OPPO Digital DV-970HD: up-conversion patch - Page 13 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 370 Old 12-06-2008, 09:10 PM
GSB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vudude101 View Post

They told me it's the cable but the cable works with my PS3 fine.

It is not unusual for a cable to work fine with one piece of equipment, but not another.

For troubleshooting, use a short cable, connected directly to the display. Another thing... is your display HDCP (copy protection) compliant? If not, the HDMI connection fails, and the player retries the HDMI handshake every few seconds.

Gary
GSB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 370 Old 07-25-2009, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

You can hack HDCP; you can't hack CSS-encryption removal (ie. component based upconversion).

Has there been any patches or hacks released for the DV-980H or more importantly DV-983H that allow for CSS-encryption removal (ie. component video scaling to 720p/1080i) since the last posts in this thread? It would seem if HDCP can be removed in the 983, there must be some way of removing the CSS-encryption. Any thoughts or leads?
TommyV is offline  
post #363 of 370 Old 07-25-2009, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavierS View Post

Neuromancer was right, the patcher also works with 983 firmware.
I used V 1.3 of the tool and applied the hack on firmware V 430 and tested on a non HDCP PC monitor and also with a VP50 inputting on a HDMI port and outputting analog component. The VP50 blocks analog out if HDCP is detected meaning there was no HDCP whatsoever.
Cheers.

Where do I find V 1.3 of the tool? The link in the OP of this thread gives me a file labeled V 1.2.
TommyV is offline  
 
post #364 of 370 Old 07-30-2009, 11:45 AM
Member
 
VulcanSoulPatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyV View Post

Where do I find V 1.3 of the tool? The link in the OP of this thread gives me a file labeled V 1.2.

I came to this thread looking for a place to post an issue I'm having with my 970HD, and your question intrigued me... looking into it, I think it may have been a typo by the OP... I think he meant v1.2, because I could not find a v1.3 hack.

Thoughts are thinking; Thunk from knowing
nwod gniog em peek reverof sthguohT
VulcanSoulPatch is offline  
post #365 of 370 Old 09-23-2016, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
Mejnour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
Use Nero Burning Rom. Rename the BIN to "983.BIN" and drop the BIN file into the compilation window. Ensure that under the ISO tab you have selected Data Mode "Mode 1" and File System "ISO 9660 ONLY". When you click on Burn ensure that you use a low write speed and a Write Method of "Disc At Once".
Hello,

I know it's a old thread.

Is there a valid link for the 970.exe patch?

So far cannot find any way to download it!

Thanks
Mejnour is offline  
post #366 of 370 Old 10-05-2017, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Seriously though, did nobody save the 970FMT patch program? The link is dead and google is not my friend. It seems that everyone linked to the box.net account.



Anyone??

Thanks in advance.
jpb7875 is offline  
post #367 of 370 Old 10-08-2017, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
working up-conversion patch link

So, nobody wants to reply to a 10 year thread? I'm insulted.

Actually, that's exactly what I expected.

I never found the patch 970FMT program, but I did find a patched rom which did work. Maybe this will help somebody some day.

groups.yahoo.com
/neo/groups/mt13x9_files/files

FYI my DV-970HD HDMI output simply would not handshake. Multiple cables, multiple devices, through switches and all resolutions. It will show the Oppo logo briefly, play through analog, but the HDMI goes to snow after 3 seconds if this patch is not applied.
jpb7875 is offline  
post #368 of 370 Old 10-15-2017, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
George-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cool OPPO Digital DV-970HD: up-conversion patch - gone

First try this other Forum to see if the up-conversion patch you seek is still there (probably not though):

https://www.highdefforum.com/sd-dvd-...-firmware.html

Also read the detailed patching procedures found here:

OPPO Digital DV-970HD: up-conversion patch

And also here:

https://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/oppo-dv-970hd/7223

Recommend you ensure you are first updated to the official latest 4A-0111 patch still available at Oppo's site "prior" to applying the modified up-conversion patch.

The actual patch at most all of the past links has been yanked after 10 years for various reasons.

Send me a Private Message and I'll explain more.

Last edited by George-O; 10-15-2017 at 03:44 PM. Reason: grammer again
George-O is offline  
post #369 of 370 Old 10-18-2017, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpb7875 View Post
Seriously though, did nobody save the 970FMT patch program? The link is dead and google is not my friend. It seems that everyone linked to the box.net account.
Sorry for the slow response, I kept forgetting to check my files. I still have the 970FMT program. I also have firmware version 0209 which doesn't appear to be on the Oppo site anymore. I uploaded both here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/70ayl3hyw...s1_FU_FLa?dl=0
George-O and EchoTony like this.
spocko is offline  
post #370 of 370 Old 10-20-2017, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
EchoTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spocko View Post
Sorry for the slow response, I kept forgetting to check my files. I still have the 970FMT program. I also have firmware version 0209 which doesn't appear to be on the Oppo site anymore. I uploaded both here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/70ayl3hyw...s1_FU_FLa?dl=0

Have to love the inter-webs. Thanks for posting that. I'm sure someone will be grateful.

Sadly our 970 gave up the ghost about a year ago. It was a workhorse for 10 years and feel we got every dime out of the refurbished unit we bought. Add in it being region free and did a nice job up-scaling (for its day) and this was one of our best tech purchases of all time.
EchoTony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off