Pioneer DV-400V Owners Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1139 Old 03-19-2008, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Bassett View Post

Hi folks,

Just picked one of these up, and so far I'm liking what I see. Just wondering if anyone knows how to have the front panel display "time remaining" rather than "time elapsed". I know I can see the remaining time by using the "Display" button, but the OSD stays on, so not optimal

Mainly just a convenience thing that I've gotten used to from my "old" Panny RP-62.

Thanks,
Jim

it wont
aasoror is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1139 Old 03-19-2008, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Jim_Bassett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

it wont

Sigh, I was afraid that was the answer. Not a huge issue.

Thanks for the reply, aasoror.
Jim_Bassett is offline  
post #813 of 1139 Old 03-19-2008, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Bassett View Post

Sigh, I was afraid that was the answer. Not a huge issue.

Thanks for the reply, aasoror.

no problem,
its good that this issue isn't bugging you much,
check post #645
for other more annoying limitations,
Regards,
aasoror is offline  
post #814 of 1139 Old 03-19-2008, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Jim_Bassett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

no problem,
its good that this issue isn't bugging you much,
check post #645
for other more annoying limitations,
Regards,

Thanks. I have scanned through the thread, and did see that.

Coming from a player that had no Dvix/WMV/etc support, the issues in that post are minor to me (at this point ). And some aren't relevant to what I usually watch (I've never had a need for subtitles, for instance). But, who knows?

Anyhoo, I've only had it for ~4 days, so I'm still getting used to it.

Cheers.
Jim_Bassett is offline  
post #815 of 1139 Old 03-19-2008, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bburtin View Post

Thanks for the fast reply! Looks very likely that my TV (Sony Bravia KDL-40V2500) is affecting the way that the content is being displayed. The Bravia does have options for rendering 4:3 content, but strangely enough, these options are only enabled when the DVD player sends 480p. In 1080p, it will only zoom or stretch.

So here's where I stand now. When the Pioneer sends 480p:
* 4:3 DVD's display at the correct aspect ratio
* 16:9 DVD's display at the correct aspect ratio
* 16:9 AVI's display as 4:3 (go figure)

When the pioneer sends 1080p:
* 4:3 DVD's are stretched
* 16:9 DVD's display at the correct aspect ratio
* 16:9 AVI's display at the correct aspect ratio

So it looks like there's no "set it and forget it" option. From what I can tell, I have to switch to 480p when watching 4:3 content. A little annoying, but I can live with it. Is there another Bravia owner out there that has a better solution?

Choose "16:9 compressed" and it will display 480i/p content correctly.
iatacs19 is offline  
post #816 of 1139 Old 03-19-2008, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iatacs19 View Post

Choose "16:9 compressed" and it will display 480i/p content correctly.

I have the Pioneer 400V and will be getting 50 inch panny tv with 720P. If I set the DVD to 720P I gather my dvds will play 16:9 widescreen and 4:3 (square in middle)for regular SD broadcasts correct?
kmil is offline  
post #817 of 1139 Old 03-21-2008, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmil View Post

I have the Pioneer 400V and will be getting 50 inch panny tv with 720P. If I set the DVD to 720P I gather my dvds will play 16:9 widescreen and 4:3 (square in middle)for regular SD broadcasts correct?

I haven't tested 720p, what I said applies to 1080p output.
iatacs19 is offline  
post #818 of 1139 Old 03-21-2008, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iatacs19 View Post

I haven't tested 720p, what I said applies to 1080p output.

Hey "iatacs 19":

Could I trouble you to test that for us? Would sure appreciate it and thanks for temporarily inconveniencing yourself for us.
kmil is offline  
post #819 of 1139 Old 03-22-2008, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Jackanory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 50pc77u and so far have found that 480i output allows the pannys scalar to do a great job with both DVDs and with all resolutions of AVIs. I'd be interested to hear your experiences.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmil View Post

I have the Pioneer 400V and will be getting 50 inch panny tv with 720P. If I set the DVD to 720P I gather my dvds will play 16:9 widescreen and 4:3 (square in middle)for regular SD broadcasts correct?

Jackanory is offline  
post #820 of 1139 Old 03-22-2008, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackanory View Post

I have the 50pc77u and so far have found that 480i output allows the pannys scalar to do a great job with both DVDs and with all resolutions of AVIs. I'd be interested to hear your experiences.

Sorry for my post not being so informative, but I wonder if 480i is satisfactory (not even 480p) and leaving the upscaling to the TV set, why one should bother with upscaling and HDMI players?, you can get region-free 480p avi/dvd players for as low as $23 these days.
aasoror is offline  
post #821 of 1139 Old 03-23-2008, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was able to flash the Hakan firmware to make the player region free (thanks for the help everyone), question, is anyone's player noisy? When I play a DVD movie I can clearly hear the player especially during quiet scenes of a movie (at 8 feet away). Does anyone else have this problem? Should I try another pioneer? Also is it best to use 480i over hdmi for a Panny Plasma?
badmeng is offline  
post #822 of 1139 Old 03-24-2008, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
splinter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nooobie here.
Looking to pick the dv-400v up to go with my soon to be purchased HDTV. I will want to run HDMI to the TV and then run digital audio from the player to my receiver for surround sound(receiver doesnt have HDMI).
I thought i had read somewhere in this thread that people had problems with this because the player would read the HDMI connection and then disable the digital audio out to the receiver.
There must be some type of workaround for this or do i have it all wrong??
Thanks.
splinter1 is offline  
post #823 of 1139 Old 03-25-2008, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
orin04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello all. reviews seem to be good for this player. but i was wondering if it would make a big difference for me to get a upconverting dvd player. i have a faroudja chip inside my monitor. its a gateway hd2200. and dont know if thats better than whats in most of these players
orin04 is offline  
post #824 of 1139 Old 03-25-2008, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by orin04 View Post

hello all. reviews seem to be good for this player. but i was wondering if it would make a big difference for me to get a upconverting dvd player. i have a faroudja chip inside my monitor. its a gateway hd2200. and dont know if thats better than whats in most of these players

at 22" the Faroudja would do so fine, I recommend to get the player from a store with a good return policy though.
Regards,
aasoror is offline  
post #825 of 1139 Old 03-25-2008, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
Mr. Miami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4P View Post

I have the Harmony 670 and just got a Pioneer DV-400V DVD player. With the DVD player's remote, when you press Display, the display comes up on screen. Push it a second time, and you get a screen that shows more info about the DVD such as bitrate. Push it a third time, and the Display screen closes.

I programmed my Harmony 670 for the Pioneer DVD player. However, when I push Display on the Harmony, the Display screen comes up. But, when I push the Display button on the Harmony a second time, nothing happens. I can push it several times and the Display screen will never go to the Display screen with the more DVD info, nor will it close the Display screen.

I tried doing an IR learning for the display button on the Harmony, but it sill won't work properly.

Has anyone who has this player and a Harmony remote got this to work properly?


I have the same remote. I just made the remote learn the "Display" function in "raw mode", and then it worked as it should..
Mr. Miami is offline  
post #826 of 1139 Old 03-25-2008, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys - should I pickup and try another Pioneer player? Is anyone's noisy during playback? My ps3 is quieter.
badmeng is offline  
post #827 of 1139 Old 03-26-2008, 06:52 AM
Member
 
houseofmouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am planning on buying the DV400 as a budget stop gap until blu ray machines drop. i am in no hurry to spend $400+ on a dvd machine.

Just wondering how pleased DV400 owners are with their machines. Of course i can't be too picky over an $80 machine.

Reason i want pioneer is that my receiver is Pioneer and i can eliminate 1 remote by staying with the same brand.

By the way, my display device is a Sanyo Z2000 1080p PJ on a 98" DIY screen.
houseofmouse is offline  
post #828 of 1139 Old 03-26-2008, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post

Guys - should I pickup and try another Pioneer player? Is anyone's noisy during playback? My ps3 is quieter.

Yes, it uses a noisy motor. I can really tell when it's changing chapters or going to menu, but not noticeable so much during regular playback.
iatacs19 is offline  
post #829 of 1139 Old 03-26-2008, 06:48 PM
Member
 
callous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the noise will change depending on the media you put in. I found for this player for dvd+r some brands made the player noiser than other media brands - this might be because the reader has problems reading from some media.
callous is offline  
post #830 of 1139 Old 03-26-2008, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought another Pioneer from BB (they have a great price on this item on-line) and compared the two units. This one is much quieter on playing DVD movies.
badmeng is offline  
post #831 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 01:42 AM
Newbie
 
substance001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey all

1st post and i have a quick and easy question about this dvd player.

whats the maximum xvid resolution that it will support?

ive tried to google the question but cant find anything specific..

thanks all!

substance001 is offline  
post #832 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 01:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi

It supports up to 720x576 (PAL) /720x480 (NTSC).

PioneerFAQ

@Twitter
Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #833 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 02:04 AM
Newbie
 
substance001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hkan View Post

Hi

It supports up to 720x576 (PAL) /720x480 (NTSC).

cool thanks for the quick reply!


actually 1 more..

1. is the a firmware upgrade available that changes or fixes up the interface? as your aware you can only see like 13 characters of each xvid file and thats a bit crappy.

thanks again.
substance001 is offline  
post #834 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 10:58 AM
Newbie
 
ppoikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to Hakan and crew for the firmware update. I just found this today and installed v2.0, so now I can play Region 2 discs with PAL conversion!

One issue with the install, though: the first time I put in a PAL disc, the front panel of the DV-400V read "576P" as the output mode, and I lost signal on my TV through HDMI ("Unsupported video format"). Apparently, one of the default settings after the update made it think I had a PAL TV and sent out native signal format.

I hooked up through only the yellow component out and saw that it was in fact generating video. Moreover, the logo screen read "Pioneer PAL". If I put in an NTSC disc it would change "modes" and read "Pioneer NTSC", and then back to "PAL" after swapping back. After trying different settings on the TV and DVD player, I walked away for a while to get actual work done.

When I came back, I decided to mess with some NTSC discs for a bit, trying different output resolutions. Unplugged the player to rewire cabling, then more messing around. Finally walked away once more, then came back and tried the PAL discs again... and it worked!

I wonder if the complete power-down might have something to do with it, but I see now that my video output settings would up on "16:9 Compressed" and "NTSC Video". I *think* it might have originally defaulted to "480p" and "Multisync", which I suppose would've given the player the option to output any format it wanted, including the native PAL 576P. (Makes sense, in hindsight!)

At any rate, I just wanted to say "thanks", and to record this experience for anyone that might follow with similar problems. Great unit, great firmware hack!
ppoikk is offline  
post #835 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppoikk View Post

I wonder if the complete power-down might have something to do with it, but I see now that my video output settings would up on "16:9 Compressed" and "NTSC Video". I *think* it might have originally defaulted to "480p" and "Multisync", which I suppose would've given the player the option to output any format it wanted, including the native PAL 576P. (Makes sense, in hindsight!)
- m

From the firmware readme.txt :
- TV-Type NTSC, PAL or Multi, [restart your player to accept the new settings]

so I guess that might be what you were missing (which was triggered by unplugging the player eventually)
aasoror is offline  
post #836 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
ppoikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

From the firmware readme.txt :
- TV-Type NTSC, PAL or Multi, [restart your player to accept the new settings]

so I guess that might be what you were missing (which was triggered by unplugging the player eventually)

Actually, I did restart it: was necessary, in fact, to get the region-free feature working. Or maybe the "hold down Enter until unit shuts off" method isn't a full restart? However, I also restarted a few times after that to find out that the logo screen changed depending on which region/format disc was in at the time.

Likely I just left it on Multi on the initial restart, then only later I'd managed to switch it to NTSC before powering down for the rewiring. Hard to track all the changes I did after the fact from memory, so unfortunately I can't give a recipe to reliably reproduce what I saw.

Whatever the case, it's certainly a good thing to repeat for others that might have similar difficulties.
ppoikk is offline  
post #837 of 1139 Old 03-27-2008, 02:35 PM
M4P
Senior Member
 
M4P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Miami View Post

I have the same remote. I just made the remote learn the "Display" function in "raw mode", and then it worked as it should..

Thanks, Mr. Miami. That's what I ended up doing with my Harmony 670. For some reason the first time I did it, it didn't work too well. So I removed the DV400 as a device, and then re-added it, did the learning in raw mode and now it works fine

Help Wiki for LG BD570: http://www.dexid.org/wiki/LG_BD570 (thanks Dave_Nedde & thx1138)

LG Executive Services 877-543-8325
M4P is offline  
post #838 of 1139 Old 03-29-2008, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
moranhoresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I use the component video output and the hdmi as an audio output simultaneously on the dv-400?
(my TV doesn't have HDMI input, and I want to enjoy the sound through HDMI on my a/v receiver)
moranhoresh is offline  
post #839 of 1139 Old 03-29-2008, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmil View Post

I have the Pioneer 400V and will be getting 50 inch panny tv with 720P. If I set the DVD to 720P I gather my dvds will play 16:9 widescreen and 4:3 (square in middle)for regular SD broadcasts correct?

Just tested this, it works perfectly.
iatacs19 is offline  
post #840 of 1139 Old 03-29-2008, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
70Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the post on pg 1 regarding clock drift. Wondering if that's my problem or?... I have a new Toshiba Regza 1080p LCD.

When playing back 1080p from the Pioneer DV-400 the video goes scrambled right away. 1080i plays fine until after 30-45 min into the movie there are horizontal lines along the bottom that grow, and after some more minutes it will almost show a split screen effect. Have tried two diff. HDMI cables - same. The TV works fine using other 1080i/1080p inputs.

Questions
- is this the clock drift issue and if so are there any work-arounds?
- is my DVD player bad?

Thanks,
Mark

Acceptable HDMI formats as per Toshiba manual:

...............V. Freq.............H. Freq..................Pixel Clock Preq

1080i......59.94/60Hz.......33.716/33.75kHz......74.176/74.25MHz
1080p.....23.976/24Hz......26.973/27.0kHz.......74.176/74.25MHz
1080p.....59.94/60Hz........67.433/67.50kHz.....148.352/148.50MHz
70Strat is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off