Purple flicker with Samsung DVD-HD860 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 79 Old 12-01-2006, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffng65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have purple flicker?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a Samsung DVD-HD860 hooked up via HDMI cable to a Samsung 4695 LCD TV. All is fine when the player is set to 480p and upconversion to 720p. However, when switched to 1080i upconversion, the screen flickers nonstop in a purple color. Even if a disk isn't in the player and just the Samsung "screensaver" is up the same thing happens. I took the player to BB and hooked it up to their 4695 using my same HDMI cable and it worked fine. Called Samsung and they don't know. Anybody have any ideas?

Thanks.
jeffng65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 79 Old 12-01-2006, 03:17 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wondering the same thing, i just got mine hooked up and it does the same. You said you tried it at best buy and it worked fine? that is so odd

have you come to any sort of solution? have you tried another player? I may go out and pick up another brand of upconvert player and try to see if its my tv
ZippZopp is offline  
post #3 of 79 Old 12-02-2006, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffng65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippZopp View Post

wondering the same thing, i just got mine hooked up and it does the same. You said you tried it at best buy and it worked fine? that is so odd

have you come to any sort of solution? have you tried another player? I may go out and pick up another brand of upconvert player and try to see if its my tv


I haven't tried another player but let me know if you find out anything. I figure it is a new Samsung TV and Samsung DVD player so they definitely should work together and if there is a problem I want to get it fixed.

Samsung is sending a tech to look at my TV next Friday. I'll let you know what happens.
jeffng65 is offline  
post #4 of 79 Old 12-02-2006, 10:27 AM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
awesome, thanks. I may run out today to best buy and talk to them about it and I might even pick up a different DVD player to try out, I'll keep you posted and hopefully we can sort this out
ZippZopp is offline  
post #5 of 79 Old 12-02-2006, 10:26 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I went and returned my samsung player for a toshiba upconvert player and the toshiba does the same thing on 1080i which leads me to believe it is some issue with the TV, perhaps a firmware thing.
ZippZopp is offline  
post #6 of 79 Old 12-06-2006, 02:48 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the toshiba player i tried didn't work. I did get the Phillips and Sony players to work at 1080i on my tv with no issues
ZippZopp is offline  
post #7 of 79 Old 12-10-2006, 09:49 PM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get the same error. I also have the 4695 Samsung TV, but I have a LG DN191H. I took my player to best buy and it worked fine. I purchased another HDMI cable thinking it was that. Not sure I like the solution for just getting another player since these items are popular. I think something has to be wrong with the TV.

Can you please provide me with the models that worked for you so I can at least try.

Thanks!
Dino
dino_navarro is offline  
post #8 of 79 Old 12-10-2006, 10:59 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yeah, I tried the Samsung player, and a toshiba player and neither worked. the ones that did work for me were the Sony NS75H and the Phillips 5960
ZippZopp is offline  
post #9 of 79 Old 12-11-2006, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm very curious what the samsung tech told jeffng65. I'm going to go to BB and try LG player on their samsung just like mine since I initially tested on another model. If it works, I'm getting a new TV. If it doesn't, then I will settle for another player like the Philips.
dino_navarro is offline  
post #10 of 79 Old 12-11-2006, 09:51 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yeah, did the tech guy come out and look at your issue? what did he say?
ZippZopp is offline  
post #11 of 79 Old 12-11-2006, 10:49 PM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had BB try an LG DVD player with the same TV I have and it worked! I have already returned my TV and should be getting a new one in a couple of days since they had to order.
dino_navarro is offline  
post #12 of 79 Old 12-12-2006, 12:16 AM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
let me know what happens with the new TV. another forum member had the same issue, got a new tv and still had the problem. my conclusion was that it has to be some sort of firmware issue on the new TVs
ZippZopp is offline  
post #13 of 79 Old 12-12-2006, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffng65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the tech had to reschedule for this Thursday. I'll post the outcome on Thursday.
jeffng65 is offline  
post #14 of 79 Old 12-12-2006, 09:56 PM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should get my new TV on Wednesday I will also let you know.
My father-in-law also bought this same TV. Plugged into onkyo DVD player and EXACTLY same thing. This prompted me to make a trip to BB. I hooked up a Samsung 4095 (40" since they didn't have 46" on display) with my LG DVD player and it worked. I have asked several folks at different BB and Frys about this problem and no one has a clue. A samsung rep is supposed to call me within 3 days. Also by then I will know if my new TV works.
dino_navarro is offline  
post #15 of 79 Old 12-13-2006, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tested the new TV and i still have the flicker. Tested with componet video and works fine. May try the philips dvd player
dino_navarro is offline  
post #16 of 79 Old 12-13-2006, 12:31 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yeah, i'm convinced its a firmware thing. several others have tried new TVs and they get the same issue. maybe HDMI is just buggy
ZippZopp is offline  
post #17 of 79 Old 12-13-2006, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffng65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Samsung tech came to look at the TV today. He never saw the problem before but replaced the main board. The purple flicker was still there. He called a Samsung engineer in NJ and they said they never heard of it either. They were trying to say it was the DVD player but we know it isn't. They are supposed to "investigate" and get back to me. I don't have much confidence that they come up with a solution.

I would have to agree with you that it is a firmware issue and I guess my new board has the bad firmware. Just curious but what version is your 4695. Mine is SP01.
jeffng65 is offline  
post #18 of 79 Old 12-13-2006, 08:45 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
where do i find that out?

wow, thats crazy the samsung people had never seen it. please do keep us posted on what they say if they ever do get back to you
ZippZopp is offline  
post #19 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You want to hear something even more crazy. I took my player to BB and hooked up to their 4695 that was hooked up with a BlueRay. It did not flicker with my LG! The only difference is they had a high-end Monster cable (I think Monster 1000 gray) and they leave their TVs on all day.

I ended up getting another LG and it did the same thing. Sure I can go and get a Philips DVD, but I think this is a problem Samsung/BB needs to fix. Don't want to take back TV because I got a heck of a deal and too far into project at home.
dino_navarro is offline  
post #20 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffng65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippZopp View Post

where do i find that out?

wow, thats crazy the samsung people had never seen it. please do keep us posted on what they say if they ever do get back to you


The version is below the serial and model # on the sticker placed on the button side of the TV.
jeffng65 is offline  
post #21 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is also SP01
dino_navarro is offline  
post #22 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 11:07 AM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i'll check my TV tonight, but i'm guessing it is a SP01. maybe i'm being skeptical, but i doubt the flicker is caused by the cable, but maybe I'm wrong. I couldn't really justify spending 150 bucks on an HDMI cable when I can get them for less than 20 each off monoprice.
ZippZopp is offline  
post #23 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffng65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried two monoprice HDMI cables but it isn't the cables. My monoprice cable worked fine at BB when I tried it with their 4695.

The tech is now coming back out on Monday to do some adjustments in the service menu. If by some chance it works, I'll try to get the steps and pass them on to you two.
jeffng65 is offline  
post #24 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
new news. i hooked up my new onkyo reciver and everything works at 1080i! I still want to persue fixing this problem though. Please keep me posted. BB has also escalated issue to samsung and they are supposed to be calling me.

This also worked for my father-in-law's tv. He was also having the exact same problem. He got a different onkyo receiver wit an onkyo player and it works.
dino_navarro is offline  
post #25 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 09:00 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so you're running the samsung 860 dvd player with an onkyo receiver? you're running HDMI into the receiver and then running the video from the receiver to the TV?

i had my HDMI from the 860 plugged directly to the TV and it was giving flicker. my friend just bought the samsung 960 dvd player that does 1080p so we're gonna try that tonight on the TV to see what that does. i'll write back later on with the results of that along with my TV #
ZippZopp is offline  
post #26 of 79 Old 12-14-2006, 11:00 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I do have the SP01 TV as well

my friend got his Samsung 960 upconvert player this evening, plugged it in and it works fine. No flicker on 1080p. we're going to compare the picture quality between the 960 and my sony NS75H this weekend
ZippZopp is offline  
post #27 of 79 Old 12-15-2006, 07:19 AM
Newbie
 
dino_navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually have a cheap LG they have a BB for something like $80 hooked up to the Onkyo. I didn't like the Samsung 860 because it doesn't play divix and I heard it was picky playing DVD+R. Interested to hear how things go with the 960 so please keep me posted. I think it has everything I need, but it's $100 more and I couldn't see why.

Feel better that my new config works, but I don't think this is good enough.
dino_navarro is offline  
post #28 of 79 Old 12-15-2006, 08:59 AM
Member
 
tcwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had same issue with Zenith player and no issue with the Philips.

On my philips, it will show a purple screen or flicker for the initial 1 second and back to normal. do you get the same issue or the other players? Thanks.

I wonder if I will get the same issue or not on a PS3. That's what I'm getting next.
tcwong is offline  
post #29 of 79 Old 12-15-2006, 10:41 AM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i'll probably try the PS3 out this weekend on the TV....my friend should be bringing his over..i'll let you guys know
ZippZopp is offline  
post #30 of 79 Old 12-15-2006, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
jstwannaknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same issue here with my 4695D and the HD860. Wish I had read these forums first. Any fix as of yet?
jstwannaknow is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off