Pioneer DV-400V Owners Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1139 Old 08-02-2009, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the tray still open?
Does it say loading on the players display?

Close the tray, unplugg the power cord, put it back after 30 sec, then restart your player!

PioneerFAQ

@Twitter
Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1139 Old 08-02-2009, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
cdooer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The tray is still open, and it doesn't say anything on the display. I'll try unplugging the power like you suggest.
cdooer is offline  
post #1083 of 1139 Old 08-02-2009, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
cdooer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phew, that worked. Thanks for the help, I was really hesitant about pulling the power.
cdooer is offline  
post #1084 of 1139 Old 08-02-2009, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
cdooer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, for anyone with a 2.5" drive that doesn't work because of lack of power; I used a Y cable, plugged one end of the Y into the player and the other into a small powered USB hub I have tucked away beside the player, and it works great. I guess the USB hub supplies enough supplemental power to make the 2.5" drive work.

BTW, the new firmware looks great!
cdooer is offline  
post #1085 of 1139 Old 08-04-2009, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
E.WEEBER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
I have had a Pioneer DV400V connected via HDMI to my 27" Sharp 32d62u television. I've been having a maddening problem with the audio where it drops out sporadically. It almost sounds like it's "skipping." No problems with the video at all, but the audio on even brand new discs drops out for split seconds. Any ideas of how I could resolve this issue?
E.WEEBER is offline  
post #1086 of 1139 Old 08-10-2009, 11:19 PM
Member
 
The Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure what is up. But almost all divx files i try to play off the USB key freeze and lock up the unit, having me pull the plug and plug back in in order to bring unit back to life..

I tried the latest modded firmware out and still does the same... Any ideas why some play and others don't ?
The Punisher is offline  
post #1087 of 1139 Old 09-01-2009, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

This was released on 16'th of May 2007.
There is 3 official updates from Pioneer after that.
YGB7821A (August 21st 2007)
YGB7C12A (December 12th 2007) Can be downloaded from here.
YGB8827A (August 27th 2008) Can be downloaded from here.

And Hakan's region free firmware based on the latest official version (here)

Hope that helped,

just wondering if I could apply Hakan's firmware to my Dv-400-s? I got one on ebay and the seller didnt tell me it was the silver model. I shouldnt have any issue with Hakan's firmware right?
dazz87 is offline  
post #1088 of 1139 Old 09-01-2009, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazz87 View Post

just wondering if I could apply Hakan's firmware to my Dv-400-s? I got one on ebay and the seller didnt tell me it was the silver model. I shouldnt have any issue with Hakan's firmware right?

No problem. Color doesn't matter in this case.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #1089 of 1139 Old 09-01-2009, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValjeanPhantom View Post

No problem. Color doesn't matter in this case.

Cool that's what I thought but just wanna to make sure. Thanks
dazz87 is offline  
post #1090 of 1139 Old 09-02-2009, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
could this player be set to bitstream instead of pcm? I am only able to set the audio to pcm using hdmi. Another minor issue why cant i change audio track on the fly. I have to go to the dvd menu in order to switch to a different audio track.
dazz87 is offline  
post #1091 of 1139 Old 09-07-2009, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Masou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting only 2.0 Prologic (PCM) out of my DV-400V via HDMI, I've tried switching "Digital Out" on and off, and i have HDMI audio set to "Auto'. Just about ready to get a COAX SPDIF cable to see if i can get something to say "5.1 DD" or something...
Masou is offline  
post #1092 of 1139 Old 09-08-2009, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Masou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Allrighty, managed to get some 5.1 out of my DV-400V. Connected it to my receiver via Coax SPDIF, and HDMI, went in set it to "Digital Out = On", and "HDMI Audio = Auto" and voila, i have 5.1
Masou is offline  
post #1093 of 1139 Old 09-30-2009, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
sach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to jump to a point within a movie when watching from a USB drive? Unfortunately I haven't found any info on the web about this. Thanks.
sach is offline  
post #1094 of 1139 Old 10-03-2009, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sach View Post

Is there a way to jump to a point within a movie when watching from a USB drive? Unfortunately I haven't found any info on the web about this. Thanks.

Nope , its a limitation in both the original and Hakan's firmware. No time seek on USB.
aasoror is offline  
post #1095 of 1139 Old 10-05-2009, 08:04 AM
Newbie
 
sach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aasoror: Thanks for the info, I can stop looking now.
sach is offline  
post #1096 of 1139 Old 10-28-2009, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
jasonlee101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not recollect but i think i upgraded my player to CP1250 a while ago. I notice that Hakan came up with 2 updates for 2009, CP1252 on July 9th 2009 and CP1254 on Sep 12th 2009.

If someone has applied one of these firmwares, can you please let me know what the difference is between CP1252 and CP1254 and which one would you recommend?

Thanks!!
Jason
jasonlee101 is offline  
post #1097 of 1139 Old 10-28-2009, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlee101 View Post

I do not recollect but i think i upgraded my player to CP1250 a while ago. I notice that Hakan came up with 2 updates for 2009, CP1252 on July 9th 2009 and CP1254 on Sep 12th 2009.

If someone has applied one of these firmwares, can you please let me know what the difference is between CP1252 and CP1254 and which one would you recommend?

Thanks!!
Jason

CP1250 to CP1255 are the languages of the file browser. Go to the firmware page and pick whatever one best corresponds with where you are, as well as with what language media you play. You'd want to use V3.x so you can be using the latest factory firmware Hakan's mods are based on.
Big C is offline  
post #1098 of 1139 Old 12-07-2009, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
damngood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could anyone help me with this problem....

I bought a DV-400v a couple years back and it played any dvd from any region right out of the box but now it won't anymore. It's been a while since i've tried to play anything out of Region 1. When I try to my dvds from region 2 it's telling me it's the wrong region. Does anyone know if there's a reset or something i could do to unlock the regions.

Thanx
damngood is offline  
post #1099 of 1139 Old 01-09-2010, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I know this is a little late, but on pages 15 and 16 of this thread, everyone claimed that the only reason the DV-410V existed was so that Pioneer had something new to show at the 2008 CES. After reading manuals and comparing firmwares, the gamma control has been improved. On the DV-400V, the gamma options were High, Medium, Low, and Off. On the DV-410V, the gamma options were from -3 to +3. Ever since the September 2007 release of the DV-800AV/LX50/58AV, the gamma control always went from -3 to +3. Believe it or not, DV-410V firmware will successfully install and operate on a DV-400V. You just have to remember to change YJB to YGB the first time you do so. After that, it will respond to YJB firmware files. I understand that the newer DV-420V firmware will load on it, but USB won't work until you go back to either DV-400V or DV-410V firmware. I just thought I'd let you know that the 410 is an upgrade from the 400.
Big C is offline  
post #1100 of 1139 Old 01-15-2010, 02:54 PM
Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. Lots of questions, sorry.

Is "blacker than black" only available on modified firmware? Can someone explain what is required to make blacks not much look grey on the DV-400V please? Does the LCD TV have any requirements?

Also, do the firmwares on PioneerFAQ (original or modified) support Region 4 players (that have been already made region free)?

Any legal issues with downloading said firmwares?

Thanks in advance.

-

grolschie is offline  
post #1101 of 1139 Old 01-16-2010, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by grolschie View Post

Hello. Lots of questions, sorry.

Is "blacker than black" only available on modified firmware? Can someone explain what is required to make blacks not much look grey on the DV-400V please? Does the LCD TV have any requirements?

Also, do the firmwares on PioneerFAQ (original or modified) support Region 4 players (that have been already made region free)?

Any legal issues with downloading said firmwares?

Thanks in advance.

As far as downloading firmwares, the only issue is that if you need your player repaired, make sure you have the original firmware loaded before hand, or else your warranty won't be honored. Otherwise, there is no problem using the Smash the Mac PioneerFAQ firmware. As far as blacker-than-black is concerned, it depends on how your TV is set, as well as whether you use HDMI, Composite, S-video, or Component.
Big C is offline  
post #1102 of 1139 Old 01-16-2010, 12:35 PM
Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I use HDMI @ 1080i into an HD-Ready 32" Samsung and would like better blacks. But not sure if it's a limitation of the TV or the player.

-

grolschie is offline  
post #1103 of 1139 Old 01-16-2010, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by grolschie View Post

Thanks. I use HDMI @ 1080i into an HD-Ready 32" Samsung and would like better blacks. But not sure if it's a limitation of the TV or the player.

If you use HDMI, then the blacker-than-black feature in the PioneerFAQ firmware will not make a difference. Is your TV a CRT Slimfit or LCD? If it's a CRT Slimfit, then start with your TV and DV-400V picture settings in the nutral position. More than likely, TV channles should look fine with the TV picture controls set to nutral. So you'd be better off playing with the DV-400V's brightness control til you get a good result. If your TV is an LCD, play with the TV's backlight control, as well as the brightness control of the DV-400V. The following applies whether you have a CRT Slimfit or LCD. The DV-400V has an option in the Initial Settings>Video Output menu called HDMI Color. Try Component, RGB, and Full Range RGB. If you have the StarWars Episode IV DVD, or Alien DVD, there should be a series of THX test screens on disc one of each title. If you can get those to display correctly, then you should be good to go. Good luck.
Big C is offline  
post #1104 of 1139 Old 01-19-2010, 07:29 PM
Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that. I think I will stay with the factory firmware then perhaps.

-

grolschie is offline  
post #1105 of 1139 Old 01-24-2010, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
unknownsoldierx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone use DVD-R or DVD+R media? Mine won't read Verbatim DVD+R (MCC-004-00) or DVD-R (MCC 03RG20).

It will read a Ricoh DVD+RW (RICOHJPN-W11-01). But that disc is on it's death bed.
unknownsoldierx is offline  
post #1106 of 1139 Old 01-24-2010, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by unknownsoldierx View Post

Anyone use DVD-R or DVD+R media? Mine won't read Verbatim DVD+R (MCC-004-00) or DVD-R (MCC 03RG20).

It will read a Ricoh DVD+RW (RICOHJPN-W11-01). But that disc is on it's death bed.

DVD+R (several manufacturers) is playing fine on my DV-400
aasoror is offline  
post #1107 of 1139 Old 02-11-2010, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
penny506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am about to do the firmware upgrade on my DV-400V Pioneer DVD Player
My current Firmware version is:YGB7516A
I'm going to be upgrading to YGB7328I as I am going hdmi out from the DVD player and into my samsumg TV which only has DVI input on the back.

I'd love to be able to upconvert dvd's after this process is complete - as I can only watch in 720x480 now.

I'll be getting some CD-R's and doing a burn using Windows XP burning tools likely.

Wish me luck
penny506 is offline  
post #1108 of 1139 Old 02-15-2010, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
penny506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upgrade successful!
I can't get 1080p but I can do 1080i after this upgrade at least with my Samsung tv - so that's a good start - Excellent thanks.
penny506 is offline  
post #1109 of 1139 Old 02-23-2010, 01:36 AM
Newbie
 
Galnospoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
400v and 410v - what about full support packet bitstream? I cant find this info anythere. Someone say: only 410v, others: 400v yes, 410v has problems. What is true?
Galnospoke is offline  
post #1110 of 1139 Old 02-26-2010, 01:59 PM
Member
 
jhego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did the firmware upgrade to YGB8827A_V31_CP1252 without knowing what it does, lol.... It was successful and noticed the Pioneer logo has changed. What features does the firmware add?
jhego is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off