players can "upconvert" regular discs to near-high-definition quality. That can be an effective, low-cost way for HDTV owners to get great resolution while sitting out the format war over which type of high-definition DVD technology will prevail -- Blu-Ray or HD DVD.

Movie discs that look great on standard-definition TV sets can look grainy or blurry on the big-screen because their 480 lines of resolution get stretched to fill 720 or 1,080 lines on HDTV.

Video enthusiasts often spend more than $1,000 on digital-signal processors to improve their DVD picture quality on the big screen. Fortunately, a lot of this technology has made its way into lower-cost DVD players.

Many of the big companies make players that can upconvert, such as Sony, Pioneer and Samsung. We tested one of the least expensive, the new upconverting DVD player from Oppo, the DV-970HD ($150, http://www.oppodigital.com/ ). Its picture quality on HDTV screens looked substantially better than any conventional DVD player we tested. On the big screen, its images were sharp and crisp instead of fuzzy and blocky. Details were clearer, and colors were more true to life.

The player smoothed out the "stair-step" effect along high-contrast edges. Fine details such as hairs looked like hairs and not strings of square beads. Some of our HDTV test viewers reported that what looked like bad makeup on actors showed up as seamlessly clean facial detail when viewed on the Oppo. The conventional DVD player smeared color gradations into a single mass, but the Oppo clearly revealed multiple shades, resulting in images that appeared sharper and more detailed.

Surprisingly, DVD movies on the Oppo looked good even when compared with the same movie recorded from high-definition satellite television. In direct comparisons, our testers could usually pick out the high-definition version but sometimes needed a second look.

All DVDs showed significant improvement, but the ones that looked most like their HD counterparts were DVDs released in Sony's high-quality Superbit format (like some versions of "Closer" and "Spider-Man") and movies that were originally filmed in a digital format (like "Star Wars: Episode III" or "The Incredibles").

The Oppo plays a variety of disc formats beyond DVD, including SACD, DVD-Audio, DivX, Xvid and WMA. This allows users to enjoy standard definition home movies and downloaded video in all their upconverted glory. It works with recordable DVDs, certain kinds of USB hard drives and several varieties of memory cards. It can also handle digital photos and music and offers surround sound digital audio output.

To get the full effect of upconversion, you need an HDMI input port on your HDTV (or a DVI port, with the purchase of a special DVI-to-HDMI cable). Unfortunately, that leaves out the millions of viewers whose HDTVs only have component video inputs (the red, green and blue plugs).

This limitation is ironic, since component cables are perfectly capable of carrying an upconverted signal. However, the movie industry requires that manufacturers cripple their component video ports because they don't support new copy protection schemes.

Fortunately for consumers, sites like http://www.videohelp.com/ catalogue simple remote control code sequences that restore HD upconversion to many brands of DVD players that have component output. Many consumers already own upconversion-capable DVD players but don't even know it.

The players also could be a way to avoid fallout from a new high-definition copy protection scheme (Image Constraint Token) that has the potential to degrade the high-definition output of all but the latest-model HDTVs. At that point, today's DVD players that upconvert a standard DVD may actually deliver better picture quality than their high-definition counterparts.
BRADWhite is offline  
post #746 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 03:00 PM
 
carpanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I live in Spain and I want to buy an DV-970HD
Where I can to buy it in Europe?
Thanks in advance.
carpanta is offline  
post #747 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 03:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
no e-tailers in Europe are currently selling the DV-970HD.
Neuromancer is online now  
post #748 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 05:21 PM
Member
 
badsatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Portugal and I've ordered it directly from OPPO. It will be 59USD for ports. As for electrical compatibility, the unit is already prepared to 230v@50hz so no problem there. Regarding the plug, Neuromancer previously said it is a detachable cord, so it may be swapped for one with schucko plugs.

I ordered mine on 1st June and it arrived to Portugal in just four days, but since then it has been stopped at customs! Just my luck!!!! And I expect to pay further 90 for "custom rights". So in the end, I'll be spending about the double of the unit price, but I think it's worth it. Your mileage may vary, however.
badsatan is offline  
post #749 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve L View Post

I'm curious if you tried 480i component from the 970HD. If so, how does it look compared to 1080 HDMI? Not sure if the scaler in your HP is better than the Mediatek scaler in the Oppo, but it would save you from the extra resolution conversion, so if not better, it may at least be a "wash" and may also allow you to take advantage of add'l HP zoom options.

/steve


My particular TV, the HP LC2600N doesn't accept 480i over HDMI. I learned this early on when I was configuring a HD satellite receiver to it.
Wesley Hester is offline  
post #750 of 6316 Old 06-17-2006, 10:23 PM
Newbie
 
saunak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Steve L:

1. Single or double clicking of SKIP does not work with SACD (works as it should with CDs).
2. Pressing a # and directly going to a song does not work with SACD (works with CDs).

Also, see below - reply to DAB, doing this on the CD layer of a SACD Hybrid disc works as expected... Let us know your experience on Monday...

Neuromancer:

Pressing SKIP BACK on SACDs does NOTHING. On CDs, it takes you to the beginning of the track. Pressing twice ("double-clicking") takes you to the previous track (963SA does the same thing on both CDs and SACDs). What is interesting is that if you are on Song #2, triple-clicking takes you to STOP (and double-clicking takes you to the start of Song#1,as expected).

DAB:

Played DSOTM (I have the hybrid SACD) just now. Didn't notice your issue. Can you tell me EXACTLY (mins and secs) when it is happening - I can test again. LPCM - 192k setting should not matter for analog out SACD/DVD-A.

Interesting observation - went to the Oppo setup - set "SACD Priority" to CD Mode - Inserted the Dark Side... Hybrid SACD - SKIP button works fine for the CD Layer!!!!! So... it looks like a problem that needs to be fixed. Oppo is a great company - I have no doubt that Oppo will take care of this problem soon (this unit or all units)...

Some more observations:

1. Quite flimsy construction, no "round feet" (note to self - remember the price), etc..
2. Not enough space on display to show mode (if Hybrid SACD, playing the Stereo, MCH or CD), and name of song, etc.
3. Neuromancer has said that Bass Mgmt xover is set at 100Hz. Perhaps, 60-140 range could be added in a future update (still one global setting).

Which brings me to another point - why is this $50 pricing increment so important. I would be delighted to pay $175 for this unit with a more "solid"/bigger body and a bigger display. Sometimes, companies make weird compromises when they try to achieve certain price points (Gonk will attest to that - he and others have had some wonderful exchanges regarding the Emotiva LMC-1!!!).

I may have access to a loaner Cambridge Audio DVD89 in the next couple of weeks (it is a Oppo 970h clone, without 480i thru HDMI, Mp3 playback (possible with a hack), and some other stuff, but with an additonal DVI and SCART port). That player feels solid (as it should for an additonal $150+). I want to do an "audio quality" comparison... I have read that CA made some changes - let's see if I can "hear" the difference.

SB

SB
saunak1 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off