Can I connect DVD player to LCD monitor? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-27-2007, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you can connect a regular DVD player to a LCD monitor (not LCD TV, but the one you use with your PC). Is there any special DVD player can do that? I don't watch TV, just DVD movies. So if there is an such special DVD player, I'll be interested in it.

Thanks,

Tom
TomX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-27-2007, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
UWisconsin97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What inputs do you have? Because I have HDMI inputs on my 23" monitor...
UWisconsin97 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-27-2007, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is Dell 1907FP. I don't think it has HDMI, but it has DVI. Does it help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UWisconsin97 View Post

What inputs do you have? Because I have HDMI inputs on my 23" monitor...

TomX is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-27-2007, 02:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
You can get a DVI/HDMI cable if the DVD player outputs using HDMI. I'm not 100% certain it will work, as I'm not as familiar with LCD monitors, but I don't offhand know a reason why it wouldn't. You would have to have an A/V receiver or some such to handle the audio, though.

There is a special DVD player that can be used with a computer monitor. It's called a computer with a DVD drive. (But I'm assuming you don't have one available, hence the question.)

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-27-2007, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
louthewiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn U.S.A.
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You must be sure that the monitor is hdcp compliant to display any picture if you are going to use a dvi to hdmi adaptor,
if not then you will need a transcoder.

De-interlacing explained:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Rainbow effect? :

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Lou
louthewiz is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-27-2007, 02:51 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomX View Post

I don't think you can connect a regular DVD player to a LCD monitor (not LCD TV, but the one you use with your PC). Is there any special DVD player can do that? I don't watch TV, just DVD movies. So if there is an such special DVD player, I'll be interested in it.

Thanks,

Tom

I've done it with the Oppo 971, which has DVI without HDCP. The aspect ratio wasn't quite right,as my monitor, a little Viewsonic, doesn't expect 4:3 or 16:9 images.

There is a patch for disabling HDCP on the Oppo 970 and 981 HDMI: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=832356

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-28-2007, 04:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
dr0s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomX View Post

I don't think you can connect a regular DVD player to a LCD monitor (not LCD TV, but the one you use with your PC). Is there any special DVD player can do that?

Yes, there are several - many of the Chinese brands (Kingwell, Neodigits,...) have VGA out. - DR
dr0s is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
wile666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony DVPNC85H/B 5-Disc HDMI DVD/SA-CD/CD Progressive Scan Changer and wanted to use my 19" flat panel monitor with DVI to watch movies. I tried the HDMI to DVI cable but it wouldn't work. I found out that the monitor was not HDCP compatible. I just bought a Sceptre X20WC Gamer which does have HDCP and still cannot get a picture on the screen. They just won't recognize each other.
I've just ordered the optional DVI to component RCA cable from Sceptre and am hoping it works.
wile666 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rbmcgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: carmel, in, usa
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't you folks already have a PC hooked up to these monitors? Why would you want to hook up a DVD STB as well?

Bob
rbmcgee is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 12:53 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmcgee View Post

Don't you folks already have a PC hooked up to these monitors? Why would you want to hook up a DVD STB as well?

Inquiring minds want to know if it works, and how well.

I used it for early experiments in scaling and progressive scan, and to convince myself that I would be happy with the LCD "look" as compared with my little CRT TV.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
louthewiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn U.S.A.
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wile666 View Post

.
I've just ordered the optional DVI to component RCA cable from Sceptre and am hoping it works.


That cable will not work ,you need a transcoder for that...

De-interlacing explained:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Rainbow effect? :

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Lou
louthewiz is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off