Pioneer DV-400V Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1139 Old 11-14-2007, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
TheReal7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In the woods, Canada
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't read through all the posts. Just got this sucker and haven't got it home yet. Does anyone know if you can play DVDs filled with MP3s?
TheReal7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1139 Old 11-14-2007, 06:05 PM
Member
 
mikele59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
zoro I'm not sure what you mean exactly...
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

so mikele looks like, dinderi/hikin/u comb s 1.1 way to go?

mikele59 is offline  
post #453 of 1139 Old 11-14-2007, 07:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikele59 View Post

zoro I'm not sure what you mean exactly...

Sorry! I downloaded both of these firmwares from ur posts, so should I use(2) or first one?
zoro is offline  
post #454 of 1139 Old 11-14-2007, 08:15 PM
Member
 
mikele59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
zoro use this last v1.1 :
http://files-upload.com/files/615482/YGB7821A.BIN
or same but in another server here :
http://www.badongo.com/file/5112779
readmefile
http://files-upload.com/files/617472/Readme.txt
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Sorry! I downloaded both of these firmwares from ur posts, so should I use(2) or first one?

mikele59 is offline  
post #455 of 1139 Old 11-14-2007, 08:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikele59 View Post

zoro use this last v1.1 :
http://files-upload.com/files/615482/YGB7821A.BIN
or same but in another server here :
http://www.badongo.com/file/5112779

Thnx for clarifying, i assume directions for burn install are same like orig dinderi, dragon version that we installed . Is it?
zoro is offline  
post #456 of 1139 Old 11-15-2007, 04:11 AM
Member
 
mikele59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
zoro see the readme file. this is not primary school there and you're not insane... ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Thnx for clarifying, i assume directions for burn install are same like orig dinderi, dragon version that we installed . Is it?

mikele59 is offline  
post #457 of 1139 Old 11-15-2007, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikele59 View Post

zoro see the readme file. this is not primary school there and you're not insane... ?


Sorry! Mikele!! I understand! Read me file was not available man! I am sorry if I challenged your patience to the max!

With all my left over sanity I thank you very much being here and helping a couple insane ones too!

Any how, I used same old instructions, it did work! GUI, is new I guess, colorful like DENON, looks nifty!

Please do not give up! keep visiting here!thanks again!
zoro is offline  
post #458 of 1139 Old 11-17-2007, 01:56 PM
Member
 
goveeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did the Hakan 1.1 firmware update and so far it's been working OK. The dragon background looks kinda cool; however, the Pioneer FAQ screensave looks kinda ugly. The "Pioneer FAQ" word got cut-off at the bottom and it's tilted with an 10% angle. Anyone else sees what I'm seeing? Wish to have a better screen saver image in the future firmware release!

Just my 2 cents!
Govee
goveeman is offline  
post #459 of 1139 Old 11-19-2007, 08:53 AM
Member
 
moi666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any major differences between the latest hacked firmware vs the original? Other than the Divx subtitles looking different and screensaver etc?
moi666 is offline  
post #460 of 1139 Old 11-20-2007, 01:08 AM
Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

See this Audioholics article on Dolby versus DTS.

DTS has always been a step higher in audio quality compared to Dolby Digital on most DVD's sampled.


I see after buying my DV400-V that the DTS is forced to downsample from 96khz to 48khz. If the DVD is encoded with 96khz DTS, then why mess with it? Is this simply to cripple the player? Afterall, why not just output the DTS unchanged from the DVD? Can one hack the firmware to get this feature back?

The above article didn't seem to mention 48khz vs 96khz. Any opinions on that?

-

grolschie is offline  
post #461 of 1139 Old 11-21-2007, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
mjp_maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post

If you're having trouble getting this model to work on a DVI display, you might want to look for a unit with the older firmware (and avoid updating to the newer firmware for the time being).

(Tks to the OP for info on how to check the firmware version.)

hmmm seems I am experiencing similar to this ADU. I have a bit of messy set up and am running a PC and the Pioneer DV-400V into a brand new Dell 2407WFP-HC 24" widescreen monitor. The Dell has both DVI and Component inputs (sadly no HDMI) and is capable of 1080p through the DVI input apparently. Thought I'd run the PC through DVI and the Pioneer through component into it initially. However, was really disappointed with the picture from the DVD through component so thought I'd give it a whirl using an HDMI-DVI adaptor and try 1080p upscaling via HDMI to DVI. Alas, anything above changing the HDMI resolution from 576p doesnt seem to want to be displayed. Would have been half happy getting 720p even! Further to this I went out and bought a decent direct HDMI - DVI lead and still had no enjoy. Obviously this could well be related to the firmware issue as described above.

I don't suppose anyone knows of any other way round this or a way of replacing the current firmware with the older version? Would be really pleased if poss as movies just look so poor which has quite suprised me, although maybe I have bitten off more than I can chew with my overall arrangement!!
mjp_maestro is offline  
post #462 of 1139 Old 11-22-2007, 05:43 AM
KMO
Advanced Member
 
KMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by grolschie View Post

I see after buying my DV400-V that the DTS is forced to downsample from 96khz to 48khz. If the DVD is encoded with 96khz DTS, then why mess with it? Is this simply to cripple the player? Afterall, why not just output the DTS unchanged from the DVD?

I think you may be confused. If you're outputting the DTS bitstream from the player for your receiver to decode, the player won't mess with it. So if your receiver supports DTS 96/24, you'll get 96/24.

But if the player is doing its own DTS decode, either through the analogue outputs, or outputting PCM up the HDMI, then you'll get 48kHz output because its on-board decoder doesn't support the 96kHz extension.

(DTS 96/24 is backwards-compatible with normal DTS - it's a 1536kbps stream where 75% of the data is standard DTS that will be decoded by a standard decoder, and the other 25% is extra information used to reconstruct a 96kHz signal).
KMO is offline  
post #463 of 1139 Old 11-22-2007, 05:03 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjp_maestro View Post

hmmm seems I am experiencing similar to this ADU. I have a bit of messy set up and am running a PC and the Pioneer DV-400V into a brand new Dell 2407WFP-HC 24" widescreen monitor.

Firmware might be one possibility. But is the Dell display HDCP compliant? Not sure how the standards work in your area, but Region 1 players will not upconvert regular commercial DVDs to 720p/1080i/1080p unless the display they're attached to is HDCP compliant.

I no longer have the DV-400V btw. It wasn't a bad player, but there are some other devices I think'll be a better fit for me instead.

ADU
ADU is offline  
post #464 of 1139 Old 11-22-2007, 11:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
We look forward some input by mikele Dude here!
zoro is offline  
post #465 of 1139 Old 11-23-2007, 01:49 AM
Newbie
 
mjp_maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your input ADU - I can confirm the DVI on the Dell is HDCP compliant
mjp_maestro is offline  
post #466 of 1139 Old 11-23-2007, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
thechase789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, I haven't read thru all of the thread, but I just hooked up a DV-400V-k to my Panasonic TH-50PX60U, set at 1080p, and using the best HDMI cable I could find (audio goes to my Yamaha).
fyi, I also have an older Pioneer hooked in with Component video.

The reason I bought the upconverting DV-400V was because I thought I was being smart , waiting out the winner if Blu-Ray and HD-DVD and thought I would get a bigger bang than my older DVD player.

Ok, so what's the deal ?
to my 'untrained' eye, I was expecting to be wowed or at least notice a difference.
I moved the DVD from one player to another watching the same scene over and over to try to justify why I bought this new player.

So, I am asking all of you guys out there, what should I be expecting ? Maybe I set something wrong, or don't know what to look for or simply had the wrong expectations.
thanks in advance for your input.
thechase789 is offline  
post #467 of 1139 Old 11-23-2007, 06:56 PM
Member
 
mikele59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The aspirin effect into intravenous is immediate but it is dangerous for our health

Quote:
Originally Posted by thechase789 View Post

ok, I haven't read thru all of the thread, but I just hooked up a DV-400V-k to my Panasonic TH-50PX60U, set at 1080p, and using the best HDMI cable I could find (audio goes to my Yamaha).
fyi, I also have an older Pioneer hooked in with Component video.
The reason I bought the upconverting DV-400V was because I thought I was being smart , waiting out the winner if Blu-Ray and HD-DVD and thought I would get a bigger bang than my older DVD player.
Ok, so what's the deal ?
to my 'untrained' eye, I was expecting to be wowed or at least notice a difference.
I moved the DVD from one player to another watching the same scene over and over to try to justify why I bought this new player.
So, I am asking all of you guys out there, what should I be expecting ? Maybe I set something wrong, or don't know what to look for or simply had the wrong expectations.
thanks in advance for your input.

mikele59 is offline  
post #468 of 1139 Old 11-24-2007, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
thechase789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mikele,
you most have gotten your forums confused,
this is AVS forum, not WebMD,

if you have any practical advice on my posting however, please reply or PM me,
thanks
thechase789 is offline  
post #469 of 1139 Old 11-24-2007, 04:52 PM
Member
 
SBrudzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thechase789 View Post

....So, I am asking all of you guys out there, what should I be expecting ? .

thechase789,
First of .. your the_best_HDMI cable will not benefit at all over not_the_best one. IMHO!
Second ..for your particular Panasonic model the best (and maximum) setting of DV-400V upconversion is 720p. Any upconvesion settings above 720p will not benefit and even (in some cases) can make picture quality worse. Your Panasonic TV (mine is the same one) will downscale anything above 720p to its native resolution (which is 768 pixels of vertical resolution). I hope this helps and does make sense to you.
SBrudzinsky is offline  
post #470 of 1139 Old 11-25-2007, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
thechase789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
S.Brudzinsky,
thanks, I'll set it to 720P and give it a try.
thechase789 is offline  
post #471 of 1139 Old 11-25-2007, 08:18 PM
Member
 
SBrudzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thechase789 View Post

S.Brudzinsky,
thanks, I'll set it to 720P and give it a try.

thechase789,
I would suggest even set it to 480p as a first try and see how picture will look to you then. Even use of 720p mode may not really be necessary. Panasonic plasma TV does good up-scaling job itself (per my own experience with) so I do not see a critical needs to use player's upconversion feature. In many cases 480p and 720p are look identical to me. Player's Progressive modes (480p / 720p) will de-interlace video and your Panasonic will do the rest by up-scaling incoming (de-interlaced by player) video signal in to its native resolution. This mutual process (player' de-interlacing job + TV up-scaling job) will result in good near HD quality video. Using 1080i and/or even 1080p upconversion DVD player settings for HDTV with only 768 pixels of vertical resolution may result in degraded picture quality due to downsampling/downscaling (whatever you name it) process. Just my thoughts and opinion.
SBrudzinsky is offline  
post #472 of 1139 Old 11-26-2007, 12:56 PM
Member
 
68rustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH USA
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In the "display settings" section of the "home menu", what is the difference between "full range RGB" and "RGB"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post

...but Region 1 players will not upconvert regular commercial DVDs to 720p/1080i/1080p unless the display they're attached to is HDCP compliant...

Would making the player "region free" change this in anyway?

- Eric
68rustang is offline  
post #473 of 1139 Old 11-26-2007, 02:03 PM
Member
 
SBrudzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68rustang View Post

In the "display settings" section of the "home menu", what is the difference between "full range RGB" and "RGB"?

"Full range RGB" setting in HDMI color section is for - If colors of the viewing video are weak, this gives brighter colors and deeper black. Just one of the PQ enhancement feature.
"RGB" setting if colors appear overly rich on the Full Range RGB setting. Just scale down setting of "Full range RGB".
SBrudzinsky is offline  
post #474 of 1139 Old 11-26-2007, 02:15 PM
Member
 
68rustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH USA
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible that "full range RGB" would contribute to an overly dark picture? For example I watched Ocean's 13 the other night and during the dark scenes all detail was lost in the dark areas of the screen, i.e big blobs of black instead of a dark suit or detailed shadows. I have only noticed this when watching a DVD, otherwise the TV does an OK job with dark scenes considering it is an RP LCD.

- Eric
68rustang is offline  
post #475 of 1139 Old 11-26-2007, 02:20 PM
Member
 
SBrudzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68rustang View Post

Is it possible that "full range RGB" would contribute to an overly dark picture? .

Yes. Very possible. If your original video is in a good picture quality then no adjustments to HDMI color settings are needed. Keep it default (which is "Component colors" if I can recall this correctly).
SBrudzinsky is offline  
post #476 of 1139 Old 11-26-2007, 04:27 PM
Member
 
68rustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH USA
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
SB I appreciate the replies.

I changed it from "full Range RGB" to component, which, according to the manual is the default for HDMI devices and it does look better.

The manual really doesn't elaborate what the difference between RGB and Component is though.

- Eric
68rustang is offline  
post #477 of 1139 Old 11-26-2007, 05:44 PM
Member
 
SBrudzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68rustang View Post

SB I appreciate the replies....

No problem 68rustang! Enjoy Pio DV-400VK. Very good quality player for its price.
SBrudzinsky is offline  
post #478 of 1139 Old 11-27-2007, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Jack the cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mount Juliet, TN
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
After searching this post concerning the sound output of the DV-400, can anyone clarify whether the unit can be set up to output 5.1 sound from the coax to a receiver and at the same time output both video and 2 channel sound from the HDMI? This would allow listening to full theater sound with video or send both audio and video directly to the TV in the event theater sound isn't wanted.

Second question, any requirements on the TV side for up conversion to work?

Thanks.
Jack the cat is offline  
post #479 of 1139 Old 11-27-2007, 08:55 AM
Member
 
SBrudzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack the cat View Post

...any requirements on the TV side for up conversion to work? ....

HDTV type TV with HDMI input. Pioneer DV-400V-K only outputting up-converted video through HDMI only. Nothing else comes to my mind that TV should require on its end for up-conveted signal support.
SBrudzinsky is offline  
post #480 of 1139 Old 11-27-2007, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
z12236's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if it is possible to change the time display format on DV 400 front panel from default mm:ss to hh:mm:ss e.g. 1:20:30 instead of 80:30? Thanks!
z12236 is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off